Page 3

BW STAFF PUBLISHER: Sally Freeman Sally@boiseweekly.com Office Manager: Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com EDITORIAL Editor: Rachael Daigle Rachael@boiseweekly.com Arts & Entertainment Editor: Amy Atkins Amy@boiseweekly.com Features Editor: Deanna Darr Deanna@boiseweekly.com Business Editor: Zach Hagadone Zach@boiseweekly.com News Editor: Nathaniel Hoffman Nathaniel@boiseweekly.com Staff Writer: Tara Morgan Tara@boiseweekly.com Calendar Guru: Josh Gross Josh@boiseweekly.com Listings: calendar@boiseweekly.com Proofreaders: Jay Vail, Annabel Armstrong Videographer: Blair Davison Interns: Stephen Foster, Rachel Krause Contributing Writers: Sadie Babits, Mika Belle, Bill Cope, Jennifer Hernandez, David Kirkpatrick, George Prentice, Ted Rall, Steve Silva ADVERTISING Advertising Director: Lisa Ware Lisa@boiseweekly.com Account Executives: Meshel Miller, Meshel@boiseweekly.com Jessi Strong, Jessi@boiseweekly.com Justin Vipperman, Justin@boiseweekly.com Jill Weigel, Jill@boiseweekly.com CLASSIFIED SALES Classifieds@boiseweekly.com CREATIVE Art Director: Leila Ramella-Rader Leila@boiseweekly.com Graphic Designer: Adam Rosenlund Adam@boiseweekly.com Contributing Artists: Derf, Mike Flinn, Steve Klamm, Noah Kroese, Glenn Landberg, Jeremy Lanningham, Laurie Pearman, E.J. Pettinger, Ted Rall, Tom Tomorrow CIRCULATION Shea Sutton Shea@boiseweekly.com Apply to Shea Sutton to be a BW driver. Man About Town: Stan Jackson Stan@boiseweekly.com Distribution: Tim Anders, Mike Baker, Andrew Cambell, Tim Green, Jennifer Hawkins, Stan Jackson, Barbara Kemp, Michael Kilburn, Lars Lamb, Brian Murry, Amanda Noe, Northstar Cycle Couriers, Steve Pallsen, Patty Wade, Jill Weigel Boise Weekly prints 30,000 copies every Wednesday and is available free of charge at more than 750 locations, limited to one copy per reader. Additional copies of the current issue of Boise Weekly may be purchased for $1, payable in advance. No person may, without permission of the publisher, take more than one copy of each issue. SUBSCRIPTIONS: 4 months-$40, 6 months-$50, 12 months-$95, Life-$1,000. ISSN 1944-6314 (print) ISSN 1944-6322 (online) Boise Weekly is owned and operated by Bar Bar Inc., an Idaho corporation. TO CONTACT US: Boise Weekly’s office is located at 523 Broad Street, Boise, ID 83702 Phone: 208-344-2055 Fax: 208-342-4733 E-mail: info@boiseweekly.com www.boiseweekly.com Address editorial, business and production correspondence to: Boise Weekly, P.O. Box 1657, Boise, ID 83701 The entire contents and design of Boise Weekly are ©2010 by Bar Bar, Inc. EDITORIAL DEADLINE: Thursday at noon before publication date. SALES DEADLINE: Thursday at 3 p.m. before publication date. Deadlines may shift at the discretion of the publisher.

NOTE SUMMER, ARE WE THERE YET? Now that working on your tan is universally frowned upon, it’s time to find something else to do with all those hours you had planned baking in your back yard this summer. We have a few ideas. In last year’s Summer Guide, we put water guns under serious scientific scrutiny to find the one toy that performed more like a water delivery weapon system than a mere child’s plaything. (It was the Stream Machine Hydrobolic Water Launcher in case you’re in the market for such a piece of equipment.) But all play and no work makes Jack a lazy bastard. So, after the novelty of soaking everything in sight has worn off, we recommend finding something productive to do with all those long daylight hours. The main feature, “Summer Givin’” on Page 15, starts off with the do-good, pay-it-forward kind of serious business that will help you bank a few karma points. Volunteer options are all over the city in a variety of fields from the cool confines of the Library! to the hot, smelly stalls of Zoo Boise. We’ve put together a list that’s by no means comprehensive but is still a decent smattering of stuff you can do for free that might give you the warm and fuzzies. But, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy, so once you get beyond the main feature, you’ll find a few to-do lists that are all about the more entertaining side of life. In Food, we give you a list of hidden patios on which you can chill out, sip a beer and hide away from the hubbub of the want-to-be-seen crowd. In Noise, we deliver a list of outdoor concerts. And in Arts, we offer a list of community ed classes to help you express your creative side. The whole issue is one giant to-do list. Don’t let your honey get a hold of it and adulterate your beer-drinking list with yard chores. (And if that does happen, refer to the first graph above and cite melanoma; however, be sure not to reference this week’s Citizen interview on Page 14, where BW chats up Patty Nelson, who is rather fond of romping around—exposed— in the outdoors.) Now, if we can coax the weather out of the 50s, maybe we can get this summer started. —Rachael Daigle

COVER ARTIST ARTIST: Deb Jones Yensen TITLE: Up MEDIUM: Embossed etching ARTIST STATEMENT: Inspiration for my work comes from a fascination with nature and the delicate balance between humans, animals, flowers and plants. Up expresses my intrigue with giraffes’ elegant and graceful interaction with their environment.

Boise Weekly was founded in 1992 by Andy and Debi Hedden-Nicely. Larry Ragan had a lot to do with it too. BOISE WEEKLY IS AN INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED NEWSPAPER.

WWW. B OISEWEEKLY.C O M

SUBMIT

Boise Weekly pays $150 for published covers. One stipulation of publication is that the piece must be donated to BW’s annual charity art auction in November. Proceeds from the auction are reinvested in the local arts community through a series of private grants for which all artists are eligible to apply. To submit your artwork for BW’s cover, bring it to BWHQ at 523 Broad St. Square formats are preferred and all mediums are accepted. Thirty days from your submission date, your work will be ready for pick up if it’s not chosen to be featured on the cover. Work not picked up within six weeks of submission will be discarded.

BOISEweekly | MAY 26 – JUNE 1, 2010 | 3

Boise Weekly Vol. 18 Issue 48  

Idaho's Only Alternative

Boise Weekly Vol. 18 Issue 48  

Idaho's Only Alternative