Page 1

THE BEDFORD COLLEGE GROUP

bigger and better ANNUAL REVIEW 2018

Annual Review 2018

1


CONTENTS OUR VISION & VALUES

3

OUR STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES 2021 4 • Educational Leadership • Educational Sustainability • Financial Stability • High Quality Provision

OUR FUTURE PLANS

8

OUR STUDENTS 10 • Bedford College • National College for Motorsport • Shuttleworth College • The Bedford Sixth Form • Tresham College • Bedford College Services

OUR STAFF 24 WORKING WITH EMPLOYERS

26

GROUP SUCCESS 28 COMMUNITY 30 FINANCIAL REPORT 31 CUSTOMER CARE CHARTER

32

Ian Pryce, CBE Principal & Chief Executive The Bedford College Group 2

Annual Review 2018


Bigger AND Better Message from the Principal What an amazing inaugural year it has been for The Bedford College Group. There is no doubt that our merger with Tresham College in August 2017 has been our main focus and saw us expanding by nearly 60% to become the largest further education college in the South East Midlands Local Economic Partnership (SEMLEP) area. Against this backdrop, our achievements in 2017-18 are particularly impressive and testament to our clear strategy, operational focus and hard work during this exceptional year in the College’s history. In addition to taking on the challenge of integrating with another, large college – with four campuses in a different county – it was also essential that we did not lose sight of our existing provision and continued to deliver the high standards of education that we are renowned for in the sector. Academically, our achievement remained very strong, with overall achievement for the Group at 88.5%, above the national average of 84.4%. We were also above the

national average for achievement in GCSEs, English and maths and apprenticeships and, at The Bedford Sixth Form, our overall A-Level results achievement rates increased to 92.4%. Our excellent staff continued to win awards, with one of our apprenticeship assessors winning the national accolade of TES Assessor of the Year 2018, and in September we were delighted to be granted membership of the Chartered Institution for Further Education under its Royal Charter in recognition of our exemplary position in the sector. Financially, we have also exceeded all expectations and maintained our Outstanding health rating in 2017-18 by turning the combined deficit of £1.6million in 2016-17 to a surplus of £1million in 2017-18. I hope you can take a few minutes to read on and find out more about this truly amazing year for The Bedford College Group.

Ian Pryce, CBE

Principal & Chief Executive

OUR VISION Delivering world class skills and education to the communities we serve.

The Bedford College Group

OUR VALUES Our values reflect the manner in which we set out to achieve our aims. We put the student at the heart of all we do. Our three core values are: Student Focus We seek to achieve a high quality learning experience for every student. High Performance We strive for consistently high levels of performance in all aspects of our work. Respect, Openness And Honesty We treat everyone with respect, encourage openness and honesty, and recognise each other’s contribution and achievements.

2017-2018 BOARD OF GOVERNORS External Governors Chair: Roger Marriott

Message from the Chair of the Corporation It has been an exciting year helping to establish The Bedford College Group, a result of the merger of Bedford College with Tresham College. The Board of Governors is delighted that the Group is now reaping the rewards of all the exceptional hard work that staff at all levels and at all sites of the College have put in over the past 18 months – a period of unprecedented change. The College has delivered its promise to the FE Commissioner and Skills Funding Agency to turn around the financial performance of Tresham College and to secure high-quality further and higher education for local communities in Northamptonshire. The changes to the management structure have meant that the College was able to embed

change and improvement from the very start of the merger and this is why they are now seeing such positive results. In particular, the Board is delighted that Tresham College students have seen immediate benefits with improvements in attainment, and recruitment for 2018 increasing by 25% when compared to the previous year. We will ensure that the College continues to provide a high level of education to the local communities in Bedfordshire, Northamptonshire and beyond.

Vice-chair: Alasdair Simmons Avril Bartley-Smith Stewart Briggs Andy Cuddihy Casandra Daubney Richard Dimbleby Andy Ellis Julian Frost Noel Gray Greg Guilford Mark Lawson Sol Miah Allan Schofield Sheila Selwood MBE Staff Governors Jane Dudeney Shaun Wilson

Roger Marriott Chair of the Corporation

Student Governors Manisha Ahmead Janis Cirss

Annual Review 2018

3


OUR PROGRESS SO FAR...

BIGGER AND BETTER LARGEST COLLEGE IN THE REGION

Bedford College and Tresham College formally merged on 1st August 2017, creating The Bedford College Group – representing a nearly 60% increase in our size and making it the largest college in the South East Midlands Local Enterprise Partnership (SEMLEP).1

OUR STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES TO 2021

EDUCATIONAL LEADERSHIP

BEST IN ENGLAND NATIONAL ASSESSOR OF THE YEAR

To be perceived as an authority locally and within the sector on matters educational, not just further education

Keith Haynes was awarded Assessor of the Year 2018 at the Times Educational Supplement (TES) Awards for his passion, success and commitment to engineering apprenticeships over the past 43 years.

To maintain our position as market leader by number of students locally on 16-18, apprenticeships, part-time provision and higher education

SETTING THE STANDARD CHARTERED STATUS

To be perceived by local employers as highly responsive and an expert in work based and work-related learning

The Bedford College Group was granted membership of the Chartered Institution for Further Education under its Royal Charter in recognition of its exemplary position in the sector.

1

4

Annual Review 2018

Source: South East Midlands Local Economic Partnership (SEMLEP)


OUR PROGRESS SO FAR... TARGET

STUDENT NUMBERS:

11% ABOVE TARGET

OUR STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES TO 2021

EDUCATIONAL SUSTAINABILITY To maintain full-time 16-18 student numbers of at least 5,200 over the plan period

To grow The Bedford Sixth Form to 600 students over the plan period

To develop high quality, high level direct 14-16 provision in technical subjects for > 100 students by the end of the plan period

To grow our higher education provision by 30% over the plan period

To grow our non-subcontracted apprenticeship provision by 20%-30% over the plan period

In November 2018 full-time 16-18 student numbers stood at 5,7691 against a target of 5,200, representing 11% over achievement.

528 STUDENTS IN 2018 The Bedford Sixth Form on track to achieve its long term targets with 528 students in 2018.

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENT NUMBERS are 8022 compared to 8403 last year.

2,443 APPRENTICES2 Apprentice numbers last academic year managed to approximately remain the same as the previous year, despite the decline nationally of 34%.

1

Source: Learner Enrolment Report, 7th November 2018 2

Source: Learner Enrolment Report December 2018 3

Source: Learner Enrolment Report June 2018

Annual Review 2018

5


OUR PROGRESS SO FAR...

OUTSTANDING FINANCIAL HEALTH1

OUR STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES TO 2021

The Skills Funding Agency has formally confirmed our status as Outstanding for financial health. We are now one of the top 20 financially strong colleges in England.

FINANCIAL STABILITY

£1M SURPLUS2

The College has turned the 2016-17 £1.6m deficit into a £1m surplus in 2017-18.

To return to Outstanding financial health rating within three years of the Tresham College merger and return to surpluses of at least £1m by 2019

£7.5M GRANT

The College has secured a £7.5m grant from SEMLEP to redevelop its Wellingborough campus.

To maintain capital investment at an average of at least £3.5m p.a. over the plan period

To make like-for-like productivity improvements of at least 10% over the plan period

To create new subsidiary companies that enable us to compete better with private competitors

£7.9M INVESTED

IN BUILDINGS AND EQUIPMENT

The College has invested £7.9m in facilities and equipment throughout the year.

171 BCPS EMPLOYEES We now have 171 employees in Bedford College Professional Services Ltd (BCPS Ltd) 1 2

6

Annual Review 2018

As at July 2018

Source: Financial statements for year ended 31 July 2018 (The Bedford College Group, 2018)


OUR PROGRESS SO FAR...

OUR STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES TO 2021

HIGH QUALITY PROVISION

5% INCREASE

in Level 3 students from 3,511 in 2016-17 to 3,680 in 2017-18

To achieve key performance measures in the top 10% nationally by the end of the plan period To continue to raise the curriculum â&#x20AC;&#x153;centre of gravityâ&#x20AC;? upwards during the plan period so more of our activity is at Level 3 and above To achieve key A-Level performance table results that at least match the best local state schools by the end of the plan period To improve student outcomes in terms of employment and higher education, and progression to Level 3 and above, with < 7% unemployment levels overall To invest a minimum of 3% of income in staff development to support improvements in staff quality and staff productivity

1

TOP 15% COLLEGES

2

in England for overall student achievement in the classroom: 88.6%

87% OF OUR FULL-TIME STUDENTS go on to further study, employment or gap year.3

STAFF DEVELOPMENT 1% of our income was spent on professional development in 2017-18.

1 2

Source: Bedford College Student Data Against 2016-17 national average 84.4%

3

Source: 2016-17 Student Destinations

Annual Review 2018

7


OUR FUTURE PLANS Engineering Higher Education in Bedford The opening of the brand new Buchanan Centre, the name for the Advanced Engineering & Construction Centre at the Bedford College campus, is just the start of a new journey to offer the very latest in education and learning facilities and equipment. The £5.2 Million Buchanan Centre was funded by generous donations from public and private organisations, the College and £2.5 million from SEMLEP’s Local Growth Fund. In addition, the Higher Education Funding Council England (HEFCE) has given a grant of £170,000 from its Catalyst Fund to develop a range of market-driven Higher Education (HE) engineering courses.

£7.5 million Wellingborough campus redevelopment The Bedford College Group has been awarded £7.5million from SEMLEP, through funding available from the Local Growth Fund skills capital investment programme, to redevelop Tresham College’s Wellingborough campus, which will open to students in September 2020. The redeveloped campus, in the heart of Wellingborough town centre, will enable 1,000 additional students to study locally, not just young people but also adult students who want to expand their skills or change careers.

8

Annual Review 2018


OUR FUTURE PLANS New Learning Centre for Corby Following on from the success of the Kettering Learning Centre, which has attracted more than 405 students in just nine months, Tresham College will also be opening a Learning Centre in Corby offering: • Flexible open-learning IT courses for adults • 56 hours of training each week (Monday – Saturday, including evenings) • Pre-bookable 2-hour sessions (minimum of 2 sessions each week) • Microsoft Office 2016 • ITQ Level 1 and ITQ Extended Level 2 • No fees.

£3.65 million Zoological Education Centre Shuttleworth College campus is due to open a new Zoological Education Centre in September 2019, the first of its type developed by a further education college. It is being designed in conjunction with the Zoological Society of London (ZSL), who run London and Whipsnade Zoos, and will include an ‘Eden style’ biome with tropical rainforest setting, immersive bio-sphere and wide range of species. Conservation and care will be the key priority, enabling students to learn how to support and care for endangered species. The Centre will put Shuttleworth College firmly on the world map in terms of the education they offer students.

Annual Review 2018

9


FULL-TIME STUDENTS 16-18 5,278 Adults 648

Our Students The Bedford College Group

PART-TIME OR DISTANCE LEARNING STUDENTS 16-18   286 Adults   5,228

14,723

1

STUDENTS

Studied at The Bedford College Group in 2017-2018

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTS 840

APPRENTICES                 

16-18   1,169 Adults   1,274 10

Annual Review 2018


STUDENT GENDER Male:

49%

Female:

51%

STUDENTS BY LEVEL2 Entry Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Level 4

11% 16% 34% 30% 9%

STUDENT DISABILITY With a disability:

17%

Without a disability:

83%

WHERE STUDENTS LIVE NORTHAMPTONSHIRE 28% OTHER 19%

STUDENT ETHNICITY Black, Asian and minority ethnic

30%

BEDFORDSHIRE 53%

White – British

70%

1 Learner 2

Enrolment Report June 2018

Excludes ‘no level’ courses, such as leisure courses

Annual Review 2018

11


16-18 2,296

Bedford College Students 8,342

1

STUDENTS

ADULTS 3,726

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTS 639

Studied at Bedford College in 2017-2018

APPRENTICES 1,681

12

Annual Review 2018


91% OF OUR FULL-TIME STUDENTS

79%

of Bedford College students came from Bedford Borough and Central Bedfordshire

go on to further study, employment or a gap year2

87% OF STUDENTS ENJOY THEIR COURSE2 I have really enjoyed my time at Bedford College and made the most of all the opportunities that they offer. As well as studying hard to achieve D* D D in my Extended Diploma, I also enjoyed setting up the Debating Society, being a Student Representative and spending two years as a Student Governor. I’m sure it is these extra-curricular experiences that have helped me be successful in gaining a Traineeship at EY (Ernst & Young). Janis, BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Business, Bedford College

1 2

STAR STUDENTS Computing students Liam Kilby and Dillon White won the regional World Skills competition Graphic design student Alex Parsons won the national Glovers Company Competition Fashion and textiles student Summer Gill won the national Professional Clothing Awards Fashion and textiles student Sophie Penwright took first prize in the Clothworkers’ Company Award Graphic Design students Daniel Rogers, Sara Sayer, Curtis Reeve and Jay Larano won national YCN awards

Source: Learner Enrolment Report June 2018

Source: Bedford College First Impressions Survey 2017-18

Annual Review 2018

13


FULL-TIME STUDENTS

national college for motorsport Students

16-18 67

ADULTS                 10

122

1

STUDENTS

Studied at the National College for Motor Sports in 2017-2018

14

Annual Review 2018

APPRENTICES                  45


Full-time students’ destinations3 In paid employment

51% Employed as an apprentice or traineeship

39%

OUR STUDENTS COME FROM ALL OVER THE COUNTRY, including Wiltshire and Lancashire.

Unemployed and seeking work

10%

The National College for Motorsport provided us with an excellent service. They took time to see how we operate and understand what the team needs were.

92%

Alexandra Underwood, PA to CEO, Rockingham Motor Speedway

of students would

RECOMMEND National College for Motorsport2

90%

The National College for Motorsport was

AWARDED THE MIA SERVICE TO INDUSTRY AWARD for their exceptional performance in training and guiding young people

1 2

of our students went into

AN APPRENTICESHIP OR EMPLOYMENT3

Source: Learner Enrolment Report June 2018

Source: The National College for Motorsport Spring Survey 2018 3

Source: 2016-17 Student Destinations Report

Annual Review 2018

15


16-18 543

shuttleworth College Students

ADULTS

992

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTS

1

STUDENTS

321

67

Studied at Shuttleworth College in 2017-2018

APPRENTICES 61

16

Annual Review 2018


Where Students Live

91%

ALMOST 9 OUT OF 10 STUDENTS

of our students live in Bedfordshire, Milton Keynes, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire

would recommend Shuttleworth College2

STAR STUDENTS Horticulture students in the finals of the Young Gardeners of the Year competition

75 STUDENTS LIVED IN OUR OFSTED OUTSTANDING HALLS OF RESIDENCE a 27% increase from last year

I studied Level 3 Animal Management and decided to progress on to higher education. I have been inspired by my tutors sharing their knowledge and degree-level study is opening up lots of doors in the industry and I will certainly top up to the full BSc Degree.

OVER 250 SPECIES of animals from the smallest tropical cockroach to alpacas in the paddocks

Harriet, Animal Management Foundation Degree (FdSc)

1 Source: 2

Learner Enrolment Report June 2018

Source: Shuttleworth College First Impressions Survey 2018

Annual Review 2018

17


97% of our full-time students go on to further study, employment or a gap year2

the bedford sixth form Students 512

1

STUDENTS

Studied at The Bedford Sixth Form in 2017-2018

73% Proportion of

HIGH GRADES at A-Level in 2018

Students taking up places at

ELITE RUSSELL GROUP INSTITUTIONS has tripled

The Sixth Form offers

32 A-LEVEL SUBJECTS

18

Annual Review 2018


Full-time studentsâ&#x20AC;&#x2122; destinations2

87%

Studying a full-time degree-level programme

71% In paid employment

16%

of our students live in Bedfordshire

Employed as an apprentice or traineeship

10% Unemployed and seeking work

2% Other (e.g. full-time parent/carer or retired)

1%

Studying at The Bedford Sixth Form is hard work but a lot of fun. The teachers are professional and supportive, while helping to create a relaxed learning environment. My favourite subject has to be maths, and computer science is really good fun, and I am going on to the University of Nottingham after Sixth Form to study the subject further. Peter, A-Levels: Maths, Physics, Computer Science

The only institution in Bedford

solely dedicated to Sixth Form study

1

STAR STUDENTS 99% pass rate achieved by A-Level students in 2018 with 100% pass rates for 25 subjects A-Level Achievement Rate has increased to 92.8% compared to National Achievement Rate 91.8%3 AS Achievement Rate has increased to 82.3% compared to National Achievement Rate 75.4%3

85 students received the Bursary for Education Excellence, awarded for outstanding achievement in their GCSEs

Source: Learner Enrolment Report June 2018

2 Source: 3

2016-17 Student Destinations Report

National Achievement Rate Tables 2016-17

Annual Review 2018

19


16-18 2,149

tresham College Students 4,755

1

STUDENTS

Studied at Tresham College in 2017-2018

ADULTS                 1,816

HIGHER EDUCATION STUDENTS 134

APPRENTICES 656

20

Annual Review 2018


Tresham College really opened up my eyes to science and helped me to understand it - it was just fascinating. I finished my Level 3 with a triple Distinction* and Iâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;m now studying BSc Human Bioscience at the University of Northampton. Iâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;m aiming for a First and, if I get this, I want to go on to a PhD.

83% of our full-time students go on to further study, employment or a gap year2

Summer, BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Applied Science, Tresham College

STAR STUDENTS Media production student Alice Keech won work experience with the BBC Radio 1 Scott Mills Show

94.7% of Tresham College students live in Northamptonshire

Media student Priscilla Khoza spent the day at ITN studios with news star Natasha Kaplinsky Two Musical Theatre students won places at Italia Conti Academy of Theatre Arts Electrical Installation apprentice Bradley Thompson-McKay was short-listed for the Sparks Apprentice of the Year award

1 2

Source: Learner Enrolment Report June 2018

Source: 2016-17 Student Destinations Report, excluding National College for Motorsport

Annual Review 2018

21


BEDFORD COLLEGE SERVICES Bedford College Services (BCS) is the commercial wing of The Bedford College Group. It is a multi-faceted enterprise that operates across the leisure, hospitality, catering, theatre and facilities hire sectors across the College estate.

TRINITY ARTS & LEISURE

We currently hire out Trinity Arts & Leisure for swimming, sports and fitness and theatre events. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, high-quality facilities, enjoyable classes, a strong safety record and unrivalled value. www.trinityleisure.co.uk

MUNCH & MOCHA

,391 161 TRANSACTIONS

1

in 2017/2018

THE GRAND HALL

TRINITY ARTS & LEISURE

33,800

SWIMMERS

used our pool during 2017/2018

OVER 4,500

CHILDREN

learnt to swim in 17/18

22

Annual Review 2018

This beautiful hall is the perfect venue for wedding ceremonies and special occasions, helping you to celebrate in style. Situated in the heart of Bedford town centre, the magnificent Grand Hall in Bromham Road, Bedford is steeped in history. Dating back to 1882, this stunning ground floor room is now fully licensed for weddings and civil partnership ceremonies for up to 150 guests. www.thegrandhall.co.uk


MUNCH & MOCHA

Munch & Mocha catering venues are on three campuses: Munch & Mocha Bedford, Munch & Mocha Shuttleworth and Munch & Mocha Wixams. We offer refreshments and freshly cooked food to staff and students and also have the capacity to offer catering for external events.

Trinity Arts & Leisure

munch & M O C H A

AT T R I N I T Y

The Grand Hall

THE VENUE HUB

The Venue Hub offers a wide range of facilities hire to external organisations and individuals for meetings, events and experiences. Our offer includes: theatres, a sports hall, a dance studio, recording and rehearsal studios, digital editing suites, a tv studio and a variety of meeting and conference rooms. We also have launched The Venue Hub Northamptonshire which encompasses all the above, plus third generation (3G) pitches. www.thevenuehub.com

Munch & Mocha

Source: Bedford College Services Data 1

Excludes Wimans Munch & Mocha

The Venue Hub Annual Review 2018

23


GENDER2 Male:

Female:

41%

our staff 983

1

EMPLOYEES

With a disability:

59%

DISABILITY2

7.7%

Black, Asian, minority ethnic

Without a disability:

92.3% (includes ‘prefer not to say’)

ETHNICITY2

White – British

78.1%

21.8%

worked for our College in 2017-18

Executive Staff

2%

Management Staff

7%

24

Annual Review 2018

ROLE2

Teaching Staff

40%

Support Staff

51%


100% of our employees have the

OPPORTUNITY

to take part in three staff development days each year

96% of our teaching staff have a professional teaching

QUALIFICATION (Sector figure 75%)

All staff can access a

FREE QUALIFICATION EACH YEAR

1% OF OUR INCOME WAS SPENT

on staff development during 2017-18

1 2

Source: Bedford College Human Resources Data 2018

Source: The Bedford College Group Equality and Diversity Annual Report

Annual Review 2018

25


Working with employers

NUMBER OF EMPLOYERS Bedfordshire Buckinghamshire Cambridgeshire Hertfordshire Northamptonshire Other Total

463 73 78 65 238 24 986

The College have worked really hard to make our apprenticeship scheme a success. They are proactive and have quickly become trusted partners to us. Giles Turrell, CEO, Weetabix

26

Annual Review 2018


535

NEW CUSTOMERS

to The Bedford College Group in 2017/18

In 2017/2018

521 EMPLOYERS took on apprentices

80 apprenticeship

CAREER PATHWAYS available

2,443 APPRENTICES

Apprentice numbers have remained the same, despite the Government introducing an apprenticeship levy

Source: Bedford College Employer Data

Annual Review 2018

27


The Bedford College Group Success

JAN JANUARY 2018

FEB FEBRUARY 2018

MAR MARCH 2018

The National College for Motorsport won Motorsport Industry Association (MIA) Service to Industry Award for exceptional performance in training young people in race mechanics apprenticeships.

Bedford College Public Services course received an Education Ambassador award in the Bedfordshire Police Cohesion Awards in recognition of their work to help students understand the roles of police offices.

Tresham Collegeâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s Keith Haynes won Assessor of the Year 2018 at the national Times Educational Supplement (TES) awards.

APR

MAY

JUN

APRIL 2018

Tresham College media student Alice Keech won work experience on Radio 1 Scott Mills Show.

28

Annual Review 2018

MAY 2018

The Bedford College Group opened a new Learning Centre in Kettering to provide free computer courses in the heart of the town centre.

JUNE 2018

Bedford College graphic design students beat university students for the eighth year running, to win YCN Student Award.


JUL JULY 2018

AUG

SEPT

AUGUST 2018

SEPTEMBER 2018

Funding was secured for Tresham College’s Wellingborough campus to undergo £7.5 million redevelopment creating courses for 1,000 extra students.

A-Level students at The Bedford Sixth Form achieved 99% pass rates.

Shuttleworth College confirmed they will be the only UK further education college to have a biome specially designed for tropical creatures when they open their £3.65 million Zoological Education Centre.

OCT

NOV

DEC

OCTOBER 2018

NOVEMBER 2018

Official opening of the £5.2 million Buchanan Centre, an Advanced Engineering & Construction Centre at Bedford College Cauldwell Street campus, providing the latest equipment and degree-level training.

Bedford College computing student Dillon White was Highly Commended in the Network Systems Administrator category at World Skills UK 2018

DECEMBER 2018

Katie Featherstone was awarded Outstanding Individual Award at the national Further Education College Marketing Network in recognition of her ground-breaking research into community demands for education and training. Annual Review 2018

29


COMMUNITY The Bedford College Group is woven into the tapestry of the local communities it serves. As part of our Community Engagement Strategy we open up our facilities to ensure our campuses are at the heart of our community.

OVER 300 PART-TIME COURSES

provide a comprehensive range of adult education, which is part of the fabric of engaged communities and provides a vehicle for social interaction, personal advancement and increase skills

190 PRINCE'S TRUST STUDENTS

trained with us during 2017-18

2,826 HAIR AND BEAUTY CLIENTS

in our salons during 2017-18

In 2017-18 we worked with

2,165 EMPLOYERS to give students work placements

OVER 60

organisations, schools and charities regularly use College facilities

MONTHLY EMPLOYER FORUMS

ensure the College engages directly with employers and meet the needs of local businesses for apprenticeships and sector skills gaps

6,400 LEARNERS have improved their IT skills and gained qualifications since the Learning Centres in Bedford and Kettering opened. A third Centre opened in Corby at the end of 2018.

30

Annual Review 2018

We worked with pupils from

76 LOCAL SCHOOLS


OUR COMMUNITY SCORECARD The community scorecard is a tool to help everyone understand more about how Bedford College is performing. The scorecard is made up of 12 sections covering all aspects of our organisation, from our students’ success and our environmental record, to how the College contributes to the local community and more. Each section is rated and assigned a traffic light coloured score (green, amber or red) to show how successfully the College is meeting its requirements for that area. OVERALL PERFORMANCE GREEN

COMMUNITY Who do we work with in the community?

GREEN

Who comes to our College?

GREEN

How do our courses match local needs?

GREEN

How well known are we locally?

GREEN

What does the community think about us?

GREEN

How environmentally friendly are we?

GREEN

EMPLOYERS

STUDENTS How do we get students involved in what we do?

GREEN

What do our students say about us?

GREEN

How do our students succeed?

GREEN

Where do our student go next?

GREEN

What work do we do with employers?

GREEN

How do we help businesses?

GREEN

What do employers think about us?

AMBER

FINANCIAL REPORT Income

2017

2018

(£'000s)

(£'000s)

26,688

40,594

Tuition fees and education contracts

7,603

Other income

Funding body grants

Endowment and investment income Total income

Surplus

Expenditure

2017

2018

(£'000s)

(£'000s)

Staff costs

21,594

31,681

10,872

Other operating expenses

11,186

16,329

2,307

3,910

Depreciation and amortisation

2,103

4,015

21

38

Interest and other finance costs

194

1,090

36,619

55,414

35,077

53,115

Group 2017

Group 2018

2017

2018

Total expenditure

Balance sheet

(£'000s)

(£'000s)

Surplus before other gains and losses

1,542

2,229

Total fixed assets

45,186

126,110

Loss on disposal of fixed assets

(171)

(824)

Net current assets

3,235

3,022

0

26,963

Total assets less current liabilities

48,421

129,132

1,371

28,438

(8,602)

(51,870)

0

0

Creditors - amount failing due after more than one year Defined benefit obligations

(6,672)

(11,021)

1,371

28,438

Other provisions

0

(2,486)

0

0

Total net assets

33,147

63,755

Actuarial loss in respect of pension schemes

462

2,161

Total unrestricted reserves

33,147

63,755

Total comprehensive income of the year

969

30,599

Gain/(loss) on merger Surplus before tax Taxation Surplus for the year Unrealised surplus on revaluation of assets

(£'000s)

(£'000s)

Annual Review 2018

31


CUSTOMER CARE CHARTER At The Bedford College Group we are committed to continuously improving the standards of service we offer to all our customers. We are committed to: • Treating you with honesty, openness and respect in line with our College values • Providing you with a consistent, co-ordinated and proactive service • Responding to your communications with us quickly and effectively • Providing you with access to clear and accurate information, advice and guidance • Providing opportunities for you to easily give us feedback • Continuously improving our service to you CUSTOMER FEEDBACK We always welcome and value feedback. If you have had a positive experience from a particular service or member of staff, or have any suggestions for further improvement, please tell us by visiting www.bedford.ac.uk/haveyoursay

The Bedford College Group, Cauldwell Street, Bedford MK42 9AH Tel: 01234 291000

32

Annual Review 2018

Email: info@bedford.ac.uk

Web: www.bedford.ac.uk

Profile for The Bedford College Group

Bedford College Annual Review 2018  

Bedford College Annual Review 2018