Issuu on Google+

Youth Leadership Institute Calendar 2011


Sun, 18 Sun, Sept. Sept. 18

Sun, Sun, Sept. Sept. 1111 5:00pm Orientation 5:00pm Orientation

Introduction to leaders and youth Introduction who designedto theleaders programand whoofdesigned youth Overview program the program Commitment to YLI program occurs during Week 2 Overview of program

9:30am Guest 9:30am GuestSpeaker Speaker

 

 

cover topics such as:  Safety & Boundaries  Small group facilitation  Goals for adult leaders

Week 1 Sept. 11—Sept. 17

the

afternoon

Commitment to YLI program 6:00pm Leader Training occurs during Week 2

Training for adult leaders to cover topics such as: 6:00pm Leader Training  Safety & Boundaries  Small group facilitation Training for adult leaders to  Goals for adult leaders

TBD TBD  Service Project to occurs in the Service Project to occurs in afternoon 

Wed, Sept. 21

Sept. 21 6:00pmWed, Reflection Groups Reflection on service project

6:00pm Reflection Groups 

Reflection on service project

Week 2 Sept. 18—Sept. 24


Sun, Oct. 2

Sun, Sept. 25 9:30am Book Study 

“Deep Justice in a Broken World”

10:30am Public Speaker 1 

Public speaking by youth in worship Feedback from adult mentor

9:30am Book Study 

10:30am Public Speaker 2 

Deep exploration of personal gifts & values Week 3 Sept. 25—Oct. 1

Public speaking by youth in worship Feedback from adult mentor

Wed, Oct. 5

Wed, Sept. 28 6:00pm Gifts & Values

“Deep Justice in a Broken World”

6:00pm Gifts & Values 

Deep exploration of personal gifts & values Week 4 Oct. 2—Oct. 8


Sun, Oct. 16

Sun, Oct. 9 9:30am Book Study 

“Deep Justice in a Broken World”

9:30am Guest Speaker  

10:30am Public Speaker 3 

Public speaking by youth in worship Feedback from adult mentor

Wed, Oct. 12 6:00pm Gifts & Values 

TBD Service Project to occurs in the afternoon

Deep exploration of personal gifts & values Week 5 Oct. 9—Oct.15

Wed, Oct. 19 6:00pm Reflection Groups 

Reflection on service project Week 6 Oct. 16—Oct. 22


Sun, Oct. 30

Sun, Oct. 23 9:30am 

Book Study

“Deep Justice in a Broken World”

10:30am Public Speaker 4 

Public speaking by youth in worship Feedback from adult mentor

9:30am 

 

“No Barriers” Dinner Education on homelessness Week 7 Oct. 23—Oct. 29

“Deep Justice in a Broken World”

10:30am Public Speaker 5 

Public speaking by youth in worship Feedback from adult mentor

Wed, Nov. 2

Wed, Oct. 26 6:00pm Homelessness

Book Study

6:00pm Homelessness  

“No Barriers” Dinner Education on homelessness Week 8 Oct. 30—Nov. 5


Sun, Nov. 13

Sun, Nov. 6 9:30am IRWS Training 

TOPIC: Boundaries and Guest Interaction Leaders: Grace-in-Action

9:30am IRWS Training  

Wed, Nov. 16

Wed, Nov. 9 6:00pm IRWS Training  

TOPIC: Safety Leaders: Davis Police Dept.

6:00pm IRWS Training 

Week 9 Nov. 6—Nov. 12

TOPIC: Shelter Overview Leaders: IRWS Staff

TOPIC: Intake Center & Host Site Leaders: IRWS Staff Week 10 Nov. 13—Nov. 19


7 Day Challenge Food Stamp Diet Nov. 20—Nov.26

Shadow college interns at least once during the week

Sun, Nov. 20

Sun, Nov. 27

9:30am IRWS Training 

Shadow Interns

Shadow Interns all week

TOPIC: Mental Health Training Leaders: Yolo County Dept. of Mental Health

Wed, Nov. 23 NO MEETING Week 11 Nov. 20—Nov. 26

Wed, Nov. 30 6:00pm IRWS Reflection Week 12 Nov. 27—Dec. 3


Shadow Interns

Staff Shelter

Shadow college interns at least once during the week

Serve as Primary Interns for staffing of the IRWS

Sun, Dec. 4

Sun, Dec. 11

9:30am IRWS Training 

TOPIC: Dealing with difficult situations Leaders: IRWS Staff

Wed, Dec. 7 6:00pm IRWS Reflection Week 13 Dec. 4—Dec. 10

9:30am Book Study 

“Deep Justice in a Broken World”

Wed, Dec. 14 6:00pm IRWS Reflection Week 14 Dec. 11—Dec. 17


Staff Shelter

Staff Shelter

Serve as Primary Interns for staffing of the IRWS

Serve as Primary Interns for staffing of the IRWS

Sun, Dec. 18

Sun, Dec. 25

9:30am Book Study

NO MEETING

“Deep Justice in a Broken World”

Wed, Dec. 21 6:00pm IRWS Reflection Week 15 Dec. 18—Dec. 24

Wed, Dec. 28 6:00pm IRWS Reflection Week 16 Dec. 25—Dec. 31


Youth Leadership Institute Calendar: Fall 2011