Page 1

We celebrated our End-Of-Year prize presentation ceremony – BPPS Achievers’ Day, on Friday, 19th November 2010. Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports & MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC graced this special occasion as our Guest of Honour. We also had the pleasure of having our School Advisory Committee members, Mr Chai Chon Fah , Mr Neo Tiau Gee, Mr Rajaram, Mr Alex Yeo & Mr Wong K K join us, together with the proud parents and family members of our young achievers. The ceremony began with a speech by our Student Council President, Vikram Kasi Kannappan from Primary 6L. Thereafter prize vouchers were presented to 249 Achievers. 3 Students were also presented certificates for Outstanding All Rounder Student Award (OARS)-Vikram Kasi Kannappan (6L) , Arvindh C Ulagapan (6K), Ranajay Singh Rathore (6J).

Besides recognition for our young achievers, we presented Partners Awards to 2 of our partners; namely, Mrs Sherry Kwok , CIP coordinator for our Parent Support Group and Mr Zhao Bo Jun, Dance coach for the Mirage Dance Troupe. Mrs Sherry Kwok linked up with organisations such as Mercy Relief and SPCA to carry out fund raising projects in the school. She initiated this in 2009 and collaborated with Mercy relief to raise funds for countries hit by natural disasters. This year, she linked up with SPCA, and with the assistance of a few other PSG members, Sherry, talked to pupils during assembly periods on the importance of preventing animal abuse. The pupils were very excited that they too could help in their little ways and funds raised went beyond the expected target. In nurturing our future leaders to be concerned citizens, who better as role models than our partners – our parents! Mr Zhao Bo Jun has been with the school a long time. A very dedicated and committed coach, Mr Zhao has instilled values such as perseverance and teamwork in our pupils in the Mirage Dance Troupe. His training sessions are rigorous but the pupils take immense pride in giving their best in all their performances. Working closely with our team of equally dedicated teachers, Mr Zhao, led the Mirage dancers to win the ‘Gold with Honours’ award in the 2010 SYF competition. We thank him for his valued contribution to our school.

18 of our teachers also received Long Service Awards (5 & 10 years) and we presented the Outstanding Contribution Awards to staff members from both the Team and Individual Category.

• • • • • • • • • • •

All who attended the ceremony were delighted by the performances by our in-house talents (Aesthetics groups): Festive Drummers Choir Mirage Dancers Indian Orchestra Silat Chinese Orchestra Band Aspirasi Dancers Vasantham Dancers Modern Dancers Joseph Ho of Primary 5K, finalists in the YMCA Plain English Speaking Awards. We were very honoured to have our guest-of-honour officiate the opening of our ART HUB as well that day. It was truly heart warming to see the delightful faces of our achievers and the proud smiles of their parents. We will continue to endeavour in nurturing Future Leaders and Concerned Citizens.

Achievers' Day 2010  
Achievers' Day 2010  

Achievers prize giving