Brunswick School Advancement Office

Page 1

Brunswick School Advancement Office

The generosity and dedication of Brunswick’s community of parents, alumni, and friends have been instrumental in establishing the school as one of the nation’s leading independent day schools for boys.

As an independent school, Brunswick receives no government support and relies on income from tuition, endowment, and contributions from annual giving to cover operating expenses.

Today’s administration, faculty, and students recognize and appreciate their good fortune and endeavor every day to abide by former Headmaster Alfred E. Everett’s favorite quote, which adorns the brick wall just outside both the Upper School and Middle School entrances: “With All Thy Getting, Get Understanding.”

This document serves as a resource and guide to the many functions of Brunswick’s Advancement Office. I invite you to visit our office at the Middle School campus on King Street, or feel free to contact me with any questions at any time.

As always, thank you for keeping Brunswick School and all our boys at the forefront of your philanthropic interests.

Sincerely,

203.242.1225

tmurray@brunswickschool.org

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE
OFFICE

CHARITABLE GIVING

Make a Gift, Make a Difference

Brunswick is an independent school, relying on voluntary contributions from parents, alumni, faculty, and friends, in addition to income from tuition and endowment, to make possible all we do for our boys. We do not receive government funding. We are fortunate in that so many believe in the value and quality of a Brunswick education, choosing to demonstrate their support by making philanthropic gifts to our school.

FAQs

What is the ’Wick Annual Fund?

Brunswick’s annual giving program, known as the ’Wick Annual Fund, is an ongoing, annual fundraising program that reaches each member of our school community. As at most independent schools, tuition does not cover the full cost of a Brunswick education; ’Wick Annual Fund contributions go directly into the operating budget to meet the everyday expenses of running the school. Annual Fund pledges must be paid by June 30, before the end of the fiscal year. Annual Fund gifts are especially important now as we embark on a new capital campaign, Ever Stronger, Ever Brunswick. As our school grows and expands, so too must the operating funds we need to meet the increasing needs of the boys. To learn more, please click here.

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE

What is the endowment fund and how is that money used?

Brunswick’s endowment is an investment fund that grows its principal as it also generates interest and dividend income, thereby securing the school’s long-term financial future. The principal of an endowment gift is preserved in perpetuity; only the interest income or earnings may be used to cover operating expenses. Endowment gifts may benefit all areas of the school or be restricted to support specific programs. For more information, please click here.

What about capital fundraising initiatives?

Independent schools depend on capital fundraising to build endowment and supply funds for projects such as the purchase of land, construction of facilities, and renovations. A capital campaign gift provides a one-time infusion of capital, generally pledged over three to five years. When we are not in the midst of a capital campaign, solicitation of major capital gifts is ongoing and directed toward a specific project or need of the school. In celebration of our 120th year, Brunswick launched Ever Stronger, Ever Brunswick, a comprehensive campaign that will have four main areas of focus: Upper School facility enhancement; increased endowment for financial aid; strengthened commitment to the faculty and community; and the expansion of health and wellness programming. To learn more, please click here.

Does Brunswick encourage planned giving?

Planned giving provides a vehicle to realize the personal satisfaction of making a gift to help Brunswick, while simultaneously securing the financial needs of family or loved ones. You can make a current planned gift, such as appreciated stock to the Annual Fund, or a deferred planned gift, which might include establishing a trust or annuity funded by stock, real estate, or life insurance. You may also name the school as a beneficiary of your pension plan or provide for Brunswick in your will. The school encourages those considering planned gifts to discuss the details with a financial planner. Please visit our planned giving website for more information.

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE

Does Brunswick have giving societies?

Yes, Brunswick does have a variety of giving societies which we encourage everyone to review to see how they might contribute. Our most popular is the Brunswick Leadership Society which recognizes donors who contributed to Capital Projects, Annual Giving, or the Senior Fund with gifts of $2,500 or more during the current fiscal year. In addition, donors contributing $10,000 or more to the ‘Wick Annual Fund are invited to become members of The Caputo Society and will be invited to the Head of School’s annual Caputo Society Reception. The Brown & Gold Society includes those who have made a gift to the Annual Fund each and every year for 10 consecutive years or more, and the George E. Carmichael Society for community members who have remembered Brunswick in their estate plans through charitable bequests, trusts, or other provisions. Finally there is the 1902 Society for those individuals and families whose total giving to the School has surpassed $1 million. For more information on giving societies, click here

How can I make a gift?

Gifts may be made to Brunswick School in the form of cash, check, credit card, Venmo, marketable securities, real estate, or life insurance. Please visit our website for more details on the various ways to make your gift, or to make your gift online. Many companies match charitable gifts to independent schools, thereby doubling your gift to Brunswick. Find out if your company has a matching gift program here. If so, your employer’s human resources department can provide the required forms.

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE

THE DEVELOPMENT TEAM

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE
Krista Bruce Director of Annual Giving kbruce@brunswickschool.org Lisa DiGirolamo Executive Assistant ldigirolamo@brunswickschool.org Meghan Gould Director of Development for Major Gifts mgould@brunswickschool.org Linda Miller Database Manager and Advancement Associate lmiller@brunswickschool.org Thomas Murray Chief Advancement Officer tmurray@brunswickschool.org Binney Huffman Director of Stewardship and Donor Relations bhuffman@brunswickschool.org Alison Gillott Special Events and Administrative Coordinator agillott@brunswickschool.org

ADDITIONAL DIVISIONS

Alumni Relations

The mission of the Alumni Relations Office is to enhance connections between the school and its alumni, while fostering a sense of community and commitment. For more information, contact Director of Alumni Relations

Zachary Dobbs ’06, zdobbs@brunswickschool.org. Brunswick’s Alumni Relations Office telephone number is 203-242-1225 .

Brunswick Career Center

The Career Center serves alumni and students seeking internships and new careers, as well as current parents and alumni seeking qualified job candidates. With online career education tools, a job board, career workshops, alumni “meet-ups,” one-on-one career advisory, and a newly-integrated partnership with LinkedIn, the Center supports alumni through all stages of their careers. For more information, contact Career Center Director Paige Montinaro: pmontinaro@brunswickschool.org; 203-242-1224; brunswickcareercenter.org.

nsarnoff-williams@brunswickschool.org

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE
Zachary Dobbs ’06 Director of Alumni Relations zdobbs@brunswickschool.org Max Metalios ’17 Assistant Director Alumni Relations mmetalios@brunswickschool.org John Schlank ’17 Alumni Engagement Associate jschlank@brunswickschool.org Nancy Sarnoff-Williams Career Center Associate Paige Montinaro Director of Career Services pmontinaro@brunswickschool.org Megan Officer Director of Career Center Outreach mofficer@brunswickschool.org

Communications Team

The Communications Office produces all Advancement communications, including the school’s Annual Report of Giving and Times of Brunswick. Published three times a year, Times of Brunswick includes feature stories and snippets highlighting students, faculty, alumni, and events. This publication is a look at the Brunswick community at large and welcomes submissions to the editor. News of interest to the Brunswick community is regularly published in ’WickNow, an online resource located at the bottom of the brunswickschool.org homepage.

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE
Mike Kennedy ‘99 Associate Director, Institutional Communications mkennedy@brunswickschool.org Daniel Griffin Director of Institutional Communications dgriffin@brunswickschool.org Wayne Lin Associate Director of Communications, New Media wlin@brunswickschool.org Michael Catenacci Creative Video Producer mcatenacci@brunswickschool.org Craig Rusnak Associate Director of Communications, Content Management and Design crusnak@brunswickschool.org Riley McCarthy Assistant Director of Communications and Social Media rmccarthy@brunswickschool.org Angelique Bell Assistant Director of Communications and Advancement abell@brunswickschool.org

OTHER RESOURCES

Faculty & Staff Directory

A searchable list of faculty and staff faces and contact information. For direct access click here.

Logos & Graphics Standards

Brunswick School logos (logotype, seal, Bruins bear), colors, and fonts. For direct access click here.

Parent Resources

Forms and useful links for parents. For direct access click here.

Campus Map

Explore Brunswick’s three campuses and locations. For direct access click here.

WickPics Photo Galleries

View and download photos taken by the school throughout the year. For direct access click here

Calendars

For direct access click here.

Athletics

For direct access click here.

BRUNSWICK SCHOOL ADVANCEMENT OFFICE
Brunswick School Advancement Office 100 Maher Avenue, Greenwich, CT 06830 203.242.1225 brunswickschool.org/support-wick
Issuu converts static files into: digital portfolios, online yearbooks, online catalogs, digital photo albums and more. Sign up and create your flipbook.