Page 1

Year in Review 2018–2019


Contents OUR PEOPLE, OUR STRENGTH HOW NURSES LEAD CHANGE AND INFLUENCE PURSUING YOUR PASSION NURSES RALLY FOR NURSES BRINGING NURSE LEADERS TOGETHER ACN TRIBE STRENGTHENS MAKING A GLOBAL IMPRESSION ACN CONNECTS LOCALLY CONNECTING WITH OUR TRIBE

100

94

86

66

54

48

38

18

10


President ´s welcome Professor Christine Duffield FACN It’s that time of the year when we at the Australian College of Nursing (ACN) look back over the last 12 months. The journey this year has seen us make significant advances in achieving our strategic goals while also introducing some exciting new initiatives. Throughout the year, considerable time and energy have been expended to increase recognition of the contribution that nurses and nursing make to the health of our population. A vital part of that recognition comes from nurses’ active participation in policy and decision-making at every level. The work of ACN’s four Policy Chapters over the last year – Workforce Sustainability, Ageing, Chronic Disease and End of Life Care – has been pivotal in this regard. The Board approved a White Paper titled Regulation of The Unregulated Health Care Workforce Across the Health Care System and Position Statements on; • The role of nurses in promoting healthy ageing • Voluntary assisted dying in Victoria • The role of nurses in chronic disease prevention and management in rural and remote Australia. Our growth in policy work saw 117 submissions over the past year including eight to Parliamentary Inquiries. Our Communities of Interest are also beginning to increase their influence and representation through policy work.

4

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

We anticipate that their engagement and leadership will continue to grow. In February this year we launched the inaugural MidCareer Nurse Leadership Program. Through mentoring and learning sets, these mid-career nurse leaders were guided to develop their skills both personally and professionally. They were challenged to think innovatively, to consider methods of enhancing workplace performance and to strive for excellence in patient/ resident care and outcomes. Importantly, the Program aimed to instill confidence in nurses about their own capabilities as leaders in health care. The Program has been immensely successful and I am very appreciative of the time and effort given freely to all participants by mentors and staff involved. This Program will be open again in February. While nurturing the leaders of tomorrow, ACN is proud to recognise nurse leaders who are already well on their way to improving health care for all Australians, through the inaugural Health Minister’s Award for Nursing Trailblazers. The initiative was launched in April 2019 by ACN in conjunction with The Hon Greg Hunt MP with four exceptional nurse finalists – Nikki Johnston OAM MACN, Professor Sandy Middleton FACN, Professor Jeanine Young FACN and Linda Campbell MACN. The nurse-led initiatives in which they were involved have


demonstrated a cost saving to the health and aged care systems in excess of $280 million, whilst improving patient outcomes and experiences. On behalf of the profession and the Board I would like to congratulate these nurse leaders on their exceptional contributions. At ACN, we recognise that continuing education and professional development are very important for developing nurse leaders. Over 4,000 students enrolled in our programs this year. In response to emerging health trends we introduced three new Graduate Certificates – Cosmetic Nursing, Palliative Care and Dermatology Nursing; and we also developed a new subject Endometriosis and Pelvic Pain which was funded by the Commonwealth Government. Early in 2019, the ACN Board examined its existing governance structures and processes to ensure we can continue to meet the needs of the organisation into the future. As a result, our membership has approved changes to the Constitution to introduce a skills-based Board, with the introduction of a formal nomination and selection process for those interested in standing as candidates. In closing, I have no doubt that in the year ahead there will be new and different challenges and goals to achieve, and with the support of our Board of Directors, the CEO, the Executive and the team at ACN, I am confident we will continue to develop and succeed as Australia’s foremost professional nursing organisation. Regards, Christine

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

5


CEO welcome

Adjunct Professor Kylie Ward FACN In the daily demand of our roles, we don’t often get a chance to stop, reflect and realise how the work each one of us does contributes to the societal impact that our profession makes. In honour of the significant contribution every nurse makes, every day, we too have worked tirelessly to promote the influence and impact of nurses everywhere. This Year in Review is testament to the time and efforts of everyone in the Australian College of Nursing (ACN) Tribe who has gone above and beyond our everyday roles to invest in the profession more broadly, ensuring that all Australians receive the care they deserve and all politicians understand the valuable contribution we make to building healthy communities, gender equality and greater economies. Contributing to critical and contemporary policy matters is a fundamental part of our professional voice. Over the last year, ACN has received and submitted 175 consultation requests, 90% of which were from the Government across all jurisdictions. Under the vision and leadership of the Chairs and Deputy Chairs, ACN’s Policy Chapters continue to address major policy issues. We were represented at the Royal Commission into Aged Care hearing, a landmark policy moment for ACN that proves that our collective experiences count when deciding the health and welfare of this country.

6

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

Nothing exemplifies this better than the global campaign of Nursing Now. In collaboration with the leading nursing organisations of the country, we launched Nursing Now Australia in recognition of the fact that nurses are crucial to economic growth, improvement of health and gender equality across the world. And while we are at the heart of health teams, nurses often neglect their own well-being. So, we launched a very special initiative, NurseStrong, to encourage nurses to improve their own mental, emotional, physical and spiritual health. I thank everyone who has worked to make this movement a success. Our Fellows and Members are at the core of everything we do. Thanks to your experience, expertise and commitment, we are the unparalleled leader of the nursing profession. Your leadership in our Communities of Interest and Regions has not only boosted membership but has also been a guiding force for aspiring nurse leaders. I would like to thank every person in the ACN Tribe – our membership, staff, students, Affiliates and our stakeholders. Together, we have achieved every goal and surpassed all expectations in promoting the valuable work of our nursing profession and the contribution we make in all health care settings and across the lifespan. In every postcode in Australia, on every single day,


evening and night someone is being cared for by a registered or enrolled nurse. We are a humble profession bound by honour and dignity. We dedicate our life to service of others and support of vulnerable people everywhere. There is great nobility in what each of us does. Our humility often means we don’t sell ourselves like other professions do, and that is where our ACN leads. I remain relentless in my pursuit of

social justice and equality for our profession, for women and children and for the communities we serve. Thank you for standing in solidarity with me as we forge ahead to a healthier future for all Australians with equity and access as our key priorities. Warmest Regards, Kylie

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

7


OUR 2O18-2O19 616

Graduate Certificate students

7,617

nurses took part in National Nurses Breakfast 2019 Events

32

13%

increase in membership

131

expressions of interest for MidCareer Nurse Leadership Program 2019

8

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

9

Emerging Nurse Leaders (ENLs) successfully completed the ENL Program October 2018;

45

ENLs commenced the ENL Program February 2019

Roadshow events

80

applications for Health Minister’s Award for Nursing Trailblazers 2019


HIGHLIGHT S 175

international student enrolments

Over

150+ Policy consultations completed for government and key stakeholders

10,000 Member logins on neo

More than

5,000

visitors at the Nursing and Health Expo 2019

8 Parliamentary inquiries

75

registered Community and Primary Health Care Nursing Week 2018 events

522

registrations for the National Nursing Forum 2018

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

9


OUR , E L P O E P OUR H T G N E ST R

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

11


Behind the Board The Board of Directors is responsible for the Australian College of Nursing’s (ACN) governance. ACN’s Board comprises Directors elected from, and by, the membership of ACN and two independent Directors appointed by the Board. The Board ensures that ACN has an appropriate corporate governance structure and that the organisation continues to grow and develop for the advancement of the nursing profession and in line with our Constitution.

structure to ensure it will meet the needs of the organisation into the future. As a result, the Board recommended an amendment to the Constitution, to develop a formal nomination and selection process for those interested in running as a candidate for the Board. With the Board’s dedication and expertise, ACN is predestined for a successful and sustainable future, allowing us to continue to advance nurse leadership to enhance the health care of all Australians.

Earlier this year, the ACN Board examined its own processes and reviewed its existing governance

PRESIDENT Professor Christine Duffield FACN

12

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

VICE PRESIDENT Carmen Morgan FACN

BOARD DIRECTOR Belynda Jayne Abbott FACN


BOARD DIRECTOR Adjunct Professor Susanne Hawes FACN

BOARD DIRECTOR Adjunct Professor David Plunkett FACN

BOARD DIRECTOR Professor Linda Shields FACN

BOARD DIRECTOR Leanne Smith FACN

INDEPENDENT BOARD DIRECTOR Chris Drummer GAICD

INDEPENDENT BOARD DIRECTOR Ross M Lewin CA F.FIN

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

13


The ACN team ACN is committed to its intent of advancing nurse leadership and building a strong collective voice for nursing. What translates that intent into actions is the people who make it possible – the team at ACN. The team of 78 staff members at ACN is a diverse mix of innovative, talented and dedicated individuals who constantly work towards making the organisation what it is: the pre-eminent and national leader of the nursing profession. ACN is led by a Chief Executive Officer and each of the four operational divisions – Corporate Support, Education, Professional and Commercial – are headed by an Executive Director who is supported by their respective teams. These teams work in a range of areas, including accounts, customer service, IT, events, partnerships, marketing and communications, scholarships, library, higher education, training and assessment, policy and advocacy, leadership, and engagement and representation.

NEIL HAYNES Chief Operating Officer | Executive Director, Corporate Support | Company Secretary 14

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

NATASCHJA BUDEL Executive Director, Commercial

Whether it’s resolving student queries, supporting ACN’s ever-growing technological innovation, representing the profession in major policy decisions at the highest level or advancing the ACN brand through partnerships, you can be sure that there are people working behind the scenes to make it happen and collectively ensure that the nursing voice is heard. Our people and their contribution is the secret behind the organisation’s momentum and it’s why we have gone from strength to strength, clocking new milestones. Thanks to their tireless efforts, we have been able to introduce three new graduate certificates, secure new Affiliates and launch many new initiatives such as Nursing Now Australia Challenge Calendar and NurseStrong.

We would like to thank all of you who make ACN the success it is. Our people are our power and we are powerful individually, but unstoppable together.

MARINA BUCHANAN-GREY MACN Executive Director, Professional

YVONNE MCKINLAY FACN Executive Director, Education


YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

15


A healthier and stronger community CEO Sleepout

National Close The Gap Day ACN observed National Close The Gap Day on 21 March 2019. Year after year, ACN has solidified its commitment towards promoting health equality between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and non-Indigenous Australians, whether it’s through our media publications or membership of the Close The Gap (CTG) Steering Committee. ACN is also a fund administrator for the Puggy Hunter Memorial Scholarship Scheme, designed to encourage Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people to complete their studies and join the health workforce.

16

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

For the fourth year in a row, our CEO, Adjunct Professor Kylie Ward FACN participated in the Vinnies CEO Sleepout on 20 June 2019. Kylie joined 180 other CEOs in Canberra to spend one of the longest and coldest nights of the year outside Canberra Airport Hangar 47 to raise money for the St Vincent de Paul Society which helps the homeless. Nurses are the first point of contact for many patients and as such, see firsthand the impact homelessness has on a person’s mental, physical and emotional health. It’s why we believe that nurses can especially play a part in raising awareness about homelessness.


At ACN, we engage with nurses as well as the wider community. One of the ways we do this is by connecting with our peers to celebrate or mark special occasions and important days in Australia. We’d like to give a special shout-out to our team members who go above and beyond their regular duties to make a difference to people’s lives in the community.

Biggest Morning Tea Loud Shirt Fairy Floss Friday On 1 February 2019, ACN staff dressed up in bright clothes and enjoyed fairy floss together. The idea of Loud Shirt Fairy Floss Friday is to raise awareness about those who work in health care, ‘to save the lives of those who save lives’. Based on the principle that we often spend most of our time with colleagues, Loud Shirt Fairy Floss Friday is all about speaking up about mental health issues our peers may be silently battling with.

In Australia, one in two people are diagnosed with cancer before the age of 85. On 23 May 2019, teams in both ACN offices connected to help fund Cancer Council’s life-saving research. Getting together for Australia’s Biggest Morning Tea was a fun way to share tea and treats and raise funds for those affected by cancer.


HOW S E S NUR E G N A H C D A E L AND E C N E U L F N I


Advocating for all populations Policy Summit 2019 – Canberra The Australian College of Nursing’s (ACN) third annual Policy Summit was held in March 2019 in Canberra. The Policy Summit is a forum for ACN’s Policy Chapters, nurse leaders and other high-profile health leaders to collectively identify and discuss policy opportunities and strategies. The four Policy Chapters – Chronic Disease, End of Life Care, Ageing and Workforce Sustainability – were established in 2018 to provide opportunities for leaders and experts to inform change and guide future directions through collaboration. Among those who spoke at the Summit were Emeritus Professor Jill White FACN, who was the keynote speaker, ACN’s QLD Network Chair and the Advanced Practice Chair Chris O’Donnell MACN, Former Member of the ACT Legislative Assembly Meegan Fitzharris, and the Chairs of all four Chapters.

175 846 675 15

consultation requests from government and key stakeholders

correspondence stakeholders

26

election briefs

20

blogs

publications

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

20

Position Statements new & reviewed

3,339

engagement to Members & stakeholders

98 policy briefs

26

22

focus groups

presentations


Agnis ex excesed itatuscim sinisimet re vendipit eiumqua tiorem vit od quia quias net es audia dolum fugiandio etur, nonsed exeriaeped quia ex est a doloribus de veris rectiore repere laborpo reperum acil maxima sit que cum vero quiamen iscieni squasperrum reicium aut volenis voluptatur? Qui sunt.

Policy submissions/ consultations/ WP Stats & Policy + Summit 2019

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

21


Policy Chapters

END OF LIFE CARE

CHRONIC DISEASE CHAIR: PROFESSOR LISA WHITEHEAD MACN DEPUTY CHAIR: ROBYN QUINN FACN In 2018-19 the Chapter focussed on the role of nurses in relation to obesity and young people. The members are scoping out the international evidence on the effectiveness of nurse-led interventions and seeking case studies of good practice from around Australia.

Future goals • Development of a toolkit for nurses in relation to key knowledge and interventions for practice • Development of a Position Statement, highlighting the key areas of strengths, needs and recommendations.

CHAIR: DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR PATSY YATES FACN DEPUTY CHAIR: DR MELISSA BLOOMER FACN During 2018-19 the Chapter delivered two policy documents. • A position statement on the implications of Voluntary Assisted Dying (VAD) legislation for nurses • A White Paper titled: Achieving Quality Palliative Care For All: The Essential Role Of Nurses, which summarises the evidence relating to nurse-led models in the care of people with life-limiting conditions and identifies key areas for action by government and health system managers to ensure nurses’ roles are optimised.

Future goals • Development of a toolkit to guide the implementation of nurse-led models of care • Drafting a proposal for funding to develop education programs specifically for nurses on the implications of VAD for our practice.

22

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


WORKFORCE SUSTAINABILITY

AGEING CHAIR: PROFESSOR DEBORAH PARKER MACN DEPUTY CHAIR: PROFESSOR TRISHA DUNNING FACN (DLF) • In the past year the Chapter has delivered a policy document; a Position Statement titled The role of nurses to promote healthy ageing, which highlights 11 action areas for nurses.

CHAIR: PROFESSOR LEE BOYD MACN DEPUTY CHAIR: ADJUNCT PROFESSOR ALANNA GEARY FACN During 2018-19 the Chapter had a number of aims. • Identify and approach key stakeholders at the national, international and organisational level (i.e. government, funders, CEOs, chief nurses, universities) to determine what nursing workforce data is currently being collected and what data sets exist at the national, international and organisational level to support nurse workforce planning

• This Position Statement was distributed widely throughout Australia and along with the Workforce Sustainability Policy Chapter White Paper, was submitted as evidence to the Royal Commission.

Future goals • To explore the issues of Quality Indicators for Aged Care Services and look at the current national and international evidence for these Indicators and collate the evidence into a discussion paper.

• Develop a Decision Framework (template/flowchart) to assist workforce planners with staffing decisions • Develop a National Minimum Data Set (METeOR compliant; EBAs defined) to assist workforce planners with staffing decisions • Prepare a scoping paper (1-2 pages) for publication, Position Statement and White Paper with recommendations and/or protocol.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

23


White Papers

24

Achieving Quality Palliative Care for All: The Essential Role of Nurses (2019)

Regulation of the Unregulated Health Care Workforce Across the health care system (2019)

Presents evidence of the benefits of nurse-led palliative care and calls for funding nurse-led care models and staffing, and systemic reforms to reduce barriers to nursing practice.

Calls for the Australian government to address the lack of regulation of health care workers who are increasingly assuming the work of nurses, posing significant risks to patients’ safety and well-being.

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Position Statements Clinical Supervision for Nurses and Midwives (2019)

The Role of Nurses in Promoting Healthy Ageing (2019)

Clinical Supervision of health care staff impacts positively on outcomes for service-users and is increasingly recognised as a core component of professional support for contemporary nursing and midwifery practice.

Nurse-led models of care should be developed, implemented and evaluated to support healthy ageing and inform policy for older Australians.

Sustainable Access to Prescription Opioids for Use in Palliative Care (2019)

ACN recognises that high-quality nursing care for all at end of life is responsive to the needs, preferences and values of people, their families and carers. As per the Act, a nurse can choose not to engage in any part of Voluntary Assisted Dying, but must practice according to the profession’s code of conduct when providing care for people who choose this approach to end of life care.

All Australians receiving palliative care must be able to access necessary opioids to manage and prevent suffering from uncontrolled pain and other symptoms. There should be a review of the Medicare Benefits Schedule specific to palliative care by way of item numbers and explanatory notes to facilitate consultation in primary and specialist practice.

The Role of Nurses in Chronic Disease Prevention and Management in Rural and Remote Areas (2019) To enable nurses to work to their full potential through support to meet the needs of rural and remote communities. Collect and disseminate evidence of the impact of nursing on access, quality and costs in rural and remote areas and ensure evidence is incorporated into policy and acted upon. Rigorous intervention studies in rural and remote areas are needed. Accompanying Discussion Paper: Improving Health Outcomes in Rural and Remote Australia: Optimising the Contribution of Nurses (2018)

Voluntary Assisted Dying in Victoria (2019)

ACN’s view on Climate-related Health Matters (2019) ACN recommends that the Australian Government adopt and implement the Climate and Health Alliance’s Framework for a National Strategy on Climate, Health and Well-being for Australia. ACN also recommends that the Australian Government apply a Health in all Policies (HiAP) approach and consider the United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals for all policy making decisions. ACN has adopted the International Council of Nurses Statement titled ‘Nurses, climate change and health’.

Administering Cosmetic Treatment and Cosmetic Procedures (2018) ACN recognises the increasing demand for cosmetic services in Australia and advocates that all nurses working in the cosmetic treatment and procedures industry must provide holistic care that reflects best practice. YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

25


ACN in mainstream media Senate and Parliamentary inquiries August 2018

October 2018

Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission Inquiry into Cosmetic Health Services Complaints in NSW

Standing Committee on Health, Aged Care and Sport: Inquiry into the Aged Care Amendment (Staffing Ratio Disclosure) Bill 2018

Purpose: To look into and report on the regulatory framework for complaints concerning cosmetic health service providers in NSW, following many incidents involving unqualified/unregulated staff conducting cosmetic surgeries that led to harmful results. Action: ACN made a submission to this inquiry and presented at a hearing upon invitation. We discussed the role of nurses in enhancing patient safety as they are at the frontline of health care, as well as regulatory requirements.

September 2018 Still Birth and Education, Senate Committee Inquiry Purpose: To inquire and report on the future of stillbirth research and education in Australia. Action: ACN made a submission to this committee, particularly bringing up issues regarding the lack of consistent language and definitions, as well as the lack of consistent national data collected. ACN presented at the inquiry’s public hearing and presented these issues and highlighted nurses’ role in raising awareness and care provision. 26

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

Purpose: To inquire and report on the Aged Care Amendment (Staffing Ratio Disclosure) Bill 2018. The Bill proposes the quarterly reporting of the ratio of aged care recipients to aged care staff (staffing ratio) by aged care providers. The Bill proposes this reporting also requires the break-down of staff by direct-care employees and level. Action: ACN generally supported this Bill with regards to transparency on staffing levels for each aged care facility to assess safety and quality of care with a Position Statement and White Paper.

February 2019 Inquiry into the Effectiveness of the Aged Care Quality Assessment and Accreditation Framework ACN made a submission to this inquiry in 2018, highlighting the concerning level of elder abuse and mistreatment within aged care in Australia. Further, ACN presented to the Committee four main recommendations in this regard. ACN also highlighted previous submissions made by it to highlight these concerns since 2016 to the Australian Law Reform Commission.


February 2019 Royal Commission Aged Care hearing Adjunct Professor Deborah Parker MACN, current Chair of the ACN Ageing Policy Chapter, presented at the Royal Commission into Aged Care hearing, on behalf of ACN, based on a submission ACN had made to the Royal Commission. Adjunct Professor Parker presented ACN’s concerns and recommendations around education and presence of registered nurses in Aged Care Facilities, unsupervised student nurses in Aged Care Facilities, as well as the Quality Indicator Program. ACN has since made another submission to the Royal Commission with extensive discussion and recommendations.

MEDIA RELEASES

48

May 2019 Parliamentary Inquiry into Workplace Fatigue and Bullying in South Australia hospitals and health services ACN made a submission to this inquiry, responding to the Terms of Reference and providing many recommendations on managing and preventing bullying and fatigue in health care settings generally and particularly for nurses. A major issue was the extent of bullying nurses had been experiencing in South Australia (SA) hospitals as well as fatigue arising due to staff shortages and nurse rosters. ACN was invited to the public hearing and presented recommendations.

To view ACN’s submissions to inquiry and related Position Statements/White Papers, please go to acn.edu.au/policy

PODCASTS

5

31 RADIO / TV APPEARANCES

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

27


Making our voices heard An important part of making sure nurses are represented at the policy table is to engage with Members of Parliament. The Australian College of Nursing strives to actively communicate with leaders in government who can influence policy for a better future, for the nursing profession as well as patients.

With Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison at the Australian War Memorial

With Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development for Queensland Meaghan Scanlon MP 28

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

With Federal Minister for Health The Hon Greg Hunt MP

With Leader of the Australian Greens Senator Richard Di Natale at National Nursing Forum 2018

With Shadow Minister for Health & Medicare Catherine King MP


Belynda Jane Abbott FACN on ABC Brisbane Radio

Kath Baird MACN in an interview for WIN News as her daughter watches on

For making change in health policy, nurses have to make sure that they speak up about important issues. By being more media-visible, Fellows and Members of the Australian College of Nursing ensure that their expertise is represented in policy development throughout the country’s health and aged care system.

Adjunct Professor Deborah Parker MACN at Royal Aged Care Commission

On WIN News to talk about the launch of Health Minister’s Award for Nursing Trailblazers

Interview with ABC News about abuse in aged care

At the Senate Inquiry into Aged Care Staffing Ratios

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

29


Trailblazers We’re proud of the extraordinary contributions nurse leaders make to Australia’s health care system through their innovation and research. In April 2019, we acknowledged these exceptional nurses with the inaugural Health Minister’s Award for Nursing Trailblazers. All four finalists are outstanding high achievers in their specialist fields and have been influential in dramatically improving the quality of health and aged care in Australia.

Trailblazer Winner Nikki Johnston MACN OAM For work on a unique model that empowers both health care workers and families to improve living and dying for older Australians

If dying is recognised, normalised and planned for, patients get the physical, emotional, social and spiritual care they deserve in their last months of life.

30

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

The ‘Palliative Care Needs Rounds’ model integrates specialist palliative care into residential aged care by helping staff identify residents most at risk of dying without an adequate plan in place. Staff are mentored and supported by a specialist palliative care clinician. The intervention improved staff confidence in discussing death and dying with families and planning for symptoms and goals of care at end of life. Residents were more likely to experience a better-quality death including better symptom control and advance care planning. They were more likely to die in their preferred place of death. Participation in the study also saved a substantial amount of money in reduced hospitalisation.


Trailblazer Finalist Professor Jeanine Young FACN For work on uniting cultural practices and safe sleep environments for Indigenous Australian infants The Pepi-Pod Program is an innovative and culturally acceptable strategy to reduce risk of shared sleep environments for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander families. It focuses on a practical solution that allows parents to keep their baby close during the night which they value, whilst providing a safer sleep environment; achieving both support for parents and protection for baby. Additionally, it reduces the smoking-bedsharing interaction which significantly increases risk of infant death.

Trailblazer Finalist Professor Sandy Middleton FACN For work on evidence-based nursing care for stroke patients Sandy has led the Quality in Acute Stroke Care (QASC) Program, comprised of multiple, multidisciplinary collaborative research projects conducted over 14 years. The seminal trial published in The Lancet in 2011 found that implementation of nurse-initiated protocols used in the first 72 hours following stroke to manage fever, raised glucose levels and swallowing difficulties (the FeSS Protocols) significantly decreased death and dependency 90-days post-stroke. Her team has successfully translated this intervention into all 36 NSW stroke units.

Trailblazer Finalist Linda Campbell MACN For work leading a blood management program for primary joint replacement patients in rural and remote areas Linda leads the blood management program for primary joint replacement patients. The program employs a proactive approach of improving blood counts before major surgery that involves significant blood loss. By optimising haemoglobin and iron stores preoperation, patients can recover their own haemoglobin post-operation, avoid chances of blood transfusion and improve recovery. The program has also reduced demand on donor blood as well as joint replacement transfusion rates.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

31


The ENL program has opened doors I didn’t know existed! It has reminded me to take every opportunity offered and to look everywhere for opportunities to be created. Engaging with nurse leaders and peers from all over Australia has been inspiring – the program has galvanised me to contribute as meaningfully as I can to the goal of advancing the status and profile of nursing. Nick Hayward MACN (Undergraduate), ENL Stage 1

My nursing graduate year served as a challenge being carer and advocate to vulnerable individuals. Simultaneously as an ENL, the National Nursing Forum highlighted my capacity to advocate for marginalised populations through research, public health and policy regardless of my age. Aira Abarra MACN, ENL Stage 2 32

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Our Emerging Nurse Leaders With the Emerging Nurse Leader (ENL) program, we’re honoured to be associated with ambitious nurses who are constantly seeking opportunities and challenges to become nurse leaders. The ENL program comprises five stages, each of which lasts for nine months. Through self-assessment and mentoring from ACN Fellows and Members, ENLs learn to provide effective nurse leadership and develop a social, ethical and professional understanding of contemporary health care environments.

I believe ‘leadership’ can only be born from a propensity to improve the community in which we live. The Emerging Nurse Leader program has not only refined my leadership skills – it has also given me a platform for acting on issues I am passionate about. Highlights of the program include the networks I’ve built, the mentoring I have received and the opportunity to attend/present at the National Nursing Forum. I’m endlessly inspired, and simultaneously driven by the people I’ve met through ACN and am eternally grateful for their investment in my work. Catelyn Richards MACN, ENL Stage 3

ENLs and members of the Millennial Panel Prachi Javalekar MACN, Hollie Jaggard MACN, Christopher Hinder MACN and Tammie Breneger MACN with ACN CEO Kylie Ward FACN at the National Nursing Forum 2018 YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

33


The Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program is about personal development as much as it is about professional development. I’ve learnt that I have a lot more knowledge and skill than I give myself credit for, and that’s one of the best things about the program, it brings out the best in you and instills so much confidence in you as a person and as a nurse leader. Janette Webster MACN (Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program participant)

34

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program ACN prides itself on championing the cause of nurse leadership, no matter what stage of their career nurses may be in. With the launch of the Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program in June 2019 in Canberra, 22 participants took part in a five-day intensive program with some of the most influential and experienced leaders in our profession. Over six months, these nurse leaders were supported with learning sets and coaching while they complete a project or a quality improvement initiative. As the organisation leading Nursing Now in Australia, ACN is proud to support Nursing Now’s Nightingale Challenge. The initiative calls for 20,000 young nurses and midwives to receive leadership and development training so that they can play an even more influential role in global health. To express our commitment to the cause and to advancing nurses’ careers, ACN has provided five $1,000 scholarships for the Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program to applicants aged 35 and under. We also invited organisations to partner with us by offering subsidised group registration rates for participants for the program.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

35


What Fellows and Members are saying about #ACNTribe Being a part of the ACN community opens a world of opportunities for networking, professional development and leadership.

Times are a changing. We have a voice, hear us roar. Anthony Russell FACN

Paris McMahon MACN (Undergraduate)

Grateful to have met so many amazing nurse leaders and role models. Nick Hayward MACN (Undergraduate)

So excited for the year to come! #NightingaleChallenge and #yearofthenurse2020. What a brilliant time to be launching into my career as a #RegisteredNurse. ACN, keeping an eye on you for ways to be involved. Georgia Borshoff MACN (Undergraduate)

36

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Our Tribe is the reason we are growing bigger and better year on year. Here’s what they have to say about ACN.

Thanks again for the opportunity, ACN, to impart my experiences and knowledge to members. Kylie Hasse MACN

#ACNTribe are #gamechangers

Proud of being in the ACN tribe and promoting the global Nursing Now Campaign! Kazuma Honda MACN

Loving my ENL journey and the opportunities I have received. Jodie Louise MACN

Adjunct Professor Anna M Shepherd FACN (Hon)

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

37


G N I U S R PU R U O Y N O I S S PA


New Graduate Certificates As a premier education provider, we are constantly seeking ways to enable nursing professionals to gain the qualifications they need to specialise in their chosen field. As such, we introduced three brand new Graduate Certificates in the past year – Cosmetic Nursing, Dermatology Nursing and Palliative Care. Our Graduate Certificates are designed to be studied in a flexible learning environment and help students build their skills for the provision and coordination of evidence-based care. We also partnered with the University of Canberra to offer students an articulation to an online Master of Nursing degree in just one year of study if they successfully complete any of ACN’s 18 Graduate Certificates.


CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT COURSES As a Registered Training Organisation (RTO), ACN provides nurses with continuing professional development (CPD) courses that cater for all nurses in every stage of their career. ACN embraces various forms of education delivery – customised education, distance education (DE), specialty courses, face-to-face, online and webinars, or a combination of these. Our face-to-face CPD programs are offered across Australia with scheduled courses in ACT, NSW, NT, QLD, SA, TAS, VIC and WA. ACN’s clinical courses are co-developed with industry partners, ensuring participants engage in current evidencebased practices and are career-focussed, assuring a valuable experience.

CPD COURSE LIST Assessment of the Older Person Advanced Pain Management Become a More Resilient You Become a NextGen Leader Become a Workplace Coach Become a Workshop Facilitator Become the Perfect Manager Breast Cancer Nurse Practicum Breathing Life into Infection Prevention and Control Standards and Policies Cannulation and Phlebotomy Care of the Patient Undergoing Cardiac Surgery Change/Project Management

Comprehensive Patient Care in Clinical Deterioration

Nurses & Midwives – Our Stories. What is Fact or Fiction?

Cultural Safety

Older People with Diabetes – Who Are They and What Do They Need

Central Venous Access Devices (CVAD) Deteriorating Patient Diabetes Update Enhancing Leadership in a Rural Area Ensuring Quality in Health and Aged Care Feedback & Debriefing Immunisation Update Intellectual Disability and Health – Practical Insights and Strategies for Nurses

Child & Family Health Skills Workshop

Introduction to Interventional Cardiology

Clinical Assessment of the Older Person

Introduction to Pain

Clinical Education Toolkit Clinical Leadership and SelfDevelopment – Leading from Where You Are Clinical Teaching and Workplace Assessments

Introduction to Urology Study Day Mental Health First Aid Training Mental Health Update Musculoskeletal Overview NSQHS Standards (2nd ed) – Changes and Challenges

Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness for General Nurses Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness for Perioperative Nurses Perioperative Standards Post Presentation & Launching your Research Career Preceptorship Presentation Skills for Nurses and Midwives: An Interactive Workshop Self-Management: A Life Skill Strategy in Chronic Care STEMIs & Principles of PCI Stress Management Within Team Building from the Inside Out Urology Study Day Working with Empathy in Healthcare Wound Management Update Wound Round

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

41


Thank you to all our inspirational nursing and health care experts, Terrie Adams Nadine Alcorn MACN Judy Andrew Romit Faiza Anwar Julianne Arundale Rachael Barton Karen Grant Jayne Grbin Madeline Hall MACN Barbara Hasenoehrl MACN Teresa Heffernan Amanda Hicks MACN Philippa Holland Amanda McGregor Carmel O’Kane Nicole Pares Vicki Patton MACN Carolyn Pendrich Sara Peterson Marel Pike FACN Gabrielle Prest FACN Ingrid Pryde MACN Lynn Rapley Jenny Rivera Heather Robertson MACN Michelle Rosano Tracey Selinger Kath Seward Saved Sibanda Melissa Sinfield MACN Judy Smith Lhyriel Smith MACN Kay Souter Irene Stein Lai-Yoong Tan Nirosha Thapa Lisa Thomasson David Tsui MACN Katrine Tuckey MACN Frances Usherwood Debra Van den Berg Jo-Anne Marie Vidal Karen Walker Tara Walker Nicole Walsh Wendy Watson MACN Megan White Nicole Whiting Louise Wightman MACN Theresa Winston

Tutors and markers

Jennifer Wressell MACN Karen Wynne Alison Bell Jessica Merry Roxanne Hopkins MACN Wendy Bradford Mary Middleton MACN Sarah Hughes Janice Brault MACN Andrea Miller Gaganpreet Kaur Rebecca Broomfield Sharon Murcott Belinda Kendall Tracey Bruce Ruth Mursa Meredith Kirkpatrick Susan Cameron Susan Murton Patrizia Kitney Sam Capolino Gift Mutsonziwa Heather Landells Patrick Cashman Carmel O’Kane Janice Layh MACN Linda Clarke Nicole Pares Robina Lentell David Collins Vicki Patton MACN Megan Leuenberger Tanya Connell Angelina Dayal Louise Maher Susan Corby Debra Deasey Jane Martin Susan Darby Linda Deys Kylie McCarthy Priya Govindaswamy-Munirathinam Jasmin Douglas Janet Farmer Marilyn Gendek FACN Donna Drew Donna Fisher Debra Gilbertson MACN Aruna Ellis Heather Gale MACN

42

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


educators and academics for sharing their expertise with our students. Angel Wang Angela Taylor Angelina Dayal Annette Callaghan Anu Solomon Belinda MacGillivray-O’Mara MACN Bertrand Tang Bettina Cheleski Carolina Limcauco-Gray Catherine Ann Rich Catherine Formosa Claudia Zimmer-Robitschko Daniel Tissot Diane Rose Doreen Mccormack Fariba Hosseinsazi Fiona Niven Gary Pratt MACN Giselle (Jill) de Leon Hassan Nazih Mouchawrab Helen Chantiri Ilana Jayne Haseltine MACN Patricia Davidson FACN Junaid Minhas Karen Pascual Karon Coombs MACN Kassem Taleb Kat Leung Katrina Victoria Camello Kirsten Masters

Clinical facilitators

Kirsten Petersen Leanne Allen Lesley Bramston MACN Lisa Caine Louise Wightman MACN Louise Wardle Louise Sheehy Lynne Weekley Marinelle Doctor Matthew Tang Melanie Mahura Meredith Kirkpatrick Merilyn Seaton Michelle Tolentino Molly John Jane Gardener Bos Janice Brault MACN Jay Balante MACN Jennifer MacFarlane Naguie Ibrahim Natalie Louise Bogeski Navdeep Arora Ngaire Brennan Nicholas Pedavoli Ofelia Agustin Pauline Clowes Rachael Barton Renee Pinkney MACN Sally Delaney Sam Capolino Shainaz Khoja Socorro Parra Bohorquez Teresa Zhang Teresa Heffernan Tessa McKune Tracey Selinger Jennifer Cairns Jennita Abra Jinky Domingo-Buere John Wagner

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

43


Customised education No two organisations are the same and every student has unique learning needs. At ACN, we recognise these differences and cater to them through our offering of customised education. Not only do our exceptional nurse educators work to develop program outlines tailored to specific needs, we also offer flexibility in terms of the format and the venue where the workshop can be conducted. It’s an educational experience that is truly bespoke.

Immunisation Update ACN’s intent is to continually offer courses that are contemporary and relevant to meet the needs of our students and industry. Consequently, we have taken on board student and industry feedback and made some quality improvements to our Immunisation for Health Practitioners course scheduled for August 2019, including: • Streamlined assessments, with the course more relevant for practice, enabling our students to be better equipped to take their skills to the workplace • Implementation of an interactive and engaging learning delivery system with opportunities to interact with other students • Hours have been reduced to 120 hours over 10 weeks with a stronger focus on immunisation practice with no written academic assessments.

44

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

Enrolled nurses training in medication advancement The new Northern Territory medication policy allows enrolled nurses to administer intravenous medication. In May, our nurse educators conducted an IV medication administration refresher course for ENs in association with Top End Health Service (TEHS). Over the two-day course, around 40 nurses were introduced to theory components including drug calculation exam and simulation.


Graduate Certificate in Nursing (Bridging & Re-entry) In the past year, ACN’s Bridging and Re-entry course (earlier known as Entry Program for Internationally Qualified Nurses or EPIQ), which equips internationally qualified nurses to perform to Australian practice standards, was transitioned into a Graduate Certificate. We received a staggering 4,000 applications for the course which is accredited by the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council and Tertiary Education Quality Standards Agency.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

45


Graduation ceremony The graduation ceremony: a brief history In an address given by Emeritur Professor RHC Davis (reprinted in his book), at a graduation ceremony at the University of Birmingham, he spoke of the origins of the ceremony. Following is an excerpt from the book, From Alfred the Great to Stephen:

The graduation ceremony is one of great antiquity. Its essential features have been the same since the 12th century when universities first came into existence. Its necessary constituents are the Chancellor or his deputy, the academic staff, the graduands, and the public. The word ‘degree’ comes from the Latin gradus, which means ‘a step’. When students are admitted to the degree of Bachelor of Arts, they move one step towards the mastership. When they are admitted to the degree of MA (masters), they climb another step and come up on a level with the masters, who then receive them into their guild or universitas. In the Middle Ages, they would then have stayed on the dais, so that their old master could invest them with the symbols of office. But that was only part of the business. The new master had to deliver an inaugural lecture, entertain the whole guild of masters to dinner, and preside over disputations for 40 days continuously. For that reason, taking one’s MA was called ‘inception’, or the beginning of one’s career as a master. Every year, at the National Nursing Forum, ACN felicitates students who successfully complete our Graduate Certificate courses. Dr Veronica Croome MACN and ACN President Professor Christine Duffield FACN welcomed graduates at the graduation ceremony, a special occasion to acknowledge their hard work, commitment and achievements.

46

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


ACN Grants and Awards Our Grants and Awards are one of the many exclusive benefits our Fellows and Members receive. We have always been proud of being able to support students who aspire to be nurse leaders and count patient care as one of their life’s passions. In 2018, ACN administered two new scholarships, the Crestani Scholarship in Cancer Nursing and the Vative Healthcare Scholarship.

ACN Grants and Awards recipients 2018 Patricia Slater Award: Enara Larcombe MACN Joyce Wickham Memorial Grant: Susan Nunan MACN Eric Murray Quiet Achiever Award: Diane Atkinson MACN Bequest Fund for Research: Thomas Mathew MACN The College Consortium Research Grant: Nicole Marsh MACN ACN Scholarship Grant: Billie Ruddock MACN ACN Conference and Study Tours Scholarship: Bronwyn Everett MACN and Dr Elizabeth Kepreotes MACN

Australian Government funded Scholarships ACN continues to administer the Puggy Hunter Memorial Scholarship Scheme, which financially assists Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander undergraduate students in an eligible health-related discipline. Over the past year, we have also supported our students completing courses under the Nursing and Allied Health Scholarship and Support Scheme.

ACN Foundation In order for nurses to be the best leaders they can be and to enhance Australian health care, we established the Australian College of Nursing Foundation in 2017. The Foundation, which received an initial donation of $5 million, will ensure that nurses are supported to pursue their expertise and influence in all health care settings to advance nursing practice. Nurses – by sheer weight of their numbers, their knowledge based in science and humanities and access to all areas of health – are the single most cost-effective resource to health services. And it is the Foundation’s commitment to ensure they are afforded the opportunity to access high-end leadership development that the Australian health system needs from the profession. YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

47


S E S R U N R O F Y L L RA S E S R U N


NURSE STRONG Nurses take care of everyone in need – but who takes care of us? As nurses, we give so much of ourselves and so, in a bid to give something back, the Australian College of Nursing (ACN) launched the NurseStrong movement in August 2018. NurseStrong is a unique initiative that not only aims to help nurses get physically fitter, but emotionally, spiritually and mentally stronger too. The inaugural NurseStrong challenge commenced with 1,500 nurses completing a free 12-week exercise and healthy eating program run by personal trainer Lauren Hannaford of FHIT by Lauren Hannaford. The program was designed so nurses can take part anywhere and at any time of the day. With our motivational NurseStrong

50

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

calendar, nurses track their nutrition, exercise and mindfulness goals every month. We also promoted Active April – encouraging participants to increase their daily steps, Mindful May – making time to be fully aware and present of our emotions and the Random Acts of Kindness cards so participants could share positive messages with those around them. We were thrilled to see the enthusiastic response among nurses country-wide and hope that nurses continue to look after their own well-being as much as their patients’. Let’s be #ACNNurseStrong together. Join our Facebook group ‘NurseStrong Private Group’ to connect with other nurses who are part of this movement.


Men in nursing Nursing isn’t only a profession – it’s a vocation. And it can be anybody’s calling, whether they are male or female. In August 2018, we launched the Men in Nursing initiative which calls for more men in the nursing profession and endeavours to address the barriers they face in doing so. ACN formed the Men in Nursing Working Party, a group that is dedicated to improving the nursing workforce to allow for the greater retention and recruitment of men. Luke Yokota MACN, one of ACN’s Emerging Nurse Leaders, is the Chair of this national Working Party. To support this initiative, ACN together with the working party announced the intention to create the Men in Nursing eBook, calling for stories from men about their journeys as nurses, as well as accomplishments and challenges in the nursing profession.

Some of the Members of the Men in Nursing Working Party 52

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

Objectives The objective of this project is to change the perception of nursing in Australia to be inclusive of men. This will achieve the following: • Increase the number of men entering the nursing profession after school i.e. as their first profession • Meet the predicted shortfall of nursing workforce demand • Remove the stigma that nursing is a profession for women only • Encourage men to work in areas of nursing outside of critical care, mental health and administration/ management


• Retain men in nursing • Understand the issues faced by men entering and staying in the nursing profession • Send an overarching message to the community that it’s okay for men to care.

Members of the Working Party Luke Yokota MACN (Chair), Lee Poole MACN (Deputy Chair), Ariel Yokota MACN, Kate Barnewall MACN, Ben Chiarella MACN, David Stanley MACN, Prachi Javalekar MACN, Shauna Wilson MACN, Nicholas Hayward MACN (Undergraduate), Christopher Hinder MACN, Haydon Cunninghame MACN, Jennifer Smith MACN, Kylie Hasse MACN and Tammie Breneger MACN

Sexual Harassment and/or Sexual Assault of Nurses by Patients Taskforce & Diversity and Inclusion Working Party As the pre-eminent and national leader of the nursing profession ACN continually raises awareness of issues faced by nurses in Australia. Over the past months we have created two new social impact initiatives, allowing Members to make a difference to our profession and the well-being of nurses. In line with the #MeToo campaign, the Sexual Harassment and/or Sexual Assault of Nurses by Patients Taskforce proposes to set a new standard of behaviour and expectation for the nursing profession now and into the future. The taskforce aims to propose action, develop a position statement and set a new standard of expectation for the nursing profession. The Diversity and Inclusion Working Party has been formed to provide direction and advice to ensure nurses understand their role in diversity and inclusion and the nursing profession is leading the way, in our industry. The Working Party is focusing on the development of a position addressing key priorities to ensure that nurses are able to work in a culturally safe and inclusive industry.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

53


G N I G N I BR E S NUR S R E D A E L R E H T E G O T


28–30 AUGUST 2018 Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

National Nursing Forum 2O18 The Australian College of Nursing’s (ACN) signature annual leadership and education event took place at Gold Coast in August 2018. Over three days, almost 600 delegates from the nursing profession shared ideas and experiences through keynote speeches, presentations and workshops.

Another highlight of the Forum was the opportunity for delegates to engage with federal government leaders, Federal Minister of Health, The Hon Greg Hunt MP, Shadow Minister for Health and Medicare, Ms Catherine King MP and Leader of the Australian Greens, Senator Richard Di Natale.

The theme of the National Nursing Forum 2018 was ‘Diversity and Difference’, giving all those participating a chance to reflect on nursing’s inclusiveness and advocacy for quality care for all.

We also celebrated ACN’s newest Fellows and Distinguished Life Fellow, winners of ACN Grants and Awards and the recipients of our Graduate Certificates at ACN’s graduation ceremony. At the Gala Dinner, delegates had the perfect chance to let their hair down on the dance floor and enjoy a delicious three-course meal. Highlights of the evening included talks by Assistant Minister for Tourism Industry Development for Queensland Meaghan Scanlon MP and Cathy McGuane of The Health Union.

Delegates heard from two of Queensland’s health sector leaders, Senior Policy Advisor to The Hon Cameron Dick MP, Dr Michael Riordan and Queensland Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Adjunct Professor Shelley Nowlan FACN. Adjunct Associate Professor Veronica Casey FACN delivered a compelling oration on ‘Everything old is new again’, which focussed on watershed moments that altered the course of nursing history.

56

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

57


58

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


ACN 's 3rd History Conference The ACN 3rd History Conference held on 27 August 2018 at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre, showcased how the nursing profession and its many contexts have developed over time. The members of the predecessors of ACN – The Royal College of Nursing, Australia and The College of Nursing – laid foundations with history events over many decades.

Thank you to ACN’s History Community of Interest for championing this conference and ensuring its success. ACN would specifically like to thank the organising committee for all of their efforts: Mrs Marilyn Gendek FACN, Dr Lesley Potter FACN, Dr Gillian Ray-Barruel MACN, Ms Lesley Siegloff FACN and Professor Russell.

High-profile nurses and historians presented across the day, sharing our profession’s rich and insightful history. ACN was proud to be able to launch two books at the History Conference. Both books, Unlocking the Past: A Guide to the Australian College of Nursing Archival Collection and A Tapestry of Service. The Evolution of Nursing in Australia were compiled and edited by Emeritus Professor R Lynette Russell AO FACN (DLF), ACN’s Honorary Archivist.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

59


T N , S G N I R P S E

ALIC

A W , E M O BRO

ACN National Membership Roadshows 60

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


The ACN team organised nine National Membership Roadshows in the past year across Australia’s major cities and some regional centres. ACN roadshows are an excellent opportunity for us to engage in discussion with nurse leaders in Australia from the public, private, aged care and primary health care sectors and to facilitate the opportunity for them to engage with regional politicians. We thank everyone for welcoming ACN, stay tuned for more in the coming year!

A W , Y R U B BUN

DARWIN, NT YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

61


CANBERRA

, ACT

WAGGA WAGGA, N S W

62

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

PERT H, WA


IC V , E N R U O B MEL

SYDNEY, N

SW YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

63


17–23 SEPTEMBER 2018

A highlight of our annual calendar, this year the event boasted participation from over 1,700 nurses. It put the spotlight on community and primary health care nurses and the vital role they play in our society’s health and well-being. From helping us spread the word and entering our poster competition to hosting and attending events, you embodied our 2018 campaign message – Be Seen. Be Heard. Belong. Nurses – no matter where they are – continue to make a difference.

64

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


With a record 6,000 students, nurses, midwives and other health professionals in attendance, ACN’s Nursing & Health Expo held annually in Melbourne continues to be a great success. The Expo is the one place you need to be if you’re considering a nursing career, if you are a nurse seeking more opportunities or are a nursing student. We pride ourselves on connecting visitors with a range of organisations including hospitals, health care services, educational institutions and specialty nursing groups that help aspiring nurse leaders advance their career in the direction they choose.

Here at ACN, we celebrate nurses and all they do and we encourage nurses across Australia to do the same. On International Nurses Day 2019, nurses and their supporters in over 160 events came together to celebrate ACN National Nurses Breakfast. The theme this year was ‘Nurses: A Voice to Lead – Health for All’, a call for us to seek to ensure equal access and quality of care for all Australians. We loved seeing happy faces across the country acknowledging the invaluable contribution of nurses to our society.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

65


E B I R T S ACN N E H T G N E ST R


Our Fellows Our Fellows and Members are the foundation of ACN. By awarding ACN Fellowship and Distinguished Life Fellowship to our deserving members, we acknowledge their vital contributions to making nursing a discernible voice at every level.

ACN Fellowship – acknowledging accomplishments Fellowship of ACN is a prestigious member status awarded to nurse leaders who have demonstrated significant professional achievement. It recognises their professional leadership capabilities, commitment and contribution to the organisation and to the profession.

Distinguished Life Fellowship Distinguished Life Fellowship (DLF) is awarded to exceptional nurse leaders in recognition of their active participation in ACN and significant contribution to the profession and to health care through clinical practice, education, research, policy and/or management. We are proud to recognise the following nurse leaders who were invested as Fellows and DLFs at the National Nursing Forum in 2018.

68

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

Fellow Dr Ruth De Souza FACN Mrs Helen Eccles FACN Dr Lesley Potter FACN Adjunct Professor Anna Shepherd FACN (Hon) Dr John Rolley FACN Lt Commander Anthony James Russell FACN Ms Susan Williams FACN Associate Professor Georgina Willetts FACN

Distinguished Life Fellow Professor R Lynette Russell AO FACN (DLF)


YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

69


State & Territory leaders

ACT

Our Networks all over Australia create opportunities for member engagement in each state and territory. Networks are underpinned by ACN’s Regions which allow Fellows and Members in their area to connect with each other. Each Network is headed by a Chair and has the significant responsibility of promoting ACN in their state or territory. Importantly, the Chair represents the ACN Chief Executive Officer in their designated Network at external meetings and liaises with political leaders and other stakeholders. We deeply value the efforts of our Chairs as well as the leadership and vision they bring to their Networks and have utmost confidence in their capabilities not only to advance the presence of ACN in their regions, but the nursing profession as well.

AUSTRALIAN CAPITAL TERRITORY Kath Baird MACN Chair

NT

The State and Territory leaders are supported by other Region-based roles, namely Chair, Deputy Chair, Communication Coordinator and Secretariat Support. NORTHERN TERRITORY Anthony Russell FACN Acting Chair

70

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


NSW

QLD

QUEENSLAND Christopher O’Donnell MACN Chair

TAS

SA

VIC

TASMANIA Nancy Arnold FACN Chair

SOUTH AUSTRALIA Moira Noonan MACN Chair

NEW SOUTH WALES Robyn Quinn FACN Chair

VICTORIA Dr Jennifer-Weller Newton FACN Chair

WA

WESTERN AUSTRALIA Sheralee Tamaliunas MACN Chair

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

71


Northern Territory – North

Queensland – Central New South Wales – Central & Far West

Northern Territory – Central Australia Western Australia

New South Wales – Sydney

Queensland – Brisbane NSW

Central & Far West

South Australia Victoria – Geelong Victoria – Melbourne Tasmania Victoria – Goulburn & Murray Australian Capital Territory

72

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Region Leadership Teams Australian Capital Territory Chair: Kath Baird MACN Deputy Chair: Rowena Hogan MACN Communication Coordinator: Meagen Bransgrove MACN Secretariat Support: Tim Keun MACN

New South Wales – Central & Far West Chair: Jennifer Manning MACN Deputy Chair: Maryanne Podham MACN Communication Coordinator: Deborah Magee MACN Secretariat Support: Patience Moyo MACN

New South Wales – Sydney Chair: Robyn Quinn FACN Deputy Chair: Dr Samantha Jakimowicz MACN Communication Coordinator: Prachi Javalekar MACN Secretariat Support: Julie-Anne Strukovski MACN

Northern Territory – Central Australia Chair: Emma Bugden MACN Deputy Chair: Michele Smith MACN Communication Coordinator: Reinier Cadacio MACN Secretariat Support: Jessie Anderson MACN

Northern Territory – North Chair: Julie Domanski MACN Deputy Chair: Libby Webb FACN Communication Coordinator: Jaya Thomas MACN Secretariat Support: Kimberley Wright MACN

Queensland – Brisbane Chair: Christopher O’Donnell MACN Deputy Chair: Rhonda Gartrell MACN Communication Coordinator: Ariela Rother MACN Secretariat Support: Melinda Hassall FACN

Queensland – Central Chair: Sharon Stanton MACN Deputy Chair: Rebecca Vollmann MACN Communication Coordinator: Amanda Keldoulis MACN Secretariat Support: Laura Keldoulis MACN

South Australia Chair: Moira Noonan MACN Deputy Chair: Alyson Smith MACN Communication Coordinator: Julie Tansing MACN Secretariat Support: Michael Eades MACN

Tasmania Chair: Nancy Arnold FACN Deputy Chair: Kym Child MACN Communication Coordinator: Sue Hughes FACN Secretariat Support: Jeanette Kelly MACN

Victoria – Geelong Deputy Chair: Margaret Byrne MACN Communication Coordinator: Ashlyn Sahay MACN Secretariat Support: Carollyn Williams FACN

Victoria – Goulburn & Murray Chair: Dianna Burr FACN Deputy Chair: Lyn Brett MACN Communication Coordinator: Susan Jennings MACN Secretariat Support: Christine Freeman MACN

Victoria – Melbourne Chair: Dr Jennifer-Weller Newton FACN Deputy Chair: Kalpana Raghunathan FACN Communications Coordinator: Catelyn Richards MACN Secretariat Support: Aaliya Fanham MACN

Western Australia Chair: Tony Dolan MACN Deputy Chair: Basil Paulose MACN Communication Coordinator: Rebecca Newton MACN Secretariat Support: Patricia McEvoy MACN

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

73


Regions in focus Western Australia • Brokering successful partnerships with the WA Chief Nursing Midwifery Office to have ACN membership promoted to all applicants of the state-wide grad connect application process • Four meetings with the Executive Directors of Nursing Services sessions; • Nurse’s Health: Fit for the Future? by Prof Christine Duffield FACN and My Ly • Obesity Prevention, Right from the Start by Professor Elizabeth Denney-Wilson MACN.

Here are some highlights from our engaged Regions

New South Wales – Sydney Meeting with Emerging Nurse Leaders (ENL) in as well as outside NSW via web to formulate the program of topics for the education evenings in 2019. Guest speakers as well as ENLs presented papers and research they undertook during the year.

Victoria – Melbourne • International Nurses Day – Refugee Health Presentation in May 2018 to understand the role of a nurse practitioner in immigrant health • Voluntary Assisted Dying (VAD): implications for nurses co-hosted by Eastern Health in July 2018 and hosted by Monash Health in October 2018 to understand the current legal context of VAD and identify relevant ethical issues and the nurse’s role in VAD • Gertrude Berger Oration – Innovations in Practice in October 2018 to explore the innovative directions taken by current nurse leaders in their area of practice.

74

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Tasmania • Nurses as Entrepreneurs with nurses who had diversified their practice • Nursing Diversity-Defence Force with Army Reservist Pip Rice who shared information on career opportunities in the Army • A presentation and talk on Emergency Preparedness by Dr Mary Pat Couig Associate Professor, Carter-Fleck Endowed Professorship in Nursing, College of Nursing, University of New Mexico titled Public Health Emergency Preparedness in the United States: Nursing Leadership & Opportunities to Advance the Field.

Australian Capital Territory • New Graduate Conference Day in February 2019 to discuss patient assessment, wound care, pain management leadership, etc. Attended by 31 nurses from ACT. • Resilience in the workplace and ACHS and the role you can play in accreditation.

Victoria – Goulburn & Murray A session for prospective Members, and discussion about the ENL Program and the MidCareer Nurse Leadership Program as well as promoting the Nursing Now initiative with the support of Goulburn Valley Health media team.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

75


Adolescent & Young People History Advanced Practice Leadership Legal & Ethical Issues Climate & Health Chief Nursing Informatics Officers Military Nursing Clinical Product Advisors National Nursing Executive Nurse Informatics Community & Primary Health Care Next Generation Cosmetic Nurses Disaster Health Rural Nursing & Midwifery Healthy Ageing

76

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Our Communities of Interest ACN’s 17 Communities of Interest (COI) allow Fellows and Members to connect with like-minded nurses who share similar areas of practice and stay up-to-date with the latest news, research findings, best practice and major policy developments related to their professional interests.

COIs in focus Advanced Practice Chair: Christopher O’Donnell MACN The Advanced Practice COI is writing a White Paper titled A New Horizon For Health Services: Optimising Advanced Practice Nursing. In the White Paper, ACN seeks to map a course for health service improvement drawing attention to the fact that some sectors of the Australian population are underserviced in terms of timely, equitable access to health care.

Nurse Informatics Chair: Adjunct Professor Naomi Dobroff FACN The Nurse Informatics COI announced their campaign Demystifying Nurse Informatics #doingITwithcare in 2018 with an aim to raise awareness about Nurse Informatics through education, training and increasing nurses’ confidence and understanding of digital health care.

Chief Nursing Informatics Officers Chair: Aaron Jones MACN The Chief Nursing Informatics Officers is a new COI that brings together Chief Nursing or Midwifery Informatics Officers and similar executive roles in Nursing Informatics. Key highlights include formalisation of COI with ACN and representation for most states and territories across Australia. The COI is also working on developing a Position Statement.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

77


Our COI Leadership Teams Adolescent and Young People Chair: Professor Alison Hutton FACN Deputy Chair: Dr Lucie Ramjan MACN Communication Coordinator: Ainsley James MACN

Community and Primary Health Care Chair: Kitty Hutchison MACN Deputy Chair: Adjunct Professor Anna Shepherd FACN (Hon)

Advanced Practice

Communication Coordinator: Michelle Touma MACN

Chair: Christopher O’Donnell MACN

Secretariat Support: Kazuma Honda MACN

Deputy Chair: Chris Raftery MACN Communication Coordinator: Helen Kulas MACN Secretariat Support: Julia Suarez MACN

Cosmetic Nursing Chair: Elissa O’Keefe MACN

Chief Nursing Informatics Officers Chair: Aaron Jones MACN Deputy Chair: Kate Renzenbrink MACN Communication Coordinator: Sally Duncan MACN

Deputy Chair: Robin Curran MACN Communication Coordinator: Sunita O’Neill MACN Secretariat Support: Carly Heckendorf MACN

Climate & Health Chair: Dr Liz Hanna FACN

Disaster Health

Communication Coordinator: Helen Truscott MACN

Chair: Jamie Ranse FACN

Clinical Product Advisors Chair: Robyn Quinn FACN

78

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

Deputy Chair: Dr Karen Hammad MACN Communication Coordinator: William Wallace MACN


Healthy Ageing

Legal and Ethical Issues

Chair: Shane Marles-Malone MACN

Deputy Chair: Dr Dale Pugh FACN

Communication Coordinator: Sitthichai Rees MACN

History

Next Generation

Chair: Marilyn Gendek FACN

Chair: Lucy Osborn MACN

Deputy Chair: Dr Lesley Potter FACN

Deputy Chair: Andrea Jansen MACN

Leadership Chair: Dr Catriona Booker FACN Deputy Chair: Associate Professor Karen Clark-Burg MACN Communication Coordinator: Debra Pittam MACN Secretariat Support: Jennifer Wressell MACN

Rural Nursing and Midwifery Chair: Sr Jennifer Farrell MACN Deputy Chair: Elizabeth Smith MACN Secretariat Support: Paula Pianta MACN

Military Nursing Chair: Dr Amanda Garlick MACN Deputy Chair: Anthony Russell FACN Secretariat Support: Lauren McCabe MACN

Communication Coordinator: Nick Hayward MACN (Undergraduate) Secretariat Support: Ariela Rother MACN

Nurse Informatics Chair: Adjunct Professor Naomi Dobroff FACN Deputy Chair: Sharon Downman FACN Secretariat Support: Rebecca Jedwab MACN

You can sign up to join one or more COIs on neo.acn.edu.au

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

79


We would like to thank all those who have given back to our profession Susanne Hawes FACN Judy Morton MACN Sally Milson-Hawke MACN Laurie Grealish FACN Melanie Birks FACN Anthony Russell FACN Tony McGillion MACN Daniel Terry Joanne Mapes FACN Paul Fookes FACN Belynda Jane Abbott FACN Sally Lima MACN Sandra Eagar FACN Michael Roche MACN Nancy Arnold FACN Gillian Ray-Barruel MACN John Smithson MACN Jessica Taranto MACN Rosie Eastoe MACN Prachi Javalekar MACN Kazuma Honda MACN Bethany Gill MACN Thomas Miller MACN Sue Bartlett MACN Sharon Downman FACN Louise Botha MACN Amanda McGuire MACN

Mentors Anne Wallace MACN Sue Hughes FACN Veronica Croome MACN Ann Maree Keenan MACN Paul Sonntag MACN Marina Buchanan-Grey MACN Chris O’Donnell MACN Lydia Dennett FACN Kellie Noffke MACN Lorraine Stevenson FACN Debra Pittam MACN Shane Crowe MACN David Stanley MACN Trevor Rixon MACN Jane Bartlett MACN Joy Turner MACN Tracey Moroney MACN Maryanne Podham MACN Gabrielle Hickey FACN Joanne Edwards MACN Elizabeth Matters FACN Debbie Massey MACN Auxillia Madhuvu MACN Karen Bradley MACN Anne Marie Dunk MACN

80

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


by volunteering as a coach or mentor for our future nurse leaders. Jamie Ranse FACN Gabrielle Prest FACN Helen Donovan FACN Carole Maddison FACN Pathma Namasivayam MACN Matt Luther FACN Anthony Patton FACN Georgina Willetts FACN Jennifer Manning MACN Leanne Stone MACN Amy Byrne MACN Barbara Hasenoehrl MACN Rachel Wardrop MACN Julia Morphet MACN Rhonda Gartrell MACN Kate Partington MACN Libby Webb FACN Alison Hutton FACN Brenda Wilson FACN Rhonda Griffiths FACN Naomi Dobroff FACN Jane Anderson MACN Rebecca Newton MACN Anna Shepherd FACN (Hon) Anthony Schoenwald MACN

Mentors Bernice Redley MACN Carol Readman MACN Catherine Tonkin MACN Christine Smith FACN DLF Claire Harris MACN Craig Phillips MACN Dale Pugh FACN Dianna Burr FACN Elizabeth Emmanuel FACN Michele Smith MACN Frances Sofo MACN Glenn Gardner FACN Jackie Wong MACN Jason Mills FACN Karen Hazell Raine MACN Karen Strickland MACN Kate Curtis MACN Kaye Hogan FACN Leanne Aitken FACN Leeanne Schmidt FACN Lesley Shanks MACN Marie Baxter MACN Nikia Goldsmith MACN Paul Rumpff MACN Rona Pillay FACN Sonia Marshall MACN Suzanne McDonald MACN Susan Williams FACN

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

81


Thank you to all those who have represented ACN and the nursing profession this year. Carolyn Stapleton FACN Fran Stoddart Michael Smith MACN Kate Cheney MACN Erica O’Donoghue MACN Kalpana Raghunathan FACN Ruth DeSouza FACN Luke Yokota MACN Ariela Rother MACN Helen Stamatiou Patricia Randall MACN Brett Jones MACN Anthony Russell FACN Christopher O’Donnell MACN Kathryn Baird MACN Andrea Vout MACN Kylie Ward FACN Susan Emerson MACN Yvonne McKinlay FACN Prachi Javalekar MACN Julie Porritt FACN Nicole Marsh MACN Elizabeth Halcomb FACN Louise Woods MACN Roslyn Rolleston MACN Clare Harvey MACN Janet McLeod OAM MACN Frances Rice MACN Alison Hutton FACN Sheralee Tamaliunas MACN Craig Hooper MACN Nicholas Marlow FACN Fiona Crawford MACN Syam Thomas David Lee FACN Shona Lynch MACN Kazuma Honda MACN Juanita Nolan MACN Sandy Middleton FACN Amanda Johnson MACN Andrew Ingersoll MACN Evelyn Hovenga FACN Sandra Lever MACN Brenda Wilson FACN Glynda Summers FACN

Representatives Dale Pugh FACN David Carpenter MACN Debra Carnes MACN Peter Taratara MACN Deborah Parker MACN Rohan McHugh Rebecca Vanderheide FACN Anne Williams MACN Lavanya Naidoo MACN Toni Hains MACN Marina Buchanan-Grey MACN Melissa Bloomer FACN Helen Sinnott MACN Annum Babar Nicole Blay MACN Kasia Bail MACN Roger Levi FACN Drew Dywer FACN Larissa McIntyre FACN Christine Smith FACN (DLF) Christine Ashley FACN Catherine Gogler MACN Donna Watmuff FACN Neil McIntyre MACN Wendy Davis MACN Thilakavathi Chengodu MACN Melanie Nilsen MACN Virginia Plummer FACN Naomi Dobroff FACN Robyn Quinn FACN Jamie Ranse FACN Emma Davis MACN Cathy Dean MACN Holly Northam MACN Cathie Nesvadba MACN Carol Mirco FACN Tracy Kidd MACN Alison Monger MACN Amanda Connors MACN Rebecca Munt MACN Angela O’Connor MACN Anne Walsh MACN Sandra Sunjic FACN Nataschja Budel Sussan Pleunik FACN Alison Loudon FACN

82

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Our valued Affiliates

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

83


PLATINUM ACN AFFILIATE

Alice Springs Hospital, NT

Murrumbidgee Local Health District, NSW

Austin Health, VIC

Northern Sydney Local Health District, NSW

Ballarat Health Services, VIC

Nursing & Midwifery Office Department of Health, SA

Bendigo Health, VIC Bolton Clarke (was RDNS/RSL), VIC Cabrini Health Limited, VIC Central Coast Local Health District, NSW

Opal Aged Care, NSW Resthaven, SA

Central West Hospital & Health Service, QLD

South Western Sydney Local Health District, NSW

Centre for Nursing & Midwifery Education Southern Adelaide Local Health Network, SA

Swinburne University School of Health Sciences, VIC

Darling Downs Hospital & Health Service, QLD

Sydney Children’s Hospital Network, NSW

Eastern Health, VIC

Tennant Creek Hospital, NT

Far West Local Health District, NSW

Top End Health Service, NT

Hunter New England Local Health District, NSW

Western Health, VIC

Justice Health & Forensic Mental Health Network, NSW

Wide Bay Hospital & Health Service, QLD

Lyndoch Living, VIC Metro North Hospital & Health Service, QLD Metro South Hospital & Health Service, QLD Monash Health, VIC

84

Office of the Chief Nursing and Midwifery, QLD

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

Wimmera Health Care Group, VIC


GOLD

SILVER

Australian Defence Force, ACT

College of Emergency Nursing Australasia, CENA, TAS Davaar Consultancy, QLD IBIS Care, NSW James Cook University, QLD Mackellar Care, NSW Nurse & Midwife Support, VIC Western Sydney University, NSW

ACN AFFILIATE

Calvary Public Hospital Bruce, ACT Canberra Hospital & Health Services, ACT Charles Darwin University, NT Office of the Chief Nurse and Midwife, Department of Health & Human Services, TAS

ACN AFFILIATE

Flinders University, SA Health Services Evolution (Nurses for Nurses Network), QLD Nursing Group Pty Ltd, NSW

BRONZE ACN AFFILIATE

Sydney Local Health District, NSW

Association of Queensland Nursing & Midwifery Leaders, QLD

Torrens University/Think Education (Laureate Education Services), VIC

Ausmed Education, VIC

University of Technology Sydney, NSW

Australasian Association for Quality in Healthcare, NSW Australian Nurse Teachers Society (ANTS), SA

Western Sydney Local Health District, NSW

Clever Care NOW (Nurses on Wheels), NSW

Your Nursing Agency, SA

Heart Support Australia, ACT North Metropolitan TAFE, WA Northeast Health Wangaratta, VIC Otorhinolaryngology Head & Neck Nurses, QLD The Royal Women’s Hospital, VIC South Metropolitan TAFE, WA Stawell Regional Health, VIC Uniting War Memorial Hospital, NSW

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

85


G N I K A M L A B O L AG N O I S S E R P IM


ICN Congress 2O19, Singapore From 27 June to 1 July 2019, Australian College of Nursing (ACN) CEO Adjunct Professor Kylie Ward FACN and several other members of the organisation attended the annual International Council of Nurses (ICN) Congress in Singapore. ACN team members proudly represented Australia at ICN and were privileged to participate in global discussions on using their collective experience to help achieve universal health care (UHC) access. We were also thrilled to see our exceptional former Emerging Nurse Leaders (ENL) Serena Ricciardone MACN and Meagen Bransgrove MACN participating in the ICN Student Assembly – a great example of how the ENL program empowers aspiring nurse leaders to showcase their leadership not just on a national platform, but international too.

88

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

89


Council of National Nursing Association Representatives Singapore On 27 June 2019, the ICN held its Council of National Nursing Association Representatives (CNR) in Singapore. ACN Chief Executive Officer Adjunct Professor Kylie Ward FACN along with other ACN representatives joined leaders from ICN’s 130-plus members to discuss the role of nurses in achieving UHC and the Sustainable Development Goals. CNR meetings are a significant part of the governance of ICN, where nurses from the world over gather to discuss how they can influence policies and processes that will advance the nursing profession.

90

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Nursing Now Australia launch In April 2019, to pledge our commitment to the global initiative Nursing Now, ACN formally launched the Nursing Now Australia campaign in collaboration with other major nursing organisations in Australia. The event at the lovely Doltone House in Sydney was attended by high profile guests, including

Lord Nigel Crisp, co-Chair of the global Nursing Now campaign, and luminaries of nursing. We also launched the Nursing Now Australia Challenge Calendar, which urges nurses to complete a monthly challenge that, while supporting the campaign, aims to raise the status and profile of nursing around the world.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

91


92

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

93


N C A S T C E N CON LLY A C LO


Lest we forget Tribute to nurses who served and sacrificed In February 2019, the Australian College of Nursing (ACN) attended the Last Post Ceremony at the Australian War Memorial in Canberra to commemorate Sister Alma May Beard, 2/13th Australian General Hospital, Australian Army Nursing Service (AANS). ACN strongly believes in honouring the individuals and organisations that have shaped nursing history. By laying a wreath at this Ceremony for the men and women who gave their lives, ACN acknowledges their individual stories on behalf of the nursing profession. In April 2019, representatives of ACN also laid a wreath at the ceremony for Flight Lieutenant Lynne Rowbottom. Lynne served in the Australian peace-keeping forces in

96

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

East Timor and was part of a medical team assisting victims of the 2004 Boxing Day Tsunami. Prior to joining the Royal Australian Air Force in 1996, Lynne worked as an intensive and renal care nurse in Launceston and Townsville. Lynne passed away in 2005 after the Sea King Chopper she was travelling in crashed into a football field in Indonesia. She was travelling with eight other Australians who were part of a medical team delivering aid to the island of Nias which had been ravaged by an earthquake.


International Nurses Day Annual Nursing and Midwifery Wreath Laying Ceremony at the Australian War Memorial Aside from celebrating International Nurses Day every year on 12 May, representatives from ACN also lay a wreath at the Annual Nursing and Midwifery Wreath Laying Ceremony at the Australian War Memorial. On the day, we acknowledge the care military nurses provide, whether it was during war, peacekeeping or humanitarian operations. Lest we forget.

Book launch: Nurses of Australia In November 2018, Deborah Burrows’ book – which highlights the fascinating stories of nurses who played a role in Australian nursing history, but who have been largely forgotten – was launched at the National Library of Australia in Canberra. Many of the photographs, records and illustrations printed in its pages were sourced from the ACN Archives, and ACN CEO Adjunct Professor Kylie Ward FACN provided a foreword for the book.

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

97


Local collaborations At University of Technology Sydney

Swinburne University Bachelor of Nursing launch

Chinese Nursing Directors visit the ACN office

98

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING

My Health Record launch


At Western Sydney University to deliver the keynote address

Executive Director, Education, Yvonne McKinlay FACN visits Orchard Hills Public School, NSW

At the Dying to Live performance

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

99


G N I T C E N CON R U O H T I W E B I TR


Our publications The Australian College of Nursing (ACN) is always looking for ways to connect with our tribe and create opportunities for members to connect with each other. One of the many ways we do this is through our numerous publications, both online and in print. The latest news in the nursing profession, achievements of our nurse leaders, ACN initiatives, policy updates, events to be part of and valuable insights from our experienced Fellows and Members – our publications feature all this and more. We are proud to be able to share our Fellows’ and Members’ contributions and play a vital part in shaping the nurse leaders of tomorrow. We would like to thank everyone who has taken time out to write for The Hive, Collegian and NurseClick over the last year.

The Hive The Hive is ACN’s quarterly print magazine, which showcases the length and breadth of our membership and their experiences. Every issue of The Hive is dedicated to exploring a theme such as Diversity, Aged Care and Women’s Health. Over the last year, the magazine has introduced newer features such as profiles of our Distinguished Life Fellows, updates from Chief Nurses and Midwifery Offices, Communities of Interest and Regions, and Fellows and Members who represent ACN on various platforms.

102

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Collegian Collegian: The Australian Journal of Nursing Practice, Scholarship and Research is the official academic journal of ACN. The journal aims to reflect the broad interests of nurses and the nursing profession, and to challenge nurses on emerging areas of interest. It publishes research articles and scholarly discussion of nursing practice, policy and professional issues. The 2018 CiteScore for Collegian was 1.51 and we are confident that it will continue to rise. We would like to thank Professor Lisa McKenna FACN for her ongoing dedication and commitment as our Editor-in-Chief in making Collegian a highly regarded academic journal.

NurseClick ACN’s NurseClick blog covers all things nursing — from celebrating the incredible achievements of our Members to health and well-being tips for nurses and everything in between! Some key highlights include the honouring of nurses in the Australian War Memorial’s Last Post Ceremonies, the Japanese nursing adventures of Kazuma Honda MACN and Lucy Osborn MACN’s tips and advice for junior nurses in her Scrubs that Fit column. The ACN Publications Team extend a warm thank you to all Fellows and Members who have written for NurseClick, your contribution is highly valued! Find NurseClick at: acn.edu.au/blog

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

103


Keeping in touch eNewsletter We value our Fellows and Members and strive to update our membership on a weekly basis through our eNewsletter. The bulletin focuses on key Member benefits and relevant nursing/health care updates and opportunities. We are excited to soon be transitioning into a monthly eNewsletter format, so that our members can receive all the latest happenings in the ACN Tribe in one monthly update.

DLF Newsletter Our Distinguished Life Fellows (DLFs) are an integral part of ACN and we value their expertise and experience in matters of nursing and health care. The DLF Newsletter is an exclusive report that is sent bi-annually to DLFs to update them of the most significant achievements and milestones of the organisation.

104

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


Digital reach ACN Website 4.69% increase in unique visitors 14.62% increase in page views ACN’s online student portal CNnect had 327,548 total logins over the year

neo Over

11,000 Member logins

Facebook

32,000 Followers Twitter

3,561 Followers Instagram

2,035 followers

ACN is committed to creating an exciting and relevant online presence. We are constantly looking to improve upon ways to connect with the ACN Tribe and ensure that they are in the know about everything nursing and health care. neo, our digital platform for Fellows and Members, is accessible to all Fellows and Members and allows our tribe to connect anytime, anywhere – whether it’s in a Community of Interest or Region Forum or the ACN Open Forum. Following vital Member feedback on the ACN website (acn.edu.au), we redesigned sections to improve accessibility and provide more information to Members.

Join us We love engaging with our Fellows, Members and the broader health care community through our online platforms. Join us to extend our digital voice for the nursing profession and contribute to the discussion:

Facebook: @acnnursing Twitter: @acn_tweet Instagram: @acn_nursing LinkedIn: Australian College of Nursing YouTube: Australian College of Nursing Use our hashtags #ACNTribe #ACNNurseStrong (NurseStrong initiative) #ACNMidCareer (ACN Mid-Career Nurse Leadership Program) #NursesWhereYouNeedThem (Community and Primary Health Care Nursing Week)

#ACNEmergingNurseLeader (Emerging Nurse Leader Program)

LinkedIn

6,825 followers

#NursingNowAustralia #ACNRoadshow #ACNExpo #NursingTrailblazers

YEAR IN REVIEW 2018-2019

105


As ACN continues to showcase

Diversity and Difference in the year ahead, we are focusing on recognising and celebrating

Champions of Change

within the nursing profession and the Australian health care system.

106

AUSTRALIAN COLLEGE OF NURSING


EDITORS Neha Malude Karen Watts DESIGN Courtney Robb Emma Butz PRINTING Elect Printing, Canberra PUBLISHER Australian College of Nursing, 1 Napier Close, Deakin ACT, 2600 (02) 6283 3400 acn@acn.edu.au www.acn.edu.au ABN: 48 154 924 642 © Australian College of Nursing 2019 To provide feedback on this publication, please email publications@acn.edu.au


Profile for ACN Australian College of Nursing

ACN Year in Review 2018-2019  

The Year in Review is snapshot of ACN and a celebration of who we are, what we do and all that we have accomplished.

ACN Year in Review 2018-2019  

The Year in Review is snapshot of ACN and a celebration of who we are, what we do and all that we have accomplished.