__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 1

LAWYERLINX

The tech tool every executive needs to know

WWW.BUSINESSREVIEWCANADA.CA

SEPTEMBER 2015

TOP 10 BUSINESS CELEBRITIES IN THE ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY CO M PAN Y

O F

THE

M O N T H

Packers Plus

Oil and Gas on the Cutting Edge


EDITOR’S LETTER

DARE TO TRY SOMETHING NEW

James Cameron once said, “If you set your goals ridiculously high and it’s a failure, you will fail above everyone else’s success.” The idea is rather appropriate, given that the September issue of Business Review Canada centers around the notion of taking risks on new opportunities when searching for success. Our cover features Cameron, one of the top 10 business celebrities in the entertainment industry born and raised in Canada. While you may not be surprised to discover who ranked as number one, you may be interested in learning how these 10 individuals combined a range of talents and marketing techniques to not only create a brand, but also become leaders of their own careers. Next up, we’ve got an exclusive Q&A with Edyta Kowaleswka, the founder of LawyerLinx—a Canadian legal matching website. Kowaleswka shares with us what it means to be a tech leader in the business world today, as well as the various qualities one must obtain in order to reach success. Lastly, in our leadership sector, we’ve got an exciting article contributed by Marsha Friedman, founder and CEO of Event Management Services, Inc. Friedman gives us her views on what it takes to build a business with her tips that she refers to as the “5 C’s.”

E NJOY TH E I S S U E !

Cutter Slagle

Editor cutter.slagle@businessreviewcanada.ca

3


CONTENTS

FEATURES

6

LEADERSHIP How to build a successful business

TOP 10

Top 10 business celebrities in the entertainment industry

COMPANY PROFILES MANUFACTURING 30 Packers Plus

12 Technology Q&A: Edyta Kowaleswka of LawyerLinx.com

20

MINING 38 Primero Mining 5


LEADERSHIP

HOW TO BUILD

SUCCESSFUL BU

Marsha Friedman, founder and CEO of Ev Services, Inc., explains how five “C’s” can achieve your goals. W R I T T E N B Y: M A R S H A F R I E D M A N 6

September 2015


A

USINESS

vent Management n help to ensure you

7


LEADERSHIP

Always hire competent people who can be trusted 8

September 2015


HOW TO BUILD A SUCCESSFUL BUSINESS

SMALL BUSINESSES HAVE made a huge recovery since the economic crash in 2008, and that’s good news for everyone in the industry. Since the industry accounts for 63 per cent of new jobs, our success puts people back to work— and that, in turn, helps us even more, as people with paychecks buy stuff and help boost the economy. And here’s more good news: The number of new businesses launching has increased year-over-year since hitting a low in 2009; in fact, just this year alone, one report estimates 540,000 new businesses were opened in one month. Hoping to contribute in my own small way, I would like to share my “5 C’s” for building a business. These are the guiding principles I’ve learned in the 24 years since I first founded EMSI Public Relations. Through the ups, downs and many mistakes, I’ve learned that by keeping my compass set on these 5 C’s, the company – and I – always make it through to smoother waters. What are the C’s? Caring It starts with caring enough about

yourself and your dreams to stay committed to achieving your goals. Giving up is never a good option! You have to care enough about yourself to firmly believe that you deserve success and the good things that come with it. It’s just as important to care about your staff and to create a positive work environment for them. Protect their sanity from the clients who want to chew them up, as well as from new hires who don’t fit in and hurt morale. Be supportive when stressful situations arise in their lives outside of work. And ensure everyone has the knowledge and tools they need to be successful. None of us gets far at all if we don’t care about our customers. Give them the best exchange possible for their money; define expectations so that they understand the end product you are delivering and for which they are paying. Always be willing to listen to their concerns, take responsibility for mistakes, and correct them. Courage Thirty years ago, I would never have said it takes courage to lead a small business. Now, I assure you that 9


LEADERSHIP without courage, you’ll fail. There are dragons and quicksand and dark woods all around. You’ll find them in the day-to-day problems, the obstacles you didn’t see lying in wait, the risks you must take and the stresses involved with honoring your obligations to everyone working with and for you. Trust me: your courage will grow every time you push your fear behind you and deal with what frightens you—which will also help you build confidence. Confidence Think of the many challenges you’ve faced in your life and the many times you’ve overcome them. Bring that confidence to your business. Believing that you can reach for and achieve your short- and long-term goals is essential to getting you there. Competence Competence comes from knowledge and experience. Hone it by staying up on the trends and disruptions in your industry. One of the most important roles for a CEO is the visionary for his or her company. That means not taking on jobs within your company for 10

September 2015

which you’re not qualified. You’ll make yourself miserable and your business will suffer. Hire an accountant to handle the financials. Get marketing help if that’s not your thing. As for employees, take the time to hire competent people that you’ll trust in their jobs—and then trust them! Commitment Stay dedicated to your goals no matter how difficult that becomes. That may mean taking painful measures, as it did for me after the 9/11 terrorist attacks put the brakes on the economy. There came a point for my business when all hope looked lost. I had to make drastic cuts, including letting go of beloved employees. For more than a year, I ramped up marketing efforts, diversified our services and took other steps to get the business out of the red. In 2005, I succeeded—and it has been upward and onward ever since. If you’ve recently launched a new business, know that you’ll encounter challenges. Don’t panic! Remember the 5 C’s and forge ahead with caring, courage, confidence, competence and commitment.


I N N O V AT I N G C O M PA N I E S A N D T H E I R P R O D U C T S

A key ingredient to having a successful business is courage


TECHNOLOGY

Q&A: EDYTA KOW LAWYERL

An exclusive interview with the inno legal services to

WRIT TEN BY: CU 12

September 2015


WALESWKA OF LINX.COM

ovative lawyer who aims to provide o all of Canada

UTTER SLAGLE 13


TECHNOLOGY WE LIVE IN a world where technology rules—that’s pretty obvious. Between the latest smartphone, app, wearable device and 3- and 4-D formats, it’s all about tech! And it goes without saying that innovators and accelerators are key to the continued advancement of business: Without these forwardthinkers, none of this is possible. Among these visionaries is Edyta Kowalewska, the Canadian-based lawyer who developed Lawyerlinx. com, a new website created to provide easy access to justice and credible information to help with allthings legal. We had the opportunity to gain insight from Kowalewska regarding the motivation behind this service, as well as what it means to be a new leader in the tech field. BRCA: What originally gave you the inspiration to create LawyerLinx.com? EK: The inspiration behind LawyerLinx was an “A-Ha” moment when I realized that you could access much more information online about a car or refrigerator you were planning to buy versus a lawyer you were 14

September 2015

thinking about hiring. Equally pivotal was my recognition that in comparison to various consumer products and services you can research and compare with relative ease, legal services (which carry significant financial costs and produce long lasting consequences for the client) lacked a centralized, streamlined tool to allow a consumer to obtain the information they require to make informed decisions about how, when and from whom they obtain such legal services. Many individuals and businesses forgo obtaining legal advice altogether due to a perceived difficulty involved in finding and working with a lawyer. The lack of accessibility to the legal profession and lack of legal literacy are all underlying issues which ultimately effect access to justice. Using technology, I set out to make the legal profession, legal services and legal literacy in Canada more accessible to both individuals and businesses. Through my experience as a lawyer, I found the supply and demand sides of the legal market misaligned and disconnected. This inspired me to create a platform that would provide a user-friendly system to connect


E DYTA KO WA LE W S KA , TH E C R E ATO R O F LAWYE R LI N K

consumers of legal services to the legal profession. The result is an innovative legal marketplace that does just that: connects individuals and businesses alike to great Canadian lawyers and legal services. BRCA: What are some of your dayto-day activities or responsibilities? EK: As a legal tech start-up, the capabilities of our platform and consumer experience are at the forefront of everything we do. Ensuring that the platform features are functioning well, receiving and using user feedback to continuously develop and improve the platform means daily development meetings.

I also spend a lot of time staying on top of news and developments in the legal industry, technology sector and consumer experience research. Some other daily tasks include: • Communications with lawyers, consumers and organizations • Content production • Handling paperwork and accounting • Troubleshooting, testing and ongoing improvements • Networking • Strategy meetings • Social media management • Brainstorming and developing additional features and services 15


TECHNOLOGY


Q & A : E D Y TA K O W A L E S W K A O F L A W Y E R L I N X . C O M

BRCA: What are your thoughts on what it means to be a tech leader? What particular qualities does it take to earn this title and how do you become a leader in this industry? EK: A technology leader is an innovative and resourceful thinker who has mastered the art of execution and who either develops new technology or creates new ways of applying existing technology that answers or creates a need or opportunity in the market. In my opinion, the focus of a tech leader is not the technology itself, but the benefit or value it brings to its users. I think this is the only way to have truly innovative ideas. Not necessarily focusing on the “how” of your vision, but starting with and being guided by what you are working to create and why. To me, a tech leader is a visionary with a purpose. As a tech leader, I have a clear long-term vision of how the company will use technology to bring value to consumers of legal services. However, my vision and goals are agile and flexible enough to listen to and adapt to feedback, as well as the ever changing market needs and opportunities. In terms of qualities required

to succeed in this industry, you certainly have to be unrelenting and unstoppable. You have to have a clear vision of not only what you are striving to create but also why. Taking risks, being comfortable with uncertainty as well as anticipating, noticing and seizing opportunities as they arise are essential. We live in a world where technology rules—that’s pretty obvious. Between the latest smartphone, app, wearable device and 3- and 4-D formats, it’s all about tech! And it goes without saying that innovators and accelerators are key to the continued advancement of business: Without these forwardthinkers, none of this is possible. Among these visionaries is Edyta Kowalewska, the Canadian-based lawyer who developed Lawyerlinx. com, a new website created to provide easy access to justice and credible information to help with all-things legal. We had the opportunity to gain insight from Kowalewska regarding the motivation behind this service, as well as what it means to be a new leader in the tech field. BRCA: What originally gave you the

17


TECHNOLOGY inspiration to create LawyerLinx.com? EK: The inspiration behind LawyerLinx was an “A-Ha� moment when I realized that you could access much more information online about a car or refrigerator you were planning to buy versus a lawyer you were thinking about hiring. Equally pivotal was my recognition that in comparison to various consumer products and services you can research and compare with relative ease, legal services (which carry significant financial costs and produce long lasting consequences for the client) lacked a centralized, streamlined tool to allow a consumer to obtain the information they require to make informed decisions about

18

September 2015

how, when and from whom they obtain such legal services. Many individuals and businesses forgo obtaining legal advice altogether due to a perceived difficulty involved in finding and working with a lawyer. The lack of accessibility to the legal profession and lack of legal literacy are all underlying issues which ultimately effect access to justice. Using technology, I set out to make the legal profession, legal services and legal literacy in Canada more accessible to both individuals and businesses. Through my experience as a lawyer, I found the supply and demand sides of the legal market misaligned and disconnected. This inspired me to create a platform that would provide a user-friendly system to connect consumers of legal services to the legal profession. The result is an innovative legal marketplace that does just that: connects individuals and businesses alike to great Canadian lawyers and legal services. BRCA: What are some of your dayto-day activities or responsibilities? EK: As a legal tech start-up, the capabilities of our platform and consumer experience are at the forefront of everything we do.


Q & A : E D Y TA K O W A L E S W K A O F L A W Y E R L I N X . C O M

Ensuring that the platform features are functioning well, receiving and using user feedback to continuously develop and improve the platform means daily development meetings. I also spend a lot of time staying on top of news and developments in the legal industry, technology sector and consumer experience research. Some other daily tasks include: • Communications with lawyers, consumers and organizations • Content production • Handling paperwork and accounting • Troubleshooting, testing and ongoing improvements • Networking • Strategy meetings • Social media management • Brainstorming and developing additional features and services BRCA: What are your thoughts on what it means to be a tech leader? What particular qualities does it take to earn this title and how do you become a leader in this industry? EK: A technology leader is an innovative and resourceful thinker who has mastered the art of execution and who either develops new technology or creates new ways of applying existing technology that answers or

creates a need or opportunity in the market. In my opinion, the focus of a tech leader is not the technology itself, but the benefit or value it brings to its users. I think this is the only way to have truly innovative ideas. Not necessarily focusing on the “how” of your vision, but starting with and being guided by what you are working to create and why. To me, a tech leader is a visionary with a purpose. As a tech leader, I have a clear long-term vision of how the company will use technology to bring value to consumers of legal services. However, my vision and goals are agile and flexible enough to listen to and adapt to feedback, as well as the ever changing market needs and opportunities. In terms of qualities required to succeed in this industry, you certainly have to be unrelenting and unstoppable. You have to have a clear vision of not only what you are striving to create but also why. Taking risks, being comfortable with uncertainty as well as anticipating, noticing and seizing opportunities as they arise are essential.

19


TOP 10

TOP 10 BUSINESS

CELEBRITIES IN THE ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY These Canadian entertainers have combined talent, marketing techniques and hard work to reach an impressive level of success Written by: Cutter Slagle


21


TOP 10 Believe it or not, the entertainment industry is a business, a rather tough business where success is never guaranteed. For example, consider this thought: Julia Roberts may be a household name, but how many people are familiar with her brother, Eric Roberts? According to the Loop, the following celebrities are the wealthiest in the entertainment industry to hail from Canada.

10

Avril Lavigne— BWR Public Relations

• Worth: $45 million • From: Ontario, Canada • Charities supported: Make-A-Wish Foundation, YouthAIDS, Amnesty International

TOP 1

Uniquely known as a “skater punk” or “pop punk princess,” Avril Lavigne has been able to stand out amongst the vast majority of other blonde female pop singers because of her style and image to go on and sell a total of 30 million albums, as well as 50 million singles worldwide. When it comes to marketing, Lavigne has a heavy social media presence—both Facebook and Twitter—for which she handles mostly herself. In other avenues of business, Lavigne seems to have a knack for clothing. In 2008, she launched Abbey Dawn clothing, partnering with Kohl’s. She’s since started an e-commerce store and has two different fragrances: Black Star and Forbidden Rose. Much of her success has been attributed to the fact that when she emerged on the scene in 2002, she didn’t possess typical, bubblegum pop star qualities.

9 Avrile Lavigne 22

September 2015

Chad Kroger—The Agency Group

• Worth: $60 million • From: Alberta, Canada • Charities supported: Obakki


1 0 B U S I N E S S C E L E B R I T I E S I N T H E E N T E R TA I N M E N T I N D U S T R Y

Foundation, STOMP Out Bullying

Famously known for being the lead vocalist and guitarist for rock band Nickelback, Chad Kroger has been able to stand out from the majority of male musicians mainly due to the fact that he often collaborates with others in the industry. He has contributed to both the production and songwriting sides of the business, proving that he is more than just a blonde who can sing— he has talents in a range of areas. Specifically, Kroger has helped Nickleback become one of the most successful bands to have ever emerged from Canada due to licensing, merchandising and product placement agreements.

Chad Kroger

Furthermore, Kroger co-owns a record company which has released tops hits from other artists.

8

Michael J. Fox— Representation Undisclosed • Worth: $65 million • From: Alberta, Canada • Charities supported: Celebrity Fight Night Foundation, Kids Wish Network, Muhammad Ali Parkinson Center

Michael J. Fox first entered the entertainment business as a child actor, appearing in the TV show Family Ties and the popular Back to the Future trilogy. Because of his involvement with these two projects, as well as the film Teen Wolf, Fox became a “teen idol,” which helped him become a household name, earning fame and fortune. This status helped him to become well known in the industry and considered for various acting roles. However, in 1991, Fox was diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease, which he later revealed 23


TOP 10

Michael J. Fox

to the public in 1998. While he does still do some mild acting and voice work, he’s since rebranded himself to also become an author and advocate. Fox has released three books including Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist, as well as started the Michael J. Fox foundation to help advance every promising research path to curing Parkinson’s disease.

7

William Shatner— Glass Onyon Public Relations

• Worth: $100 million • From: Quebec, Canada • Charities supported: Aid Still Required, Clothes Off Our Back, Starlight Children’s Foundation 24

September 2015

TOP 1

Programs: Bachelor of Commerce, Master of Business Administration, Doctor of Philosophy With over eight on-campus Research Centres, McGill University students are given an inside look into the business world and what to expect after graduation. Furthermore, a variety of public business seminars and custom executive education and coaching for all levels of management are available for students.

6

Jim Carrey— Representation Undisclosed

• Worth: $150 million • From: Ontario, Canada • Charities supported: Comic Relief, Generation Rescue, Toy Mountain Campaign

Jim Carrey has made a successful career out of making people laugh. His brand is all about humor—at


1 0 B U S I N E S S C E L E B R I T I E S I N T H E E N T E R TA I N M E N T I N D U S T R Y

any expense. Though he originally began his career as a stand-up comedian, he quickly made a transmission into acting. Starring in the Duck Factory and several films throughout the 80’s allowed him to become well known in the entertainment industry. In 1994, Carrey became a household name due to his starring role in Ace Venture: Pet Detective. However, he only agreed to act in the film if he was allowed to rewrite the script, proving that in order to find success in the business, it’s sometimes necessary to wear multiple hats. Therefore, due to Carry’s abilities to act, write, impersonate and produce, he has been able to continue his achievements, showing how having a quality like “being funny” can lead to a prosperous career in the entertainment industry.

5

Justin Bieber is a perfect example of how social media can build your brand and your business. Originally discovered on You Tube by manager Scooter Braun, Bieber went on to sign with Island Records and eventually released his first full-length studio album in 2010. Famous R&B singer-songwriter User is credited with helping Bieber to create a brand, which when first on the scene consisted of baseball caps, hooded sweatshirts, dog chains and flash sneakers to establish a “streetwise look.” In doing so, Bieber appeared in several teen magazines and gained the status of “teen heartthrob.” It’s this status that has led to Bieber becoming popular

Justin Bieber—Def Jam Music Group

• Worth: $160 million • From: Ontario, Canada • Charities supported: Alzheimer’s Association, Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals, It Gets Better Project

Justin Beiber

25


TOP 10 amongst teenage girls, resulting in him selling millions of albums, headlining world tours and starring in films and television shows. However, much of Bieber’s appeal comes from his social media presence. He has a You Tube channel where he personally uploads videos, as well as a Twitter account where he regularly interacts with his six million followers. to become members and hold positions in various organizations, giving them an inside look at what responsibilities they may hold after graduation.

4

Mike Myers—Slate Public Relations

• Worth: $175 million • From: Ontario, Canada • Charities supported: Make Poverty History, Stand Up to Cancer, Wounded Warrior Project

Mike Myers has found success in the entertainment industry by pursuing the similar paths of William Shatner and Jim Carrey: he’s a character actor and he’s funny. He originally began his career on Saturday Night Live, and later become a household name 26

September 2015

TOP 1

due to films roles in Wayne’s World and its sequel, the Austin Powers franchise and the animated Shrek movies. Known as having a “unique style of comedy,” Myers has been able to stand out from other comedians and create a brand for himself by actually becoming his famed characters. For example, Myers doesn’t just act as a particular character on the set of the film, but can also be seen in television shows, music videos and doing stand-up comedy as these various personas, which has ultimately exposed him to different markets. He also has experience producing and screenwriting, proving that more skills can result in a higher level of success.

Mike Myers


1 0 B U S I N E S S C E L E B R I T I E S I N T H E E N T E R TA I N M E N T I N D U S T R Y

3

Shania Twain— Representation Undisclosed

• Worth: $350 million • From: Ontario, Canada • Charities supported: Opportunity Village, Red Cross, United Service Organization

sure. Twain proved she was more than just a pretty face, but a woman who could sing, write, dance and market herself.

Shania Twain

When Shania Twain first came onto the music scene, she was solely a country musician. However, she later become one of the first female artists to cross country and pop genres, which earned her the title “Queen of Country Pop.” In exploring this new brand of country pop, Twain became one of world’s bestselling artist of all time, as well as the best selling female artist in the history of country music. Twain came to prominence before the explosion of social media. In order to get recognized and differentiate herself from other female singers, she used music videos to help create a following. The fact that Twain and her ex-husband wrote and produced all of her own music also resulted in higher profits, as did world tours and international expo27


TOP 10

2

Celine Dion—Feeling Productions Inc.

• Worth: $400 million • From: Quebec, Canada • Charities supported: Treatment Action Campaign, EB Medical Research Foundation, Artists Against Racism. Canadian Cystic Fibrosis Foundation

Celine Dion has become one of the most successful artists in pop music history, mostly due to the fact that she has been known to combine musical genres, and

can sing in multiple languages. For example, before she sang the award-winning theme song to the blockbuster film Titanic, she released several French albums which allowed her to build fan base all over the world. Celine Dion has cemented her success status by becoming more than just a singer, but also a brand by endorsing perfumes, owning her own artist management company, starting a restaurant franchise and purchasing both a night club and golf club. In a word, Dion is an entrepreneur who has marketed herself as a business woman. But just in the entertainment industry, she has the distinction of being the best-selling Canadian artist in history, a feat that has led to a thriving Las Vegas residency.

1 Celine Dion 28

Month 2014

James Cameron— Representation Undisclosed

• Worth: $700 million • From: Ontario, Canada • Charities supported: Community


NAME OF TOP 10 ARTICLE

James Cameron Inspiring Today’s Youth, Global Green, Earth Day Network

James Cameron has the distinction of directing the two highest-grossing films of all time— Titanic and Avatar. The fact that Cameron has experience and knowledge in writing, producing and designing has no doubt led to his massive amount of success. Cameron’s visual approach to action scenes, use of special effects and 3D, as well as his ability to handle all behind the

scenes aspects of a film has branded him as being an icon in the entertainment industry. As an inventor, Cameron co-developed the digital 3D fusion Camera System, leaving some critics to describe him as part scientist and part artist. It is because of his passion for science and skills in filmmaking that he has not only been able to become so successful, but also influence several peers in the business.

29


Packers Plus Oil and Gas on the Cutting Edge

With a focus on growth and innovation, Packers Plus looks to stay ahead of the industry curve. Written by: Sasha Orman Produced by: Mike Becker

31


PA C K E R S P L U S

Packers Plus employee uses a manual assembling tool

W

e started our company with three core values: first being innovation, second being operational excellence, and third being customer intimacy,” says Dan Themig, President and CEO at Packers Plus. When that company was formed in 2000, it was a small startup. Today it is one of the largest companies in its industry, with nearly a thousand employees and a strong reputation for creative and progressive tooling in the oil and gas industry. “If you ask most people about Packers Plus and what we’re known for, it’s bringing real game changing 32

September 2015

innovation to the industry,” says Themig. “One of the reasons that North America now has a plentiful supply of natural gas, as well as a plentiful supply of oil, is because of some of the innovations our company has brought forward.” With further growth in the works and new territories to work with, Packers Plus has plans to keep bringing that innovation to the industry it supports. Growing in Houston “One thing we believe in is being close to our customer base,” says Marlon Leggott, Chief Production


M A N U FA C T U R I N G G L O B A L

Automated assembly in Packers Plus manufacturing facility in Edmonton

Officer at Packers Plus. This explains the company’s large presence in Alberta, close to Canada’s natural gas and oil fields, as well as its satellite operations in critical regions from Saskatchewan and Williston to Dubai. It also explains the new larger Packers Plus facility that is currently under construction in Houston, Texas. Featuring an engineering and manufacturing campus on site, Packers Plus is confident that the new facility will help the company provide its southern clients with significant added value on a level that it is currently able to provide in Canada. “What we believe is that it’s going to allow us to bring a quicker design and manufacturing capability to the end user, as we can have our product on location in a much quicker time frame,” says Leggott. “It allows us to bring in

“We tend to anticipate customers’ needs before they’re asking for it… we don’t sit and analyze our competitors at any length, because if you’re just watching your competitors you tend to be a follower instead of a leader” – Dan Themig, President and CEO

w w w. p a c k e r s p l u s . c o m

33


PA C K E R S P L U S some new innovation, so we believe from that standpoint it’s going to be a big benefit for our client base.” According to Leggott, this added agility will also help Packers Plus differentiate itself in the competitive oil industry throughout Texas and beyond. “We can come in, design a product, and get it to our customers in a very quick and nimble way— most of the larger guys have a difficult time doing that—and this is also going to allow us to support some of the other areas of the

world over the short term in a much quicker fashion just from a logistics standpoint alone,” he explains. With a stronger hub, the new Houston facility could open up major possibilities not just in the United States, but also abroad. Anticipating the industry’s needs In a competitive field like oil and gas, staying on top means not worrying about what the competition is doing, but focusing on the innovations

2014 Shipping Statistics Total Parts Delivered: 27135 NCR Rate 0.71% On Time Delivery Rate 98.48%

Oilfield Machining

6 6 55 59 St reet Ed monton, A lber t a s ale s@ s pec ialmtls.com 1- 8 55 -762- 6 6 55

Our focus is our customer. Meeting customer requirements is our mission.

Oilfield machining is our business. Leading the field is how our business helps your business.

Special Metals Canada supplies competitively priced products that meet or exceed our customers’ requirements.

www.amcomanufacturing.com | 780.469.1587 | 4719 68 Avenue, Edmonton, AB

TEL. 780-490-1167 | FAX. 780-490-1157 www.specialmtls.com


M A N U FA C T U R I N G G L O B A L

that only you can provide. At Packers Plus, this philosophy is paramount and a strong predicator of the company’s success. “One of the reasons we’re really known as an innovative company is that we tend to anticipate customers’ needs before they’re asking for it,” says Themig. “We don’t sit and analyze our competitors at any length, because if you’re just watching your competitors you tend to be a follower instead of a leader. Our goal and objective is to intimately know our customers so that we are able to respond when they have technology needs, and really to anticipate their needs.” Packers Plus applies this focus on forwardthinking innovation not just to the products it manufactures, but also to its shop floor processes, from manufacturing improvements to full traceability through state-of-the-art ERP software. Even in 2009 when the industry was in a downturn, Packers Plus was preparing to the future, investing in robotics and automation to enhance its manufacturing capabilities for when the industry recovered. “This allowed us to lead the industry into hydraulic fracturing of shales and the open hole technology area once we came out of that downturn—it really was a boon for us,” says Leggott. A forward thinking culture Such a business model requires a lot of calculated thinking, but that kind of consideration is second nature to Packers Plus.

Packers Plus fielnd hand prepares the completion system before installation

“The value proposition for our customers is that all this excellence in manufacturing gives them reliability and repeatability” – Ian Bryant, COO

w w w. p a c k e r s p l u s . c o m

35


PA C K E R S P L U S

A Packers Plus coordinate measuring machine (CMM) during the QA/QC process

“It’s really ingrained in our culture—it’s a very entrepreneurial mindset,” says Themig. “Our view is that the world moves pretty fast—for us to remain leaders in innovation in the industry, and to maintain that reputation, we have to be able to anticipate the needs of the industry, engineering in a fraction of the time compared to our big competitors, and we have to be able to work in conjunction with our customers.” By succeeding in those goals, the company culture of Packers Plus has played a vital role in propelling the company toward success. “It’s really given us a unique reputation in the industry,” says Themig. “That’s a massive accomplishment for a company been in business for just over 14 years.”

36

September 2015

The necessity of quality The tagline for Packers Plus is simple: “do it once, and do it right.” This could be a strong mantra for myriad businesses in any given field. But for an operation like Packers Plus, operating in the particular parameters of oil and gas, it’s especially critical. “The reason that’s important is that the technologies we’re talking about are run to the bottom of well bores,” says Packers Plus COO Ian Bryant. “It’s a bit like a space rocket—if you have a faulty component you generally can’t get up there to fix it, and once our equipment is run to the bottom of a hole, it’s very rare that we’re going to pull it out again. That’s why it has to function right the first time, and that’s why we’ve been so passionate


M A N U FA C T U R I N G G L O B A L

in our discussion of quality. If it doesn’t work when it’s down there, that’s a problem.” As Bryant explains, the importance of attention to traceability and quality within its innovation at Packers Plus—and the peace of mind this gives to clients—is clear. “The value proposition for our customers is that all this excellence in manufacturing gives them reliability and repeatability, when our tools get to the bottom of a hole and have to work right the first time.” Always looking ahead “I’ve always been told throughout my career you’ve got quality, you’ve got deliverability, and you’ve got cost effectiveness but only ever have two of those three—you can never get all three,” says Leggott. “We don’t believe that, and as a matter of fact we’ve disproved that statement. We continually provide highest quality at the best delivery that’s also very cost effective. But we realize that, if we just stay where we’re at, that won’t be the case forever.” This understanding keeps Packers Plus driving always toward new efficiencies and new innovations that will help move the industry forward. “So we continually look at our processes to make sure that we stay at that level and lead the industry into the next level,” says Leggott. “It’s just something that we don’t stop doing. It’s ingrained in our psyche here: if we’re standing still we’re going backward. So we will continue to move ahead in what we do.”

Company Information INDUSTRY

Oil and Gas HEADQUARTERS

Bow Valley Square 2 Suite 2200, 205 5th Avenue SW Calgary, AB Canada, T2P2V7 FOUNDED

2000 EMPLOYEES

850 REVENUE

Not Disclosed

w w w. p a c k e r s p l u s . c o m

37


ADVANTAGE in the Extraction of Precious Metals Written by: Rebecca Castrejon, Editor Produced by: Taybele Piven, Director of Operations at WDM Group-LATAM Intervewee: Guillermo Adrian, CEO for Primero Compa単ia Minera

38

September 2015


In less than a decade, Primero’s mining activities in North America delivered superior quality, standing out from its competition and producing high revenue

w w w. e e g s a . c o m

39


P R I M E R O E M P R E S A M I N E R A , S . A . D E C . V.

M

ala Noche Resources was conceived in 2007 as a prospecting company in Mexican territory. Three years later and after the acquisition of the San Dimas mine, in the State of Durango, the venture’s commercial name became Primero Mining Corp.

The project Grey Fox

In 2010 the company became public, as its stocks entered NYSE, and soon after these were also traded at the Toronto Stock Exchange. During the last four years, Primero has sustained growth both organically and through acquisitions, as it happened with the purchase of Cerro del Gallo mine in the State of Guanajuato, and expanding its operations into Canada, in Black Fox mine, located in Timmins, Ontario.

is currently under exploration and construction at Cerro del Gallo.

Primero currently holds a reputation as one of the main precious metal producers in North America. And even with setbacks, such as a delay from the Mexican government to grant authorization to export silver, the company maintains its projected production for the rest of 2015: · Gold production: 220,000 oz. to 240,000 oz. · Silver production: 6.5 million oz. to 7.5 milion oz. “We expect to be granted our silver exporting license soon enough. It’s not like we have lost any

40

September 2015


L AT I N A M E R I C A

silver, but this means we are experiencing a delay in selling, also,” expressed Guillermo Adrian, CEO of Primero Mining Corp. Adrian has a 25-year experience in the mining industry; his leadership at the forefront of Primero has been instrumental for the company when it went from a junior enterprise to become a mid-level company. Operations in Mexico and Canada Prime Mining Corp. prospecting and mining operations are based in three locations: 1. San Dimas mine: it contains some of Mexico’s most fruitful gold and silver deposits. The quality of this mine’s extractions is first class. San Dimas is an underground mine which relies in mechanical procedures for its operations.

Key People

Guillermo Adrian CEO for Primero Compañia Minera

Venezuela-born Guillermo Adrian graduated from Simon Bolivar University (in Caracas), where he graduated as Metallurgical Engineer. Adrian’s experience spans for more than 25 years in aluminum and gold extraction in different companies in the continent. He is currently the CEO for Primero Mining Corp., a position he holds since 2013.

Side view of Primero’s plant in Mexico w w w. p r i m e ro m i n i n g . c o m

41


C O M PA N Y N A M E

Cutting-edge machinery for exploration

2. Black Fox complex: Canada’s richest gold deposits are located in this mine, near Timmins, Ontario. With its restructuring process finally over by 2010, this site is fit for both surface and underground mining. Black Fox provides a repair shop for heavy machinery, a laboratory, corporate offices, one water-extraction pump to combat fires and a spare building.

Inside the plant

42

September 2015

3. Cerro del Gallo project: 69.2 percent of Cerro del Gallo belongs to Cerro Resources NL since May 2013, the rest (30.8 percent) belongs to Goldcorp since December of that same year. After delivering a solution to permit issues in 2015, the project is ready for development and surface extraction of copper, gold and silver.


SECTOR

Every miner is properly trained in safety measures

Also, Primero is engaged in prospecting projects in the Ventanas mining district, south of San Dimas; and in the Grey Fox gold prospecting project within the Black Fox complex. Mexico’s Competitiveness The San Dimas mine, managed by Primero, is one of Mexico’s mining landmarks. This Sierra Madre Occidental deposit is located between the states of Durango and Sinaloa. It was founded more than 300 years ago, and it maintains a high productivity level under current management. “Our productivity is a distinguishing factor, since we’ve been successful at increasing

“We are committed to become a mid-level company in the short term” – Guillermo Adrian, CEO for Primero Compañia Minera

w w w. p r i m e ro m i n i n g . c o m

43


P R I M E R O E M P R E S A M I N E R A , S . A . D E C . V.

extractions even with this mine’s narrow veins,” Adrian said. San Dimas produces a daily average of 3,000 tons, with a monthly drifting of 1.24 miles (well above any similar sector’s parameters). To explain this, Adrian compared two of their projects: “The same developments that take a year for us to complete in the Canadian project, take a month around here,” the executive added about the 435 miles of regularly explored tunnels at San Dimas. Taking the steps from being a junior enterprise to a mid-level company

Human Resource Management Primero is committed to improving the

44

September 2015


L AT I N A M E R I C A

inhabitants’ quality of life at Tayoltita, Durango. The municipality’s conditions are below nationwide standards for wellbeing; this is why the mining company reaches out to help in providing its population’s access to education and other resources to improve socially and economically. Primero’s academic support consists from basic literacy lessons to scholarships for postgraduate studies, meaning its staff’s development is not an afterthought for the company. “Some of our managers were machinery operators at one point, but their effort in obtaining an education paid off; Jose Varelas, our mine manager, started as a drilling operator in Primero,” Adrian shared.

High-level procedures

w w w. p r i m e ro m i n i n g . c o m

45


Safe. Reliable. Robust.

Servicing Mexico for more than 20 years. Joy is a trademark of Joy Global Inc. or one of its affiliates. Š 2015 Joy Global Inc. or one of its affiliates.

www.minerodiesel.com.mx


L AT I N A M E R I C A

Primero has also displayed efforts to bring the gender gap closer by establishing integration programs, and afterwards developing technical training programs for Tayoltita’s housewives. Many female workers started also as drilling operators and earned promotions into higher positions such as mine planning. “Members of our female staff could continue with their education in programs we made available for them and once hired by Primero they could move upwards into better positions,” said the CEO. Regarding safety, Primero has improved yearly in accident prevention as a result of providing its personnel of proper training in safety measures and operation of newer, safer equipment. “Reducing accidents in 80 percent is no satisfactory feat for us; we keep striving to achieve improvements in this area not only through the latest technology, but also by educating and directing our staff toward a workplace safety culture,” Adrian stressed. Commitment to the Environment Primero’s efficient tailing disposal management is optimized by a filtering system able to eliminate any trace of humidity; this process forms a dry mass that can be compacted up to 90 percent.

“Without our workforce, collaborators and employees, the mine would not exist. They are our main concern not just in terms of safety, wellbeing and social programs, but also in creating a pleasant working environment” – Guillermo Adrian, CEO for Primero Compañia Minera

w w w. p r i m e ro m i n i n g . c o m

47


P R I M E R O E M P R E S A M I N E R A , S . A . D E C . V. Compared to other companies in the sector, Primero Mining’s cyanide emissions are well below average due to purifying procedures able to eliminate cyanide almost in its entirety, with help from sunlight to eradicate cyanide from the ground. “This is a state of the art procedure for waste disposal in gold extraction, creating a distinguishing factor in our processes,� the CEO added. Top-level procedures


L AT I N A M E R I C A

Primero is supported by Amec Foster Wheeler in the mining company’s compliance of environmentally-friendly procedures; as the British company performs quarterly inspections of Primero’s deposits. Projections: 2016 and the Next Five Years The San Dimas mine will be subject to a 62-mile per year exploration program. Cerro del Gallo’s facility will expand to make room for their leaching processes.The Ventanas mining complex, 12 miles from San Dimas, is still in exploration stages.

Company Information NAME

Primero Empresa Minera, S.A. De C.V. INDUSTRY

Mining HEADQUARTERS

Tayoltita, Durango, Mexico FOUNDED

“We are committed to become a mid-level company in the short term,” stressed Adrian. To achieve this goal, Primero is in search of new properties for exploration and prospecting, providing existing operations of means to double current production, bringing organic growth to the corporation. “We are also on the lookout for possible opportunities such as acquisitions, mergers and joint ventures,” Adrian stated.

2007 EMPLOYEES

1.200 REVENUE

USD $275 million WEBSITE

www.primeromining.com

Revenue from gold and silver reserves and extraction w w w. p r i m e ro m i n i n g . c o m

49


Profile for Business Chief Canada

BRCA September 2015  

BRCA September 2015