Page 3

BW STAFF PUBLISHER: Sally Freeman Sally@boiseweekly.com Office Manager: Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com EDITORIAL Editor: Rachael Daigle Rachael@boiseweekly.com Features Editor: Deanna Darr Deanna@boiseweekly.com Arts & Entertainment Editor: Tara Morgan Tara@boiseweekly.com News Editor: George Prentice George@boiseweekly.com New Media Czar: Josh Gross Josh@boiseweekly.com Copy Datatante: Sheree Whiteley Sheree@boiseweekly.com Reporter: Andrew Crisp Andrew@boiseweekly.com Listings: calendar@boiseweekly.com Copy Editor: Jay Vail Interns: Emily Anderson, Tabitha Bower, Christina Marfice, Amy Merrill, Jessica Murri Contributing Writers: Sarah Barber, Bill Cope, David Kirkpatrick, Sarah Masterson, Chris Parker, Ted Rall ADVERTISING Advertising Director: Lisa Ware Lisa@boiseweekly.com Account Executives: Sabra Brue, Sabra@boiseweekly.com Jessi Strong, Jessi@boiseweekly.com Brenda Stroud, Brenda@boiseweekly.com Doug Taylor, Doug@boiseweekly.com Nick Thompson, Nick@boiseweekly.com Jill Weigel, Jill@boiseweekly.com CLASSIFIED SALES Classifieds@boiseweekly.com CREATIVE Art Director: Leila Ramella-Rader Leila@boiseweekly.com Graphic Designers: Jen Grable, Jen@boiseweekly.com Adam Rosenlund, Adam@boiseweekly.com Contributing Artists: Derf, Jeremy Lanningham, Laurie Pearman, E.J. Pettinger, Ted Rall, Tom Tomorrow CIRCULATION Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com Apply to Shea Sutton to be a BW driver. Man About Town: Stan Jackson Stan@boiseweekly.com Distribution: Tim Anders, Jason Brue, Andrew Cambell, Tim Green, Shane Greer, Stan Jackson, Barbara Kemp, Michael Kilburn, Amanda Noe, Northstar Cycle Couriers, Steve Pallsen, Elaynea Robinson, Jill Weigel Boise Weekly prints 30,000 copies every Wednesday and is available free of charge at more than 750 locations, limited to one copy per reader. Additional copies of the current issue of Boise Weekly may be purchased for $1, payable in advance. No person may, without permission of the publisher, take more than one copy of each issue. SUBSCRIPTIONS: 4 months-$40, 6 months-$50, 12 months-$95, Life-$1,000. ISSN 1944-6314 (print) ISSN 1944-6322 (online) Boise Weekly is owned and operated by Bar Bar Inc., an Idaho corporation. TO CONTACT US: Boise Weekly’s office is located at 523 Broad St., Boise, ID 83702 Phone: 208-344-2055 Fax: 208-342-4733 E-mail: info@boiseweekly.com www.boiseweekly.com Address editorial, business and production correspondence to: Boise Weekly, P.O. Box 1657, Boise, ID 83701 The entire contents and design of Boise Weekly are ©2011 by Bar Bar, Inc. EDITORIAL DEADLINE: Thursday at noon before publication date. SALES DEADLINE: Thursday at 3 p.m. before publication date. Deadlines may shift at the discretion of the publisher. Boise Weekly was founded in 1992 by Andy and Debi Hedden-Nicely. Larry Ragan had a lot to do with it too. BOISE WEEKLY IS AN INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED NEWSPAPER.

WWW. B OISEWEEKLY.C O M

NOTE LEGAL TRANSPARENCY In this week’s News section, you’ll read a different take on the impending execution of Richard Leavitt, the convicted killer who is scheduled to be put to death by lethal injection Tuesday, June 12. While that story is about the murder and what some call a shadow of doubt regarding his guilt—despite that a jury of his peers said otherwise—there’s a related story a few other news organization have touched on that we reported in Citydesk recently. On May 22, Boise Weekly, under the name of our parent company, Bar Bar Inc., and 16 other organizations filed suit against the state of Idaho in an attempt to force prison officials to allow the media to witness the execution process in its entirety. Currently in Idaho, the media is banned from the portion of the execution in which the inmate is brought into the execution chamber, strapped in and IVs are inserted. The reason for that ban, according to prison officials in states that enforce it, is to protect the identity of the execution team. Those of us bringing the suit, which is being spearheaded by the Associated Press and includes the Idaho Statesman, the Idaho Press-Tribune, the Spokesman Review and the Idaho Press Club, among others, contend that the media should bear witness to all the events of the execution so as to ensure full transparency and accountability of the process. On May 31, we entered into mediation without reaching an agreement, and earlier this week, the attorney representing the media filed a reply to counter arguments made by the Idaho Department of Correction. As BW went to press early on June 5, a decision was expected from Judge Edward Lodge as soon as later that day. Continue to follow the story at Citydesk, as well as detailed reports from the Associated Press. As for this week’s issue, I’ll steer you toward the Arts story, which is a look behind the scenes at War Horse, an unlikely frontrunner on the international stage scene. And, as is the case every First Thursday, we have a rundown of most of the happenings to help you find your way around downtown. —Rachael Daigle

COVER ARTIST ARTIST: Kelly Packer TITLE: the earth after you offers a ladder to the attic (2) MEDIUM: Oil pastel and colored pencil on paper. ARTIST STATEMENT: This piece is part of a show entitled: Look Up. The exhibition includes poems by Adrian Kien that create a dialogue with the imagery. Join us for the exhibit at Enso Artspace.

SUBMIT

Boise Weekly pays $150 for published covers. One stipulation of publication is that the piece must be donated to BW’s annual charity art auction in November. Proceeds from the auction are reinvested in the local arts community through a series of private grants for which all artists are eligible to apply. To submit your artwork for BW’s cover, bring it to BWHQ at 523 Broad St. All mediums are accepted. Thirty days from your submission date, your work will be ready for pick up if it’s not chosen to be featured on the cover. Work not picked up within six weeks of submission will be discarded.

BOISEweekly | JUNE 6–12, 2012 | 3

Boise Weekly Vol. 20 Issue 50  

Idaho's Only Alternative

Boise Weekly Vol. 20 Issue 50  

Idaho's Only Alternative