Page 1

Bedford College

ANNUAL REVIEW 2017


CONTENTS Our vision

3

Our strategic objectives

4

Our future plans

8

Our students

10

Our staff

18

Working with employers

20

College success

22

Bedford College Services

24

Financial report

26

Customer care charter

28

2 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk


MESSAGE FROM THE PRINCIPAL Bedford College is recognised as one of the best further education providers in the UK. It is the largest college in the region for 16-18 education, apprenticeship training, higher education and parttime education. Our growth over the last decade is an amazing achievement given a stable population, new competitors and being based in one of the region’s smaller market towns. Achieving this reputation and growth comes down to effective partnership working. We work with community organisations and employers who are committed to the development of their staff. We work with our employees and governors who also invest in their own development and use their skills to help our students. And, of course, we work with our excellent students who continue to push themselves to gain qualifications that are recognised nationally and internationally.

We want everyone in our community to have the chance to achieve these positive outcomes. Our recent merger with Tresham College in Northamptonshire means we can now provide even more opportunities to even more people. This is our aspiration. I hope you will take a few minutes to read on and find out more.

Ian Pryce, CBE

This summer, the Bedford College Corporation approved a merger with Tresham College in Northamptonshire to create The Bedford College Group. We are determined to continue investing in our staff, our programmes, our infrastructure and our high-quality service, even in this period of uncertainty, and the extra scale and capacity arising from the merger means that we will be even better able to serve our community in the future.

OUR VALUES Our values reflect the manner in which we set out to achieve our aims. We put the student at the heart of all we do. Our three core values are:

HIGH PERFORMANCE We will strive for consistently high levels of performance in all aspects of our work. RESPECT, OPENNESS AND HONESTY We will treat everyone with respect, encourage openness and honesty, and recognise each other’s contribution and achievements.

MESSAGE FROM THE CHAIR OF THE CORPORATION Further education helps support individuals and employers to respond in that way. So it is no surprise that Bedford College has continued to grow, even in a period of austerity, to become the largest education provider in the region.

Delivering world class skills and education to the communities we serve.

STUDENT FOCUS We will seek to achieve a high quality learning experience for every student.

Principal & Chief Executive The Bedford College Group

Our students’ achievements translate into great results for them: jobs, promotions, university. They also translate into a more socially and economically prosperous community.

2017 has been another year of continual surprises. We know the best way to cope with change is to ensure we are more resilient, more observant, more agile and more productive.

OUR VISION

2016-2017 BOARD OF GOVERNORS

We are also determined to make sure we improve education and skills for everyone in the community. We know: the higher your level of education, the higher your salary, the lower your chances of unemployment and the longer your life expectancy. We believe that every individual should have the opportunity to achieve this.

Linda Hockey Chair of the Corporation

EXTERNAL GOVERNORS CHAIR: Linda Hockey VICE-CHAIR: Roger Marriott Stewart Briggs Sarah Clough Julian Frost Noel Gray Elaine Johnson Mark Lawson Sol Miah Allan Schofield Sheila Selwood MBE Alasdair Simmons STAFF GOVERNORS: Jane Dudeney Charlie Whewell STUDENT GOVERNORS: Manisha Ahmead Janis Cirss

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 3


OUR STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES TO 2021 EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP To be perceived as an authority locally and within the sector on matters educational, not just further education (primary measure) To maintain our position as market leader by number of students locally on 16-18, apprenticeships, part-time provision and higher education To be perceived by local employers as highly responsive and an expert in work based and work-related learning

OUR PROGRESS SO FAR...

40 YEAR

LEASE

A 40-year-lease has been signed for Shuttleworth College by The Bedford College Group - securing the future of farming education for the next generation.

AGREE TO

MERGE

Bedford College and Tresham College formally agreed to merge, less than six months after the proposal was made in February 2017 making us the largest provider in the South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership (SEMLEP)1

TEACHER OF

THE YEAR

Judith Larson was named Teacher of the Year at the TES awards for showing passion, dedication and a commitment to learners. 1 Source:

www.semlep.com

4 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk


EDUCATIONAL SUSTAINABILITY To maintain full-time 16-18 numbers of at least 5,200 over the plan period (primary measure) To grow The Bedford Sixth Form to 600 over the plan period To develop high quality, high level direct 14-16 provision in technical subjects for > 100 students by the end of the plan period To grow our higher education by 30% over the plan period To grow our non-subcontracted apprenticeship provision by 20%-30% over the plan period

OUR PROGRESS SO FAR... NUMBER OF FULL-TIME STUDENTS 6,000

5,676

5,000

Target: 5,200

4,000

0

2016/2017

1,000

487 ENROLMENTS 501 ENROLMENTS

2015/2016

2,000

2017/18

553 ENROLMENTS

STUDENTS

CAN STUDY FOR A FULL

DEGREE

1 Source:

2 Source:

Target: 600 enrolments

2015/16

2016/17

2,457 2014/2015

3000

3,187

BEDFORD SIXTH 1 FORM ENROLMENTS

Students can study for a full degree at Bedford College and Shuttleworth College in partnership with the University of Northampton and the University of Bedfordshire in Animal Science, Graphic Communication and Engineering.

Bedford College Student Data Bedford College EBS data

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 5


FINANCIAL STABILITY To return to Outstanding financial health rating within three years of the Tresham merger and return to surpluses of at least £1m by 2019 (primary measure) To maintain capital investment at an average of at least £3.5m p.a. over the plan period To make like-for-like productivity improvements of at least 10% over the plan period To create new subsidiary companies that enable us to compete better with private competitors

OUR PROGRESS SO FAR...

£1.5 MILLION

The College had a financial surplus of more than £1.5 million1.

OUTSTANDING FOR FINANCIAL HEALTH* The Skills Funding Agency has formally confirmed our status as Outstanding for financial health. We are now one of fewer than 50 colleges in that category.

In 2016/17 The Bedford College Group spend on

CAPITAL BUILDING IMPROVEMENTS WAS

£2.714 MILLION 1 Source:

Financial statements for year ended 31 July 2017(Bedford College, 2017)

*As at July 2017

6 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk


HIGH QUALITY PROVISION To achieve key performance measures in the top 10% nationally by the end of the plan period (primary measure) To continue to raise the curriculum “centre of gravity” upwards during the plan period so more of our activity is at Level 3 and above To achieve key A-Level performance table results that at least match the best local state schools by the end of the plan period To improve student outcomes in terms of employment and higher education, and progression to Level 3 and above, with < 7% unemployment levels overall To invest a minimum of 3% of income in staff development to ensure to support improvements in staff quality and staff productivity

OUR PROGRESS SO FAR...

90% of our full-time students go on to

FURTHER STUDY, EMPLOYMENT1 OR GAP YEAR

OVER 1,000

STUDENTS

who failed maths and English at schools now have GCSE English and Maths at grade C (grade 4) and above after re-sitting with Bedford College2.

OF OUR STUDENTS WOULD

93% RECOMMEND3

THE COLLEGE

1 Source:

Bedford College student data Based on A-Level entrants 3 Source: Bedford College Spring Survey, 2017 2 Source:

In 5 years we’ve become the

2ND BIGGEST SIXTH FORM in the county2

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 7


OUR FUTURE PLANS

NEW ANIMAL CENTRE FOR SHUTTLEWORTH COLLEGE The Animal Centre situated on the Shuttleworth Estate, Old Warden in Bedfordshire, has been established for 17 years and is in need of replacement, allowing us to meet modern requirements of care for sound zoological standards. We work alongside zoos and wildlife parks and provide quality education within a specialist focus of living things and caring for the environment; helping to maintain vulnerable species whilst broadening the skills of students and visitors as a whole. The development, due to open in September 2019, is planned to provide many years of educational service, to enhance studentsâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; understanding and ability to really make a difference within the natural world.

WORK EXPERIENCE

The College recognises that young people from the local community gain valuable experience and employability skills by engaging in work experience. Meaningful work experience contributes to an individualâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s preparation for progression to employment or Further and Higher Education. Work experience is therefore an integral part of all study programmes and is now included in all areas for full-time students. This applies to students choosing to enter a particular occupation or profession or those taking a technical route to achieve their career aims. Students have similar opportunities to benefit from work experience, including work placements and other work-related learning activities, across all curriculum areas. The College is to receive funding as part of the work placement capacity development project to deliver the extended work placements proposed as part of the new Technical Level qualifications (T-Levels) being introduced to simplify the process of vocational training.

8 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk


LEARNING CENTRES FOR KETTERING AND CORBY A new Learning Centre in Kettering opened in January 2018. This will be shortly followed by a provision in Corby. Both centres will offer the same model currently available in Bedford: • Flexible open-learning IT centre for adults • Open 56 hours each week (Monday – Saturday, including evenings) • Pre-booked 2-hour sessions (minimum of 2 sessions each week) • Microsoft Office 2016 • ITQ Level 1 and ITQ Extended Level 2 • No fees

ADVANCED ENGINEERING & CONSTRUCTION CENTRE On 9 February 2017 Bedford College unveiled details of its new £5 million Advanced Engineering & Construction Centre. The new Advanced Engineering & Construction Centre is essential to meet the skills required by UK businesses to maintain their place in the global economy. The Centre, due to open in 2018, will house newer, lighter, analytical equipment, BIM Software and robotics and will allow students to move through to the higher engineering and degree level training essential in today’s Engineering and Construction Industry. It will increase student numbers by an additional 300 full-time and part-time students and 150 higher level apprentices each year - meeting some of the huge demand from employers for skilled Engineers. The space will provide students with room to experiment with intelligent design, analyse and assess problems, and develop real life solutions in the safety of the classroom and the virtual world environment.

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 9


OUR STUDENTS

12,284

93%

STUDENTS STUDIED AT

OF OUR STUDENTS WOULD

BEDFORD COLLEGE

IN 2016/2017

RECOMMEND THE COLLEGE

ALL STUDENTS

ALL STUDENTS

BY AGE Under 16 - 1.1% 16-18 years - 38.9% 19-23 years - 16.2% 24-30 years - 11.2% 31-40 years - 13.2% 41-50 years - 10.0% 51+ years - 9.4%

BY GENDER

MALE 51.7%

1.1%

FEMALE 48.3%

9.4% 10.0% 38.9%

13.2%

11.2% 16.2%

10 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

MALE 49%

2

FEMALE 51%


ALL STUDENTS BY DISABILITY

ALL STUDENTS

BY ETHNICITY

WITH A DISABILITY

14.2%

WITHOUT A DISABILITY

80.1%

NOT DECLARED

WITHOUT A DISABILITY

WITH A DISABILITY

BEDFORD COLLEGE White – British 58.4% BAME 41.6%

58.4% 41.6%

5.7%

84%

16%

3

70%

OF OUR STUDENTS

BEDFORD BOROUGH

28%

White – British 72% BAME 28% 72%

IN 2016/2017 WE WELCOMED

LIVE IN BEDFORDSHIRE

LOCAL AUTHORITY/COUNTY

COUNT

%

Bedford Borough LA

4,924

41%

Central Bedfordshire LA

2,594

22%

Luton LA

894

7%

Milton Keynes LA

561

5%

Cambridgeshire County

516

4%

Hertfordshire County

483

4%

Northamptonshire County

1090

9%

Buckinghamshire County

102

1%

Other

883

7%

Total

12,047*

100%

*Please note: This figure is approximately 240 less than the total number of students as these postcodes could not be mapped. Source: LRS Report, Quality

128 YEAR 10 AND YEAR 11

STUDENTS FOR OUR

SCHOOLS LINKS PROGRAMME

1 Source:

2 Source:

Bedford College student data Bedford College Spring Survey, 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 11


FULL-TIME STUDENTS Studying a full-time degree-level programme In paid employment

42.7% 31.8%

Employed as an apprentice Participating in unpaid work (includes volunteers/internships)

10.0% 1.1%

I never thought I’d enjoy education as much as I did here. It was the first time I was able to use facilities like this and I loved every single lesson. OSKAR KUTYLA

Taking a gap year

4.3%

Unemployed and seeking work Other (e.g. full-time parent/carer or retired)

Engineering Level 3 Diploma

FULL-TIME STUDENT DESTINATIONS

9.7% 0.4%

Bedford College is dedicated to helping students achieve their dreams. Not only by providing them with a great education in environments that reflect the world of work, but also by offering students individual support to meet their specific needs and to help them progress on to further study or employment.

90%

OF OUR FULL-TIME

STUDENTS GO ON TO FURTHER STUDY,

EMPLOYMENT1

OR A GAP YEAR 1 Source:

2 Source:

Bedford College student data Bedford College First Impressions Survey 2017

12 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

FULL-TIME LEVEL 3 16-18 ACHIEVEMENT Bedford College Achievement Rate

82.6%

National Achievement Rate

82.6%

WHAT FULL-TIME STUDENTS THINK

93% of students would recommend the College2


HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTS In full-time study, training or research In part-time study, training or research In paid employment Unemployed and seeking work Other (e.g. full-time parent/carer or retired)

25.8% 2.5% 64.1% 6.1% 1.5%

We offer a wide range of higher education courses at both Bedford College and Shuttleworth College campuses with fantastic support and expert teaching. Many of our courses offer the opportunity to top-up to a full honours degree by studying for a final year at university. Our partnerships with two local universities offer a seamless transfer, or there is always the opportunity to move on to a different university with your newly acquired knowledge and skills. New for this year, we are also offering BA and BSc (Hons) degrees.

As part of the ecology unit in my first year, I had the chance to go to Hungary for 10 days to meet with fish farm experts and representatives from across the E.U. Animal Management Foundation Degree (FdSc)

1 Source:

2 Source:

HOLLY GRANT

I really enjoyed programming and building databases. I am dyslexic so writing reports was quite difficult but luckily I had help to find ways to overcome it.

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENT DESTINATIONS

YVETTE LAWSON

Computing & Systems Development Higher National Diploma

WHAT HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTS THINK Students rate tutors’ subject knowledge 4.3 out of 51

92% OF UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS GO ON TO FURTHER STUDY OR PAID EMPLOYMENT2

Bedford College First Impressions Survey 2017 Bedford College student data

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 13


PART-TIME STUDENTS

Studying a full-time degree-level programme In paid employment

4.8% 68.2%

Employed as an apprentice Participating in unpaid work (includes volunteers/internships) Taking a gap year

13.2% 2.5% 0.3%

Unemployed and seeking work Other (e.g. full-time parent/carer or retired)

8.7%

I chose a part-time course because I wanted to train to become a Teaching Assistant and as a single parent I needed flexible study options to fit around my family commitments.

PART-TIME STUDENT DESTINATIONS

LISA GAVIN

Supporting Teaching & Learning in Schools CACHE Level 2

2.3%

Our professional part-time qualifications aim to provide students with the specialist skills they need to move on in their existing career or make the jump to something new. The College offers a range of day, evening or weekend classes and so the courses available can fit in around their work and everyday lives.

OUR PART-TIME STUDENTS

89%

CONSISTENTLY

ACHIEVE STUDENTS ACHIEVEMENT RATES GO ON TO FURTHER

OF OUR PART-TIME

ABOVE THE NATIONAL

STUDY OR

EMPLOYMENT Source: Bedford College student data

14 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

PART-TIME STUDENTS’ ACHIEVEMENT RATES Bedford College Achievement Rate

89.1%

National Achievement Rate

86.1%


APPRENTICESHIP STUDENTS

APPRENTICESHIP STUDENTS’ ACHIEVEMENT RATES College achievement rates National achievement rates

You can learn from a book but it’s completely different to when you’re faced with real life situations at work. Learning hands on skills at Vauxhall has allowed me to develop my technical knowledge and practical skills.

77.7% 80 - 70.6%

60 - 70.3%

70.3%

76.8%

70.3%

68.8%

70.9%

40 -

20 -

100 -

NASAR KHAN

Advanced Apprenticeship: ICT Professional Competence 2013/2014

2014/2015

2015/2016

2016/2017

Our Apprenticeship students benefit from studying with Bedford College for a formal qualification, while working in their chosen industry. As the largest apprenticeship provider in the county students can choose from a wide range of subject areas and have access to the best employers.

91% OF APPRENTICES WOULD

RECOMMEND 1 THE COLLEGE 1 Source:

Bedford College First Impressions Survey 2016/17 Oher sources: Bedford College Student Data

I like being able to get work experience and study at the same time. I also have three children, so being able to earn a wage whilst I study is very important. I feel confident in my job and I am able to learn from those around me. I will be going on to study a Foundation Degree and then I can choose if I want to go onto Nursing, Midwifery or Social Work. NATHIA ROCHA

Apprentices rate their course as helping them reach their future goals 4.3 out of 51

Clinical Healthcare Support Level 3

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 15


THE BEDFORD SIXTH FORM THE BEDFORD SIXTH FORM IS THE ONLY INSTITUTION IN BEDFORD SOLELY DEDICATED TO SIXTH FORM STUDY. Since its foundation in 2014 The Bedford Sixth Form has continually achieved excellent results and students benefit from specialist expertise. In 2017 the proportion of high grades at A-Level increased by a further 7%, enabling even more students to get into their first choice of university â&#x20AC;&#x201C; including many prestigious Russell Group institutions.

THE BEDFORD SIXTH FORM KEY FACTS...

22

98%

A-LEVEL

SUBJECTS

In 2017 we had 22 A-Level subjects with

100% PASS RATES

90% 16 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

In 2017 our A-Level students achieved a

98% PASS RATE

Of our students progress to degree-level study, apprenticeships or work


Throughout my time here I always felt as though I could go and see my teachers about anything I wasn’t sure of, and my personal tutor was excellent at arranging both study support and extra support for exams.

CHLOE CALLOW

A-Level Biology, Sociology and Textiles

THE BEDFORD SIXTH FORM STUDENT DESTINATIONS Studying a full-time degree-level programme Employed as an apprentice In paid employment Participating in unpaid work (includes volunteers/internships) Taking a gap year Unemployed and seeking work Other (e.g. full-time parent/carer or retired)

74.6% 4.2% 9.5% 0.5% 9.5% 1.1% 0.6%

Source: Bedford College Student Data 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 17


OUR STAFF

580

EMPLOYEES WORK FOR OUR COLLEGE

STAFF BY GENDER

MALE

44%

FEMALE 56%

STAFF BY DISABILITY

STAFF BY ETHNICITY 16.9%

91.7%

Without a disability

(includes ‘prefer not to say’)

18 | Annual Review 2017

8.3%

With a disability

76.5% White British

Black & Minority Ethnic (BME)

6.6%

Unknown

www.bedford.ac.uk


10.9% MANAGEMENT STAFF 2.5% EXECUTIVE STAFF 45.7% TEACHING STAFF 40.9% SUPPORT STAFF

100%

OF OUR EMPLOYEES HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO TAKE PART IN THREE

STAFF DEVELOPMENT

DAYS EACH YEAR

96% OF OUR

TEACHING STAFF HAVE

A PROFESSIONAL

TEACHING QUALIFICATION (Sector figure 75%)

ALL STAFF CAN ACCESS A FREE QUALIFICATION AND

ATTEND WEEKLY GOLDEN HOUR PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SESSIONS

Source: Bedford College Human Resources Data 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 19


WORKING WITH EMPLOYERS

2,478

EMPLOYEES FROM LOCAL BUSINESSES

TRAINED WITH US IN 2016/2017

NUMBER OF LOCAL BUSINESSES WE WORK WITH BY COUNTY Bedfordshire

1359

Buckinghamshire

198

Cambridgeshire

218

Hertfordshire

210

Northamptonshire

97

Other

349

Total

2431

563 NEW CUSTOMERS

IN 2016/2017 IN 2016/2017

310 EMPLOYERS

TOOK ON APPRENTICES 20 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

9%

3.5% 56% 8.3%

8.7%

Other 14.5%


NUMBER OF APPRENTICES

We are delighted that, along with this rapid growth, our apprentices’ success has been consistently good.

2500 2000

1563

1671

1500 1000 500 0

2016/2017

IN THREE YEARS

2542

2015/2016

GROWN BY 63%

3000

2014/2015

OUR APPRENTICESHIPS HAVE

74 APPRENTICESHIP CAREER PATHWAYS

AVAILABLE

From Millbrook’s perspective, the Apprenticeship Scheme with Bedford College has been very successful. The fact that we’ve taken on new apprentices year on year since 2011, not only in the core engineering areas, but also in support roles such as business administrators, is testament to this.

Millbrook Proving Ground

Source: Bedford College Employer Data

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 21


COLLEGE SUCCESS

JANUARY 2017

Bedford College student Daniel Bullen wins the ‘Disability Sports Award’ at the Bedford Sports Awards.

FEBRUARY 2017

Bedford College unveil details of its new £5 million Advanced Engineering & Construction Centre.

MARCH 2017

Judith Larsen, Bedford College, wins teacher of the year at the annual TES FE Awards.

22 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk

JUNE 2017

Double reward for Bedford College students in the design competition set by brand engineers CGI Creative Graphics International.

MAY 2017

Shuttleworth College receive a Heritage Lottery Fund (HLF) Sharing Heritage grant for its work in tracing the DNA of “Shakespeare’s Pear.”

APRIL 2017

Shuttleworth Horticulture students scoop the silver at the Ideal Home Show’s ‘Young Gardeners of the year’ competition.


JULY 2017

Bedford College student Alberto Speziale wins YCN Award for his entry to an international competition set by the Fedrigoni company.

AUGUST 2017

Bedford College and Tresham College merge to create the biggest provider in the local area.

SEPTEMBER 2017

Over 1,000 students who failed maths and English at schools now have GCSE English and Maths at grade C (grade 4) and above thanks to Bedford College.

DECEMBER 2017

Bedford College win Gold at the national Collegeâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Marketing Network FE First Awards evening.

NOVEMBER 2017

Bedford College take first prize in the Large Business of the Year Award at the first Bedfordshire Midweek Newspaper ceremony on November 21st.

OCTOBER 2017

Three talented young people represent The Bedford College Group in the World Skills Show event in the NEC Birmingham.

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 23


BEDFORD COLLEGE SERVICES Bedford College Services (BCS) is the commercial wing of Bedford College. It is a multi-faceted enterprise that operates across the leisure, hospitality, catering, theatre and facilities hire sectors across the College estate.

OUR VISION BCS will become a significant contributor to educational funding within Bedford College, through the provision of hospitality, sport, leisure and entertainment services to Bedford and the surrounding community.

OUR MISSION BCS will provide a suite of services for staff and students and build a range of commercially viable activities and services to external customers, utilising the Collegeâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s assets for both educational and financial benefit.

TRINITY ARTS & LEISURE

THE GRAND HALL

We currently hire out Trinity Arts & Leisure for swimming, sports and fitness and theatre events. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, high-quality facilities, enjoyable classes, a strong safety record and unrivalled value.

This beautiful hall is the perfect venue for wedding ceremonies and special occasions, helping you to celebrate in style. Situated in the heart of Bedford town centre, the magnificent Grand Hall, Bromham Road is steeped in history. Dating back to 1882, this stunning ground floor room is now fully licensed for weddings and civil partnership ceremonies for up to 150 guests.

www.trinityleisure.co.uk

www.thegrandhall.co.uk

24 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk


MUNCH & MOCHA

THE VENUE HUB

Munch & Mocha is the brand that encompasses the catering options offered by BCS across 3 sites: Munch & Mocha Trinity, Munch & Mocha Bedford and Munch & Mocha Shuttleworth. We offer refreshments and freshly cooked food to staff and students and also have the capacity to offer catering for external events.

The Venue Hub offers a wide range of facilities hire to external organisations and individuals for meetings, events and experiences. Our offer includes: theatres, a sports hall, a dance studio, recording and rehearsal studios, digital editing suites, a tv studio and a variety of meeting and conference rooms. www.thevenuehub.com

munch & M O C H A

KEY FACTS...

TRINITY ARTS & LEISURE

27,000 MUNCH & MOCHA

183,600

TRANSACTIONS

IN 2016/2017

SWIMMERS

8 WEDDINGS /

72 NEWLY TRAINED LIFEGUARDS

IN 2016/2017

DURING 2016/2017

OVER 1,200 CHILDREN LEARNT

TO SWIM IN 16/17

Source: Bedford College Services Data

THE GRAND HALL

PARTIES

6 NATIONAL CITIZEN SERVICE COURSES COMPLETED www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 25


FINANCIAL REPORT INCOME 2015

Income

2016

2017

(£’000s)

(£’000s)

(£’000s)

25,813

25,761

26,688

Tuition fees and education contracts

7,143

7,246

7,603

Other income

2,850

2,595

2,307

12

35

21

35,818

35,637

36,619

Funding body grants

Endowment and investment income Total income

WE’RE ONE OF THE MOST

FINANCIALLY

STRONG COLLEGES

IN THE COUNTRY

EXPENDITURE 2015

Expenditure

2016

2017

(£’000s)

(£’000s)

(£’000s)

Staff costs

21,106

21,288

21,594

Other operating expenses

11,666

10,670

11,186

Depreciation and amortisation

2,205

2,128

2,103

399

415

194

35,376

34,501

35,077

Interest and other finance costs Total expenditure

OUR FINANCES HAVE BEEN CLASSIFIED AS

‘OUTSTANDING’ FOR OVER A DECADE

SURPLUS 2015

Surplus

2016

2017

(£’000s)

(£’000s)

(£’000s)

Surplus before other gains and losses

442

1,136

1,542

Loss on disposal of fixed assets

(41)

(104)

(171)

Surplus before tax

401

1,032

1,371

Taxation

N/A

N/A

0

Surplus for the year

401

1,032

1,371

Unrealised surplus on revaluation of assets

7,537

0

0

Actuarial loss in respect of pension schemes

(1,203)

4,641

462

Total comprehensive income for the year

6,735

5,673

969

Source: Financial Statements for year ended 31 July 2017 (Bedford College, 2017)

26 | Annual Review 2017

www.bedford.ac.uk


BALANCE SHEET Group 2015

College 2015 (£’000s)

Group 2016

(£’000s)

College 2016 (£’000s)

Group 2017

(£’000s)

College 2017

Total fixed assets

44,418

44,380

43,962

43,927

45,186

45,148

Net current assets

2,787

2,860

1,446

1,647

3,235

3,170

Total assets less current liabilities

45,864

46,027

46,749

46,787

48,421

48,318

Creditors - amount falling due after more than one year

(9,360)

(9,360)

(8,581)

(8,581)

(8,602)

(8,602)

Defined benefit obligations

(9,999)

(9,999)

(5,990)

(5,990)

(6,672)

(6,672)

Total net assets

26,505

26,668

32,178

32,216

33,147

33,044

Total unrestricted reserves

26,505

26,668

32,178

32,216

33,147

33,044

Balance sheet

(£’000s)

(£’000s)

OUR COMMUNITY SCORECARD The community scorecard is a tool to help everyone understand more about how Bedford College is performing. The scorecard is made up of 12 sections covering all aspects of our organisation, from our students’ success and our environmental record, to how the College contributes to the local community and more. Each section is rated and assigned a traffic light coloured score (green, amber or red) to show how successfully the College is meeting its requirements for that area.

OVERALL PERFORMANCE

GREEN

STUDENTS How do we get students involved in what we do?

GREEN

What do our students say about us?

GREEN

How do our students succeed?

GREEN

Where do our student go next?

GREEN

COMMUNITY Who do we work with in the community?

GREEN

Who comes to our College?

GREEN

How do our courses match local needs?

GREEN

How well known are we locally?

GREEN

What does the community think about us?

GREEN

How environmentally friendly are we?

GREEN

EMPLOYERS What work do we do with employers?

GREEN

How do we help businesses?

GREEN

What do employers think about us?

AMBER

www.bedford.ac.uk

Annual Review 2017 | 27


CUSTOMER CARE CHARTER

At Bedford College we are committed to continuously improving the standards of service we offer to all our customers. We are committed to: •

Treating you with honesty, openness and respect in line with our College values

Providing you with a consistent, co-ordinated and proactive service

Responding to your communications with us quickly and effectively

Providing you with access to clear and accurate information, advice and guidance

Providing opportunities for you to easily give us feedback

Continuously improving our service to you

Customer feedback We always welcome and value feedback. If you have had a positive experience from a particular service or member of staff, or have any suggestions for further improvement, please tell us by visiting www.bedford.ac.uk/haveyoursay

Cauldwell Street, Bedford MK42 9AH Tel: 01234 291000 Email: info@bedford.ac.uk www.bedford.ac.uk

Bromham Road, Bedford MK40 2BS Tel: 01234 291291 Email: info@bedfordsixthform.ac.uk www.bedfordsixthform.ac.uk

Old Warden Park, Biggleswade SG18 9DX Tel: 01767 626222 Email: enquiries@shuttleworth.ac.uk www.shuttleworth.ac.uk

Bedford College Annual Review 2017  

Bedford College

Bedford College Annual Review 2017  

Bedford College