Page 3

BW STAFF PUBLISHER: Sally Freeman Sally@boiseweekly.com Office Manager: Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com EDITORIAL Editor: Rachael Daigle Rachael@boiseweekly.com Arts & Entertainment Editor: Amy Atkins Amy@boiseweekly.com Features Editor: Deanna Darr Deanna@boiseweekly.com News Editor: George Prentice George@boiseweekly.com Staff Writer: Tara Morgan Tara@boiseweekly.com Calendar Gurus: Josh Gross Josh@boiseweekly.com Heather Lile Heather@boiseweekly.com Listings: calendar@boiseweekly.com Proofreader: Annabel Armstrong, Heather Lile Contributing Writers: Bill Cope, Zach Hagadone, Ted Rall Intern: Aaron Lang

ADVERTISING Advertising Director: Lisa Ware Lisa@boiseweekly.com Account Executives: Meshel Miller, Meshel@boiseweekly.com Jessi Strong, Jessi@boiseweekly.com Justin Vipperman, Justin@boiseweekly.com Lucas Wackerli, Lucas@boiseweekly.com Jill Weigel, Jill@boiseweekly.com CLASSIFIED SALES Classifieds@boiseweekly.com CREATIVE Art Director: Leila Ramella-Rader Leila@boiseweekly.com Graphic Designers: Adam Rosenlund Adam@boiseweekly.com Jen Grable Jen@boiseweekly.com Contributing Artists: Derf, Mike Flinn, Nathaniel Hoffman, Steve Klamm, Jeremy Lanningham, Glenn Landberg, Laurie Pearman, E.J. Pettinger, Joshua Roper, Patrick Sweeney, Ted Rall, Tom Tomorrow CIRCULATION Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com Apply to Shea Sutton to be a BW driver. Man About Town: Stan Jackson Stan@boiseweekly.com Distribution: Tim Anders, Mike Baker, Andrew Cambell, Tim Green, Jennifer Hawkins, Stan Jackson, Barbara Kemp, Michael Kilburn, Lars Lamb, Brian Murry, Amanda Noe, Northstar Cycle Couriers, Steve Pallsen, Patty Wade, Jill Weigel Boise Weekly prints 30,000 copies every Wednesday and is available free of charge at more than 750 locations, limited to one copy per reader. Additional copies of the current issue of Boise Weekly may be purchased for $1, payable in advance. No person may, without permission of the publisher, take more than one copy of each issue. SUBSCRIPTIONS: 4 months-$40, 6 months-$50, 12 months-$95, Life-$1,000. ISSN 1944-6314 (print) ISSN 1944-6322 (online) Boise Weekly is owned and operated by Bar Bar Inc., an Idaho corporation. TO CONTACT US: Boise Weekly’s office is located at 523 Broad St., Boise, ID 83702 Phone: 208-344-2055 Fax: 208-342-4733 E-mail: info@boiseweekly.com www.boiseweekly.com Address editorial, business and production correspondence to: Boise Weekly, P.O. Box 1657, Boise, ID 83701 The entire contents and design of Boise Weekly are ©2010 by Bar Bar, Inc. EDITORIAL DEADLINE: Thursday at noon before publication date. SALES DEADLINE: Thursday at 3 p.m. before publication date. Deadlines may shift at the discretion of the publisher. Boise Weekly was founded in 1992 by Andy and Debi Hedden-Nicely. Larry Ragan had a lot to do with it too. BOISE WEEKLY IS AN INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED NEWSPAPER.

WWW. B OISEWEEKLY.C O M

NOTE THE HOW AND WHY OF BEST OF BOISE The first edition of Best of Boise was published in 1994. Fifteen editions later (we skipped Best of Boise in 2000 and 2001), I still find myself fielding the occasional brow-furrowing, head-shaking question. Do advertisers pay to get a Best of Boise Staff Pick? Nope. Do only advertisers get to compete in the Readers’ Choice competition? Nope. Those are the most frustrating questions to hear. A sample of the more understandable include: 1. Why are non-local businesses excluded? 2. Why do I have to answer a minimum number of questions on the survey? 3. How do you prevent cheating? 4. What do I have to do to win in a Readers’ Choice award? And in order: 1. Boise Weekly is almost entirely locally focused in our content choices regarding business. Notice we never review big-box chain restaurants? We believe in highlighting what is best about Boise, rather than what is best about Boise and the 35 cities a chain or franchise also calls home. 2. We ask that a minimum number of questions are answered on a ballot to deter ballot stuffing. And come on, if you can’t think of 20 things you really dig about Boise, maybe it’s time you moved. Just sayin‘. 3. Ah ... cheating, aka ballot stuffing. We did have a major case of ballot stuffing this year. You know who you are, we know who you are, and we’re disappointed in you. We don’t screw around with certain common online polling tools because we have a super-duper balloting system made specifically for alt weekly “Best of” polling. We call it simply “the tool,” and it’s designed with ballot stuffers in mind. Every vote submitted by the offending stuffers was tossed out. As for future instances, I offer only this: Play by the rules or don’t play at all. 4. Finally, how do you win? We’ve never been shy to admit that Best of Boise is a popularity contest. Be really good at whatever it is you do, and readers will notice. Wage a solid Best of Boise campaign during voting, and readers will notice. Congratulations to this year’s winners, particularly to those who are making milestone appearances this year. The people and places who are taking first place for the 10th year are marked with badges throughout this issue. If you don’t know them, check ’em out; they’re obviously doing something right. —Rachael Daigle

COVER ARTIST ARTIST: Adam Rosenlund TITLE: Powered by B.O.B. MEDIUM: Digital ARTIST STATEMENT: Drop by floodworks.net to check out more illustrations and comics by yours truly. Or you can look for my work every week in this fine publication, if you’re the lazy sort.

SUBMIT

Boise Weekly pays $150 for published covers. One stipulation of publication is that the piece must be donated to BW’s annual charity art auction in November. Proceeds from the auction are reinvested in the local arts community through a series of private grants for which all artists are eligible to apply. To submit your artwork for BW’s cover, bring it to BWHQ at 523 Broad St. All mediums are accepted. Thirty days from your submission date, your work will be ready for pick up if it’s not chosen to be featured on the cover. Work not picked up within six weeks of submission will be discarded.

BOISEweekly | SEPTEMBER 29 – OCTOBER 5, 2010 | BEST OF BOISE: READERS’ CHOICE | 3

Boise Weekly Vol. 19 Issue 14  

Best of Boise 2010: Readers' Choices

Boise Weekly Vol. 19 Issue 14  

Best of Boise 2010: Readers' Choices