Page 1

Lorem Ipsum

Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Clean Fleet


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Message from Clive

In this issue 1.

Clive’s Message, Rhinose Day

2.

Cape Town Golf Day Gauteng Customer function

3.

AFS closes deal with ABE Car Mall exceeds all expectations

4.

Trekking for Trash

5.

Isuzu Motors visit COJ offices ICAS

6.

ICAS cont… Staff Commendations

7.

All work, no play – Lesotho

8.

Likeuna vs Bafana Bafana – Lesotho MAU

9.

Avis Botswana Host Hatab Annual Conference Golf Day

Dear Colleagues, With just 2 months to go until financial; year-end and some wonderful results achieved to date, I would like to congratulate you all on a great performance thus far. You will recall from our recent company brief that we have already exceeded a collective fleet size of 268,000 contracts and I have no doubt that it’s because of our 90,2% customer satisfaction result that our fleet portfolio continues to grow. There have also been some exciting appointments and internal staff movements which will no doubt continue to enhance our customer service experience and contribute to further portfolio growth. With our financial year-end fast approaching, I’m certain that with a dedicated focus we can continue to outperform not only our own stretch targets, but also our competitors and turn in a stellar 2013 result. Getting theere means we have to be consistent in our actions and in this CodRed we look at both Integrity and Commitment and see how it forms part of the Barloworld Worldwide Code of Conduct. There are many other exciting stories in this edition of CodeRED, so enjoy reading and let’s make every day count leading up to 31 September.

10. Nissan Leaf 11. Barloworld Code of Conduct 12. AFSConnect 13. Coffee Break

Rhinose Day

So far it’s been a very sad 2013 for Rhinos with the Department of Environmental Affairs reporting in June that South Africans have already lost a total of 446 rhinos to poachers. This means that a Rhino is killed every 10 hours. Make everyday a Rhinose Day and support the cause by visiting CNA and purchasing a Rhinose for R30.

14. Tip offs Anonymous Inspirational Quote

The Marketing Department is already working hard to bring you the next edition of Code Red. Contact Sally or Candice about any exciting events happening in your department, office or region.

1


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Cape Town Golf Day On 9 May 2013, despite weather predictions of rain, loyal customers of Avis Fleet Services, played the Jack Nicklaus designed Pearl Valley golf course outside Paarl. They had windy conditions during tee-off, but soon enough into the first 9, the sun warmed everyone sufficiently enough to have a great day. This being a prestigious course, it should come as no surprise that our customers, thoroughly enjoyed being spoiled. The day ended with prize giving and dinner where one lucky customer also won a signed “Richard Sterne” Avis Fleet Services golf shirt. Everyone returned safely home afterwards. - Bennie Blignaut “I cannot over emphasize my sincere appreciation for being part of your wonderful golf day. Wishing you a successful and rewarding year.” Wensen Fredericks – Kleinvlei SS “Thanks very much for a very stunning golf day. The event was really well organized and fun was had by all.” Johan Louw -ADT

Jersey Boys – JHB Annual Customer Function On the 11th and the 18th April, our Jhb Customers were treated to the International award-winning Broadway Musical show Jersey Boys! Pre-drinks and snacks were held at The Met Lounge & Grill where customers got the chance to network and chat to each other. The show was thoroughly enjoyed by all as the music replayed all the memorable hits of Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons! – Candice van Wyk “Just a short mail to Thank you and your team for hosting yet another excellent event. Bronwyn and I really enjoyed the show.” Alan Willcocks – Interwaste “Absolutely loved the show! Thank you for the invitation.” Riaan Strydom – Kuehne + Nagel “Thank you, Avis and your colleagues again for a very enjoyable event last night – it really was excellent from start to end.” Phillip Nottingham – ABE “Thank you for a spectacular evening. Natalie and I thoroughly enjoyed the show and the trip down memory lane.” Scott De Oliveira - Ariste Health (Pty) Ltd Ed Koslowski – 3D Marketing Lucienne Sterling – SAAB Shared Services Leratang Ramotala – Ericsson South Africa

2


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Avis Fleet Services Closes the deal on ABE vehicles After many months of prospecting, presenting and negotiating, AFS is proud to be selected as the Fleet Management partner of choice to ABE Construction and Chemicals. The end of April saw the first 14 of a potential 30 vehicles being delivered. After a rigorous vehicle selection process the VW Polo was selected as the most suitable vehicle, and thanks to the hard work and effort by VW Woodmead, we managed to successfully deliver on time. – Belinda Bagley

The Avis Fleet Services Car Mall team exceeded their normal average sales in the month of April by at least 250 vehicles, making it one of the best months that they have had in history. Their average vehicle sales in a normal month are usually between 400 – 450 vehicles and for the month of April they sold 644 vehicles. A big reason for the result is due to direct sales thanks to Santhuri Moodley and her team, selling 310 vehicles, as well as a high number of RSA, Phakisaworld and COJ vehicles terminating. Although stock holding at month end was unusually high due to the extra terminations, the average stock days was only 14.5, an indication of how quickly the team is turning the stock into cash. Congratulations to the Car Mall Team on achieving such excellent results!! – Wayne Bartley

3


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

TREKKING FOR TRASH Team Have done it!! Avis Fleet Services and ADT are proud to announce that the Trekking for Trash team have done it! You may recall that some 7 months ago Avis Fleet Services partnered with our long standing customer, ADT, to provide the Trekking for Trash Initiative with a much needed relief vehicle that would provide support and shadow their every move over their upcoming 3000km walk around South Africa’s coastline. With both ADT and Avis Fleet Services sharing a similar social philosophy, getting behind such an initiative was a perfect opportunity to engage and make a difference together. After a long hard walk that included legs with both our Cape Town, PE and Durban offices, the duo received a warm welcome at their Kosi Bay destination. Their journey saw them load our sponsored vehicle with a staggering 7 155kg of hand collected litter whilst also educating locals about the importance of looking after the environment. Two of South Africa’s most inspirational social change adventurers have taken their last steps in the 3000km, seven month CAN DO! Trekking for Trash trek, which began in October 2012. The trek started in Alexander Bay (Northern Cape) and continued along South Africa’s coastline to Kosi Bay (on the Mozambique border). Michael Baretta and Camilla Howard left the comfort of their homes and lives to pursue their passion of making a difference through environmental awareness and education. Inspired by a talk they attended by David Grier in May 2011, (Grier ran a marathon a day along the coast of South Africa Cipla Miles for Smiles Foundation), the pair began planning their adventure 18 months prior to the trek. Michael took the reins in securing sponsorship using his marketing background, while Camilla planned the route and logistics. Together, the team embarked on a journey which has changed their lives forever. Baretta comments, “The best thing about this journey was being exposed to so many different people every day. Their views, comments and actions keep influencing my frame of reference and making me a richer person.” Howard adds, “From the planning phases to the people we’ve met on the beach – each person has enriched my life. Most exciting was meeting and spending time with Kingsley Holgate at his home in Zinkwazi.” Since the journey began, the duo have visited 15 schools across the country, educating leaners and local communities about the importance of looking after the environment by eliminating litter, as well as hosting six community beach cleanup’s and collecting a total of 7 155kg of litter – a significant achievement for two young individuals. However, the trek was not without mishaps: Bruised feet, shin splints, plantar fatiitis (inflamed foot sole) and tick bite fever are just some of the obstacles overcome by the eco warriors who trekked between 20km and 40km a day six days a week. Both admitted they were never tempted to give up and were inspired by the warm reception they received in small towns along the way. Howard elaborates, “We have been overwhelmed at the response from the public. Some of the smaller towns like St Francis Bay, Cannon Rocks and Westbrook really went out of their way to welcome us.” When asked what the future holds, Baretta smiles, “I have decided to put my skills to good use and to start my own sponsorship and marketing agency that will specialise in pairing organisations and individuals, that aim to ‘do good’, with corporate sponsors.” It seems the adventure continues for Howard, “I will be heading off to the South of France to work for two months on a contract with Chez Gourmet, a cooking school catering company my mom started 4 years ago. There is potentially another trek on the cards as well as the summit of another continents highest peak for me!” - SA – The Good News

4


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Isuzu Motors Japan visit our CoJ Offices Isuzu motors Japan recently visited our COJ offices, the reason for this was for them to visit the Flagship facility of the Isuzu Truck Dealership at Barloworld - City Deep. Together with this the co-ordination of all Avis Fleet Services trucks going into the City of Johannesburg happens at this dealer. The co-ordination and partnering between Avis Fleet Services and Isuzu Truck SA in this fashion is an industry first and Isuzu Motors Japan representation was here to acknowledge the support to Isuzu Truck SA by Avis Fleet Services and Barloworld. – Candice van Wyk

Did you Know? ICAS Employee Assistance Programme Avis Fleet Services have partnered with ICAS to assist you to achieve a productive life, with a healthy balance between your professional and personal goals. One of the services offered to you by the Employee Wellness Programme through ICAS, is telephone counselling.

5


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013 What are some of the problems that the Employee Wellness Programme can assist you with? • Relationship issues • Work related issues (not labour related issues) • Depression • Substance abuse, etc. • Conflict (personal/work related) • Financial problems (debt, budgeting etc.) • Trauma Who will benefit:                                         • Anyone who needs support on any issue affecting their work and/or personal life. How do you get in touch with the Employee Wellness Programme? By simply calling the toll free number 0800 212 282. However, if you do not have access to a land line or are unable to call from your cell phone, you have the option of using a ‘please call me’. Kindly note that this option should not be used in an emergency as there is a 24-hour call back period to the ‘please call me’. Please note options for different cellular network service providers. • Vodacom users need to type *140*0711192463# and press the call button. • MTN users need to type *121*0711192463# and press the call button. • Cell C users need to type *111*0711192463# and press the call button. Please note that there may also be a risk of this service being affected by your cellular network infrastructure so if you do not receive a call within 24 -48 hours please phone the toll free line.

Staff Commendations At every Company Brief we acknowledge those staff members that have received commendations, be it from a Customer or maybe from another staff member. Well done to all of you! Keep up the excellent work!

Marilyn Cornelius

Adilson Correia

Carmel Alves

Charmaine Daniels

Ginesh Rampersadh

Harriet Buthelezi

Kenneth Graney

Mncedisi Khumalo

Jeanette Mokwena

Marina Human

Monique Kotze

Oswell Swart

Rosemary Modise

Santhuri Moodley

Anneke Smit

Sue Lottering

Ivy Maakoe

6


1 2 3

Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Avis Fleet Services Lesotho Keeps Shining The auction commenced promptly at 11am, with Skip at the helm doing what he does best – selling cars. Customers came in droves and cars were bought, by lunchtime the auction was finished. In true AFS style, all Customers walked away smiling.

AFS Lesotho Soccer Team Avis Fleet Services has been providing its services in Lesotho for the past 6 years as the preferred bidder in supplying total fleet solutions to the Government of Lesotho. Although AFS provides many services in its operation, it strives to fulfill its Corporate Social Responsibility strategy by contributing to an orphanage in Pitseng, through infrastructure development as well as sponsoring the Lesotho Football Association (LEFA), The Public Service day and World Tourism day. Providing world class service is made possible by having some of the best qualified human resources in the business and as the saying goes, “At Avis people are more important than cars.” Despite Avis Fleet Services Southern Africa been voted the best Fleet Management Company for the past six consecutive years, we believe that all work and no play, makes for a dull team, hence why we at AFS believe both management and staff should engage in extra-curricular activities such as football, snooker and golf. They say nothing is busier than the worker ant, but I choose to refute that. AFS Lesotho was in high gear preparing for yet another motor vehicle auction that was held on the 14th May 2013. The day started out with AFS dedicated employees double checking that everything was in order from the AS400 system to the parking of the cars on auction into the sales yard.

7

AFS Lesotho has committed itself to improving the lives of Basotho. Recently AFS Lesotho also travelled to various districts in the mountain kingdom teaching the importance of fleet management to various Transport Officers. In some cases AFS had to travel to places with an altitude of more than 10,000 feet. Regardless of the freezing temperatures, the rugged terrain and long hours, AFS is dedicated to its customers by making sure it not only meets their requirements, but also goes the extra mile to ensure swift and first class delivery of services. Indeed, here at AFS, we try harder. After surviving the harsh colds of the Maluti Mountains, AFS Lesotho continued with its quest to continue educating and empowering its stakeholders about the importance of grasping the knowledge of fleet management. On Thursday, 16 May 2013, a fleet management meeting was held at Lehakoe Recreational Club,

Vehicles ready to go on Auction

Maseru, with transport officers from different government sectors. The objective of these meetings is not only to instill and educate transport officers about the importance of fleet management, but also to share ideas on how to better improve fleet management and also to resolve any queries that there may be or may arise between the relevant stakeholders.

Mrs. Yvonne Ozturk embracing the winter of the highlands

Keith Dell busy during the Fleet Management training


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Likuena vs. Bafana Bafana - Lesotho Sunday, 2nd of June started off as a cold winter morning with temperatures rising to a high of only 18 degrees Celsius, with winds travelling at 40km/h. Football fans on the other hand braced the harsh conditions and came out in droves to support Lesotho’s national team- Likuena. Tickets to the International friendly between these neighbouring countries went on sale on Friday, 31st May, and were completely sold out by Sunday morning. Supporters of all ages came out in full force to support this match and of course AFS were proud to be part of this sporting extravaganza. Setsoto stadium was packed with cheering fans, who sang hours before the match began, and continued right through until the last whistle. Despite losing 2-0 to Bafana Bafana, football fans clearly enjoyed themselves despite the strong winds and harsh winter cold. Avis Fleet Services Lesotho are the proud sponsors of the Lesotho Football Association, sponsoring them two sedans and a bakkie. In addition to this AFS had also thrown in an AFS Toyota Quantum to assist with transportation.

Maintenance and Service Plan Team Going Strong

Celeste Bartley (Manager: MAU Sales & Strategic Dealer Partnerships)

Desmond Phuthi (Manager: Maintenance & Service Plans, Operations)

Ria Etsebeth (Strategic Dealer Partnerships: Performance Consultant, Sales & Marketing)

The Maintenance and Service plan sales team continue to make great strides in growing Optimum Maintenance and Service Plan Sales within the Barloworld Motor Retail Dealer network. June sales figures have reached a new record high and since the team was implemented monthly sales volumes have grown by 100% to nearly 500 plans for the month. Many months of Dealer training, roadshows, process optimization and constant competitor and market review has contributed to the current success of the team. It’s still a long road ahead but with positive months such as this, there is no doubt more and exciting news to come.

8


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Avis Botswana Host Hatab Annual Conference Avis Fleet Services Botswana hosted a memorable Golf Day on the side lines of the Hospitality and Tourism Association of Botswana (HATAB) Annual Conference to help the delegates mingle and enjoy light hearted ‘fun’ and networking opportunities in a build up to the highly anticipated conference deliberations. Julian Hill, General Manager of AFS Botswana, said “Leisure travel is seen by us as a growth market in Botswana and hence we sponsor the golf annually to remind industry players that we are present in all major centres, and to participate in and support that growth.” He said, “There could always be more participants, but we were happy to mix with the important stakeholders who made the effort to join in. Support of industry members shows that we are a company that gives back to, and interacts at a social level with the industry. In fact, we not only had the chance to network with tourism players in our Avis Rent a Car capacity, but also had the opportunity to interact with existing and prospective Avis Fleet Services customers.” Hill maintained that the AVIS Botswana Golf Day helped to strengthen AVIS brand awareness and by networking with friendly and enthusiastic Avis staff showed all stakeholders that ‘people are more important than cars.“ We are a Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) aware company, and whilst this particular event sponsorship does not form part of CSR itself, we do a great deal for the orphans and needy children in Sojwe in Kweneng East and for the elderly of Old Naledi, in our support of LEBOSOSHALE Orphanage and Day Care Centre and BAGODI BA RONA Association respectively. We have a very specific budget and sustainability drive with these projects.“ A local golf guru was on the course to help guide and manage participants on the day from start to finish, ensuring that the event ran smoothly in an efficient yet relaxed atmosphere, allowing the stakeholders time to network more effectively both on and off the golf course. AFS Botswana believe passionately in the importance and effectiveness of corporate golf days as a team building opportunity and were determined to deliver a memorable event. Local golf guru Mosimanegape 'Schoolboy' Thekiso was amongst the golf enthusiasts on Day 1 of the conference and he was busy providing oversight of the sport he loves the most - golf. “My role was to officiate the tournament by making sure it was successful by attracting players and handling logistics,” said Thekiso. He said, “We wanted to make sure that Kasane is not just seen for wildlife tourism but also for leisurely activities like Golf.” Thekiso said the camaraderie shown at the event was touching. “It was nice to see that there were companies ready to sponsor this event, so that Kasane community can participate and further grow the sport.” The 9-hole golf course at Mowana Safari Lodge offered a great setting for golf enthusiasts. Local sporting beau Minkie Molatlegi, said “I enjoyed the event. The course was wonderful. The greens were lovely. There were also more sponsors than the last time.” She maintained, “The organisation of the tournament was good. There were more ladies who were playing showing the growth of the sport that is typically dominated by men. I like the idea of more women playing golf.” – Julian Hill

9


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

10


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Barloworld Worldwide Code of Conduct: Commitment The Power of Responsibility We Embrace Our Responsibilities. Individually and collectively we make meaningful commitments – first to each other and then to those with whom we work, live and serve. We understand and focus on the needs of our customers. We Put Commitment In Action When….

Basic Principles We conduct ourselves with Integrity at all times. It is the constant to which we align our thoughts, words and actions. We say what we mean and we mean what we say; we deliver what we promise. We Are Honest And Act With Integrity We hold ourselves to the highest standard of integrity and ethical behaviour consistent with our Code of Ethics. We tell the truth. We promise only what we can reasonably expect to deliver. We strive to keep our commitments.

11

We protect our physical assets, brands, information and other intellectual property. We go to extraordinary lengths to preserve, protect and responsibly use all of our assets. This includes tangible as well as intangible assets, such as our brands, technology, business information and intellectual capital. We will not make unauthorised disclosure of trade secrets or other sensitive or confidential information belonging to the company, our customers, principals or suppliers – either during our employment with the company or thereafter. Why Are We Reiterating This? The leakage of certain sensitive information has been detected. Steps have been put in place to correct the situation and limit our damages. The perpetrators will face criminal and civil charges for fraud and damages when arrested – make sure it’s not you.


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Welcome To The New Intranet – AFSConnect!! After months of hard work and long hours, the HR and IT teams have finally introduced the new and exciting website – AFSConnect. This new site has a new platform and an entirely new look.

The outcomes and objectives of AFSConnect:

How will AFSConnect help you? Benefits:

A new revived platform to facilitate easy and effective communication across businesses.

User friendly interface.

A stable, scalable platform simplifying content management.

Cohesiveness by bringing together corporate, regional and departmental sites.

Governance.

Employees are more informed and knowledgeable about policies and procedures.

Standardised Data Classification.

Information can easily be searched and retrieved.

Vibrant, easy-to-use and engaging. Facilitating effective on-line communication.

Better document management and governance.

Easily accessible content, tailored to meet users’ needs.

Reduced IT dependency-Site Owners / Dept. Heads can manage and maintain their respective sites and access controls.

12


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

COFFEE

Top ten email ‘out of office’ sins

BREAK

Few of us give much thought to our ‘out of office’ email messages, but they can be seen by hundreds of people. Below are the top ten ‘out of office’ mistakes that we’re all guilty of! The out of office email message seems to be such a simple thing. So simple in fact that most of us give it little thought. At best it’s dashed off in five minutes at the end of our final day at work before we start our holiday. At worse it’s forgotten altogether. But when composing your out of office message it’s worth remembering that this single email will probably be read by hundreds of recipients. Here are the top ten rules to follow to avoid making a heinous ‘out of office’ mistake: 1.

Don’t forget to set one up Sounds obvious but all of us have probably forgotten to set up our out of office before a break at some point or other only to return to find messages from annoyed contacts who thought we were ignoring them.

2.

Forgetting to say when you’ll be back You need to let people know when you’ll be back in the loop again right?

3.

Getting the dates wrong This is worse than forgetting to say it altogether because it makes you look stupid. We often get out of office messages from people promising to return before they depart.

4.

Going into too much detail about why you’re away and where you are going It’s just thinly veiled bragging. No one is remotely interested.

5.

Being rude You may be out of the office but that’s no excuse to be rude to people. Your out of office needs to say please and thank you. Also avoid jargon and office talk such as you’ll ‘revert’ when you get back.

6.

Being too friendly Workers often write out of office messages with their friends in mind so the tone is casual and informal. They forget that this message will be sent to everyone who gets in touch over the coming weeks so it needs to be professional. No ‘mate’s or ‘darling’s.

7.

Forgetting to give alternative contact details Just because you aren’t there doesn’t mean the business has to grind to a halt. So remember to give the details of someone who can manage enquires if you aren’t there. This leads us neatly on to sin number eight.

8.

Forgetting to tell your alternate contact that they are your alternate contact There is no point in giving your boss’s contact details without even telling her/him. Even worse he/she could be on holiday too.

9.

Trying to be funny Out of office messages should be clear; concise and polite. But they don’t need to be funny unless you’re a professional stand up.

10. Forgetting to turn it off You’ve had your holiday and now you’re back in the office. But your email keeps telling people you are still away. We’ve seen these go on for weeks and even months after someone’s return. Turn it OFF. 13


Code Red • Issue 12 • 2013

Tip Offs Anonymous Update The Tip Offs Anonymous line acts as a very important part of the governance and control processes within the Avis Fleet Services Group, extending beyond our company. Once an issue has been reported to the Tip Offs Line, an anonymous report is sent to our Chief Financial Officer, Michelle Erasmus, by the Tip Offs team. She will then direct the appropriate person within the group to investigate the allegations made, and provide her with feedback. Every 6 months the Tip Offs team independently provides the Barloworld Audit Committee with a listing of all reported items. Avis Fleet Services had 6 reported items for the period from 1 October 2012 to 31 March 2013, and during the Audit Committee meeting on 26 April 2013 we were required to give feedback on the actions taken to address or investigate each item, what the outcome was, and how quickly it was investigated or addressed. The Audit Committee is chaired by the Barloworld Limited Financial Director, and includes representatives from internal and external audit, the non-executive directors of Barloworld Limited and the various divisions of Barloworld Automotive, which shows the importance which the Group places on addressing each and every Tip Off report. Please continue to use the Tip Offs line, and to report any wrong doing that you encounter within the work place so that we can make our business a better place to work. Please do however bear in mind that grievance procedures should be handled through the Human Resource department through the appropriate procedure, and not through the Tip Offs line.

Is This How You Feel Half Way Through The Week? Inspirational Quote For The Month “Individual commitment to a group effort - that is what makes a team work, a company work, a society work, a civilization work.”

Disclaimer Code Red is an employee publication for Avis Fleet Services. It is for internal use only. The views expressed in this publication are not necessarily those of the Group or its service providers. The publication does not imply any endorsement in respect of the goods or services described. Although reasonable precautions have been taken to ensure the accuracy of the content, Avis Fleet Services cannot accept any responsibility for damages or inconvenience that may arise as a result of the content.

14

Code Red - 12  

Avis Fleet Services Staff Newsletter

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you