Page 1


Published by Birmingham City University Franchise Street, Perry Barr Birmingham, B42 2SU +44 (0) 121 331 5000 www.bcu.ac.uk Jane Grice Programme Director BA (Hons) Fashion Design Birmingham Institute of Art and Design Birmingham City University The Parkside Building 5 Cardigan Street Birmingham B4 7BD www.bcu.ac.uk/biad/fashion BA (Hons) Fashion Design with final year pathways in: Fashion Design Fashion Communication Design for Performance Garment Technology Fashion Photography by Joe Miles, Shot on RED Design by Dean Fallon, Fashion Design Lecturer Printed by Print Creative, Birmingham All rights reserved Copyright Š 2014 Birmingham City University


Programme Director: Jane Grice The general philosophy of the BA (Hons) Fashion Design programme is to provide an environment in which students can realise their own potential, build on their strengths and graduate into the job market equipped with the necessary knowledge in a wide range of careers related to fashion.


Pathway Leader: Nathan Jones The Fashion Design pathway caters for those students who intend to pursue careers as fashion designers and involves both conceptual and trend-driven design work through experimentation with both creative cutting techniques and traditional skills. The pathway culminates in a final collection and portfolio outcome.

Fashion Photography by Joe Miles Shot on RED


Fashion Design


8


Lei Wang lei221292@live.co.uk 07875580916 Collaboration: Grafea Deeprint Movement, Leather printing

9


10


Emily Sung emysung@yahoo.co.uk 07445427426 www.emysung.wix.com/emilysung Work Experience: Jonathan Saunders, Easter 2013 Selfridges, Dresser - summer 2012 GFW, Dresser - 2012 Collaboration: Fashionwear Manufacturers Ltd

11


Claire Latham claire.latham@hotmail.co.uk 07557951993 www.clairelatham.tumblr.com Work Experience: Antipodium Collaboration: Lace sponsorship, Sophie Hallette

12


13


Waikeung Lam soniclamwk@gmail.com 07842735800 www.artsthread.com/p/waikeunglam Work Experience: Plotz, summer 2011

14


15


16


Charlotte Bruton ccab@live.co.uk 07999346481 www.charlottebruton.portfoliobox.me Work Experience: Meadham Kirchhoff, 2013 Fred Butler, 2012 Saatchi & Saatchi, 2010

17


18


Daniel Mark Welsh dansmw71@gmail.com 07872490094 www.dansmw.tumblr.com

19


20


Lloyd Taylor Lloydtaylor64@hotmail.com 07769265790 www.lloydbydesign.com 21


Fashion Design


Holly Jayne Smith holly_jayne_smith30@live.co.uk 07557304801 www.hollyjaynesmith.co.uk Work Experience: Henrietta Ludgate

24


25


26


Michael Hone Michaelhone1991@hotmail.co.uk 07825325824 www.michaelhone.moonfruit.com www.michaelhone.tumblr.com Work Experience: Aitor Throup Studios, 2011Mirjam Rouden Print studio, 2012 House of Holland, 2013 Collaboration: Shoes sponsored by Privileged by J.C Dossier Headpieces made by Tamara Walsh

27


28


Samina javid samina_javid@hotmail.co.uk 07980864468 www.saminajavid786.wix.com/saminajavid

29


30


Stephie Lee Stephielee92@hotmail.co.uk 07427626350 www.stephieleewomenswear.tumblr.com Work Experience: Giles Deacon, 4 months 2012 Erdem, 3 months 2012 John Lewis, 6 months 2013 LK Bennett, 2 weeks 2010


32


Anais Caulfield anaiscaulfield@hotmail.co.uk 07584133599 www.anaiscaulfield.portfoliobox.me Work Experience: Topshop, 2013 Retro Apparel, 2013

33


34


Jessica Wilkes info@jessicawilkes.co.uk 07791029042 www.jessicawilkes.co.uk Work Experience: Lara Bradbeer, April 2012 COW, February 2013 35


36


Anna Magro annamagro@outlook.com www.annamagro.co.uk Work Experience: Suzie Turner Couture Collaboration: Sponsored by Sophie Hallette Lace


38


Amber - Louise Snow thebigyellowbag@gmail.com 07805512308 Thebigyellowbag.blogspot.com Instagram.com/amberlouisesnow Work Experience: Baroque Couture, summer 2013 Collaboration: The Collective Eye - Photoshoot production

39


40


Carla Bissell carlabissell@hotmail.co.uk 07967206646 www.carlabissell5.wix.com/carlajanebissell Work Experience: Lulu and Co., Easter 2013 Rah Productions, Easter 2013

41


42


Yan Brudenell yanbrudenell@outlook.com 07974544958 www.artsthread.com/p/yanbrudenell

43


44


Latesha Kelly latesha_ck@hotmail.com Latesha.kelly@bcu.mail.ac.uk 07522443453 www.lateshakelly.co.uk Work Experience: House of Holland, 2012 Markus Lupfer

45


46


Saara Safir saara_safir@hotmail.co.uk 07528073143 www.cargocollective.com/saarasafir Work Experience: Birmingham International Fashion Week, spring 2013

47


48


Charlotte Armistead Lottie_armistead@hotmail.co.uk 07846329856 www.charlottearmisteadportfolio.tumblr.com Work Experience: Cohen and Wilks, summer 2013 Collaboration: Fashionwear Manufacturers ltd, denim sponsor

49


50


Taybah Qureshi taybah.q@gmail.com 07716205602 www.cargocollective.com/taybahqureshi Work Experience: Rima Tadmory, summer 2013

51


52


Alexandra Rollitt alex_rollitt3@msn.com 07768199568 www.alexandrarollitt.co.uk www.alexandrarollitt.tumblr.com Work Experience: Mary Katrantzou - March 2014

53


Louise Kay Hoyle Louisek.hoyle@hotmail.co.uk 07446018144 www.l ouisekhoyledesign.com Work Experience: iHeart Studios, Stylist Collaboration: iHeart Studios First Model Management Model: Tess J Photographer: Eve Olivia Power Stylist: Claire Anne McCreath 55


Hannah Louise Boult hannahlouiseboult@gmail.com 07902910783 www.hannahlouiseboult.tumblr.com Work Experience: Louis Goldstein Kersen 56


57


Paige Amber-Broom paige_broom@live.co.uk 07906552582 www.paige-amberbroom.co.uk www.paige-amber-broom.tumblr.com Work Experience: Dirty Pretty Things Lingerie Collaboration: Hilary Johnson Handmade Bags

58


Pariss Dowe parissdowe@outlook.com 07590815257 www.parissdowe.tumblr.com www.artsthread.com/p/parissdowe Work Experience: Richard Nicoll, 2012-2013

60


61


62


Grace Golding grace.golding@outlook.com 07957118654 www.gracegolding.wix.com/gracegolding Work Experience: Paul Smith, 2012 Next plc, 2013 Collaboration: YKK Zip sponsorship Fashionwear Manufacturers Ltd Denim Sponsorship

63


Shi Min Lee mynnshimin@gmail.com +447463323224 +0060127095016 www.mynnlee.tumblr.com Collaboration: IWEARSIN, 2013

65


66


Emma Mortiboys emmarrjayne--@live.co.uk 07786064064 Work Experience: White Stuff Henry Holland Sainsbury’s TU George @ Asda Collaboration: Joanne Roberts, Illustrator

67


Lucy Orton l.a.orton@live.co.uk 07927977699 www.laorton.wix.com/lucyo92 Work Experience: Amanda Wakeley

68


69


Anisa Petkar Anisa1@live.co.uk 07910493330 www.anisapetkar.co.uk Work Experience: Sophie Hulme, summer 2013


72


Kelly Marie Rehman kellyrehman@yahoo.com 07896541929 www.kellyrehman.wix.com/kellysportfolio Work Experience: Dare 2B, 2013 Regatta, 2013 Minna Hepburn, 2012

73


74


Rebecca Young becks.young@hotmail.co.uk 07713240484 www.beckyyoung93@tumblr.com

75


Romy Harishkumar Sindhav romysindhav@yahoo.co.in 07596467544 www.rhsindhav.portfoliobox.me Work Experience: Asiana Magazine

76


Robyn Tilbury robyn.tilbury@hotmail.co.uk 07531391361 www.robyntilbury.co.uk Work Experience: Jane Carr, September 2012 and February/March 2013

78


79


80


Lucy Crossley lucy_crossley@hotmail.co.uk 07799905862 www.lucycross-ley@tumblr.com Work Experience: Vita Gottlieb, Jan 2013

81


Grasheli Andhini grasheliandhini@gmail.com 07463181217 Work Experience: Stellarisa, 2012-13

82


83


Pathway Leader: Dawn Eyre This pathway caters for students with a passion for communicating fashion through print and garment design, brand creation and identity, styling for editorial, marketing and promotions. Innovation and experimentation is encouraged to help students reach their full potential. This pathway is visually exciting and focusses on students own creativity and originality using current practises within this ever evolving industry.

Fashion Communication


86


Sophia Shah sophia_shah10@hotmail.com 07545230926 www.sophiashah10.wix.com/portfolio Work Experience: Christopher Raeburn Collaboration: Antipodium Lei Wang – Menswear Fashion Design Student Andy Pilsbury - Photographer

87


88


Hanna Smith hannasmith91@hotmail.co.uk hanna-endmagazine@mail.com 07805040220 www.endmagazine.co.uk www.hannasmith.co.uk Work Experience: John Lewis – Visual Merchandiser, 2013 John Partridge - Fashion Communication and Marketing Developer, 2013 - 14 FashionFirst – Assistance with shows, 2014 Collaboration: Alexandra Powell - Fashion Communication student Hannah Knights - Editor of Line magazine India Hobson - Photographer Stephanie Lee - Womenswear Fashion Designer Elena Sharpe - Womenswear Fashion Designer Created and produced end/magazine, a trend based fashion journal. Now stocked within selected independent book stores and galleries.

89


90


Gemma Eve Pullen gemmaevepullen@live.com 07516631125 www.gemmaevepullen.blogspot.com

91


92


Kathryn Whorton kathrynw@live.co.uk 07511528226 www.kathrynwhorton.wix.com www.kathrynwhorton.tumblr.com Work Experience: Charlotte Taylor Ltd Collaboration: Filippa K Jenny Whorton - Print designer

93


Alexandra Clements alex-ella@hotmail.co.uk 07875357105 www.alex-ella.wix.com/portfolio Work Experience: Cotswold Collections, July 2012 - present

94

Collaboration: Cotswold Collections


Abigail O’Neill abioneill@hotmail.co.uk 07816939477 Work Experience: Marks & Spencer, per una, spring and summer 2013

95


Beckie Blood beckieblood@gmail.com 07411970651 www.bckbld.tumblr.com www.beckiebloodportfolio.blogspot.co.uk Work Experience: Harvey Nichols JW Anderson Miss Selfridge 96


THE DIGITAL AGE IS TAKING OVER AND ALL THAT WE WILL SEE IS PIXELATION

Briony Gardiner binnygardiner@hotmail.com 07880345866 www.binnygardiner.wix.com/fmpego www.binnygardiner.wix.com/bgardiner-portfolio Work Experience: Phreaky Clothing 97


98


Haneesh Babra hkbabra@hotmail.co.uk 07447692988 www.hkbabra.wix.com/portfolio www.haneeshbabra.tumblr.com

99


Helen Joynson joynson.helen@gmail.com 07964465292 helen-joynson@tumblr.com Work Experience: Cricket Fashion Collaboration: Jeetly Petite 100


Antonia Reed onyxdoodles@outlook.com​ 07875292902 www.artsthread.com/p/onyxdoodles Work Experience: Graphic design for Frock on vintage Illustration for St Johns counselling Collaborations: Me and Yu clothing

102


Charlotte Morgan charlmorgan38@gmail.com 07731449553 www.charlottemorganportfolio.blogspot.co.uk Work Experience: Miss Selfridge Blog: www.styleandsplurging.blogspot.co.uk

103


Lauren Orme Laurenorme1@gmail.com 07837575037 Collaboration: Joe Miles - photographer Diana Stoencheva - MUA & Hair

104


105


106


Amy Johnson amy--johnson@hotmail.com 07584037529 www.amy--johnson.co.uk www.amy--johnson.tumblr.com Work Experience: Mudpie, spring 2013

107


108


Carrie Brown carrie_brown@hotmail.co.uk 07841825441 www.carrie-brown.co.uk Work Experience: Doll, London Fashion Week 2013 & 14 Doll, Re-Branding of Marks and Spencer Harvey Nichols, Assistance of Fashion Shows, Edinburgh & Birmingham 2013-14 Collaboration: Harvey Nichols Simon Dalziel - Photographer

109


Alexandra Powell alexpowell58@hotmail.co.uk 07706810841 www.endmagazine.co.uk Work Experience: Super Dry - Make-up, art and styling Orchid Corsetry - Styling Collaboration: Sophie Benson - Fake Magazine Hanna Smith - Fashion Communication Student Xanthe Hutchinson - Photographer Lucy Orton - Collection Student Created and produced end/magazine, a trend based fashion journal. Now stocked within selected independent book stores and galleries.

110


111


Amreeta Sagoo amreetasagoo@hotmail.co.uk 07505115182 www.amreetasagoo.wix.com/amreetasagoo Work Experience: Asiana Magazine Code le Vush Debenhams Collaboration: Code le Vush Debenhams

112


113


Katrina McTernan katrinamcternan91@gmail.com 07946278222 www.Katrina91x.wix.com/katrinamcternan

114


I’M USING THIS IMAGE BECAUSE OF ITS STRUCTURAL FORM AS INSPIRATION TOWARDS SHEER TEXTURED FABRIC CHOICES.

April Kimber April.kimber@outlook.com 07532007834 www.aprilkimber.wix.com/online-portfolio Work Experience: John Lewis Collaboration: John Lewis

115


Pathway Leader: Louise Chapman Fashion and costume overlap in design for contemporary performance or events, providing an opportunity for students to work in the areas of TV, film, theatre and music, creating bespoke garments for a wide range of both historical and contemporary performances. The pathway touches on character creation and is also ideally suited for students who want to create bespoke gowns for individual clients. Final year students work on live external projects.

Design for Performance


118


Yasmin Crystal-Farrell Yasmincf20@hotmail.co.uk 07593514093 www.facebook.com/yasmin.crystalfarrell Work Experience: The Couture Company, May 2013 -present Collaboration: The Couture Company

119


120


Rachael Johnson Rachaellouise.j@hotmail.com 07891966419 www.instagram.com/rachaellouise_designs Work Experience: EMK Cattell Dressmaker, 2013 Birmingham Costume Hire, 2013 Collaboration: Noble & Wright www.nobleandwright.co.uk Model: Rebecca Witherington

121


122


Claire Paver clairepaver@talktalk.net 07864917150 www.clairepaver.wordpress.com Work Experience: Andrea Bambridge, 2013 The Couture Company, 2013 Collaboration: Andrea Bambridge

123


Jessica Lamb Jessica.lamb92@googlemail.com 07949489123 www.jessicalamb92.wordpress.com Collaboration: Gracie Bleu Bridal

124


Poppy Grant poppy.grant1@gmail.com 07500908103 www.poppygrant.wix.com/poppygrantportfolio Photography: Tony Pick

125


Natasha Kanolik natasha_kanolik@hotmail.co.uk 07446903530 www.natashakanolik.wix.com/natashakanolik Work Experience: The Young Vic Theatre Arcola Theatre Untitled Projects

126

Collaboration: Waste Paper Opera Company


Nancy Smith nancysmith193@hotmail.com 07885899338 nancysmith193.wix.com/fashionportfolio Work Experience: New Adventures Wardrobe Department Birmingham Costume Hire Collaboration: Waste Paper Opera Company 127


Cleo Kleios cleokleios@gmail.com 07731532689 Work Experience: Alexander McQueen George Fashion House Charades Bridal studio Curve Theatre Leicester Collaboration: Ceri Dupree - Comedy Female Impersonator Photographer: www.jacquesphotography.co.uk 128


Natasha Brady natashabrady@hotmail.co.uk 07797411095 Work Experience: Birmingham Royal Ballet - Costume department, 2013 Collaboration: Old Joint Stock Theatre


Pathway Leader: Sheila Griffiths This pathway caters for those students who aspire to work in the pre-prodution area, developing design concepts, producing technical design packs through to products for mass production. This pathway considers the implications of global markets and offshore manufacturing, providing students with the opportunity to work on industry standard Gerber pattern cutting systems. Final year students are encouraged to collaborate directly with industry on live projects.

Garment Technology

131


Geraldine Batashvili G.batashvili@hotmail.co.uk 07854635006 www.Gbatashvili.carbonmade.com Work Experience: Meyer and Mortimer and independent tailors, 2013 Arcadia Group, 2011 and 2008 Collaboration: Burberry

132


Latoya Jarrett Latoya.Jarrett@mail.bcu.ac.uk 07857838343 ToyaJarrett@carbonmade.com Collaboration: The Royal Ballet School

133


Hannah Rose Jeavons hannahjeavons@hotmail.co.uk 07791458776 www.behance.net/hannahrosejeavons Work experience: Design Office Assistant at Roman Originals, March 2013 – September 2013 Collaboration: George @ ASDA

134


Lucia Basinedova lutosia@yahoo.co.uk 07746051607 www.behance.net/LuciaBasined Collaboration: Rocket Muffin Walsall Council - Bayard’s Colts Street Theatre

135


Helen Wakefield helen-wake@hotmail.co.uk 07930151983 www.helen-wake.wix.com/portfolio2013 Collaboration: The Couture Company

136


Yolanda Oliver Yolanda.Oliver@mail.bcu.ac.uk 07905376318 Yolandaoliver.carbonmade.com Collaboration: The Royal Ballet School

137


Aleksandra Michalak Aleksandra.Michalak@mail.bcu.ac.uk 07999147240 www.behance.net/AlekMia Work Experience: Cloverford - Pattern Cutting, 2012 Collaboration: Karen Millen – Final Major Project, 2014 Walsall Bayard’s Colts Costume Project, 2012


Lucy Alice Sutherland lucy_alice_sutherland@hotmail.com 07807160677 LucyAliceSutherland@carbonmade.com Collaboration: Rocket Muffin UK children’s wear

139


Hannah Mulryan Hannahlouisemulryan@hotmail.co.uk 07401784478 www.hannahlouisemulryan.wix.com/bow-and-bobbins Collaboration: George @ Asda

140


Adele Collier coadele035@gmail.com 07758 391577 www.AdeleCollier@carbonmade.com Collaboration: The Royal Ballet School

141


Mandy Rowlands mjruk@hotmail.co.uk 07516286429 www.Issuu.com/mjruk Work Experience: Karpelle summer, 2013 Collaboration: Lowie London


Katie Lewis katieleahlewis@icloud.com 07960148228 www.behance.net/katieleahlewis Collaboration: Wilden Bride London

143


Dorothy Dlamini Garment Technology dlaminid@gmail.com 07450328213 www.dorothydlamini.wix.com/dotts-angels Work Experience: Birmingham Costume Hire, 2013 Collaboration: Rocket Muffin Children’s Wear


Zoé Hedges Zoe204@live.co.uk 07522998163 www.behance.net/ZoeHedges Work Experience: Lucy-Jane creative pattern cutting, 25th February – 22nd March 2013 Teaching Assistant – North Bromsgrove High School, October 2009 – June 2011 Collaboration: The Royal Ballet School


Rachael Stanford rachaelstanford@hotmail.co.uk 07403292487 www.rachael-simone.tumblr.com Work Experience: Marks & Spencer, April 2014 George @ Asda, September 2013 Roman Originals, October 2011 Collaboration: George @ Asda


Hannah Cater hannah.cater@mail.bcu.ac.uk 07578247063 www.behance.net/HannahVictoria Work Experience: Isher Clothing Ltd Collaboration: Benjamin Roberts

147


Sofia Krawczyk Sofia.01@hotmail.co.uk 07578080613 Collaboration: Rocket Muffin

148


Hayley Gorton-Snowball hgsnowball@yahoo.co.uk 07713525147 www.hgsnowball.carbonmade.com Collaboration: Karen Millen

149


Megan Cotton megancotton31@gmail.com 07747806798 www.behance.net/megancotton Work Experience: George @ ASDA Collaboration: Burberry

150


151


Whilst every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy/ permission of image representation, Birmingham City University or Birmingham Institute of Art and Design cannot be held responsible for any errors or omissions.

152


153


www.bcu.ac.uk/biad/fashion

Fashion Design Lookbook 2014  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you