Page 24

Planning

and can be mixed with so many other colours. A mix of colour and patterning was used to make the cake a true pièce de résistance. A great tip is to ask the florist to add the same flowers used in the table arrangements onto the top of the cake, or even cascading down. It will form a lovely entity and look completely customised. The ‘satin-all-over’ look is also starting to phase out as brides are moving away from fondant finishes. TOP TIP Trending at the moment are buttercream cakes, with techniques like “scraping” the butter cream or adding in patterns.

Credits

Art director Carike Greffrath Concept & Styling Bright Studio | www.brightstudio.co.za Fashion styling Amanda Custodio Photographer Amanda from Custo Photo | www.custophoto.com | 078 742 6933 Flowers & décor styling Karen from Dalton & Bloom | www.daltonbloom.com | 082 972 7401 Stationery Canvas Stationery Boutique | www.canvasboutique.co.za | 011 880 0655 Cake The Catering Edge | www.cateringedge.co.za | info@cateringedge.co.za Make-up & Julia’s hair Erin Smylie | www.erinsmylie.co.za | 082 681 0642 African hair styling Thuli from Hair by Her | www.hairbyher.co.za | 081 514 5686 Jewellery The Diamond Boutique | www.thediamondboutique.co.za | 011 880 0655 Carousel rental Duo Sapphire | www.duosapphire.co.za | 011 024 4447 Models Model Republic | www.modelrepublic.co.za Male model Serge from Efigy Productions | www.efigy.co.za Body art Black Lace Skin Jewelry | www.blacklaceskin.co.za Zipper dress and bridesmaids gowns Spero Villioto | www.sperovillioti.co.za | 011 325 6088 Sequined bronze gown Biji Couture | 083 449 5737 Visit www.nubrianbride.co.za for more pictures from our planning shoot

22

| www.nubianbride.co.za

Profile for Ballyhoo Media

Nubian Bride Issue 9  

Nubian Bride is the only bridal publication in the industry that caters for African women. African brides, in all their diversity, celebrate...

Nubian Bride Issue 9  

Nubian Bride is the only bridal publication in the industry that caters for African women. African brides, in all their diversity, celebrate...