Page 1

EN FRANÇAIS! pp.20-21

BAC ISSUE 4 / 2016

DIGNITY OF LABOR


Applications for 2018 U.S. Bates Scholarship Program Are Open

T

he 2018 U.S. Bates Scholarship Program is now open to sons and daughters of U.S. members who are in their junior year of high school and who have taken the standardized “PSAT” exam in October 2016. The program application deadline is February 28, 2017. Three students, whose parents or stepparents are U.S. BAC members, will be selected to receive a stipend of $2,500 per year for up to four years. The U.S. Bates Scholarship program is administered through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Those who advance in the competition will be notified by NMSC directly. The actual scholarship recipients will be notified by NMSC in March 2018. (Students who do not advance are not notified as such but can assume they have not if they do not hear from NMSC by December 2017.) To access full details about the program and apply online, please visit www.bacweb.org.. Questions? Call or email the BAC Education Department at 1-888-880-8222 ext. 3887 or askbac@bacweb.org.

Journal BAC

ISSUE 4 / 2016

IN THIS ISSUE 1 2 4 10 12 13 14 16 18 20 23 24 25 28

Pages 10-11 B

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

30

President’s Message Mensaje Del Presidente News In Brief Members at Work Apprentices My BAC Story IMI BAC Service International Funds Canada Member Assistance Safety & Health Retirees Local Compass In Memoriam


P R E S I D E N T ’S M E S S A G E J A M E S B O L A N D , P R E S I D E N T, I N T E R N AT I O N A L U N I O N O F B R I C K L AY E R S A N D A L L I E D C R A F T W O R K E R S

Together We Will Move Forward

O The Election

n behalf of the Executive Board, I thank you all for the help you gave during the prolonged election cycle, and for exercising the fundamental right to vote. We thank our fellow union members for their active participation in the democratic process, canvassing, phone banking, attending rallies, and casting their votes for worker-friendly candidates and ballot initiatives. During the campaign, we asked members to identify priorities, and we developed an agenda based on those. BAC members’ priorities include investing in infrastructure such as public schools and colleges that create jobs for members and provide safe and healthy learning and working environments for members and their families. BAC members also backed economic policies that will encourage environmentally-friendly construction growth, and expand access to affordable healthcare. These goals are fundamental for our members and their families, as well as for all working Americans. In the states, there were several important wins our members should be proud to have had a hand in: the defeat of the so-called “right to work” constitutional amendment in Virginia, the election of the first Latina Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), the first ever Indian-American Senator Kamala Harris (D-CA), the victory of Maggie Hassan (D-NH) in the competitive and closely watched Senate race, and

Illinois Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), the first woman Senator to have seen combat. I personally made many phone calls and spoke to members in the months leading up to the election and I was heartened by the majority who were engaged in the democratic process, and were interested in discussing the issues. Throughout the election cycle, we spoke to most of our U.S. members, as well as with many BAC family members. Of those members we spoke to, the majority told us that they planned to support Hillary Clinton for President. While Hillary Clinton won the popular vote (by over two million votes at press time), that was not enough to overcome the deficit in electoral votes. Looking Ahead

Now that the election is decided, we can get down to business with President-elect Trump and the new Congress. We will work with the administration to ensure that campaign promises about infrastructure investment and cleaning up bad trade deals are more than just slogans. We will also fight to preserve our hard won gains such as prevailing wages, fair play contracting rules, and OSHA’s final rule on silica. We will work with elected leaders and continue fighting for expansion of BAC work opportunities, equal rights and dignity for all, and shared prosperity in America. Together we will move forward with renewed commitment to build member engagement for policies that matter, and toward the 2018 elections. Continued on page 3

IS ISSSUE UE 44, , 22001166

|

11


MENSA JE DEL PRESIDENTE

Juntos Adelantaremos

E

Elecciones

n nombre del Consejo Ejecutivo, les doy las gracias por toda la ayuda que prestaron durante el prolongado ciclo electoral y por haber ejercido el derecho fundamental al voto. Agradecemos a nuestros compañeros miembros del sindicato por su participación activa durante el proceso democrático, la campaña electoral, los centros de llamadas, la asistencia a los mítines y los votos decisivos dados a los candidatos a favor de los derechos de los trabajadores y a las iniciativas electorales. Durante la campaña, pedimos a los miembros que identificaran prioridades, y sobre la base de esas prioridades desarrollamos una agenda. Los miembros del sindicato de albañiles y oficios afines (Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers, BAC) consideraron que entre las prioridades que deben destacar la inversión en proyectos de infraestructura, como escuelas públicas y universidades, que generen empleos para los miembros y aporten entornos educativos y laborales seguros y saludables para los miembros y sus familias. También los miembros de BAC apoyaron las políticas económicas que estimularán el crecimiento de construcción ecológica, y expandirán el acceso a la asistencia médica asequible. Estas metas son fundamentales para nuestros miembros y sus familias, y también para todos los trabajadores americanos. En los estados se obtuvieron muchas victorias importantes de las que nuestros miembros deberían estar orgullosos por haber tomado parte en ellas: la derrota en Virginia de la llamada enmienda constitucional del “derecho al trabajo”; la elección de la primera senadora latina, Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV); la primera senadora hindú-americana, Kamala Harris (D-CA); la victoria de Maggie Hassan (D-NH) en la competitiva y muy vigilada contienda por el Senado, y de la senadora por Illinois, Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), la primera mujer senadora en haber participado en combate de guerra.

Yo mismo hice muchas llamadas telefónicas y hablé con los miembros los meses previos a las elecciones y recibí apoyo de la mayoría de las personas involucradas en el proceso democrático e interesadas en discutir los temas. A lo largo del ciclo electoral, hablamos con la mayoría de nuestros miembros en los Estados Unidos, así como con muchos de sus familiares. La mayoría de los miembros con quienes hablamos nos dijo que planeaba apoyar a Hillary Clinton como Presidenta. A pesar de que Hillary Clinton ganó el voto popular (más de dos millones de votos al momento de la rueda de prensa), eso no fue suficiente para superar el déficit de votos electorales. Encaminándonos hacia el futuro

Con unas elecciones ya definidas, podemos ponernos manos a la obra con el presidente electo, Donald Trump, y el nuevo Congreso. Trabajaremos con el Gobierno para asegurarnos de que las promesas sobre inversión en infraestructura y la rescisión de malos acuerdos comerciales sean más que simples consignas. Lucharemos para preservar nuestros logros arduamente conquistados, como los sueldos actuales, las normas de contratación justas y la normativa final de la Administración de Salud y Seguridad Ocupacional de Estados Unidos (Occupational Safety and Health Administration, OSHA) sobre la exposición de los trabajadores al sílice. Trabajaremos con los líderes electos y seguiremos luchando por el incremento de oportunidades de empleo de BAC, igualdad de derechos y dignidad para todos y la prosperidad compartida en América. Juntos avanzaremos con un compromiso renovado para impulsar la participación de los miembros en políticas significativas, así como en las elecciones de 2018. Dignidad del trabajo

Si bien es cierto que en los Estados Unidos tenemos un sistema electoral de “El ganador se lleva todo”, creo Continuado en la página 3

2

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS


C O N T I N U E D F R O M PA G E 1

P R E S I D E N T ’S M E S S A G E

While it remains true that in the U.S. we have a “winner take all” electoral system, I believe it is important for our unity of purpose to continue to engage in civil dialogue. Disagreeing about politics is one thing, but remember that we share a fundamental commitment to the dignity of labor, with fair and just treatment of all who work for a living. I encourage members to talk to one another, attend union meetings,

Journal BAC

Continued from page 1 Dignity of Labor

The Official Journal of the International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers (issn 0362-3696)

familiarize yourselves with our Union’s principles and share them with others you work with. Let our principles guide our treatment of fellow members as well as those who would join us. As this is the final Journal of the year, I hope you and your families enjoy a happy and peaceful holiday season, and a great year ahead.

ISSUE 4 / 2016

Executive Board James Boland President

Henry F. Kramer Secretary-Treasurer

Gerard Scarano

Executive Vice President

Timothy Driscoll

Executive Vice President

Regional Directors N ORT HE A ST

Al Catalano

IU Regional Director, Northeast 304 Kenwood Avenue, #4 Delmar, NY 12054 (518) 439-6080 SOUTH

Ed Navarro

IU Regional Director, South 6201 S.E. Beaver View Rd Lawton, OK 73501 (580) 357-3048 N ORT H CE N T R A L

Steve Bailey

IU Regional Director, North Central 60 Gailwood Drive, Suite D St. Peters, MO 63376 (636) 794-4878 WEST

Raymond Keen

P.O. Box 230460 Las Vegas, NV 89105 (702) 254-1988 CANADA

Craig Strudwick

Continuado de la página 2 que, para lograr la unidad, es importante continuar un dialogo respetuoso. Estar en desacuerdo con la política es una cosa, pero recuerden que compartimos un compromiso fundamental con la dignidad del trabajo, con un trato justo y digno de todos los que trabajan por la vida. Exhorto a los miembros a que hablen entre sí, asistan a las reuniones sindicales, se familiaricen con los principios de nuestro

Sindicato y los compartan con los otros compañeros con quienes trabajan. Dejen que nuestros principios guíen el trato que recibimos de nuestros compañeros, así como de aquellos que se unan a nosotros. Ya que esta es la última publicación del año de Journal, espero que usted y sus familiares disfruten de unas felices y tranquilas vacaciones y tengan un próspero año nuevo.

IU Regional Director, Canada 2100 Thurston Drive, #3 Ottawa, ON K1G 4K8 (613) 830-0333 Editorial Staff: Yin Yin The Journal (ISSN 0362-3696) is published quarterly for $1.50 per year in advance, postage paid, for the U.S. and Canada ($1.75 per year in all foreign countries belonging to the Postal Union) by the International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers. Periodicals class postage paid Washington, DC, and additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send address changes to the Journal, International Union of Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers, 620 F Street, NW Washington, DC 20004. Canadian Postmaster: Send address changes to PO Box 503, RPO West Beaver Creek, Richmond Hill, ON L4B 4R6 Published for Bricklayers, Stone Masons, Plasterers, Tile Layers, Marble Masons, Cement Masons, Mosaic and Terrazzo Workers, Finishers, Pointers, Cleaners, and Caulkers.

3


NEWS IN BRIEF

BAC South Regional Director Ed Navarro, left, and owner of R G Masonry, Ramiro Reyes.

New members of R G Masonry at a new member orientation with BAC Local 8 Southeast leadership in October.

New Contract Brings Largest Group of New Members in Recent History

A

six-week organizing campaign involving members in the South led to a win-win, five-year collective bargaining agreement between BAC Local 8 Southeast and R G Masonry (Hendersonville, TN) that will provide family-sustaining jobs and retirement benefits for all working under the collective bargaining agreement. Ramiro Reyes, owner of R G Masonry, started his own company with members of his family by building brick mailboxes –

a family story in the construction industry. Twelve years later, the company is running over $20 million in contracts annually. Today R G Masonry employs over 200 people across nineteen active construction sites in Tennessee. BAC President James Boland welcomes masonry workers at R G Masonry into BAC membership. “We are glad to have masonry workers at R G Masonry in our BAC family. They will be getting a significant raise in their

BAC Local 8 Southeast President Jay Smith, center, with new members of R G Masonry. 4

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

standard of living and in their plans for a dignified retirement,” said Boland. He also reflected that “in labor-management dynamics, it doesn’t get much better than when two sides can come together and agree to terms that will benefit both.” This organizing success was the result of a coordinated campaign involving the IU Organizing Department, Local 8 SE leadership and staff, and rank and file members in Nashville, who dedicated their own time to help out. Meanwhile, Local 5 Oklahoma/Arkansas/Texas has been helping in meeting the considerable staffing needs. “Without our members’ help, we would not have signed R G Masonry,” said BAC Local 8 Southeast President Jay Smith. “This campaign involved members from the local area who were willing to help, and members will continue to be involved in the success of the company and our Local.” BAC Secretary-Treasurer Henry Kramer noted that “this is a great success, and we are very proud of the work our members and staff did to bring this new contractor under the union umbrella.” In addition to retirement benefits, workers at R G Masonry will be offered training opportunities, representation, and an opportunity to help build the future of the oldest continuously running craft union in North America.


BAC Members Join Labor Movement Fighting For Young Workers

A

round 90 young workers, including BAC members, participated in the AFL-CIO’s Young Worker Political Town Hall meeting in Cleveland, Ohio on August 8th to support young union activists who are fighting to form unions, organize first-rate contracts, and pass legislation to provide opportunity, equality, and justice for young working people.

“Young people who work should earn a good living, with justice and democracy at work,” Glenn Kelly of BAC Local 8 Southeast told all meeting participants. “I started out as cement mason when I was 19, and when I was 23, I ran for office for the first time. Now at 26 years old, I am the youngest member of the Executive Council of our International Union. My

BAC members at the 2016 NextUp Town Hall: From left, Danny Musacchio and Chris Lyons of Local 16 OH, Amanda Altomare of Local 5 OH, Jolene Taggart of Local 16 OH, Glenn Kelly Jr. of Local 8 SE, and Garrison Davis of Local 16 OH.

Union gave me an equal chance that I wouldn’t otherwise have had.” Today’s young workers are part of the largest generation to enter the workforce since the baby boomers. It is crucial for young members of BAC Locals/ADCs to continue working to build the labor movement and engaging more young workers on the issues that are most important to them.

BAC Local 8 SE member Glenn Kelly Jr. speaks at the 2016 NextUp Town Hall.

National Child Identification Program

M

ore than 800,000 children are reported missing in the United States each year – one child every 40 seconds. That’s why BAC is teaming up with the National Child Identification Program to provide the Child ID Kit to help make sure our families and communities are as safe as possible. The Child ID Kit allows parents to collect specific information by easily recording the physical characteristics and fingerprints of their children on identification cards that are then kept at home

by the parent or guardian. If ever needed, the Child ID Kit will give authorities vital information to assist their efforts to locate a missing child. Having your child or grandchild’s fingerprints and DNA on hand before tragedy strikes will dramatically improve the chances that she or he can be located and safely returned. The IU will be mailing out fingerprint identification cards with the most recent information to the Locals/ADCs. Please also visit bacweb.org for more updates. IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

5


NEWS IN BRIEF

BAC Executive Council Aims to Grow and Diversify Membership

E

nsuring that our Union remains resilient in the long term was the primary task of the BAC Executive Council’s September meeting in Chicago. To achieve that goal, “we have to grow and diversify our organization, and we have to help get the right leaders elected,” BAC President James Boland said in his opening remarks, referring to the political process underway in the U.S. “We need to elect leaders who will move labor’s agenda forward, developing policies that will create familysustaining jobs, provide for high quality public education, and make communities and workplaces safe.” The three-day meeting featured a remarkable line-up of political speakers, including AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka, Illinois House Speaker Mike Madigan (D-IL), U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL), and Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel (D-IL). Following the announcement of three committees on growth (Organizing, Accountability, and Diversity and Inclusion) at this year’s Local Leadership Conference, members of each committee

met, raised thought-provoking ideas on recruiting apprentices and retaining members, and recommended actions for Locals/ADCs to consider and implement. A detailed committee report was also generated and shared with Executive Council members. BAC President James Boland praised the committees’ work, “There were many good suggestions arising from the committees in terms of the work Locals and ADCs should be doing.” Another highlight was the announcement of BAC’s “Build. Adapt. Change. Art Challenge” winners. BAC SecretaryTreasurer Henry Kramer thanked all participants of the art challenge and announced the top three winners – BAC Local 1 Minnesota/North Dakota member Rebecca Vecoli (first place winner), Local 21 Illinois member Jessica Orellana and Olga Drozdova (second place winner), and family of Local 40 Ohio member Matt McClester (third place winner). All winning submissions and a sampling of entries are available for view at bacweb.org/artchallenge.

AFL-CIO President Richard Trumka addresses the BAC Executive Council.

From left, BAC ADC 1 of IL Field Representatives Sean Allen and Hector Arellano, Organizer Mark Tetlak, U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL), PCC Apprentice Coordinator David Laninga, and IMTEF National Apprenticeship and Training Director Bob Arnold.

Director of New Jersey Administrative District Council Richard Tolson, left, and Director of Mountain West Administrative District Council Carlos Aquin at the BAC Executive Council meeting.

Retired Executive Council member and Local 7 New York/New Jersey Secretary-Treasurer Chris Guy is presented with his distinguished service plaque at the BAC Executive Council meeting. From left, BAC Executive Vice President Gerard Scarano, Brother Guy, Secretary-Treasurer Henry Kramer, and Executive Vice President Tim Driscoll. 6

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

First place winner of the “Build. Adapt. Change. Art Challenge” Rebecca Vecoli of Local 1 MN/ND, left, and BAC President James Boland at the award announcement.


Local Leadership Conference Focuses on Rebuilding Our Union and Industries

R

ebuilding Our Union and Our Industries” was the theme of BAC’s 35th Local Leadership Conference this August. More than 150 BAC Principal Officers, Financial Officers, Field Representatives, Organizers, Training Directors, and Executive Council members attended the four-day continuing education program held at the MITAGS training facility, just outside of Baltimore. Featured guests spoke on a variety of topics from organizing to health and safety, and from strategic communications to member engagement. Attendees also had opportunities to hear perspectives on the political landscape from Amy Walter of the Cook Political Report, and David Cay Johnston, author of “The Making of Donald Trump.” President Boland moderated a panel discussion between contractor Andy Sneed, IMI and IMTEF President Joan Calambokidis, and South Regional Director Ed Navarro on how we can grow, even in areas of the country where labor laws are less favorable. Long-time activist and labor educator Jeff Grabelsky from Cornell’s Worker Institute presented on “Organizing for Growth & Power: Comprehensive Campaigns.” A series of workshops including steward organizing, apprenticeship and training, Members Assistance Program, communications, and digital strategies were offered to all participants.

The conference featured a panel of speakers who have been working together to help rebuild the Union and construction industry in the South. From left, BAC Executive Council Member and South Regional Director Ed Navarro, IMI and IMTEF President Joan Calambokidis, BAC President James Boland, and President of BAC signatory contractor Wasco, Inc., Andy Sneed.

Participants discuss recruiting and retaining stewards at one of the workshops.

Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist David Cay Johnston, who’s been reporting on Donald Trump for decades, talks about his recent book “The Making of Donald Trump.”

Jeff Grabelsky, Associate Director of the Worker Institute at Cornell University, explains effective organizing approaches to the BAC Local Leaders. IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

7


NEWS IN BRIEF

On the left, Abdiaziz Hirsi, Salima Otieno, Charles Omanga, Brenda Omwaka from the Central Organization of Trade Unions Kenya, Ilia Lezhava of the Georgian Trade Unions Confederation and BAC OH-KY ADC Director Ken Kudela. On the right, Nino Nakeuri, OH-KY ADC apprentice instructor Jeff Garnett, Sopio Shelegia, Giga Bekauri of the Georgian Trade Unions Confederation. Kneeling from left, OH-KY ADC Administrator of Apprenticeship and Training Tammy Tansey and apprentice Jolene Taggart.

From left, OH-KY ADC apprentice Jolene Taggart helps visitors Nino Nekauri and Giga Bekauri learn to butter a brick.

OH-KY ADC Welcomes Young Trade Unionists from Europe and Africa

O

n October 14th, BAC OH-KY ADC hosted young trade unionists from Georgia and Kenya as part of an international exchange program developed and implemented by the Solidarity Center and sponsored through a grant from the Department of State. Coordinating with the International Union, the Solidarity Center delegation chose to spend time at the Columbus, OH training center with a specific interest in BAC Apprenticeship and Training programs. The delegation included highly accomplished representatives from the Georgian Trade Unions Confederation (GTUC), as well as the Central Organization of Trade Unions Kenya (COTU-K). The international delegation spent an entire day with OH-KY ADC Director Ken Kudela and his staff, as well as ADC Apprentices Jolene Taggart and Vitaliy Kusmiy. They were joined by Patrick Reardon, Executive Administrator of the Ohio State Apprenticeship Council. In addition to learning about how apprenticeship programs work in the U.S., the international guests were treated to a

8

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

hands-on experience in the training center, which they thoroughly enjoyed. When asked what was the most impactful aspect of the day, Solidarity Center staff told Journal editors that

Visitor Salima Otieno from Kenya is getting ready for bricklaying under the watchful eye of OH-KY ADC apprentice Vitaliy Kusmiy.

representatives from both countries were especially impressed at the positive relationship between labor, management, and government in supporting apprenticeships. Each country has some form of apprenticeship, but they are experiencing limited success due in part to strained relationships. Ken Kudela said this about the shared experience, “it was not only an honor but also very humbling to share what we have been able to do through our apprenticeship and training programs. But even more so to have the opportunity to meet and share with other labor leaders that are struggling to establish what we sometimes take for granted.� As part of the exchange program, Jolene and Vitaliy have been invited to travel to Georgia, to be reunited with the representatives they met, and hopefully to meet with construction representatives of the GTUC. Georgia is on the border of Eastern Europe and Western Asia, and is home to some of the oldest masonry buildings in that part of the world, so there will be much to see and learn. Congratulations to Jolene and Vitaliy on this once in a lifetime opportunity!


Instructor Certification Program Continues to Grow

O

The 2016 ICP Graduates from left, Pat Tirino, Jonas Elmore, Randy Crocker, Dave Wysocki, Pete Sotelo, Roger Jones, Antonio Pereira, Mark Stemple, Eli Ruvalcaba, Art Miller, Jack Gray, and Chuck Driscoll.

n November 4th, BAC/IMI hosted its annual graduation ceremony for twelve instructors who graduated from the Instructor Certification Program (ICP), a key program of the Union’s apprenticeship and training system. Bob Arnold, IMTEF National Apprenticeship and Training Director, said that the program continues to provide an important opportunity for instructors from Locals and ADCs throughout the U.S. and Canada. “It provides craft-specific technical knowledge and coursework on effective teaching techniques. Our graduates have their training skills sharpened and have learned more about emerging products and ideas in our industry,” Arnold said. “The program helps ensure that BAC members have access to the highest quality training at all stages of their careers. Congratulations to all graduates for their hard work and perseverance.” “The training materials I received from the ICP have helped me with my everyday job as a Training Coordinator and Field Representative,” said Pat Tirino, an ICP graduate and SecretaryTreasurer and Apprentice Coordinator of BAC Local 2 NY/VT. “It has motivated me to keep the training program moving in the right direction.” BAC Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI instructor Mark Stemple agreed, “The ICP gives me more confidence to teach and without it, I would not be the teacher I am today. Also, union contractors will benefit from the apprentices who are taught by the best teachers in the IMI.” Added BAC Local 13 NV Apprentice Coordinator Jack Gray, “The ICP has been one of the top experiences of my life. I’m grateful as the real reward is seeing someone come through the program and succeed at work and in life through training.”

The 2016 ICP graduates at the graduation ceremony with BAC and IMTEF leadership. Sitting from left, Eli Ruvalcaba of Local 21 IL, Antonio Pereira of Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI, BAC President James Boland, Pat Tirino of Local 2 NY/VT, and Jack Gray of Local 13 NV. Standing from left, Randy Crocker of Local 8 SE, Chuck Driscoll of Local 1 MD/VA/DC, Art Miller of Local 3 NY, Roger Jones of Local 4 IN/KY, Peter Sotelo of Local 1 MN/ND, IMTEF National Apprenticeship and Training Director Bob Arnold, IMTEF Director of Program Operations Kevin Bobo, Dave Wysocki of Local 21 IL, Mark Stemple of Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI, and Jonas Elmore of Local 4 IN/KY.

IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

9


MEMBERS AT WORK

Exterior of the Trade and Transit Center II building in construction.

LOCAL 5 PENNSYLVANIA

New Trade and Transit Center Built for the Community

E

ight members of BAC Local 5 Pennsylvania employed by signatory masonry contractor Caretti Inc. (Camp Hill, PA) recently completed construction of the $12 million Trade and Transit Center II, the newest addition to the River Valley Transit located in downtown Williamsport, Pennsylvania. The masonry veneer for this multistory project featured 25,000 Glen Gery “Harding Blend” utility brick, approximately 3,000 ground face CMU, and cast stone banding and accent pieces from Custom Cast Stone of Westfield, Indiana.

The interior of the project required an additional 15,500 CMU, including blockwork for interior stairwells and elevator shafts. The project is distinctively highlighted by the two brick murals sculpted by Sue Landerman of Portsmounth, Virginia (see pictures), which were installed to the artist’s specifications by the skilled craftworkers of BAC Local 5 PA. The project, led by three BAC Local 5 PA bricklayers – Project Manager David McDonald, Project Superintendent Ken Marencic, and Foreman Tom Pearce – has generated considerable acclaim as part of Williamsport’s downtown revitalization  The 8’8’’ sculpture rendering of “River Valley Transit” historic picture completed by BAC Local 5 bricklayers Chris Kirkner, left, and Ricky Barner. u Quality details on one of the brick murals (also shown on the Journal front cover).

10

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

The 5’8’’ music-themed sculpture installed by BAC Local 5 bricklayers Chris Kirkner, left, and Ricky Barner.

effort. “It’s a beautiful brick building that adds charm to the downtown area,” Marencic said. “The detailed quality work on the two brick murals demonstrates that our members’ skills are second to none.” BAC Local 5 PA President Lester Kauffman also praised the project, “This building is so much more than a transit center. It houses commercial space, a nonprofit music group, and an event center. We’re happy to be part of this effort in constructing a vibrant and attractive public space that will be fully used by the community.”


LOCAL 2 NEW YORK/VERMONT

New York State Fairgrounds Performed Under Project Labor Agreement

L

ast September New York State Governor Andrew Cuomo announced a $50 million renovation of the New York State Fairgrounds. The first phase of this project was performed under a Project Labor Agreement (PLA) that ensured the project was completed under budget and on time for this year’s Fair, which welcomed a record 1.1 million visitors. The project featured extensive infrastructure improvements, restoration, and most prominently the construction of an elaborate gateway of grand masonry arches echoing the stateliness of the Fair’s original front entrance built in 1843. Approximately 40 members of BAC Local 2 New York/Vermont employed by signatory contractors – Welliver McGuire Inc. (Montour Falls, NY), Lupini Construction Inc. (Utica, NY), J & A Plastering & Stucco (Syracuse, NY), and EJ Construction Group (Liverpool, NY) – worked on the impressive project. BAC Local 2 NY/VT Field Representative Martin Dillon says, “The project was a showcase for the diverse talents of BAC craftworkers, generating over 15,000 work

The new front entrance with concrete columns built by skilled craftworkers of BAC Local 2 NY/VT.

hours for bricklayers, cement masons, plasterers, and PCC restoration specialists.” Acting State Fair Director Troy Waffner remarked that, “The front gate is going to be like Disney’s main gate or the castle at Disney. It’s going to be where people get their pictures taken. You can look into the fairgrounds, have a nice backdrop. It really is going to be the spot where people get that good feeling before they walk through the arches.”

New York State Fairgrounds gets an improved streetscape with quality work performed by BAC Local 2 NY/VT members.

“We started rebuilding the entrance in March and completed it in August,” Dillon adds. “Our members’ high quality work proved again that PLAs are a tried and true way of building the nation’s infrastructure.” As this Journal goes to print, the State Legislature is under discussion to add another $50 million to further improve the State Fairgrounds with an extension of the PLA. Please stay tuned for more coverage in a future Journal.

BAC Local 2 NY/VT members Ernie Baum, left, and Mike Khan installing glass fiber reinforced concrete panels at the New York State Fairgrounds. IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

11


APPRENTICES

We Grow as Our Union Grows APPRENTICE PROFILE: ANTHONY ZAVALA, LOCAL 13 NEVADA

A

nthony (Tony) Zavala, a firstyear Finisher apprentice of BAC Local 13 Nevada, said there are no other organizations than labor unions that provide equal opportunities for working people who strive for better economic growth. “More than 20 years ago, my dad and my two uncles came to this country with dreams and passion but they struggled to make a living,” Brother Zavala recalled. “When they saw the opportunities and benefits offered by the building trades, they joined the Union without a blink.” Though Tony’s father Juan passed away in 2006, his two uncles, Eduardo and Jose Zavala, are still actively serving BAC. It’s not just Tony’s father and uncles who support unions and the labor movement. His mother, Marisela, has been a hotel worker and long-time member of Culinary Union Local 226. In addition, Tony’s four cousins are also members of BAC Local 13 NV. Last year, Tony chose to start his union apprenticeship. “I saw the same thing my dad, mom, and uncles saw – equal opportunities for learning and growing. There are financial reasons for me to join the Union, but it’s more than that. I want to be part of something bigger,” Tony said. “Something bigger” means not just a paying job but a career achievement with Union pride. “At the beginning of my apprenticeship, I didn’t have sufficient knowledge on how to use the tools. I was nervous on my first job, but my Union brothers and sisters welcomed me, showed me how to improve, and answered my questions,” Tony said. “So far I’ve worked on several tile projects at many grand hotels, including Caesars Palace, Wynn, Harrah’s and the LINQ. At the end of each project, I saw beautiful finished products in front of my eyes. I felt satisfied with my work and am proud of my Union.” “Something bigger” also means growing with the Union and helping the 12

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

BAC Local 13 NV apprentice Tony Zavala participating in the Mountain West Administrative District Council Local Apprenticeship Contest.

Union grow. Tony remembered that when he was a kid, his dad used to take him to picnics hosted by the Local. “Many of our members watched me grow up and get into the trades. They helped me broaden my horizon, learn knowledge and gain skills,” Tony said. “I would tell other members to

let their family and friends see how special their work is. I would do everything I can to give back to my Union. When our Union grows, we grow.” In Tony’s words, it is “a sense of pride and responsibility.” Tony takes his training courses seriously and is certified by OSHA. He is always on time for his Saturday morning training classes. “I’m working on my grouting these days. Thanks to our Local, we have a nice training floor in the back of our union hall to ensure that we get sufficient training before we go to jobsites. This is the union difference,” Tony said proudly. Carlos Aquin, Director of the Mountain West Administrative District Council, said that Tony is a reliable member and is always willing to lend a hand. “His hard work and dedication to his apprenticeship exemplifies solidarity and the importance of the program for his Brothers and Sisters amongst him, whether in class or on the job,” Brother Aquin said. “I had the opportunity to know his father on the job and personally; he was a dedicated BAC Brother. I know he would be proud of his son. We are proud he is a part of the BAC family.”

Apprentice Tony Zavala with brothers of BAC Local 13 NV. From left, Local 13 NV members Gildardo Venegas, Tony’s uncle Eduardo Zavala, Rolando Lanuza, Tony’s uncle Jose Zavala, Jose Hernandez, Tony’s cousins Jose Zavala Jr. and Richard Zavala both of whom are apprentices, apprentice Gilberto Venegas, Alejandro Tomax, Pablo Morales, Mario Cortes and Tony Zavala.


MY BAC STORY

My Union is My Family An Interview with BAC Local 21 Illinois Member Helene Brown EDITOR’S NOTE: BAC Local 21 Illinois member Helene Brown has been a proud tuck-pointer for over 17 years. She loves her job so much that she has introduced the building trades to all of her family members including her brother Gerald Brown, two sons Thomas Williams and Carl Williams and niece Jameelah Williams, all of whom are PCC apprentices of BAC Local 21 IL. BAC Journal Editors ( JE) recently had the pleasure of talking with Sister Brown (HB) about her Union experience and how BAC has impacted her life and her family.

JE: How did you get into the building trades? HB: As a young mother of four children living on the west side of Chicago, I was in need of a job opportunity that would allow me to provide a better life for my children. One day while I was sitting outside speaking with my landlord, I asked him if he knew of any job opportunities. He gave me an address and an idea of what to wear, but he never mentioned what type of work I would be doing. Imagine my surprise when I arrived at a large construction site full of men wearing hardhats. This was my first job where I was the only woman. I’m sure you can imagine how uncomfortable I was in the beginning. I remember watching the men tuck-pointing and laying brick as I labored. I remember telling myself that “I can do exactly what they’re doing and probably better!” After laboring for about two years, I was finally introduced to the world of tuck-pointing. I remember my first foreman telling me, “Don’t worry Helene, there are no other women out here but you’re going to be the best.” As years went by, I felt more comfortable, the job got easier and my skills became better. Before I knew it, I was the “hot commodity” on the jobsite and all the men knew that I could do the same job they did. JE: What do you like about your job? HB: Although this journey has not been easy, it has been well worth it. This

Sister Brown on a jobsite.

job has given me the opportunity to travel across the country, meet, interact and bond with other tradeswomen while attending the Women in Trades Conferences. Overall, this job has helped me find strength within myself that I never knew existed. JE: How has the Union made a difference in your life and for your family? HB: Being in the Union has allowed me to provide for my family in ways that I’ve always desired. During a time when I was forced to provide for my children as a single parent, I was able to find peace in knowing that I could turn to the Union.

From left, Jameelah Williams, Thomas Williams and Carl Williams on a jobsite.

I had a stable career that provided me with the means to provide for my family. Being in the Union has also impacted the way in which my children view me. My children are beyond proud of me, my hard work, and the strength that I display. To them I’m not a mom but more like Superwoman; from me they draw strength and knowledge that hard work pays off. JE: You’ve been a tuck-pointer for over 17 years. What helped you stay in the trades for so long? HB: In life we all search for that one thing that we can call our own, for me tuck-pointing is that thing. I feel as though with tuck-pointing I’ve found my calling. This career has become so much a part of who I am, I’m not sure where I would be without it. JE: Many of your family members are also in building trades unions. Did you influence them in their career choices? HB: Absolutely. To be honest, I’ve tried to get all of my kids in the trades in one way or another (laugh). I was successful in introducing my two sons, a niece and a younger brother to the trades. It was important to me for my family to be placed in positions where they can grow as I did. Having family in the trades and working alongside each of them has created and continues to create life-long memories, memories that I will always cherish. JE: Any word you want to tell apprentices or others who may be interested in joining BAC? HB: I would tell them the first step is always the hardest; once you take the first step, each one after that becomes easier and easier. I would tell them that I am proud of them, proud that they are taking steps to better their lives and the lives of their families. I want them to know that this is not easy but it is worth it; challenges will arise but the greater the challenge, the greater the reward. Hard work pays off, as long as they are willing to learn and work hard, they will be successful without a doubt. What’s your BAC story? Share yours by emailing us at askbac@bacweb.org or mail it to BAC Journal, 620 F. Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20004. IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

13


IMI

2016 Masonry Camp Brings Craftworkers and Architects Together

T

his September marked the return of the International Masonry Institute’s unique Masonry Camp program, which brings BAC journeyworkers and designers from throughout the United States together for an intense five-day, design-build challenge at the John J. Flynn BAC/IMI International Training Center in Bowie, MD. Participants were divided into small teams that worked together on the design of a project – in this case, a museum for masonry – and then constructed an element of that design. Along the way, IMI and IMTEF staff offered hands-on training in masonry construction, tile setting and stone, as well as classroom sessions on design. The journeyworkers enjoyed the opportunity to learn more about their own craft and the work of other BAC members. It was clear that the hands-on experience was the highlight of the program for the architects who attended. They all developed a better understanding of the limitless possibilities of masonry, and the high level of skills that BAC members can bring to projects.

Campers Build Their Projects

14

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS


IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

15


BAC SERVICE EDITOR’S NOTE: BAC members understand that communities stay stronger when we look out for each other. They provide donations to those in need, utilize their knowledge and craft skills to build and restore, and celebrate the pride of being part of a larger community. The Journal is gratified to highlight a few of the recent volunteer activities undertaken by BAC members who are committed to “Giving BACk” to their communities and making a difference by changing and improving the lives of others.

LOCAL 2 MICHIGAN

BAC Local 2 Michigan Lends a Helping Hand to Flint Residents

R

etired BAC Local 2 Michigan Field Representative Pete Accica has made several trips to Flint to deliver bottled water to the city residents. The Local has been working with the Michigan Building Trades Council, St. Joan of Arc Parish, and the Optimist Club in St. Clair Shores to raise funds and provide safe drinking water to the people of Flint. “It is a long-term effort. Residents of Flint started suffering from contaminated water with toxic levels of lead in April

From left, BAC Local 2 MI Field Representative Jim Ritchie, Ron Fredrick of St. Clair Shores City Council, Michigan State Representative Sarah Roberts (D-MI), retired BAC Local 2 MI Field Representative Pete Accica, IUPAT District Council 1M Director of Organizing Tony Parker, and Monsignor Michael Bugarin, Pastor of St. Joan of Arc Parish in St. Clair Shores.

of 2014, and now they still need clean water to drink, cook and bathe,” said Brother Accica. Flint’s water crisis began after Governor Rick Snyder (R-MI)’s Emergency Manager Ed Kurtz switched the city’s water supply from the Detroit Water Department to the Flint River. The aging city infrastructure was among the problems causing the public health crisis. BAC Local 2 MI Secretary-Treasurer Nelson McMath, Genesee County Commissioner and Local 2 MI Field Representative Mike Lynch, and Field Representatives Tim Ochalek, Jim Ritchie, Greg Lobodzinski, and Daryl Nichols also helped deliver water door to door. Mike Lynch, Commissioner of Genesee County which includes Flint, said, “Just because we are not still on the national news, it doesn’t mean the residents of Flint don’t need major assistance! Nothing has been resolved yet.” Chuck Kukawka, President of BAC Local 2 MI, said the residents of Flint not only need clean water, but also need water filters and sanitary wipes. “Donations that we have raised will be going to purchase these items as well as water. It will take a

Bottled water collected at St. Joan of Arc Parish in St. Clair Shores, Michigan before Brother Accica’s latest Flint trip.

Retired BAC Local 2 MI Field Representative Pete Accica collects water for delivery.

long time for the situation to be resolved, but we are committed to providing support,” Brother Kukawka said. Brother Accica just delivered a truckload of water this November. He said the water crisis is not resolved so we will still need to help. Your tax deductible donations can be made to the Optimist Club of SCS, 32120 Thorncrest, St. Clair Shores, MI 48082. Please mark the memo area of the check as FLINT WATER.

LOCAL 4 CALIFORNIA

Local 4 California Members Join to Help City of Brawley Park

The foundation is in place and the brick walls are going up. 16

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

M

embers of the Imperial County Building and Construction Trades in California gathered in March to build public restrooms at Meserve Park in Brawley, CA.

“Brawley is located in the low desert with a significant cattle and feed industry and year-round agriculture. Kids don’t have much to do there so sports play an important role in keeping them out of trouble,”


BAC Local 4 CA Field Representative Darryl Brandt said. “The park is primarily used for girls’ softball games but had no restrooms, therefore, the Brawley softball teams could not hold a softball tournament at the park and had to travel for games.” “We are part of a community that supports each other. The city supplied the block and mortar, but they do not have the budget to build the rest rooms on their own, so we are glad we could help,” BAC Local 4 President Dick Whitney said. “Our apprentices volunteering on this project are graduates of IMI Job Corps.

Their apprenticeship instructor, Pete Camarda, also joined the volunteer group.” BAC Local 4 CA Field Representatives Lupe Aldaco and Darryl Brandt donated a full work day to set up and lay out the project before it began. Apprentices Francisco Salgado, Jean Petion and Francisco Sarabia drove at least 2 hours each way every day to help out. They were able to complete their part of the project in two days. Other building trades unions who participated in this project were IBEW Local 569, Iron Workers Local 229, and OPCMIA Local 200.

Volunteers from left, BAC Local 4 CA apprentices Francisco Salgado, Francisco Sarabia, Apprentice Coordinator Pete Camarda, and apprentice Jean Petion.

LOCAL 3 MASSACHUSETTS/MAINE/NEW HAMPSHIRE/RHODE ISLAND

Brick Laid at Iwo Jima Memorial Honor Veterans

B

ruce Aldrich, a 53-year member of BAC Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI and Commandant of Marine Corps League in Somerset, MA, has been working with the area building trades members and the Greater Fall River Veterans War Council to rebuild and restore projects in Fall River, MA. The Iwo Jima Memorial at Bicentennial Park, dedicated on Veterans Day 2015, is one of them. The memorial features a statue that is an exact replica at one-third the size of the World War II Iwo Jima Memorial in Washington, D.C. The names of hundreds of veterans have been imprinted on brick and benches surrounding the memorial.

Marine Corps League Commandant and BAC Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI retiree Bruce Aldrich recognizes volunteers from the building trades on Memorial Day. From left, Brother Aldrich, Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI Vice President and Organizer Jim Pimental and Carpenters Local 1305 Business Manager Ron Rheaume.

Volunteers at the Iwo Jima Memorial on the waterfront of Fall River. Standing from left, BAC Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI Field Representative Chris Medeiros, Marine Corps League member William Niewola, Marine Corps League Commandant and BAC Local 3 MA/ME/ NH/RI retiree Bruce Aldrich, and Marine Corps League members Ray Medeiros and Irvine Morley. Kneeling from left, BAC Local 3 MA/ ME/NH/RI Vice President and Organizer Jim Pimental, and retiree Manny Ramos.

Volunteers from left, BAC Local 3 MA/ME/NH/ RI Vice President and Organizer Jim Pimental, Marine Corps League Commandant and BAC Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI retiree Bruce Aldrich, Field Representative Chris Medeiros, and Marine Corps League member Rene Gagnon.

“Each brick was sold at $50 by the Greater Fall River Veterans War Council. Donated brick were laid by our Local 3 members in the Boston area in honor of veterans dead and living,” Brother Aldrich said. “We received tremendous support from our city council, various community groups, and our building trades unions who generously donated materials and labor. Over 2,000 brick were installed around the memorial.”

“I always felt honored and privileged to lay brick at the Memorial, including several pieces commemorating members of my own family who fought in World War II,” said Jim Pimental, BAC Local 3 MA/ME/NH/RI Vice President and Organizer. “The collaboration between our Union as well as the Carpenters and the Electricians proves that our building trades unions are always ready and willing to give back to our community.” IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

17


INTERNATIONAL FUNDS INTERNATIONAL PENSION FUND

2015 IPF/IHF Annual Report Highlights Plans for the Future

T

he 2015 IPF/IHF Annual Report, mailed in October, reviews International Pension Fund (IPF) and International Health Fund (IHF) benefit programs and highlights recent developments including IPF Plan changes and new offerings from the IHF. The Report also provides detailed financial information, instructions on BAC Member Portal registration, IPF benefit accrual tables, signatory fund listings, information from the BAC Member Assistance Plan, updates on the BAC SAVE Retirement Savings Plan (RSP), and much more.

IPF Rehabilitation Program Plan Changes

Despite being projected solvent through 2044 by Fund actuaries, effective January 1, 2016 IPF was considered in “critical” status under the current tests set out in the Pension Protection Act. Pursuant to the Act, the Trustees instituted a Rehabilitation Plan. While no changes are being made to annual benefit accruals or benefits currently being received by IPF pensioners and their beneficiaries, changes are being made for those with retirement effective dates as of July 1, 2016. The following box outlines these changes:

PLANS FOR THE

FUTURE

Retiree Payroll (US PLAN, IN MILLIONS) 2015 ANNUAL REPORT B R I C K L AY E R S & T RO W E L T R A D E S I N T E R N AT I O N A L P E N S I O N F U N D BRICKLAYERS & ALLIED CRAFTWORKERS INTERNATIONAL HEALTH FUND

Outreach to Inactive Vested Participants

A critical element in maintaining the health of both the Union Masonry Industry and the IPF is the re-capture of skilled craftworkers representing the “inactive vested” demographic of participants in the IPF. Inactive vested members include former BAC craftworkers who earned 5 years or more of service credit before they left the trade. Under the Rehabilitation Plan, these members are not eligible for benefits until age 64. Should these members return to covered employment and earn three years of Future Service Credit (4,500 hours), these participants would be eligible for reduced early retire-

|

$133.4

2010

$139.2

$145.8

2011

2012

$148.2

2013

$150.6

$153.5

2014

2015

25,554

25,566

2014

2015

Number of Retirees (US PLAN)

23,925

2010

24,324

2011

24,813

2012

25,161

2013

Plan Assets (US PLAN, IN BILLIONS) $1.436 $1.319

2010

$1.258

$1.307

2011

2012

$1.433

2013

$1,364

2014

2015

What Will Not Change

What Will Change

• No changes in benefits already in pay status • No changes in benefits if participant retires and applies by

• Early Retirement subsidies reduced for new pensioners • Disability pension subsidies reduced for new pensioners • Inactive Vested participants must return to active service

May 31, 2016, and has a pension start date effective no later than June 1, 2016 • No changes in current benefit accrual rates • No reduction in pensioner’s benefit at normal retirement age • No changes in 3% or 4% IPF PPA rate increases already called for • No Employer Surcharges 18

ment. The International Union, working in conjunction with the IPF, sent a letter to these members in August 2016 urging them to reach out to their Local Unions for potential work opportunities. The chart on page 19 demonstrates 10-year demographic trends among retired, active, and vested participants. Currently the IPF has 6/10 of an active working participant for each pensioner or inactive vested. During the great recession, the IPF went from 12,000 deferred vesteds to almost 24,000. With work coming back, these former workers can help meet growing needs for manpower in many BAC Local Unions. If you are aware of a former member who is looking for work, please put them in touch with your Local Union.

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

to qualify for early retirement benefit

• Lump Sum Death Benefits capped at $5,000.00 • Pop-up benefit eliminated for new joint and survivor options • 5 year guarantee no longer available for new single-life pensions

• IPF rules will apply to merged plan benefits for new pensions


Member Portal Enhancements

Implemented in 2014, the BAC Member Portal introduced Union members to on-demand benefit information via computer and mobile devices. Building on this innova-

They can report changes in contact information, beneficiary designations, upload forms, and even pay dues to Locals and ADCs that have opted for that capability. Members can review their IPF and BAC SAVE RSP Annual Statements and those seeking work can check the BAC Job Network for employment opportunities. Now, as an added feature, participants in the BAC SAVE RSP can view their account balances and apply for benefits through the Portal. Participants of the IHF are now able to complete their annual health & welfare open enrollment online through the Member Portal. tion, the IPF and the IHF are expanding the In addition, in 2017 the IHF will further enhance the Member Portal by allowing scope of content available to participants. Members can stay in virtual contact with the members to complete their initial enrollment Union and Fund offices to receive updates on and make any changes to their benefits due to benefit contributions and reciprocal transfers. qualifying events through the Portal.

INTERNATIONAL HEALTH FUND

Members of BAC Health and Welfare Fund of Indiana Join the IHF

T

he International Health Fund (IHF) continues to grow its membership in the state of Indiana and welcomes the Bricklayers and Allied Craftworkers Health and Welfare Fund of Indiana (Bloomington/Terra Haute/ Indianapolis Chapters), joining in January 2017. With this new addition, the IHF will provide health and other benefits to 7,000 members and their families from the IHF suite of plans in the Private Exchange. Due to the Local fund’s financial challenges and recent significant plan changes, with members facing increased cost sharing and increased hourly rates, the Board of Trustees of the Health and Welfare Fund of Indiana (Bloomington/Terra Haute/ Indianapolis Chapters) has conducted careful due diligence and analysis and has come to the conclusion that a strategic partnership with the IHF is the right thing to do.

The IHF has been able to help the Local fund stabilize the hourly contribution rates, provide a better plan design with lower cost sharing, and convert accumulated hours banks into Health Reimbursement Accounts for eligible participants. Members can choose to use their Health Reimbursement Account for eligible medical expenses, such as co-payments and deductibles, make selfpayments for coverage when ineligible or retired, or save for a future year. Going forward, the IHF’s look-back rules for eligibility will keep more members covered longer than the prior hours’ bank. In addition to paying less in co-pays and co-insurance on the medical plan, the IHF prescription drug co-payments were lower and more attractive. The IHF achieves significant savings through a coalition using SavRx as the pharmacy benefit manager and passes

Members of Local 4 IN/KY participating Chapters now are eligible for the following 2017 benefits under the BAC IHF Plan: ✔ Medical coverage provided United Healthcare Choice Plan ✔ Prescription drug provided by Sav RX ✔ Dental coverage provided through Delta Dental ✔ Vision coverage provided through VSP ✔ Health Reimbursement Accounts (HRA) through AmeriFlex ✔ Life insurance benefits provided by ULLICO ✔ Disability benefits

on savings directly to the member in the form of low cost sharing. For example, IHF members pay $5 for generic prescriptions at a retail pharmacy, and never pay more than $50 for a 30-day supply of medicine, even if the prescription is for expensive biologicals or specialty drugs. “Our goal is to ensure that our members have access to the highest quality of healthcare without putting financial barriers in the way of good health,” says IHF Executive Director Robin Donovick. “The IHF is dedicated to serving our members and their families. And it is through strength in numbers that we thrive.” As part of the larger IHF program, members of these Indiana Chapters now also have access to personal health support and care coordination, offered through United Healthcare. These services are provided to IHF members to assist with chronic and catastrophic illnesses. Members have access to experienced nurses who are able to provide treatment support, assist with discharge planning for hospitalized members, and answer specific questions about the members’ conditions. Ted Champ, President of BAC Local 4 IN/KY, applauds the Indiana Chapters for joining the IHF and says, “As soon as the merger is in place and the transition has occurred, members of the Bloomington/Terre Haute/Indianapolis Chapters will be as happy as the other members of Local 4 IN/KY currently participating in the IHF.” IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

19


CANADA

Work in Muskrat Falls Continues

B

AC Local 1 Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) members working for signatory contractors Astaldi Canada (Montreal, QC), Pennecon Heavy Civil (St. John’s, NL), and Barnard Pennecon (Bozeman, MT) are a core part of the team constructing the Muskrat Falls Hydroelectric Generation Facility on the lower Churchill River in Labrador. This multi-year project will keep up to 250 Local 1 NL members busy during the course of construction. Upon completion, the generating station will have the capacity to generate 824 megawatts (MW) of clean renewable power. This project will require over 500,000 cubic meters of concrete that BAC Local 1 NL cement masons are responsible for finishing. BAC Cement Masons are also performing all of the sawing, cutting, chipping, bush hammering, sacking, rubbing, caulking, and sealing required to complete finished concrete surfaces on the project. Additionally, BAC Local 1 NL has successfully defended the right to perform all grouting on the project that requires the use of masons’ tools, including pressure grouting. “Local 1 NL Cement Masons have worked nearly a quarter million hours to date on this project, with more work to come over the next two years,” BAC Local 1 NL Business Manager John Leonard said. “Astaldi Corp., who has built numerous large-scale projects across the globe, is impressed with the work ethic and skills that BAC members have brought to the job. And just as importantly, they appreciate that training and a strong safety culture are central to meeting the project’s health and safety performance expectations.”

The construction site of the Hydroelectric Generation Facility at Muskrat Falls, Labrador. Le chantier de la centrale hydroélectrique à Muskrat Falls, Labrador.

Spillway gate nears its completion. La vanne d’évacuateur est presque terminée.

Building Trades-Backed Bill C-4 Nears Passage

C

anada’s Building Trades Unions (CBTU) celebrated the passage of Bill C-4 through the House of Commons, repealing legislation from the prior session’s anti-union Bill C-377. Bob Blakely, CBTU Chief Operating Officer, noted that, “this legislation reflects this government’s understanding of the importance of the role that Unions play in the middle class workforce in Canada. We are pleased this was one of the 20

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

first pieces of Government legislation introduced in the 42nd Parliament.” BAC Canadian Regional Director Craig Strudwick said the passage of Bill C-4 “is an important step in the legislative process to ensure that CBTU can continue to represent the interests of skilled workers in Canada. BAC and other building trades unions are working together to help Bill C-4 pass through the Senate.”


From left, BAC Local 1 NL members Will Cabot, Alonzo Andrews, Randy Collins, Ted Burden, Marshall Bessey, Steve Anthony, Local 1 NL Business Manager John Leonard, Louise Butler, Shawn Percy, Ryan Eddy, and BAC Executive Vice President Tim Driscoll. En partant de la gauche, les membres de la section locale 1 du BAC NL Will Cabot, Alonzo Andrews, Randy Collins, Ted Burden, Marshall Bessey, Steve Anthony, le directeur commercial de la section locale 1 NL John Leonard, Louise Butler, Shawn Percy, Ryan Eddy, et le Vice-Président exécutif du BAC Tim Driscoll.

Les travaux se poursuivent à Muskrat Falls

L

es membres de la section locale 1 du BAC de Terre-Neuve-etLabrador (NL) travaillant pour les entrepreneurs signataires Astaldi Canada (Montréal, Qc), Pennecon Heavy Civil (St. John’s, NL), et Barnard Pennecon (Bozeman, MT) constituent l’un des noyaux de l’équipe qui construit la centrale hydroélectrique de Muskrat Falls sur le cours inférieur du fleuve Churchill au Labrador. Ce projet pluriannuel doit occuper 250 membres de la section 1 de NL pendant la phase de construction. Quand elle sera terminée, la centrale électrique aura une capacité permettant de générer 824 mégawatts (MW) d’électricité propre et renouvelable. Ce projet nécessitera 500 000 mètres cubes de béton, dont la réalisation a été confiée aux maçons-cimentiers de la section 1 du BAC NL. Les maçonscimentiers du BAC sont aussi chargés de réaliser la totalité du sciage, de la coupe, du piquage, du bouchardage, de l’ensachage, du déchargement, du calfeutrage et du scellage nécessaires pour terminer les surfaces de béton fini sur le chantier. De plus, la section locale 1 du BAC NL a réussi à faire valoir son droit de réaliser tout le coulis de ciment sur le chantier qui néces-

site l’utilisation des outils de maçon, dont l’injection de coulis sous pression. « Les maçons-cimentiers de la section locale 1 NL ont travaillé près d’un quart de millions d’heures à ce jour sur ce projet – et beaucoup de travail les attend encore pour les deux prochaines années, » a dit John Leonard, le directeur commercial de la section locale 1 du BAC NL. « Astaldi Corp., qui a construit de

nombreux projets de grande échelle dans le monde entier, est impressionné par leur éthique du travail et les compétences que les membres du BAC ont apportés sur le chantier. Point tout aussi important : ils sont sensibles au fait que la formation et une culture solide de la sécurité sont essentielles pour satisfaire aux attentes de performance du projet en matière de santé et de sécurité. »

Le projet de loi C-4 soutenu par les métiers de la construction en passe d’être adopté

L

es Syndicats des métiers de la construction du Canada (SMCC) ont célébré l’adoption du projet de loi C-4 par la Chambre des communes, abrogeant le projet de loi antisyndical C-77 de la séance précédente. Bob Blakely, Chef des opérations du SMCC, a remarqué que « cette législation montre que le gouvernement comprend l’importance du rôle que jouent les syndicats pour les travailleurs de la classe moyenne. Nous sommes contents que ce texte soit l’une des premières mesures légis-

latives présentées par le Gouvernement pendant la 42e législature. » Le Directeur régional canadien du BAC, Craig Studwick, a dit que l’adoption du projet de loi C-4 « est un jalon dans le processus législatif pour assurer que le SMCC puisse continuer de représenter les intérêts des travailleurs qualifiés au Canada. Le BAC et les autres syndicats des métiers de la construction travaillent ensemble pour faciliter l’adoption du projet de loi C-4 par le Sénat. » IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

21


STALK HERE: UNIONSPORTSMEN.ORG/WINCARHARTT For your chance to win a guided elk hunt with Big Chino Guide Services in Gila National Forest, New Mexico, or runner-up prize of a Carhartt Buckfield Jacket. See full rules online. 22

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS


MEMBER ASSISTANCE

How to Handle Holiday Expectations and Avoid the ‘Holiday Blues’

I

The Ghost of Christmas Past

n his classic work, “A Christmas Carol,” Charles Dickens’ main character, Ebenezer Scrooge, is visited by The Ghost of Christmas Past, a friendly spirit who helps Scrooge travel back through time to view scenes of long-forgotten holiday memories. Scrooge’s favorite memories play in front of his eyes, capturing every happy facial expression, loving word and deed as though it were happening in real time instead of decades ago. While cheered by these recollections, Scrooge also seems painfully aware of his present, dreary, and lonely life. In modern terms, Scrooge’s despondent demeanor and pessimistic outlook would have resulted in his being nudged to make a bee-line to his nearest mental health clinic. No doubt, at minimum, Scrooge would have been diagnosed as suffering from a severe case of the ‘holiday blues,’ if not full blown diagnoses of severe clinical depression, anxiety, emotional and physical exhaustion. The pressure to make the holidays perfect, coupled with family drama, can create a holiday crisis of sorts, in which the season feels more stressful and depressing than joyful. Adding to that, due to the seasonal nature of our members’ work, there are serious financial pressures that come to play. Some may have trouble dealing with unresolved family feuds, while others feel pressured to conform to family traditions and values which we may no longer espouse. Being bombarded by images of happy families celebrating together may heighten loneliness. Even the weather can contribute to holiday depression as the cold and darkness associated with the winter months can lead to a type of depression known as “Seasonal Affective Disorder.” When Holiday Stress Turns into Clinical Depression

Holiday stress or the “holiday blues” can overwhelm a person to the point that he or she develops clinical depression. Help is

available to treat depression, but many fail to recognize the warning signs: • Intense feelings of irritability, guilt, sadness and gloom • Dramatic changes in appetite, with unusual weight gain or loss • Difficulty sleeping, including restlessness, insomnia and a tendency to sleep too much or too little • Fatigue – feeling constantly tired, emotionally and physically • Lack of interest in personal and work activities • Poor concentration – unable to focus and pay attention • Low self-esteem – feeling unworthy or unloved • Hopelessness about the future • Preoccupied with thoughts about death Handling the Holiday Blues

The good news is that you can design a holiday that fits your situation and needs. Here are suggestions for handling holiday depression and stress: • Set limits for yourself. “Just say no” to uncomfortable holiday commitments that will take up your time and energy without bringing you pleasurable rewards. Weigh the pros and cons and make choices based on what fits your holiday needs. • Make plans for how to invest your money and time, and stick with these decisions. Try to keep a holiday budget to avoid financial strain. • Set realistic expectations for others. Remember that the holidays are not a good time to resolve family fights, discuss bad memories or talk about emotionally-charged issues. • Spend time with children to remember the enthusiasm and joy of the holiday spirit. • Surround yourself with friends who are supportive. • Recognize that stress is a “normal” reaction to changes that occur during the holidays.

• Take care of yourself by getting plenty of rest, eating a balanced diet and exercising. Try to avoid the temptations to overeat, abuse alcohol, or take on responsibilities that leave you emotionally or physically exhausted. • Combat loneliness by spending time with friends or doing volunteer work. • Cope with feelings of loss through self-soothing activities such as prayer, meditation and positive thinking. • Enjoy free holiday activities such as viewing holiday decorations, listening to music or going window-shopping.

If you or a family member suffers from holiday depression and stress, help is available. Call BAC’s Member Assistance Program (MAP) for free and confidential help and guidance from a licensed clinical social worker. Call toll-free: 1-888-8808222, Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. EST, except on Thursday when MAP closes at 3:30 p.m. EST. Just ask for MAP!

IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

23


SAFETY & HEALTH

BAC Craft Committees Continue to Guide Masonry r2p Partnership Safety & Health Priorities

C

ollaboration of Labor and Management continues to be central to the Masonry r2p Partnership’s efforts to reduce members’ risks for occupational injuries and illnesses (See Masonry r2p Partnership: Expanding Efforts to Keep Members Safe in BAC Journal, Issue 3, 2016). Earlier this year, members of BAC’s Labor-Management Craft Committees received updates on the Partnership’s work and provided input based on what they are seeing on jobs and hearing from members. Overall, the Craft Committees agreed that the most pressing safety and health issues are already being addressed by the Partnership in their work with researchers and CPWR – The Center for Construction Research and Training. These include reducing ergonomic injuries, identifying better controls to reduce silica exposure, and preventing work-related hearing loss, eye injuries, skin disease, and most recently the potential risk of exposure to RF radiation when working near cell towers. In addition to obtaining feedback on current work, the Partnership also asked the Craft Committees for advice on ways to raise awareness, and get information and safety materials into the hands of contractors and workers. When asked about distributing information to contractors, they overwhelmingly agreed that email is the best communication method, followed by website postings, texts, meetings, and training programs.

When asked about distributing information to workers, Craft Committee members listed texts first, followed closely by email, toolbox talks, and social media. The Masonry Partnership is not only promoting existing materials, but is also focused on working with researchers to improve the industry’s understanding and use of best practices in safety and health. One of the projects that they have been assisting on for the last two years is SAVE: Ergonomics Training for Masonry Apprentices, described in more detail below. Resources that address the priorities include: Toolbox Talks, Hazard Alerts, and other materials on Radiofrequency (RF) Radiation in English and Spanish (cpwr.com/research/rf-radiation-awareness). Updates to silica-safe.org based on OSHA’s new Silica Standard. Noise infographics with information about trade-specific risks as well as NIOSH’s Buy Quiet initiative (cdc.gov/ niosh/topics/buyquiet/).

SAVE: Ergonomics Training for Masonry Apprentices

S

ore backs, sprain and strain injuries, ‘bad’ shoulders, and painful wrists and hands are far too common in the masonry industry and the reason that BAC, ICE and IMI as the Masonry r2p Partnership is working with CPWR – The Center for Construction Research and Training health and safety researchers to find ways to prevent these injuries. One research project currently underway is the SAVE project to develop ergonomics and safety voice training for masonry apprentices (See SAVE: New Study with Masonry r2p Partnership Develops Innovative Ergonomics Training for Masonry Apprentices in BAC Journal, Issue 2, 2016). The research team’s goal is to develop an interactive training program that can be integrated into masonry apprenticeship training and used by BAC and IMI instructors. Progress

In the first year of this project, the CPWR research team, headed by Dr. Dan Anton at Eastern Washington University, met with IMI instructors at the national training center to gain insight about the pros and cons of training approaches and content, conducted a focus group with ICE contractors to understand the opportunities and barriers to apprentices speaking up about ergonomics hazards, and conducted a survey of apprentices at twelve IMI training centers to 24

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

find out the best approaches and vehicles for delivering the training. In the second year of the project, the research team developed the SAVE Program content, including brief videos and hands-on activities to be led by instructors. With the help of Shawn Lenczowski at the Portland training center and Joe Vanek at the Minneapolis training center, as well as other instructors and apprentices, the training materials were tested. Based on the feedback, substantial changes to these training materials were made, including reducing the length and changing the format to one that worked better for instructors and apprentices. Moving forward

Beginning in December 2016, the research team will be testing the effectiveness of the improved training materials at nine IMI training centers across the U.S. before making any final changes. Testing at these training centers will continue through the winter of 2017. Access to the training centers, feedback from contractors, and willingness of instructors and apprentices to participate and provide constructive feedback will help ensure the transformation from final research to practice. For more information, please contact the research team at saveergonomics@gmail.com.


RETIREES

Local 1 Pennsylvania/Delaware Recognizes Retirees

Seated from left, Donald Jeffers, Mathias Haberbusch, Robert Reifsneider, Louis DiPonziano, Emidio Bucci, Oscar Elijah, Freddie Davis, Giuseppe DiBattista, William R. Hamilton Jr., Ernest E. Loessy, Francis Doyle; standing from left, Local 1 PA/DE President and Business Manager Dennis J. Pagliotti, Joseph Palombit, Alfred Zambon, Morris Venezia, Frederick Tracy, Paul Sobolewski, Lonce Scott Jr. who accepted recognition on behalf of his father, Lonce Scott Sr., Robert Cannon, Harry D. Cannon, Dennis H. Cannon, John Cannon who accepted recognition on behalf of his father Francis G. Cannon, Local 1 PA/DE Field Representative Matthew Stafford, and BAC President James Boland.

O

n October 27th, Local 1 Pennsylvania/Delaware hosted its semi-annual Retirees’ Luncheon where BAC President James Boland joined Local 1 PA/DE leadership and over 200 proud retirees in recognition of members’ dedicated service and lifetime achievement.

From left, retired BAC Local 1 PA/DE President and Business Manager John Phillips, BAC President James Boland, retired BAC Local 1 PA/DE President and Business Manager Domenic DiStefano, BAC Local 1 PA/DE President and Business Manager Dennis Pagliotti, and retired BAC Local 1 PA/DE President and Business Manager Wes Lawrence.

IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

25


RETIREES

Local 5 Pennsylvania Local 5 PA hosted a breakfast for retirees of Harrisburg Chapter. Front row from left, William Hoch, John Fetterhoff, Lamar Reitz, Donald McCrone, Merlin Hoch, James Kramer, and Clarence Keener. Second row from left, Istvan Palotai, Dean Jones, Joseph Wida, Bruce McCrone, Gene Lyter, Robert Trostle, and Harold Herman. Third row from left, Donald Pickle Jr., David Linville, John Stover, Clair Koppenhaver, John Loye, Clyde “Sonny” Shultz, and Local 5 PA President Lester Kauffman.

Retirees of Scranton Chapter from left, Art Fratamico, Local 5 PA Field Representative Tom Smith, Mario Savinelli, Ray Sabatini, Tom Benitez, Joe Mancuso, and Local 5 PA President Lester Kauffman.

Ohio-Kentucky Administrative District Council

BAC Local 40 Ohio hosted their annual Retirees’ Fish Fry in memory of Business Agent Harold Walker. Retirees seated from left, Talmadge Davis, Bill Beer, Howard Tobias, Dave Wertman, Bob Dove, and Jim Brown; standing from left, Joe Tobias, Lynn Schoonmaker, Gary Cyrus, Jim Wierbiki, Dave Thompson, Don Dreher, and Russel Mathys. 26

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

From left, BAC Director of OH-KY ADC Ken Kudela, North Central Regional Director Steve Bailey, and retirees Steve Shively of Local 46 OH, Mac Mellert of Local 7 KY, Fred Hubbard Sr. of Local 18 OH, Vince Isaac of Local 5 OH, Dan Zavagno of Local 36 OH, Flory Fernandez of Local 6 OH and Ted Linscott of Local 52 OH.


Local 3 New York

W

illiam Wright Jr., a 65-year member and retired administrator of BAC Local 3 New York, served with the 1st Marine Division in Korea in 1951. Brother Wright had the privilege to join Honor Flight Rochester on a flight last October to Washington, D.C. where he visited many of the nation’s war memorials.

Brother Wright, a 65-year member and retired administrator of BAC Local 3 NY, visits the Korean War Veterans Memorial, above, and the World War II Memorial, right, in Washington, D.C. Brother Wright is honored during his visit in Washington, D.C.

Local 21 Illinois Retiree Jesse Ruiz

L

ocal 21 Illinois retiree Jesse Ruiz joined BAC as a bricklayer in 1966. After retiring in 1999, Brother Ruiz took up a new hobby: wood carving and sculpting. Below are just a few pieces of his collection.

IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

27


LOCAL COMPASS

Pacific Northwest Administrative District Council

West Virginia Administrative District Council

Fifty-year member Tom Taylor, left, receives his Gold Card from Director of Pacific Northwest Administrative District Council Tim Thompson.

From left, Local 5 WV Secretary Charlie Leaisure, 50-year members Larry Wilkes and Frank Kennedy, Local 5 WV President Kevin McGraw, 40-year member Billy Steele, and 50-year member James McCloud.

Local 4 Indiana/Kentucky

Local 5 WV member Ray Finley, President Kevin McGraw, 60-year member Paul Finley Sr., Vice President Brian Phillips, and 40-year member Paul Finley II.

Fifty-year member Bob Schwartz, left, receives his Gold Card from Local 4 IN/KY Secretary-Treasurer Steve Knowles.

Local 4 Indiana/Kentucky member Dennis Hillard, left, receives his 25-year service award from Local 4 SecretaryTreasurer Steve Knowles. 28

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

Wisconsin District Council

From left, Wisconsin District Council Field Representative Jim Vick, 25-year member Larry Volkey, 50-year member Richard Bruckert, and Local 34 WI President Dave White.


Local 5 Pennsylvania

Local 8 Southeast

Fifty-year member John Harris, left, receives his Gold Card from Local 8 Southeast President Jay Smith.

Fifty-year member James Kramer, left, receives his Gold Card from Local 5 PA President Lester Kauffman.

Ohio-Kentucky Administrative District Council

Fifty-year member Howard Tobias, left, receives his Gold Card from Local 40 Ohio President Nick Powers.

Fifty-year member Gerald Smith, left, receives his Gold Card from Local 8 Southeast President Jay Smith.

Fifty-year member Elgie Butler, left, receives his Gold Card from Local 8 Southeast President Jay Smith. IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

29


IN MEMORIAM

OBITUARY

J

James R. Harrington

ames R. Harrington of New York City and Nantucket, MA passed away October 18, 2016, at the Nantucket Cottage Hospital, surrounded by his loving family. He was the son of John Harrington, a member of former BAC Local 34 New York (now Local 1 New York) and nationally recognized foreman in the industry. After his service in the Marine Corp, Brother Harrington joined then BAC Local 34 NY in 1949. He served as president of then BAC Local 34 NY, delegate to the District Council, Secretary-Treasurer and Administrator. His two sons Steven and Richard were both members of BAC Local 1 NY. Brother Harrington’s interest in tracing the history of brick, and the arts, led to the reproduction and installation of the Babylonian Lion first on 86th St. in New York City, and later in Rego Park, NY. The project, spearheaded by ceramicist Geoffrey Meek and assisted by Brother Harrington’s son Steven, spanned two years and was featured in The Mason Tender magazine in 1986 (see picture far right). An accomplished Brother Harrington, a long-time BAC artist, Brother Harrington’s member and accomplished artist.

A painting of bricklayers by Brother Harrington.

The Babylonian Lion project is featured in The Mason Tender magazine in 1986.

Brother Harrington working at his studio in Sebastian, FL.

30

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

paintings outline events in the lives of people, and the dignity of work and ethic of labor that draw people to their occupations. His artworks have been featured in publications from magazines to hardcover fine art books, collected by many, and brought great enjoyment to all. “Brother Harrington is a legend,” BAC Local 1 NY President Jeremiah Sullivan Jr. said. “Our Union is very proud of all his accomplishments. Many of Brother Harrington’s artworks can be viewed on his website at jamesrharringtonart.com. Brother Harrington is survived by the love of his life Betty, his 4 children, 7 grandchildren, and 3 great-grandchildren.


July Death Benefit Claims for July 2016

MEMBER - LOCAL UNION

BRANCH OF TRADE

Total Amount Paid Total Union Labor Life Claims Total Death Benefits Total Number of Claims Average Age Average Years of Membership

Knust, Jerald L. - 02, MI

P

MEMBER - LOCAL UNION

BRANCH OF TRADE

Arp, Sammy C. - 02, WA/ID/MT

$134,700.00 $1,000.00 $133,700.00 73 81.64 53.00

YEARS OF AGE

MEMBERSHIP

85

62

Kopsell, Vernon T. - 21, IL

B, M, P

90

32

Kroese, Frans - 03, NY

TW, TL

86

48

Kubistal, Edward J. - 21, IL

PC

83

44

Lane, Kenneth - 02, MI

PC, CM

78

48

Lang, Edwin A. - 02, MI

B

90

52

YEARS OF AGE

MEMBERSHIP

Langston, Lyndell M. - 05, OK/AR/TX

B, M

79

53

B

71

38

Larka, Jr., Harry L. - 21, IL

PC

81

50

Balerna, Aldo - 07, CN

B

82

44

Long, Peter G. - 04, NJ

B, M

73

39

Black, Eldon M. - 05, OK/AR/TX

B, M

76

53

Martinelli, Frank - 21, IL

CM

88

61

Maynard, Eldon L. - 05, WV

B

79

47

Burke, Lennis P. - 04, CA

TL

94

67

Carson, John W. S. - 04, CA

B

93

59

Meiring, Jack J. - 13, NV

TL

80

59

CM

77

45

Chace, Paul F. - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

PC

76

36

Messina, Calogero - 05, NJ/DE/PA

Cigara, Giuseppe A. - 04, ON

B

89

53

Mucci, Walter C. - 09, PA

B

90

64

Cisakowski, Julian T. - 01, AB

B

90

60

Nagao, Shigeru G. - 01, HI

CB

86

56

Cofield, Belvie R. - 08, SE

B

84

64

Nelson, Michael C. - 04, IN/KY

B, M

68

40

Cooper, Donald P. - 22, OH

B, M, P

95

61

Newtzie, Sr., George - 09, PA

B, M

87

66

Dalessandro, Anthony M. - 01, PA/DE

B

87

45

Ofsuryk, Jr., Walter F. - 01, CT

B, CM, MM

83

60

O’Leary, Edward A. - 01, NS

B

90

68

Dodds, Edward D. - 04, IN/KY

B

89

68

Doolittle, Eugene W. - 07, CN

TL, MM

71

51

Palomaris, Robert L. - 18, CA

FN

88

25

Dufour, Roch - 04, QC

B

86

63

Personeni, Arnold J. - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

B

78

61

Fabian, Nelson A. - 04, CA

FN

42

2

Poulsen, Richard W. - 13, WI

B

88

54

Fleetwood, Kenneth M. - 02, ON

B

84

52

Ratajec, Steve J. - 04, IN/KY

B

79

61

Foster, Duane E. - 01, AB

B

77

36

Saethre, Alfred P. - 21, IL

B

82

59

Genelli, Joseph E. - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

B, CM

81

35

Saily, William V. - 02, MI

B, CM, M

83

66

Gentile, Peter J. - 07, NY/NJ

TL

88

61

Sanders, Carl S. - 04, WI

B, M, P

94

66

Gold, William A. - 04, WI

B, CM, M

69

50

Schepp, Rocci C. - 08, WI

B, CM

63

36

Greene, Jr., Thomas A. - 09, PA

B, M

85

68

Scherwinski, Eugene R. - 08, WI

B, M

71

46

Guidoni, Prescillo D. - 03, NY

B

96

48

Sharpe, Wilmer M. - 05, NJ/DE/PA

B, W

76

59

Herman, William L. - 02, WA/ID/MT

B

59

29

Showalter, Dewey - 09, PA

B, M

80

61

Hodges, William J. - 05, OK/AR/TX

B

94

74

Siebert, Donald L. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B

79

61

Honore, Ronald J. - 03, CA

B, M

77

60

Sofia, Lawrence A. - 05, OH

B

95

70

Sprenger, Jakob - 01, MN/ND

B

93

61

Hudson, Darrel D. - 05, OK/AR/TX

PC

76

41

Hunter, Leroy C. - 08, SE

P

90

68

Tatulli, Gaetano - 04, NJ

B, M

89

69

Hurley, James M. - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

B

73

58

Thompkins, Tommy I. - 07, CO/WY

B, M

86

52

Jordan, Wayne A. - 03, CA

B, M

81

51

Timmers, Herbert C. - 08, WI

B

76

50

TL

85

60

Kaneshiro, Norman K. - 01, HI

M

75

54

Turner, Thomas R. - 18, MO

Kershlis, John J. - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

B, CM

78

50

Weinberg, Calvin A. - 56, IL

B, M

90

70

Kirch, James A. - 01, HI

B

88

57

Williams, Arthur L. - 01, MO

B

90

52

Klinger, Jesse G. - 05, PA

B

58

36

Youngdahl, Gary L. - 01, MN/ND

B, M

68

44 IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

31


IN MEMORIAM

August Death Benefit Claims for August 2016 Total Amount Paid Total Union Labor Life Claims Total Death Benefits Total Number of Claims Average Age Average Years of Membership

MEMBER - LOCAL UNION

32

|

BRANCH OF TRADE

$72,750.00 $72,750.00 40 79.30 51.65 YEARS OF AGE

MEMBERSHIP

Allen, Robert D. - 21, IL

B

87

60

Anderson, Edward E. - 06, IL

PC

65

46

Barros, Jose V. - 01, MD/VA/DC

M, B

85

55

Beegle, Gordon E. - 04, CA

B

87

53

Binder, Harry C. - 05, NJ/DE/PA

B

87

62

Bleggi, Louis J. - 08, OH

TL, MM

88

65

Burkhardt, Jr., John G. - 05, NJ/DE/PA

B, CM, M, TL

76

46

Carter, Floyd R. - 08, SE

B

72

51

Dalcin, Frank - 05, PA

TL, MM

92

63

D’Angelo, Louis A. - 02, MI

CM, MM, TL, TW

86

32

MEMBER - LOCAL UNION

BRANCH OF TRADE

YEARS OF AGE

MEMBERSHIP

Stevens, Wendel O. - 01, AK

B

83

52

Stokes, Billy J. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B, CM, M, TL

85

64

Turner, James E. - 01, MO

B

84

62

Ugland, Theodore A. - 20, IL

B, M

83

57

Weihl, John L. - 01, OR

B, MM

59

38

Wheeler, Troy E. - 08, SE

TL, MM

71

51

Willingham, Sr., James T. - 08, SE

B, M

85

30

Wolfe, Allison M. - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

TL

92

69

Zaccaro, Girolamo - 21, IL

B

86

49

September Death Benefit Claims for September 2016 Total Amount Paid Total Union Labor Life Claims Total Death Benefits Total Number of Claims Average Age Average Years of Membership

$192,700.00 $3,000.00 $189,700.00 105 82.29 53.70

Daros, Emil - 05, NY

B

86

66

Achzet, Bernard - 02, NY/VT

CM, MM, TL, TW

88

61

Despanie, John H. - 03, CA

B, MM

67

48

Albini, Gino L. - 01, CT

CM, P, CB

87

53

DiLucente, Adelmino - 09, PA

M, B

84

67

Aluia, Sebastian - 02, MI

B

101

65

Franceschina, Attilio A. - 02, WA/ID/MT

TW

89

68

Amelang, Dieter K. - 04, NJ

B, CM, P

81

42

Arnett, Forest - 02, MI

B, CM

87

51

Gill, Sr., Joseph - 03, NY

PC

68

45

Greene, Fred - 02, MI

B, CM, M, TL

90

60

Babb, Wendell T. - 04, CA

TL, CM

91

60

Balcerzak, Jerome T. - 02, MI

B

80

55

Griffin, Shawn M. - 02, NY/VT

PC

46

25

Harris, Dallas L. - 05, OK/AR/TX

B

86

43

Himes, Sr., Paul A. - 08, OH

B

82

59

Johnson, Sr., Lloyd E. - 05, NJ/DE/PA

B, CM, M, TL

91

55

Juers, Milton H. - 03, OH

B

85

62

Banks, Sr., Victor L. - 21, IL

B

88

62

Barnett, Sidney R. - 08, SE

B

92

70

Bassi, Verino N. - 07, CN

B

82

51

Bennett, Sr., John W. - 55, OH

B, M

91

69

Berg, John C. - 01, MN/ND

B

80

50

Brown, Ernest A. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B

97

63

Brown, Roger - 04, IN/KY

B

78

40

Knowles, Kyen J. - 01, HI

TL

36

1

Kolar, Ronald J. - 20, IL

B

88

67

Nestor, Guy D. - 01, MD/VA/DC

B, CM, M, TL

89

63

Catullo, Rocco - 04, NJ

B, CM, P

74

36

Prunier, Arthur R. - 08, SE

B, CM, M, TL

84

67

Chaves, John - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

PC, CH, CM

58

28

Reis, Thomas - 05, PA

TL, MM

80

47

Colclough, David - 02, MI

B

82

49

Ruggiere, Michael S. - 04, CA

B, M

91

53

Cote, Gordon C. - 01, CT

B, M

84

60

Simeona, Wilmer P. - 01, HI

M, TL

78

44

Davis, David D. - 06, OH

B, CM

86

54

Smith, James P. - 04, NJ

B, CM, P

75

50

Davy, Glen A. C. - 02, MI

CM

84

37

Smith, Mark E. - 55, OH

B

50

14

Dodson, Charles W. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B

79

35

Spencer, Larry - 03, AZ/NM

B, CM, M, TL

74

57

Doherty, Thomas F. - 07, NY/NJ

FN

88

28

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS


MEMBER - LOCAL UNION

BRANCH OF TRADE

YEARS OF AGE

MEMBERSHIP

MEMBER - LOCAL UNION

BRANCH OF TRADE

YEARS OF AGE

MEMBERSHIP

Drescher, Leo - 03, CA

B

85

64

Overmyer, Irvin L. - 04, IN/KY

B

91

60

Dybata, Stanley - 02, MI

B

85

64

Passmore, George D. - 08, SE

B

88

61

Esperum, Dennis A. - 01, MN/ND

PC

74

47

Pearcey, Gordon V. - 01, ON

B

103

64

Pederson, Vernon A. - 02, WA/ID/MT

B, M

82

62

Perry, II, Robert C. - 04, CA

TL

62

36

Falzone, Thomas M. - 05, PA

B, CM, M

92

59

Giassi, Aldo - 02, BC

B

70

50

Girimonte, Daniel J. - 05, NJ/DE/PA

CM, P

81

31

Grilli, Salvatore C. - 04, NJ

B

88

62

Hawn, Elmer E. - 01, MO

B, M

88

67

Hock, Edward - 05, PA

B

92

63

Hogan, Kynan B. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B

19

2

Houston, Paul J. - 09, OH

B, W

73

50

Jenkins, Nicholas D. - 02, MI

CM

35

1

Kapp, Stanley R. - 07, NY/NJ

FN

92

28

Kolesar, Peter - 09, PA

B

91

65

Kosanko, Joseph - 09, PA

B, M

93

65

Kutil, Charlie J. - 05, OK/AR/TX

B

85

68

Labrentz, Horst - 21, IL

B

82

62

Labriola, Donald E. - 09, PA

MM, TL

84

64

Larsen, Howard W. - 03, CA

MM, M

95

63

Lee, Jr., Mack W. - 18, OH/KY

B

93

67

Little, Douglas R. - 02, MI

B

89

65

Lizzet, Orval E. - 05, OH

B

87

62

Lovgren, Richard W. - 02, WA/ID/MT

B

90

66

Luciani, Lance - 09, PA

B

73

50

Lundgren, Richard R. - 09, PA

B

86

66

Petris, Geno E. - 09, PA

CB, M, B

80

61

Plahtaric, Josip - 04, IN/KY

B

82

47

Pollachek, Sr., Frank E. - 21, IL

MM

84

33

Pool, Garland R. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B

88

67

Presley, Windel D. - 13, NV

B

82

60

Rathburn, Jack H. - 01, MN/ND

B, M

92

68

Reves, Lyle D. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B, M

83

65

Rhodes, Mitchell L. - 01, MO

B

56

37

Roiger, Joseph F. - 01, MN/ND

B, M

86

63

Rotellini, Theodore J. - 08, SE

P

68

47

Ruiz, Joseph G. - 21, IL

B

79

59

Rutz, Larry W. - 12, ON

B, M

83

66

Sabonis, Victor - 21, IL

TL

71

37

Sardo, Jack A. - 04, CA

B, M

85

56

Sebille, Albert P. - 06, IL

TL

80

53

Seliga, Leonard C. - 01, MN/ND

B

69

50

Simonetti, Francesco - 02, BC

TL

88

55

Singletary, Earl W. - 08, SE

B

95

73

Smith, Henry E. - 04, NJ

B, CM, P

91

67

Solda, Paola - 07, CN

B

86

58

Sowders, Sr., Charles D. - 04, IN/KY

B

69

31

Stanton, Vernon C. - 03, NY

B

91

58

Lutkewitte, Thomas D. - 01, MO

B

80

61

Lynch, Sr., William E. - 16, OH

TL, CM

83

57

Stastny, Jr., James A. - 74, IL

B

85

65

Macko, George D. - 36, OH

TL

80

59

Strauss, Eugene J. - 11, WV

B, M

85

66

Mahan, Richard J. - 01, PA/DE

B

83

64

Strueby, Thomas G. J. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B

83

60

Mancini, Rocco - 01, CT

CM

88

65

Thomas, Sr., Eugene - 01, MO

B

69

41

Mask, Anthony J. - 07, CN

B, M

89

69

McDaniel, Edwin H. - 05, NJ/DE/PA

B, CM, P

84

62

Upton, Gerald E.. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B, M

81

48

McHugh, Norbert L. - 09, WI

B, CM, M

86

53

Ury, Daniel K. - 07, CO/WY

B

94

64

MeGee, Jack L. - 03, CA

TL, CM

75

42

Vaydovich, John P. - 04, CA

B, MM

97

68

Merritt, Kenneth A. - 18, MO

FN

89

27

Warner, Sr., James W. - 22, OH

B

70

37

Miller, Bernard C. - 15, MO/KS/NE

B

83

65

Welsh, Clyde G. - 03, IA

B, M

80

58

Miyashiro, Tsuneo - 01, HI

MM, M

86

47

Williams, Walter K. - 01, MD/VA/DC

TL

94

42

B

61

39

B

85

54

Molino, Jr., Louis S. - 01, MD/VA/DC

B

86

48

Witt, Joe R. - 04, IN/KY

Mungham, Harry G. - 01, MB

B

88

69

Witts, Sr., David G. - 05, NJ/DE/PA

Murphy, Thomas W. - 01, PA/DE

B

92

75

Nelson, Dennis L. - 01, MN/ND

B

84

60

Woodworth, Neil F. - 03, MA/ME/NH/RI

B

36

2

Wytas, Raymond T. - 01, CT

CM

90

53

Zyla, Erich - 01, NY

B, M

80

55 IS S UE 4 , 2 0 1 6

|

33


Journal BAC

ISSUE 4 / 2016

B AC • 620 F ST R E ET, N.W. • WA S HI N GTON, D.C. 20004

BAC Tool Sales

Check out the amazing BAC member discounts on great union-made tools and products! See the full range of tools for every BAC craft, plus apparel for the whole family at www.bacweb.org – select “Member Benefits” then “Tool Sales”. Once there, it’s a snap to order online Or, order by phone toll-free: US:1-888-880-8222 l Canada: 1-800-388-8395 34

|

B R I C K L AY E R S AND AL L IE D CRAF T WORKE RS

Issue 4 - 2016  
Issue 4 - 2016