Page 1


Contact: Rick Leddy, NABC 203-239-4253 (

National Association of Basketball Coaches Announces 2012 Division II All-District Teams and Coaches KANSAS CITY, Mo. (March 16, 2012) -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today the 2012 NABC Coaches’ Division II All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men’s collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 89 student-athletes, from eight districts, are now eligible for the NABC Coaches’ Division II All-America teams, selected by the NABC. 2012 NABC COACHES’ DIVISION II ALL-DISTRICT TEAMS Atlantic First Team Second Team Ashton Smith, IUP Steve Catich, Wheeling Jesuit Paul “PJ” Reyes, Charleston (WV) Alex Falk, West Liberty Raymont McElroy, West Virginia Wesleyan Devin Taylor, Slippery Rock Malik Alvin, Shaw University Travis Hyman, Bowie State Julian Sanders, IUP Trevin Parks, Johnson C. Smith Dontahe Jordan, Bloomsburg Kelsey Williams, West Virginia Wesleyan Coach of the Year: Jim Crutchfield, West Liberty University Midwest First Team Jeremy Kendle, Bellarmine Braydon Hobbs, Bellarmine Brandon Hogg, Southern Indiana Anthony Young, Kentucky Wesleyan Adrian Moss, Indianapolis Brad Guinane, Hillsdale

Second Team Ali Haidar, Michigan Tech Kyle Caiola, Findlay Evan Yates, Ashland Ike Udanoh, Wayne State Troy Long, Missouri-St. Louis

Co-Coaches of the Year: Steve Tappmeyer, Missouri-St. Louis and Scott Davenport, Bellarmine University Central First Team James Ellisor, Bemidji State Brett Green, Colorado School of Mines Cody Schilling, Augustana Clayton Vette, Winona State Reggie Evans, Metropolitan State DJ Hamilton, Minnesota State

Second Team Shaun Jensen, St. Cloud State Ryan Rasmussen, Minnesota-Duluth Dale Minschwaner, Metropolitan State Matt Morris, Fort Lewis Jonathan Morse, Metropolitan State

Coach of the Year: Pryor Orser, Colorado School of Mines

(NABC Division II All-District -- page 2) East First Team Stefan Bonneau, C.W. Post Eric Jean-Guillaume, Franklin Pierce Ahmad Harris, Bloomfield Cory Quimby, Dominican Nigel Munson, UDC Wayne Mack, Merrimack

Second Team Mike Holton Jr., St. Michael’s Sam Leclerc, Bentley Darian David, Bridgeport Ellis Cooper, Franklin Pierce Akeem Williams, UMass-Lowell

Coach of the Year: David Chadbourne, Franklin Pierce University South First Team Josh Magette, Alabama-Huntsville Scott Dennis, Christian Brothers Jaime Smith, Alabama-Huntsville Zack Warner, Christian Brothers Lance Kearse, Eckerd Da’Ron Sims, West Georgia

Second Team Zane Campbell, Alabama-Huntsville Simon Cummings, FIT Jamar Moore, West Florida Trent Thomas, St. Leo Theron Jenkins, North Alabama

Coach of the Year: Lennie Acuff, University of Alabama in Huntsville Southeast First Team D.J. Rivera, Montevallo Dwight Tolbert, Lander Ryan Aquino, Georgia College Liki Turner, Francis Marion Sterling Council, USC Aiken Steve Peterson, Columbus State

Second Team Antoine Davis, Montevallo Daniel Bailey, Queens Craig Hayes, Mount Olive Teondre Williams, Clayton State Brian Hewitt, King

Coach of the Year: Jason Taylor, Anderson University (SC) South Central First Team Will McNeill, Washburn Keane Thomann, Missouri Southern Michael Loyd, Midwestern State Jason Adams, Missouri Southern Milton Garner, Cameron Fabian Wilson, Tarleton State

Second Team Kevin Kotzur, St. Mary’s (TX) DeShaun Cooper, Northwest Missouri Ryan Dougherty, Southwest Baptist Dominique Long, Central Missouri Johnie Davis, Arkansas Tech

Coach of the Year: Nelson Haggerty, Midwestern State University West First Team Taylor Rohde, Alaska-Anchorage Reggie Jones, Cal State-Stanislaus Randy Hunter, Humboldt State Randy Blanche, Western Washington Jay Flores, Cal State-Chico Tsung-Hsien “Jet” Chang, BYU-Hawaii

Second Team Mitchell Anderson, Cal Poly Pomona David Downs, Seattle Pacific Steven Pratt, Sonoma State Andy Poling, Seattle Pacific Maurice Cole, Dixie State

Coach of the Year: Brad Jackson, Western Washington University

(NABC Division II All-District -- page 3) About the National Association of Basketball Coaches Located in Kansas City, MO, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Forrest “Phog” Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men’s basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today’s student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. Additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, can be found at ##