Page 1

Senior Review & Exhibition Proposal


Bachelor’s in Arts with Graphic Design Concentration + Minor in Marketing EXHIBITION STATEMENT

When I think about the senior show, I think of it as a way of showcasing both what I’m strong at and what I’ve done, both in school and out of it, that I am proud of. To that end, I want to focus on the most impressive works, regardless of what medium.

internships because I want to showcase my job expertise. This includes the work I’ve done during my internship for Florida Parishes Bank, as well as the work I’ve done for Aramark’s department within our university’s dining department.

I’ve made sure to include works that are from different classes such as my Motion work, Environmental work, and even my Web Design concepts. If certain projects are refined and finished on time, I’d like to also show one or two wooden environmental projects as a means of showcasing my flexibility. I also want to include work I’ve done for my

But above all else, I want to show the value of the education I’ve received at Southeastern. My time here has definitely had its ups and downs, but overall I think of the entire experience very positively. It has greatly improved my overall skill and knowledge of the Graphic Design field. This, if nothing else, is what I want my senior exhibition to showcase.


BRIAN WAGNER

H

A

Edward Fella is an influential contemprary typography expert whose work stretches from Detroit to parts of Europe. He owns an Honorary Doctorate from CCS in Detroit. He recieved an MFA in Design from Cranbook Academy of Art in 1987. Until very recently he taught his subject at CALARTS (California Institute of the Arts). He has since retired and involves himself in personal artistic endeavors, and is known for his skill in handdrawn typography.

Edward Fella is an influential contemporary typography expert whose work stretches from Detroit to parts of Europe. He owns an Honorary Doctorate from CCS in Detroit. He recieved an MFA in Design from Cranbook Academy of Art in 1987. Until very recently he taught his subject at CALARTS (California Institute of the Arts). He has since retired and involves himself in personal artistic endeavors, and is known for his skill in hand-drawn typography.

NOMA - New Orleans Museum of Art One Collins C. Diboll Circle, City Park New Orleans, Louisiana - 70124

NOMA - New Orleans Museum of Art One Collins C. Diboll Circle, City Park New Orleans, Louisiana - 70124

B

C

Personal

WAGNER Platinum

ACCOUNTS

SERVING SOUTHEAST LOUISIANA SINCE 1922

CHECKING

Internship Journal & Portfolio Florida Parishes Bank August 2017 to November 2017

YOUR SCHEDULE

MONEY

MARKET

STANDS AGAINST

BREAST CANCER

A relationship checking with the best options we have to offer.

Interest accruing accounts to reach your long term savings goals.

Variable Interest Rate1

Variable Interest Rate1

In honor of Breast Cancer Awareness month, Florida Parishes Bank will make a $50 donation to the Mary Bird Perkins Cancer Center for each new checking account opened in October.

Deposit checks, pay bills, review your account, view e-statements, and more with the goDough Mobile App.

Free Apple Pay, Samsung Pay, and Android Pay Free Online Banking Free Bill Payment Free E-Statements

*Available on mobile devices that are compatible with the mentioned payment options. Apple Pay®, Samsung Pay® and Android Pay® are registered trademarks of their respective companies.

Free Debit Card • $.05 per POS Debit credited to account after first 10 POS purchases

DEBIT

PLAN YOUR YOURPLAN

goDough Phone App

Apple Pay®, Samsung Pay® and Android Pay® Link your bank cards to your mobile devices* and pay for transactions quickly with a simple phone interaction - no plastic required.

Free Apple Pay, Samsung Pay, and Android Pay Free Online Banking Free Bill Payment Free E-Statements

5555-5555-5555-5555

985 - 345 - BANK (2265)

HOW DOES IT WORK?

FPB NMLS #416494

Hammond • Ponchatoula • Amite • Covington • Mandeville • Metairie

www.bankfpb.com

Dining on campus is not only easy, but it is also very affordable. With Southeastern’s own nationally-recognized restaurant, the Mane Dish, you can eat delicious food from many different food stations in an all-you-care-to-eat environment for breakfast, lunch and dinner. There’s something different every day!

Fee Rebate

5555-5555-5555-5555

• NSF Forgiveness (One per 6 month period upon request)

DEBIT

Monthly Service charge waived with any of the following:

Fee Rebates

SERVING SOUTHEAST LOUISIANA SINCE 1922

• from $10 to $750 • NSF (One • Accepted anywhere the VisaForgiveness Card is accepted

• Daily balance more than $3,000

per 6 month period upon request) cycle rebated for money orders, cashier’s checks, telephone transfers or wire transfers

Up to $10 per • Check your•balance easily

When you eat at the Mane Dish, you use a “meal swipe”, which takes from your meal plan. Not feeling up to the usual dining experience? No problem! We offer numerous national-chain restaurants on campus as well as full service convenience stores. You can use the “Cub Cash” portion of your meal plan for these freely!

Transaction Fee

• $10 Excess item fee will be charged for each item over six (6) per month2.

Monthly Service charge waived with any of the following:

(If the service charge waive requirements are not met, there will be a $10 fee.) (Monthly paper statement optional - $3.50 fee) (Minimum Deposit to open account - $100) For current rates, contact a FPB Banker. 2 Federal Regulations limit savings and money market accounts to six pre-authorized or electronic payments, withdrawals, or outgoing transfers per month. This includes the account transfers or payments initiated by telephone, Mobile Banking, and Online Banking, as well as automatic debits and transfers (such as automatic bill payment and overdraft protection services). See the Deposit Agreement or Truth in Savings Disclosure for more information.

• Daily balance more than $5,000 • MMA/Savings Balance more than $2,500 • Checking and Consumer Loan Balance more than $10,000

1

$3.50 to purchase gift card. NoN-reusable.

www.bankfpb.com 985 - 345 - BANK (2265) (If the service charge waive requirements are not met, there will be a $10 fee.) (Monthly paper statement optional - $3.50 fee) (Minimum Deposit to open account - $1000)

SERVING SOUTHEAST LOUISIANA SINCE 1922

Go Go

Personal

Statement

goDough Phone App Deposit checks, pay bills, review your account, 1 view e-statements, andRate more with the Variable Interest goDough Mobile App.

SAVINGS

Monthly Withdrawal Allotments

You get more value out of your money, with tax free spending at all listed dining locations (essentially a 10% cut in price)! And you’ll use that tax-free spending at places like the Mane Dish, which offers a variety of high quality meals in a buffet-style presentation, or at fast food restaurants such as Taco Bell, Chick-Fil-A, Mooyah, Subway Cafe, or Panda Express!

ALL ACCESS 7

GOLD PLAN

CUB PLAN

G

J

I

OUTSIDE

K

L

FOR PRESIDENT

Design Magazine of Art and Culture

$ 1600 per semester

• 8 all you can eat meals per week in Mane Dish • No Guest Passes • $575 Cub Cash

$ 1550 per semester

BASIC

VOLUNTARY MEAL PLAN 1

VOLUNTARY MEAL PLAN 2

• 48 meals/semester in the Mane Dish • $375 Cub Cash • Both never expire!

• 18 meals/semester in the Mane Dish • $295 Cub Cash • Both never expire!

• NO meals in Mane Dish • $300, All Cub Cash. • Cub cash never expires!

$ 600 per semester

$ 400 per semester

$ 300 per semester

COMMUTER

• 150 Meals in Mane Dish • 10 Guest Passes • $400 Cub Cash • Default Plan

$ 1450 per semester

THIRSTY?

ED FELLA

THE ESSENCE OF TYPE

Adventurer’s TRUSTY JOURNAL

An Examination of Ed Fella’s Playful Typographic Art

Just like fountain drinks? Maybe you should consider the All Access Drink Sticker! Grants you unlimited drinks from all of our retail locations, only for the low price of $100/semester!

MORE INFO?

HE’S A GOOD BOY

D ECEMBER 2016 ISSUE 51 $7.99

For more information on on-campus dining, please visit www.southeasterndining.com Or Call 9 8 5 - 5 4 9 - 2 2 8 6

HANDCRAFTED AND BOUND • ANIMAL FUR AND FOLIAGE • 250 PGS

Adventurer’s TRUSTY JOURNAL

9 781565 924796 EatingMadeEasy Brochure.indd 4

5/24/2017 1:34:21 PM

EatingMadeEasy Brochure.indd 5

5/24/2017 1:34:21 PM

HANDCRAFTED AND BOUND • ANIMAL FUR AND FOLIAGE • 250 PGS

Free Apple Pay, Samsung Pay, and Android Pay2 Free Online Banking2 Free Bill Payment2 Free E-Statements Free 24 Hour Phone Access DEBIT

• Each additional $10.00 • 2 Total Free Teller Withdrawals Per Month • Each additional $5.00

Monthly Service charge waived with any of the following: • Daily balance more than $300 • No service fee if they are under 18

Monthly Service charge waived with any of the following:

$

• Daily Balance More than $3,000

(If not waived a $3.00 Service Charge per Month will be applied) (Monthly paper statement optional - $3.50 fee) (Minimum Deposit to open account - $100) 1

(If not waived a $3.00 Service Charge per Month will be applied) (Monthly paper statement optional - $3.50 fee)

For current rates, contact a FPB Banker. 2 Debit Card, Check and Bill Pay available ONLY for HSA approved expenses. It is the customer's responsibility to maintain account in accord with IRS rules for Health Savings Accounts.

For current rates, contact a FPB Banker. Interest compounded and paid quarterly.

What do you get when you bank with Florida Parishes Bank? DEBIT CARDS • CREDIT CARDS • GIFT CARDS • TELEPHONE BANKING • FREE FPB ATMS OVERDRAFT FORGIVENESS • MORTGAGE LOANS • HOME EQUITY LOANS • CAR LOANS PERSONAL LOANS • BUSINESS LOANS • AUTOMATIC TRANSFERS • NIGHT DEPOSITORY OFFICIAL CHECKS • MONEY ORDERS • SAFE DEPOSIT BOXES • WIRE TRANSFERS

A Banking Tradition in Southeast Louisiana Since 1922

VACATION

CHRISTMAS

CLUB

CLUB

Saving for the Holiday Season has never been so easy!

Account allowing you to carefully plan for that ideal vacation getaway.

Variable Interest Rate1

Variable Interest Rate1

Money is saved via a monthly deposit. Deposits made monthly now through October via EFT transfer. The money is then withdrawn on October 15th, perfectly timed for your holiday shopping needs.

M

BORF

MORE INTO LESS

Free Debit Card2 Unlimited Check Writing2 FPB Design Checks (40) FPB Design Deposit Tickets (10)

5555-5555-5555-5555

• 6 Total Withdrawals per Month

$

$ 1700 per semester

Left Over Balance? Why use Cub Cash? Cub Cash Balance rolls through fall to spring typically, so left over balance will carry over during this period! In other words, Cub Cash expires at the end of the Spring Semester.

F

Variable Interest Rate1

Free Apple Pay, Samsung Pay, and Android Pay Free Online Banking Free E-Statements Free 24 Hour Phone Access

985 - 345 - BANK (2265)

1

RESIDENT PLANS

ALL ACCESS 7

UPGRADE

• Unlimited, all you can eat • Unlimited, all you can eat meals in Mane Dish meals in Mane Dish • 1 Guest Pass per week • 1 Guest Pass per week • $400 Cub Cash • $250 Cub Cash

COMMUTER PLANS

Why All Access? The All Access Plan offers unparalleled flexibility, variety, and value. For instance, with unlimited meals you can enter the Mane Dish every 30 minutes, leaving you plenty of opportunities for grabbing a drink or snack on the go. You’re also given flexible variety with Cub Cash, all to use on any of our excellent on-campus dining locations.

However, expiration only applies to residential plans - this does not apply to Voluntary and Commuter plans, which never expire.

E

Take advantage of tax savings and be prepared for health care expenses.

www.bankfpb.com Hammond • Ponchatoula • Amite Covington • Mandeville • Metairie

$

Personal ACCOUNTS

FPB HEALTH

SAVINGS

Available on mobile devices that are compatible with the mentioned payment options. Apple Pay®, Samsung Pay® and Android Pay® are registered trademarks of their respective companies.

FPB NMLS #416494

What about...

ACCOUNTS

TORS

Apple Pay®, Samsung Pay® and Android Pay® Link your bank cards to your mobile devices* and pay for transactions quickly with a simple phone interaction - no plastic required.

For the individual ready to set a savings goal.

SPEND CUB CASH HERE

BRIAN

D

Funds are transfered into an existing FPB account on May 15th for easy vacation planning access.

$

FPB Branch Locations

Important Phone Numbers

Hammond Main: Hammond East: Ponchatoula: Amite: Covington: Mandeville Metairie:

Telephone Banking 24/7 877-345-3742 Customer Service Inquiries 985-345-BANK (2265) Lost or Stolen Debit Cards 877-849-5533 Lost or Stolen Credit Cards 800-423-7503

1300 West Morris Ave. 18014 Hwy. 190 East 490 Barringer Dr. 601 West Oak St. 2300 North Hwy. 190 2909 Hwy. 190 1041 Veterans Blvd.

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) from an existing FPB account required. Minimum Transfer of $10.00. (Minimum Deposit to open account - $10.00) (Early Withdrawal / Closure Fee - $10.00)

Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) from an existing FPB account required. Minimum Transfer of $10.00.

Account automatically renews.

(Minimum Deposit to open account - $10.00) (Early Withdrawal / Closure Fee - $10.00) Account automatically renews.

For current rates, contact a FPB Banker.

1

For current rates, contact a FPB Banker.

2017/2018

www.bankfpb.com

FPB NMLS # 416494

N

BRIAN WAGNER Graphic Design + VFX & Motion Design

N BRIAN BRIAER WAGN WAG Graphic Design

+ VFX & Motion

{

Design

Graphic Design

BRIAN

O

WAGNER

NER

+ VFX & Motion

Design

P

Q

R

S

{

1

Brian Wagner • Senior Schematic a. Ed Fella Posters b. FPB Internship Journal c. FPB Internship - Brochures d. Aramark Internship - Brochures e. Tabletop Toolkit - Mailer f. More Into Less Magazine g. BORF (2018 Revised)

h. Black Dragon Environmental I. Black Dragon Business Cards (x3) J. Black Dragon Branding Guide K. Black Dragon Navigational L. Black Dragon Packaging M. Black Dragon Stationary

N. Business Cards (x3+) O. Portfolio P. Tabletop Toolkit - Packaging & Environmental

Q. Aramark - Hours of Operation R. Website - CSS (or Portfolio Website) S. Assorted Motion Works


This is an approximate rendering of my exhibition proposal, made using Adobe Dimension CC. Materials required for my exhibition: 1 x Gallery Display Area 1 x Gallery Pedestal (Small) 2 x Tables (or other Horizontal Display) 2 x Computers (Any sort will do) 1 x Dining Hours of Operation Display (I have gotten permission to use this!) PG. 5 • Exhibition Statement


QUESTION 01 “Describe your thesis exhibition proposal using your schematic and the artwork you have presented.” Flexibility is the aspect of my design work I wish to emphasize the most. I’ve always thought that a diverse portfolio was important. To that end, the work submitted in the exhibition should represent the strongest work I’ve created in all mediums - print design, digital/web design, motion graphics, environmental, and more. The schematic features 19 pieces. However, the collection of motion graphics video is counted as one work. My exhibition will represent a collection of both works from college as well as work I’ve done on my

own or for internships or commissions. My space would be divided into two portions, with supplementary items (such as the Aramark Display, the Environmental work, and the two computers I requested) around the main shelves. Sticking the Senior Project works together is important to me as well, as I feel it gives a solid idea of what my ‘final’ work was in the course program. Internship work is also featured, demonstrating the job experise I’ve acquired over the last two years.


PG. 7 • Question 1


QUESTION 02 “What area of graphic design are you interested in and why? Using your portfolio, please point to examples of this type of work.” Given my appreciation for several types of design work, I find it difficult to pin down exactly what I like. I’ve enjoyed working with Print, Digital, web, and even environmental (albeit I definitely need practice there). However, I think my print works have surprisingly been some of my strongest, such as my More Into Less Booklet or my Tabletop Toolkit packaging. I noticed not only did these two examples recieve praise from professor and student alike, but they also were particularly enjoyable to work on: I love working on the technical aspect of

books, and find it easy to sink my teeth into a gigantic project involving setting type and imagery. Still, I don’t necessarily think print is all I’m interested in. I believe the easiest description of my work stems from the concept of “theatrical” or “blockbuster” design. I have an affinity for works that are bold and vivid, highly textured or even just oozing the personality of the company. It’s particularly evident in my Tabletop Toolkit packaging, but even moreso represented in the work I did with Black Dragon.


PG. 9 • Question 2


QUESTION 03 “With which design, theatrical, or art history traditions does your work formally or conceptually align?” I find my work has a commercial or technical edge to it. I typically sway away from idealogical works, or works that say things indirectly. I’m passionate about designing with a purpose in mind, and I love seeing advertising that grabs attention in the age of adverts. Combine this with an overall appreciation for readability and cleanliness, as well as formality in type arrangement and grid arrangement, and I think it’s easy to point to a certain style. The easiest comparison for my grid-based layout preference is the International Typographic Style, or Swiss Style. This prominent design style arose in the 1950s and was the style responisble

for emphasizing readable, clean type arrangement in a grid-based layout. Artists such as Paul Rand represent both an appreciation for the Swiss Style and enthusiasm for commercialism. Ideologically or conceptually, I tend to sway towards artists like Wayne White and Ed Fella, who seem to be very lax with what they consider appropriate for art. I’ve never enjoyed the concept of holding yourself or art in high regard, and while I’m not one to personally care about ‘deconstructing the idea of art’, I appreciate their carefree casual attitudes and the work they do. They simply do what they want to, and popularity rightly follows.


Assorted - Examples of Swiss Style

Examples of Paul Rand Works

Servador • Logo 1996 | Westinghouse • Standards Manual 1961

From Left to Right: Wayne White & Ed Fella Fanfuckintastic | Untitled (from Lettering Sketchbook)

PG. 11 • Question 3


QUESTION 04 “Who are your stylistic influences? How have they impacted your work? Give an example by naming one source and discussing one of their artworks in detail. � My biggest influence in wanting to get into the design field lies in videogames, which have been my most enjoyed hobby since I was old enough to hold a GameBoy. So, it only makes sense that my biggest stylistic influences came from this area. One of the biggest videogames responsible for my style and interest in broadening my design horizons is the creative title All Points Bulletin: Reloaded. It is, by far, my favorite example of a multitude of different artists coming together to create the most vivid and different body of work I’ve ever seen. The advertising features gritty sprays and stylized character drawings, the in-game advertisements a combination of satirized products and companies and genuinely attractive design choices.Vivid texture, impressively rendered drawings... every inch of the city had something new to look at. This was because APB:R had numerous artists behind the helm, so numerous different designers

got to leave a distinctive mark. It was so expressive and different from anything I had seen before. This was how I began to really dive into Design: I emulated everything I possibly could. A lot of it was beyond my scope at the time, but I grew immensely as a designer by simply trying to replicate the visual style that oozed out of every corner. It opened my eyes to a lot of different styles of art, and inspired me to make the choice to become a designer. One of my favorite artists from the game is Jack Oakman, who was a lead designer on the team. I admire his ability to work within numerous mediums (from UI to 3D Models to even scenary and conceptual design), and have been in contact with him. He has a strong graffiti-inspired style in his promotional work for the game, but his independent work is heavy on texture (as it has to be, given the 3D Model expertise).


Various Artists - Examples from All Points Bulletin

Jack Oakman - Portfolio (Left to Right: Violet Bengtsdotta Model & Assorted Promotions for APB)

PG. 13 • Question 4


QUESTION 05 “Can you tell us about your experience with your internship? Where did you work and what type of work did you do? Did you find this experience useful? What was one of the biggest takeaways or challenges?” I worked with Florida Parishes Bank as a graphic design and marketing intern. This particular office is their main offices in Hammond, not too far away from Southeastern. Up until this point, their work had mostly been done out-of-house, by hired independent workers. My experience was largely positive and representative of what it is like working for a non-design company, something that I believe is invaluable for design students. I created print advertising for publications such as the Daily Star and Southeastern’s own Lion’s Roar, as well as digital advertising using Google Adwords. I also worked on updating the company’s

logos, brochures, and other stationary. I had to consult other workers when working around the regulations and compliance issues that arise from bank work. The biggest challenges were learning Google Adwords (or Google Web Developer for the program version). I think it’s important to be open to learning new programs, especially the Adwords platform, as it is one of the largest advertising platforms around. Most design jobs use the platform to some capacity, so I felt this was the most valuable thing I gained experience in.


PG. 15 • Question 5


QUESTION 06 “What is the strongest attribute of your work? How is this strength apparent?” Aside from the flexibility I mentioned earlier, I feel my strongest attribute is in my use of vivid texture and color choices. I also have a natural enjoyment in the technical side of design work, including working with typography and layouts. This aspect of design might seem mundane to most, but having a design come together feels fantastic to me. I also believe my photography and motion instincts are strong despite never taking any many formal classes in either subject. In other words, I believe I excel at “grabbing the viewers attention” with intricate, detailed graphics, typography, and imagery. The biggest examples

of this concept of my work can be found in my Tabletop Toolkit works, which I believe showcase an incredible amount of detail for how simple they are in concept. Something about the intense element graphics, and textured background behind it, makes the user want to stop and examine the work. But my motion graphic work, especially my independent commission work, sells this idea in spades: a lot of my work was particularly tailored to catching a viewer’s attention in the first ten seconds of a video, something I pride myself in being very successful at.


PG. 17 • Question 6


QUESTION 07 “What were the challenges in creating this work? How did you address these challenges?” One look at any of my prior work in Print Design or Environmental Design makes my biggest weakness apparent: craftsmanship and physical handiwork. I’ve always found it difficult to work with my hands in my work, particularly when the work calls for steady cutting or careful adhesive application. Indeed, most things that don’t involve computers give me a lot of trouble even now. Addressing this weakness is a constant challenge that I attempt to fight every time it arises. The biggest solution has been practice, although I find double sided adhesive rollers to be a god-send in dealing

with my problems with adhesives. Cutting is still a large issue, however, and I wonder how long it will take until I get better at it. However, it has not all been a loss: my work on the Tabletop Toolkit packaging shows great promise, as my window cuts have been perfect this time around. My work on the actual overall craftmanship varies. These examples are a few of the older images I’ve taken of the project, which showcase both good elements (the window cuts and assembly) and bad elements (jagged cuts and uneven edges). I hope to only improve myself in this weakness over time.


PG. 19 • Question 7


QUESTION 08 “What are your strategies for entering the graphic design field? Taking into account that your first job will most likely not be your ideal job, what sacrifices are you prepared to make? If you are already working in this field, discuss your ongoing strategies for advancement to reach that ideal position, and what would that be?” While I am in a design job at this time, they intend to continue serving internship positions after I graduate. I believe I have already had to face the idea of not having the ‘ideal job’, both in my work in fast food and in working for companies that are not the ‘ideal’ for a designer. So, I am willing to make every sacrifice I can as long as I am paid, even working for people I may not necessarily agree with. The only thing I have reservations about is living in New Orleans, but even that I’d be willing to compromise on. I’ve always wanted a job I enjoyed doing, and design was something I’ve always enjoyed doing. However, I abhor the idea of being a teacher or working for a gallery. So, I want to work for

a company that is not directly related to design but where a graphic designer is an essential role. Ideally this would be some sort of game design position, but I’d be willing to work anywhere that fit that criteria. I also want to eventually move out of Louisiana and live in a populated city. My strategy, thus, is to apply to every single design job opening I can think of until one sticks. This will be a temporary stopgap to earn work experience in my field. Positions that feature game, movie, or other entertainment as the focus will take precedent. I’ll leverage my diverse portfolio and practical skillset as my biggest advantages, especially in knowing print media industry standards and in knowing how to design for Google Adwords advertisements.


BRIAN WAGNER

985 445 7890 brianwagnerjr@gmail.com www.portfoliosite.com

Graphic Design + VFX & Motion Design

BRIAN

985 445 7890 brianwagnerjr@gmail.com

WAGNER

References Available on Request

EDUCATION Southeastern Louisiana University Hammond, LA from Fall 2012 to Spring 2018

Graphic Designer + VFX & Video Editing + 3D Design I’m a 25 year old with a passion for design and popular media, including games, movies and television. I’ve lived across the world for a few years and have a desire to expand my horizons. I’m familiar with the trials and tribulations that come with customer service, but I’m always up for the challenge as well.

EXPERIENCE FLORIDA PARISHES BANK Graphic Design Intern, June 2017 to Present ARAMARK • Southeastern Dining Services Graphic Design Intern, April 2017 to August 2017 RAISING CANES (Store 28 - LIGERS) Counter Crewmember • July 2015 to August 2016 • 1 year 1 month. HRSC: SOUTHEAST (GS-326) STENNIS SPACE CENTER Paid Internship • Summer of 2010 • 3 + or - months

Graduated with a GPA of 3.4 Bachelor of Arts Concentration in Graphic Design Minor in Marketing

HONORS AND ACHIEVEMENTS President’s List • Fall 2014, Spring 2015, Spring 2017 Dean’s List • Fall 2016 Scholarships • TOPs Opportunity, Federal Pell Grant

EXHIBITIONS ART DEPARTMENT EXHIBITION 2017 More Into Less Magazine & YumImport Candy Small scale exhibition open to art students. SENIOR EXHIBITION 2018 Final for Graphic Design program, juried exhibition that we were required to submit proposals and designs for that showcased our work throughout the years.

NOTABLE SECONDARY EXPERIENCE

EXPERTISE

HAMMOND EASTSIDE MAGNET ”Lion King Jr” • Contest/ Commission

Graphic Design VFX and Motion Design Print Design 3D Design

As the result of a typography extra credit assignment, I created a “Lion King Jr” promotional poster for a local school. Several other students submitted designs as well. After deliberation, the committee decided they enjoyed my design the most. CHEAP SHARK • Charity A website dedicated to tracking the price of PC games for customers, offering them comparison tools to find the best deals. Offers numerous giveaways and sale tracking. Provided the logo for the site as well as critique on the site’s overall structure/design.

TECHNICAL SKILLS Windows OS Preference, but MAC OS Proficient if required Photography Adobe Creative Cloud Suite: Photoshop, Illustrator, Indesign, After Effects, Premiere, Dimension PG. 21 • Question 8 Microsoft Office: Word, PowerPoint, Excel, Publisher.


This booklet was created for Brian Wagner’s Senior Exhibition. It features responses to the assigned questions, as well as a comprehensive look into my plans for the exhibition. Special thanks to the following people: To the wonderful people at Florida Parishes Bank and Aramark, who helped me gain valuable work experience and kept me afloat. To my friends and family, whose support has been essential in keeping me on my path to the future. To my professors, Gary Keown and Tasheka Arceneaux-Sutton, who put up with me and have been fantastic in helping me learn design. I still have a lot to learn, but I’m definitely more prepared now than I have ever been. To the Student Union’s The Document Source, who helped me print numerous last minute jobs for my classes. Without you, I’d probably have failed by now. More than likely.

Thanks to this unnecessary spread, the page count is a smooth 24. During the course of my three to fouryears at Southeastern, my car has broken down a total of four times, more if you count faulty tires. I’ve also had numerous family and personal emergencies, including but not limited to cancer scares and painful sores in difficult places. In other words, it’s been a gigantic disaster.

PG. 23 • Closing


Senior Review & Exhibition Proposal

Senior Review & Exhibition Proposal  

Booklet created for my Senior Final Project, which was a formal review of my work and an exhibition of the work I created over my college ca...

Senior Review & Exhibition Proposal  

Booklet created for my Senior Final Project, which was a formal review of my work and an exhibition of the work I created over my college ca...

Advertisement