100

Page 1

BLACKARTPROJECTS PRESENTS

ONE HUNDRED B L A C K blackartprojects ABN 19 223 523 412 blackartprojects.com.au +61 (0) 438 007 541


ONE HUNDRED

Langford120 North Melbourne, Victoria 4 - 13 November, 2011

An exhibition of this magnitude is certainly ambitious. Some would say, and have said already, that it is ambitious beyond reason. 100 evolved as a project over the past 12 months from an idea concocted between myself, co-director Andrea Candiani and an artist. It was proposed that the artist produce 100 drawings for a single exhibition. The result however, brings together a body of works that spans four continents, includes over 50 artists and covers a multitude of materials, themes, practices and presentational devices. 100, by and large, is a project that challenges the notion of ‘drawing’ by staging an exhibition of works that engage the act of drawing in relation to facets of perception, process and the capacity for individual invention. It seeks to encourage discussion about the relevance and transformation of drawing in contemporary art practices. Interestingly, the most stirring commentary on drawing I have read in recent times was found in a book on an artist most known for his large steel sculptures, Richard Serra. In Richard Serra’s dynamic formulation, drawing is perceptual, experiential, and conceptual; it is a way to see, feel, and think. From the emergence of drawing as an autonomous art form in the late 1960s to its continuing relevance today as an important means of making in contemporary art, Serra’s approach has significantly contributed to shaping drawing after modernism, a contribution whose influence lies most critically in the way in which the artist goes against many of drawing’s most recognised conventions. While Serra’s works challenge the traditional definition of the medium as a set of figurative lines or marks on a piece of paper that are intended to represent something else, they also support the fundamental role of drawing as a basic, if not primal and intimate, mode of expression. Rather, it is about creating tension within the conventions of drawing and pushing the parameters of the language that we use to physically, and perceptually, understand drawing.1 The artists involved in 100 have not been limited by traditional conventions, media or size in realising artworks for the exhibition. Like Serra, they have utilised the foundations of drawing as a medium to expand the structure of their own practice, invariably actuating and enriching our understanding of this fundamental art form. David Hagger Blackartprojects, 2011 1

White, M (2011), ‘Drawing As Drawing: A Retrospective’, in Richard Serra Drawing, Texas: Menil


Giles Alexander Grand Tour (2010) oil, acrylic and resin on polyester 150 x 95 cm, framed $11000

Giles Alexander Self Portrait (2010) oil, acrylic and resin on polyester 105 x 65 cm, framed $7700


Justin Andrews Methods Composite Vortex (study) (2011) digital lambda print on lustre photographic paper 62.5 x 48 cm, unframed $900


Steven Asquith Ghost Faced (2011) marker and spray enamel on canvas 61 x 51 cm, framed $1950


Justin Balmain Untitled (Dunedin and Sydney, 2009-2011) acrylic and watercolour on paper 7 x 7 cm each, unframed $190 each


Irene Barberis Dutch Florals #20 (2011) fluorescent polymer 34 x 25 cm $900


Magda Cebokli Corner Suite: Variation #13 (2011) acrylic on paper 76 x 56 cm, unframed $1000

Magda Cebokli Corner Suite: Variation #3 (2011) acrylic on paper 76 x 56 cm, unframed $1000


Mauro Ceolin SolidLandscapes.projectGothamRacing2.04drw (2011) hand drawing with optical pen, digital print on paper 71 x 109 cm, unframed $680


Tony Cran Gift and Oath (2010) oil and acrylic on wood 150 x 120 cm $2200


Adam Cullen .22 CAL (2011) gunpowder, bullet holes and spray paint on card 29.5 x 20 cm, framed $950

Adam Cullen .22 CAL (2011) gunpowder, bullet holes and spray paint on card 29.5 x 20 cm, framed $950


Steve Danzig We are here for a good time not a long time (Portrait of Damien Hirst) (2011) lambda print, ed.5 90 x 60 cm, unframed $3000


Steve Danzig + Sharon Green Dinner Invitation at Kill Kat Inn (2011) lambda print, ed.5 90 x 48 cm, unframed $2500


Fernando do Campo Eve came from Adam (along with leftovers from a few other peeps (2011) acrylic, oil and masking tape on paper 100 x 140 cm, unframed $1200


Ghostpatrol + Miso Lunar (Procession I) (2011) ink on paper 107 x 74.5 cm, framed $2800

Ghostpatrol + Miso Lunar (Procession II) (2011) ink on paper 107 x 74.5 cm, framed $2800

Ghostpatrol + Miso Lunar (Procession III) (2011) ink on paper 107 x 74.5 cm, framed $2800


Craig Gough Melbourne Weather (2011) acrylic and indian ink on umbrella 134 cm d $1200


Lucas Grogan The Snake Pit #1 (2011) ink and enamel on matt board 49 x 27.5 cm $1100

Lucas Grogan The Snake Pit #2 (2011) ink and enamel on matt board 54 x 26 cm $1100

Lucas Grogan The Snake Pit #3 (2011) ink and enamel on matt board 49 x 27.5 cm $1100


Brad Haylock + Kieran Stewart Inquiry after Jeopardy (2010) anodized aluminum, 3D printed plastic, gold leaf, polyethylene plastic sheet tetrahedron: 50 x 50 x 50 cm, inflatable: dimensions variable tetrahedron: $1500, inflatable: NFS


Pernille Kløvedal Helweg Shadowland (2010) lithograph 52 x 32 cm $330

Pernille Kløvedal Helweg Schandungsschuhe (2010) lithograph 52 x 32 cm $330

Pernille Kløvedal Helweg Handstanding (2010) lithograph 52 x 32 cm $330


Sarah Hendy Tattoo #1 (2011) oil on linen 24 x 20 cm $1200

Sarah Hendy Tattoo #2 (2011) oil on linen 24 x 20 cm $1200


Maria Ionico The brightest crayon in the box (2011) wax dimensions variable $1000


Jasper Knight Truck (2011) enamel on plywood 45 x 45 cm $1200


Emma Langridge Drawing Suite (2011) ink on paper 30 x 30 cm each, unframed $300 each


Sam Leach Cinder Study (2011) pencil on board 24.5 x 24.5 cm $1000

Sam Leach Vulture Study (2011) oil on pencil on board 35 x 27 cm $1500


Littlewhitehead Scrilla, Fetta, Chedda (2011) pen on paper 21 x 13 cm each, unframed $1850



Brendan Monroe Confusion of Space/Time (2011) polymer clay with wire frame 20.5 x 14.5 x 11 cm $850

Brendan Monroe Misinterpretation of Matter States (2011) polymer clay 4 x 8 x 20 cm $450


Brendan Monroe The Enclosed String (2011) cherry wood veneer 20 x 40 x 40 cm $2300

Brendan Monroe Untitled (Pair) (2011) cherry wood veneer/acrylic on paper 30 x 30 x 8 cm each $1400

Brendan Monroe Untitled (Cloud) (2011) acrylic on cherry wood veneer 30 x 30 x 5 cm $1200


Yoshitomo Nara Untitled (2009) colour pencil and crayon on paper 23 x 16 cm NFS


Ka-chun Ng Scratch - 1min (2008) pencil on paper 29.7 x 21 cm, framed $260

Ka-chun Ng Scratch - 5min (2008) ball point pen on paper 29.7 x 21 cm, framed $260


Ka-chun Ng Paper Drawing - graph paper (2009) pen on paper 29.7 x 21 cm, framed $320


Niels (Nails) Oeltjen ()8#V$K8 (2011) permanent marker on paper 70 x 100 cm, framed $1100


Tom O’Hern The very worst thing you could possibly imagine sumi ink on paper 84 x 59 cm, unframed $1100

Tom O’Hern The arse end of the arse end of the world sumi ink on paper 84 x 59 cm, unframed $1100

Tom O’Hern The end of everything sumi ink on paper 84 x 59 cm, unframed $1100


Nana Ohnesorge Dreaming Ned (2011) mixed media on paper 100 x 70.5 cm, framed $1900


Andre Piguet Slip Dipper II (2011) oil, pigment and resin on perspex 170 x 120 cm, framed $4400


Matthew Sleeth Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene (220 degrees) (2011) Single channel HD video, 16:9, stereo sound 2.37 minutes NFS


Jeffrey Smart First Sketch for a Garage Attendant (1981) pencil on paper 24 x 18 $15900


Tai Snaith The Last Hurrah #3 (2011) digital print, aluminum mounted 42 x 29.7 cm $700

Tai Snaith The Last Hurrah #2 (2011) digital print, aluminum mounted 59.4 x 42 cm $900

Tai Snaith The Last Hurrah #4 (2011) digital print, aluminum mounted 42 x 29.7 cm $700


Tai Snaith Icelandic Pony (2011) watercolour and collage on paper 38.5 x 28.5 cm $800

Tai Snaith The Wonderful World of Ponies (2011) watercolour and collage on card 34 x 19 cm $750


Wendy Stavrianos Ship of Fools (2011) digital print on canvas 76 x 61 cm $1200


Kate Stevens It Wasn’t My Holiday (2011) pen, texta, highlighter and watercolour on paper 18 x 27 cm each, unframed $200 each


Nessie Stonebridge A Piece in F and Nothing More (2011) pencil on paper 42 x 29 cm, unframed $700

Nessie Stonebridge A Piece in F and 350 Lines (2011) pencil on paper 42 x 29 cm, unframed $700


Wilma Tabacco Roman Fortification #1 (2011) collage, acrylic and Dutch foil on paper 38 x 51 cm, unframed $2200

Wilma Tabacco Roman Fortification #2 (2011) collage, acrylic and Dutch foil on paper 38 x 51 cm, unframed $2200


Paul Alexander Thornton Skulls and Flowers (2011) ball point pen and watercolour on paper 56.5 x 76 cm, unframed $2200


Paul Alexander Thornton The Blue Drawing (2011) ball point pen and watercolour on paper 76 x 56.5 cm, unframed $2200


Paul Alexander Thornton Skull and Bones with Paisley (2011) pen on paper 29.5 x 42 cm, unframed $780


Paul Alexander Thornton Three Skulls (2011) pen on paper 29.5 x 34.5 cm, unframed $630


Damon Tong You Know What You Are (2011) stickers variable dimensions POA


Daniel Truscott Specter (2011) steel, acrylic, LED light, automotive paint 51 x 51 x 51 cm $3500

Daniel Truscott Untitled (2011) hand-cut aluminum, acrylic, LED lightbox, automotive paint 62 x 89 x 10 cm $3500


Vexta Royal Skull Suite (Forgotten Prince, Fallen King, Fallen Queen) (2011) acrylic on paper 44.5 x 29.5 cm each, unframed $1900


Peter Walsh Untitled (1997) charcoal on paper 100 x 70 cm, unframed POA


Mark Whalen Desire Study I (2011) graphite on paper 29.2 x 22 cm, unframed $300

Mark Whalen Desire Study II (2011) graphite on paper 29.2 x 22 cm, unframed $300


Mark Whalen String (2011) acrylic, ink, gouache and resin on paper on wood panel 20 x 13 cm $800

Mark Whalen Group Effort (2011) acrylic, ink, gouache and resin on paper on wood panel 20 x 13 cm $800


Sean Whelan Lotus (2011) pencil on paper 50 x 45 cm, framed $1175

Sean Whelan Growth (2011) pencil on paper 50 x 45 cm, framed $1175


Oscar Yanez Brass in Pocket (2011) oil on linen 112 x 114 cm $2500

Oscar Yanez Smokescreen (2010) oil on linen 152 x 152 cm $5000


Timothy Zauho Undo, make it worse (2011) oil and pencil on canvas 140 x 140 cm $4000


ONE HUNDRED Our thanks go out to the artists and galleries who have submitted works for the exhibition. Further details can be found at the websites of the artists and/or their representative galleries where applicable. Giles Alexander www.gilesalexander.com Justin Andrews Image courtesy of the artist and Charles Nodrum Gallery www.justin-andrews.info / www.charlesnodrumgallery.com.au Steven Asquith Image courtesy of the artist and Utopian Slumps www.utopianslumps.com Justin Balmain www.fuckyouimage.wordpress.com Irene Barberis www.irenebarberis.com Magda Cebokli www.diannetanzergallery.net.au Mauro Ceolin www.rgbproject.com Tony Cran Image courtesy of the artist and Helen Gory Galerie www.helengory.com Image courtesy of the artist and Chalk Horse Adam Cullen www.chalkhorse.com.au Steve Danzig www.idaprojects.org Fernando do Campo fernando_docampo@hotmail.com www.ghostpatrol.net / www.cityofreubens.com Ghostpatrol + Miso Craig Gough www.craiggough.com.au Sharon Green www.missshazam.com Lucas Grogan www.lucasgrogan.com Brad Haylock + Kieran Stewart www.bradhaylock.com / www.visualarts.net.au/gallery/kieranstewart Pernille Kløvedal Helweg www.pernillekloevedalhelweg.dk Images courtesy of the artist and Lindberg Galleries Sarah Hendy www.sarahhendy.com.au / www.lindbergcontemporary.com.au Maria Ionico www.visualarts.net.au/gallery/ionico Jasper Knight Image courtesy of the artist and Gallery Ecosse www.jasperknight.com / www.galleryecosse.com.au Emma Langridge www.emmalangridge.com/ Sam Leach www.samleach.net


ONE HUNDRED Littlewhitehead www.littlewhitehead.com Brendan Monroe www.brendanmonroe.com Yoshitomo Nara www.marianneboeskygallery.com Ka-chun Ng Niels Oeltjen www.nielsoeltjen.com Tom O’Hern www.pv11.com.au/blog/?p=153 Nana Ohnesorge Image courtesy of the artist and Hugo Michell Gallery www.nanaohnesorge.com / www.hugomichellgallery.com Andre Piguet www.andre-piguet.com Matthew Sleeth www.sleeth.info Jeffrey Smart www.australiangalleries.com.au Tai Snaith Images courtesy of the artist, Jo Duck and Helen Gory Galerie www.taisnaith.com / www.helengory.com Wendy Stavrianos Kate Stevens Nessie Stonebridge Images courtesy of the artist and Madder139 www.nessiestonebridge.com / www.madder139.com Image courtesy of the artist and Niagara Galleries Wilma Tabacco www.langford120.com.au / www.niagara-galleries.com.au www.paulalexanderthornton.com Paul Alexander Thornton Damon Tong www.damontong.com Daniel Truscott www.blackartprojects.com.au Vexta www.vexta.com.au Peter Walsh Mark Whalen www.killpixie.net Sean Whelan www.sean-edward.com.au Oscar Yanez Timothy Zauho www.timothyzauho.wordpress.com


WWW.BLACKARTPROJECTS.COM.AU