Page 1

Year In Review

2014 -15 1


Welcome t ot he Year In Review!

Ike Wheeler, Dean for Institutional Advancement

and Van Provence, Director of Public Information and Community Relations

Time, by all standards, possesses an elusive quality that borders on the ethereal. Sometimes, despite all attempts to steady the pace, seconds turn to minutes, minutes to hours, hours to days and days to months at a unique speed that appears almost mind boggling. A basic topic of conversation among folks our age is the rate which seasons fly by. Whether a season is defined by a time of year, an academic term, a meaningful experience or even a career, the velocity of passage leaves individuals with the inevitable and sometimes perplexing question of trying to recall what really happened. Astute thinkers possess great mental prowess and recall in amazing detail the goings on of a period of time, but for many of us, this is a fading option. We are left speculating, many times incorrectly, about what transpired. Before we know it, seasons are in the rear view mirror, morphed or simply faded together and individuals are left with the inevitable dilemma of attempting to recall the past without accurate information. Historians find this exceedingly problematic. As individuals, organizations and communities we have a social commitment to chronicle in order to learn and/or celebrate as we progress to the future. In homage to the passage of time, we feel immensely honored to present our premiere edition of The Year In Review. One of the major goals of ASU-Newport’s Office of Advancement is to share the unique message of our institution. The old adage rings especially true that, “a picture is worth a thousand words.” Through this visual journey, we hope to showcase the continuous influence our institution plays in the lives of our students, faculty, staff and communities. This influence has the potential to be life changing for students coupled with the community partnerships and regional economic development that have been the hallmark of our institution. It is our goal to ensure individuals understand what has transpired in order to be a stronger participant in our growing process of campus growth and evolution, but also to feel connected to the dynamic daily interactions of our campuses. Included in this edition is a pictorial journey of the past year, complete with numerous occasions, both celebratory and business-related, community involvement activities, service learning options, student success celebrations and those most exciting of all gatherings…..graduations, just to name a few. A most unique area of interest is what we are calling “anchor articles” provided by the Chancellor and her Executive Cabinet, touching areas of special interest and/or passions that fuel this energetic group of leaders. These articles will not only inform, but provide key glimpses into broadly based initiatives that on a daily basis revitalize our institution, keeping it vital, up-to-date and always responsive to student, community and workforce needs. Please know that serving our institution and its’ communities is an amazing privilege. As we become a bit nostalgic about the passing of time, we are also amazingly optimistic to realize great days are ahead for ASU-Newport. Our goal will always remain to take you, our readers, along with us on this dynamic adventure! Enjoy, Van and Ike

2


Reclaiming t he American Dream by Dr. Sandra Massey

Chancellor

For the past two years, I have enjoyed the privilege of leading this amazing institution. Understanding that success begins with a clear vision which others can passionately embrace, I quickly engaged the new leadership team in the task of evaluating the organization of the college and redesigning the strategic plan through a collaborative process. This resulted in a realignment of positions which led to increased efficiency, consistency and effectiveness integrating three locations under the umbrella of one college. Six months later we implemented the 20142019 strategic plan with a new vision, mission statement, values and three institutional priorities: student success, institutional effectiveness and community engagement. These priorities are embedded into our institutional culture which you will see reflected in the numerous accomplishments of our students, faculty, staff and community partners throughout this document. ASU-Newport is actively engaged with a national movement of community colleges to reshape higher education to help individuals “Reclaim the American Dream.” We believe the offering of educational pathways that lead to family supporting wages in high demand jobs is our responsibility. Our employees and students actively participate in shared leadership, consistently assessing our existing practices, challenging the status quo and finding new innovative ways to ensure every student has the opportunity to excel in college and beyond. Our mission states that Arkansas State University-Newport will “provide an accessible, affordable, quality education that transforms the lives of our students, enriches our communities and strengthens the regional economy.” Every day, I see the mission of this institution alive, active and transformational in the lives of our students as well as in the regional economies of the Delta. May the American Dream not only be revitalized, but thrive and flourish! Confidently, Arkansas State UniversityNewport will continue our part in making this “Dream” a reality for all!

“ASU-Newport will be the driving force that revitalizes the Delta and restores the American Dream in the communities we serve.” ASU-Newport Vision 2014-2019

3


Shae Hughes (left) of Jonesboro was awarded the Craighead County Single Parent Scholarship.

Dr. Martha (Martie) Shull was named as Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. Dr. Shull brings with her a wealth of knowledge in academic program development, accreditation practices and workforce education.

Sophomore Business major Ileana Gomez was selected to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Gomez earned her degree in December, 2014.

ASU-Newport celebrated Black History Month with a concert by the Legends of Motown. The performance featured songs from every decade of the Motown catalog and was a complete sellout.

4

January • February 2014


Dr. Lonnie Williams, Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs at Arkansas State University (center), was a guest lecturer at ASU-Newport’s Jonesboro campus. Williams discussed his book, “Remembrances in Black: Personal Perspectives of the African-American Experience at the University of Arkansas 1940s-2000s” as part of ASUN’s Black History Month observances.

In February 2014, Ms. Jacqueline Faulkner joined ASU-Newport as Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs. Ms. Faulkner boasts great expertise in the field of student first year experience, creative advising models, new student orientation and career mentorship.

ASU-Newport welcomed the Texas Tenors for a Patron Series Performance.

Hospitality Services launched its Culinary Experience series in February with “Feed the Romance.” This endeavor has proven to be extremely popular.

February 2014

5


Economic and Workforce Development by Charles Appleby

Vice Chancellor, Economic & Workforce Development

Creating and strengthening our workforce is an absolute necessity in order to remain competitive as a regional economy. On most surveys, a qualified and available workforce is at the top of the list for employers that are looking to expand existing or invest in new facilities. In order for communities to benefit from growing economies, workforce development must be a key strategic success factor. Community infrastructure, labor costs, and incentives all play a role in economic growth, but without a qualified workforce pipeline that serves the regional economy, there is a high likelihood that decline rather than growth will occur. This will lead to higher unemployment and declining populations in our communities. There are many forces at work that are changing our world on a daily basis. Among these are urbanization and advancements in technology. Urbanization is societal force that draws many of the best and brightest to areas outside the rural communities we serve. It is key to note that all of Arkansas is rural, not urban, and this is a statewide challenge for our state. In order to drive economic development in rural areas, strategies must be employed to create opportunities for jobs, either through expanding existing organizations or creating new businesses through entrepreneurial activity. Just about everything we work with is impacted by technological advancements. Although we typically think of computers and phones when considering this topic, equipment that we use to do almost every job is also affected. Robotics and Global Positioning Systems (GPS) technologies are rapidly moving into farm equipment, commercial trucking, manufacturing and construction equipment. The bottom line is workers need new skills to be prepared to do everything from running farm equipment to operating commercial trucks, or serving manufacturing through industrial technologies. Our educational paths must provide up-to-date technologies in order to effectively train tomorrow’s workforce. Thomas Frey is credited with the following quote, “As a rule of thumb, 60% of the jobs 10 years from now haven’t been invented yet.” This adds to the complexity of preparing a workforce, because anticipating specific jobs of the future gets more difficult every day. The key to workforce preparation in the future is lifelong learning. There are basic attributes that every occupational sector needs, and the specific skills learned today will be eventually outdated. New skills will need to be learned, ones that reflect societal and technological changes that seem to be happening faster all the time. An effective workforce can be prepared with personal effectiveness, academic preparedness and employment readiness. These would be provided with key technical skills necessary to become proficient in chosen occupational sectors. Personal effectiveness skills include such things as interpersonal skills, initiative, dependability, adaptability, professionalism, integrity, and a willingness to learn. These are those things that “Momma should’a taught ya.” Academic skills include communications, reading and comprehension, math, science, personal finance, critical thinking, and computer literacy. Employment readiness essentials include teamwork, planning and organizing, customer focus, safety, problem solving and decision making, prioritizing, and business fundamentals that drive our economy. All of these, along with skill competencies linked to specific career path sectors can adequately prepare the workforce. Education including K-12, 2-year and technical schools, and 4-year university programs all linked together to form a complimentary educational pathway offering programs that parallel employment pathways with easy exit and entry points to provide opportunities for students. This process allows our population to gain skills, get a job, gain more skills, get a better job, and continue the cycle of continuous lifelong learning. If we don’t provide an effective workforce, employers large and small will have to move to where they can find one. Allowing this to happen is not a viable option for our region. ASU-Newport is in the business of providing opportunities to learn skills in a variety of business and industry sectors that enable students to be prepared to effectively provide a better lifestyle for their families. We must excel in this effort!

6


Energy Control Technology High School Electrical Wiring contest winners with ASUN’s Mark Constant and David Lynn. Computer Networking Technology High School contest winners with ASUN’s Daniel Adamson, Dr. Ashley Buchman and Robert Burgess.

Dr. Sandra Massey was named as a recipient of the Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve Patriot Award. On hand for the presentation were (from left): Valerie Nelson, ASUN Student Veteran Organization member; Massey; Matt Rice, ASUN SVO President; Dr. Gilbert Fowler, Northeast Arkansas Chairman for the ESGR Committee of the State of Arkansas, and Chris Nelson, ASUN SVO Staff Representative.

Earning first place in the Vocational College Division of the 2014 Weldathon was Pemiscot County Career and Technical Center (left), with Paragould High School (right) winning the High School Division. Joining the winners are ASUN’s Robert Summers and Ken Beach, along with James Garner of Ozarc Gas.

March 2014

7


Students from Arkansas Northeast College took the top three places in the Automotive Service Skills competition. Pictured with the team from ANC is Michael Nowlin.

Phi Beta Lambda Strawberry Fundraiser. Pictured with students are advisors Linda Duncan and Janna Ellis. The Student Veterans Organization sponsored a flag retirement ceremony.

Community forum on the Newport campus to begin crafting the Strategic Plan, a document which will steward our institution for the next five years.

Scenes from Spring Fling, 2014

8

April • May 2014

ASUN’s Newport Campus hosted the annual PortFest 5K run.


The SkillsUSA Cosmetology State Champions were Kristy Fox, third place, Bethany Williams, first place, and Erica Zuniga, second place.

Commencement ceremony for the Jonesboro and Marked Tree campuses

ASUN Discovery Camp

Dr. Martie Shull and Dr. Duane Doyle honor Linda Duncan at a retirement reception celebrating 26 years of service. Mrs. Duncan was also awarded Faculty Emeritus status.

May •June 2014

ASUN Drama Camp

ASUN’s Beta Nu Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society earned Five Star Chapter designation from Phi Theta Kappa. Accepting the award were students Jhonny Martinez and Kaitlyn Riggin.

The SkillsUSA Internetworking State Champions were Lonnie Lawson, second place, Donald Cain, first place, and Chris Armstrong, third place.

The Skills USA Electrical Construction Wiring State Champions were Stephen Rasnic, third place, and Seth Smithee, first place.

9


Dr. Martie Shull and Dr. Sandra Massey honor Dr. Charles Davis at a retirement reception celebrating five years of service. Brigitte Schwartz, a Cosmetology graduate, earned top honors in Esthetics at the national SkillsUSA competition. Schwartz was under the direction of Melinda Odom, Instructor of Cosmetology.

Arkansas State University - Newport received a $40,000 grant from the DENSO North America Foundation, which funded the purchase of a variety of simulators used by the Energy Control Diesel Technology and Automotive Service Technology programs. Pictured are (from left Ike Wheeler, ASUN Dean for Institutional Advancement, Robert Summers, ASUN Dean for Applied Science, Dr. Martie Shull, Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Sandra Massey, ASUN Chancellor, George Harguess, Site Manager for DENSO Manufacturing Arkansas, John Beal, DENSO Manager for Administration and Greg Raney, DENSO Human Resources Generalist.

Welcome Week Activities

10

Practical Nursing Capping and Pinning Ceremony - Jonesboro Campus

June • July • August 2014


Putt ing St udent s First

by Jacqueline Faulkner

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Putting students first is not a slogan in the Division of Student Affairs. It is a way of life! Arkansas State University – Newport has designated student–centeredness as one of its core values and a central component of the institutional strategic plan. As we strive to model a student centered college, students must be the highest priority and we must put students, their learning, and development at the heart of everything that we do, both inside and outside the classroom. Opportunities for teaching and development exist everywhere and at all times throughout the life cycle of a student. As student affairs professionals, it is our charge to seize these opportunities to foster student development and provide tools to help students actualize their goals. In order to meet student needs, Student Affairs uses one guiding principle over and over again: What serves our ASUN students best? This has been the foundation of the many initiatives that have been implemented and will continue to serve as the basis of changes to come. One major effort that was done to support student success was the reorganization of the Division of Student Affairs, with three functional areas of enrollment services, retention and student success, and student engagement. A unique quality to this divisional change is inclusion of an area that focuses specifically on highimpact retention strategies, including case-management counseling, a new early alert system, and implementing intrusive, advising practices to support students. As a division, we also recognize that academic success starts well before students enter the threshold of our campuses and is achieved in partnership with school districts. An example of early outreach is through a grant from the Arkansas Department of Career Education, where Career Coaches start serving students as early as the 8th grade through 12th grade, providing assistance and information related to college and career planning. These Coaches are also able to support college readiness through an intensive ACT Academy, funded by the Arkansas Department of Education, with expressed goals of alleviating the need for remediation in college. Another example is through our Testing Center, which offers placement testing to high school juniors and seniors in our service area, in attempts of decreasing the need for developmental coursework and shortening time to degree completion. Another new initiative aimed at supporting students was the overhaul of New Student Orientation, making it mandatory, incorporating a family component, providing a framework for student success, and integrating participation from every major division of the college. We didn’t stop there! We wanted to ensure that students had a quality experience once they arrived on our campuses because we understand that campus involvement greatly contributes to student success. This was facilitated through creation of an area focused on Student Engagement, which has instituted a thriving student life on all campuses, worked with faculty to reignite student organizations, promoted student involvement in community service projects, and instituted leadership training to further enhance leadership traits in student leaders. Over the past year, we have also actively sought opportunities to assess our departments and reinvent ourselves better and stronger, embracing the strategic priority of institutional excellence. We underwent an external review of the Disability Services Office, resulting in federal compliance, increased accountability, and production of a manual to guide students and faculty throughout the process. We also successfully completed a Department of Education site visit, reaffirming federal compliance to continue to administer the Financial Aid program, which so many of our students depend on to finance their educations. Most notably, ASUN’s Testing Center completed a rigorous application process and has received national certification through the National College Testing Association, becoming a part of an elite group of institutions of which only three total exist in the state of Arkansas. These are just a few examples of how we are putting students first and promoting student success at Arkansas State University - Newport. This does not represent a comprehensive list, and it certainly only gives you a glimpse of what is to come! I believe that the hallmark of a great college is its ability to help students succeed and reach their goals. To these ends, we will continue to seek opportunities to teach, develop, assess, and improve, while keeping students at the core of all that we do because student-centered has always been the yardstick that we use to put the “Students First” in Student Affairs!

11


Honored for five years of service were (front row, from left) Kenny Browning, Jennifer Loftin, Christy Mann, Kimberly Long, Steven Summers; (back row from left) Ken Beach, Bobby Smith, Dr. Sandra Massey, Dr. Charles Davis and Jack Osier.

Honored for ten years of service were (front row, from left) Wanda Price, Connie Cooper; (back row, from left) Larissa Clark, Dr. Sandra Massey and Clay Fulton.

Honored for fifteen years of service were (front row, from left) Barbara Adams, Phyllis Worthington, Sue Henderson; (back row, from left) Mark Constant, Bridget Collins Dr. Sandra Massey and Joe Campbell.

ASUN Honors Years of Service

Honored for twenty years of service were (from left) Tanya Hagler, Dr. Duane Doyle, Dr. Sandra Massey and Paula Morgan.

Practical Nursing Class - Newport Campus

12

Honored for thirty years of service was Vicki Frans.

Honored for thirty-five years of service was Sherri Smith.

September 2014

Surgical Technology Appreciation Week


ASUN’s “Trashiest Team” was part of the college’s ongoing volunteer activities throughout the communities we serve.

Cindy Smith, RN, Instructor of Nursing was one of ten nurses from across the nation selected as an Item Writer for the National Council of State Boards of Nursing Licensure Examination.

ASU-Newport was the recipient of a $90,000 contribution from Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, utilized to fund scholarships for the High Voltage Lineman Technology program. Pictured are (from left) Ike Wheeler, ASUN Dean for Institutional Advancement, Dr. Sandra Massey, ASUN Chancellor, Larry Bright, General Manager of Farmers Electric Cooperative in Newport and Michael Henderson, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer for Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas.

Student Government Association Officers 2014-2015 included (front row from left) Tammy Monteniszs, Shaneka Brandon, Talisha Brown; (back row from left) Kimberly Long, advisor, David Sharp, William Borie, President and Brandon Bass, Vice President.

September 2014

Blessings of Liberty display featured in the Hodges Library.

13


Grosvenor Scholarship

Single Parent Scholarship

Pratt Scholarship

Fowler Family Scholarship

McCartney Scholarship

McCartney Scholarship

Shearer Scholarship

Shearer Scholarship

“7 Bridges – The Ultimate Eagles Experience” kicked off the 201415 Patron Series.

14

Jonesboro Jr. Auxiliary, Dennis W. Holder and American Red Cross Scholarships

The United States Army Field Jazz Ambassadors began the 2014-15 ASUN Concert-Lecture Series.

Oct ober 2014


Ambassadors Scholarship

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Scholarship

ASUN Institutional Scholarship

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Scholarship

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Scholarship

Greg Slayton , Dr. Martie Shull, Irina Reynolds and Lori Hutton presented at the Arkansas Community Colleges Convention.

Oct ober 2014

Student Speakers

Scoggins Memorial Scholarship

Arkansas Electric Cooperative Scholarship

Ambassadors Scholarship

Students and staff participated in a spirited game of flag football.

15


Transforming Our Fut ure by Adam Adair

Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration Transformational‌As I look back on the past two years of accomplishments, this is the best descriptor that I can give to encapsulate the activities and accomplishments of the youngest community college in the state. While achieving record enrollment, the college became more efficient and set new levels of expectations with an aggressive, updated strategic plan. ASU-Newport conducted a collaborative budgeting process that allowed broad-based inclusion and communication. Under the college’s shared leadership model, a cross-departmental budget planning team was appointed by the Chancellor to assist administration in prioritization of budget requests. We utilized a zero-based budgeting model. This process requires budget managers to evaluate all activities and justify requests based not on historical needs, but on current needs that support the strategic priorities of the institution. This allowed a level of critical evaluation to refine needs and encourage efficiency. With no growth in state funding and increasing needs of our growing student population, the institution was able to allocate resources to fund initiatives that align closely with the updated strategic plan. The process was worthy of its effort and allowed the institution to identify approximately $500,000 for reallocation to fund strategic priorities. Noting the institution has an obligation to keep education affordable, this process provided a diligent basis of evaluation to maximize institutional resources and minimize the need for tuition and fee increases. As the institution moves to continually increase accountability, the budget planning process has allowed the college to better provide for the diverse needs of each of its service areas. The efficiencies realized will allow the college to be responsive to the needs of our business and industry partners. Operationally, our faculty and staff have and will continue to make the necessary adjustments to best conserve resources. We have completed a myriad of cost-containment measures to conserve resources. Measures such energy efficient upgrades, outsourcing of functions and collaborative purchasing arrangements are commonplace and are yielding great results for our institution. This translates directly to the ability to remain conservative in the tuition and fee increases that are passed on to our students. We are very proud of the fact that we continue to provide one of the best educational values in the region and the state. I believe it is evident when looking at the great accomplishments of our students that together we are making an impact in the Delta that will be evident for many years to come. This fact makes this ASUN alumnus very proud!

16


Dr. Allen Mooneyhan was elected President of Arkansas Association of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

Practical Nursing students get into the Halloween spirit!

Jessica Wrenfrow promotes Hospitality Program on KAIT Midday.

Cosmetology students raised money to feed families at Thanksgiving.

Surgical Technology students raised funds to clothe underprivileged children.

League for Innovation John and Suanne Roueche award winners Susan Cooper and Seth Thompson with ASUN Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey. Faculty Association conducts Hat, Glove and Sock Drive at Staff Thanksgiving Feast. Pictured are Tanya Hagler, Irina Reynolds, Dr. Duane Doyle, Larissa Clark and Jack Osier.

NISOD Award winners Phyllis Worthington and Jessica Wrenfrow with ASUN Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey.

Oct ober • November 2014

Joining ASUN Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey at the ACC Convention were Jack Osier, Outstanding Faculty; Brandon Coburn, Academic All-Star; Laura King, Outstanding Staff and Adam Adair, Outstanding Alumni.

17


Dr. Sandra Massey enjoys hands-on participation in a fire-safety event held on the Newport campus.

“Town Hall” question-and-answer sessions were held campus wide with the Chancellor’s Executive Cabinet.

Bill Stovall, Executive Director of ACC, addresses ACC Community CollegeWork$ forum at the Jonesboro campus.

Arkansas Rural Nursing Education Consortium Graduation

Practical Nursing students join forces with staff and faculty for Hat, Glove and Sock Drive.

18

John Pry participates in Newport’s community Christmas decorating.

ASUN Faculty Association annual Thanksgiving gathering.

November • December 2014


ASUN campuses celebrate Holiday Open Houses.

Staff, faculty and students participate in local Christmas parades throughout Northeast Arkansas. CPR training sessions were held institution-wide for staff and faculty.

December 2014

The Patron Series continued with the holiday classic, “A Christmas Carol.�

19


20


21


Graduat ion as Assessment by Dr. Martha Shull

Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs No occasion in the academic year is more meaningful nor more important than the celebration of the graduation. For the faculty members who often sit with tears dimming their eyes as their students proudly cross the stage, it is the ultimate personal assessment of what they have achieved during the past few terms. For the students who are oftentimes the first college graduates in their family and for whom the road to completing a certificate, being capped as a nurse, or earning an associate’s degree that will lead them directly to a four year university, it is the pinnacle of achievement that they almost cannot believe. Faculty and administration alike talk of the need for accurate quantitative assessment, how to measure it, and how to analyze data to show its validity. American taxpayers and legislators insist, and rightly so, on datadriven decisions. Faculty members, too, mine data for an assessment of what they are doing, what can they as instructors change or add that will improve student learning and engage students to continue thinking critically and learning. Although these are all important components of how, what, and even whether a student learns—all vital for validating whether a graduate has completed the certifications necessary to call himself or herself a Certified Truck Driver, a Licensed Practical Nurse, or adequately prepared to enroll as a junior at the four year university, yet teaching is a human endeavor and touches human lives. The qualitative assessment of events like graduation and capping and pinning of nurses is harder to quantify, yet oftentimes more meaningful and satisfying than just numbers. Many, if not most, of ASUN’s students hold at least a part-time job—some several jobs, are single parents with one or more children, take care of aged or invalid family members, and rely on financial aid to pay their tuition, their gas, and their childcare. These students are often from families that do not value a college education or who believe for whatever reason that they do not really belong in college. Many of ASUN’s students are not completely sure at first that they can even succeed at school; often times they are afraid to try because they have not succeeded in school in the past. The professors must serve as mentors and cheerleaders, not just teachers. They must encourage their students, seek them out if they suspect that for whatever reason they are falling behind or losing heart, and help them to have faith in themselves and to grow in self-esteem and confidence. Graduation assessment comes from remarks overheard in the hallways as the students are lining up; comments like, “I would never have made it without—then the students names a favorite teacher ” or “Thank you for having faith in me when I didn’t have it in myself.” A student who had struggled through refresher courses and had many dark moments of fear that she wouldn’t make it said to one of her instructors this June, “Did I make you proud?” When a child calls out as his mother crosses the stage, “That’s my Mama,” that student’s instructors glow with pride and pleasure because not only did the student graduate but that child will also always know he, too, belongs in college. Just recently, a little girl who had been jumping up and down all through one of the capping and pinning ceremonies stopped jumping, grabbed her granny’s hand, and said in those marvelous whispers only children can make that echo and resound: “Look, look, Mommy’s got her special hat.” Just like students, the faculty get discouraged and tired during the terms and even question why they spend their weekends grading papers and revising their class projects. Then they line up in the hall in their academic robes, march down the aisle to the strains of “Pomp and Circumstance,” and find themselves grinning like proud new parents and surreptitiously wiping tears as their students walk across the stage. Assessment like this does not come any more meaningful than the words that warm the heart and enkindle once again the pleasure of teaching. Why does anyone teach? Anyone who asks that question should join ASUN’s faculty and graduates next year at graduation.

22


Dr. Sandra Massey honors Barbara Adams at a retirement reception celebrating 16 years of service.

Jack Osier conducts adjunct faculty training prior to the beginning of the Spring semester.

Nursing department takes delivery of birthing simulator.

Jessica Wrenfrow hosts the “Spice Up the New Year� Culinary Experience.

Irina Reynolds whips up a culinary treat for a Faculty Breakfast to celebrate the beginning of the Spring semester.

Jack Osier, Adam Adair and Dr. Duane Doyle represent ASUN in the Mentor-Connect Project.

Chris Nelson and Janet Baxter participate in Boy Scout Merit Badge Workshop.

January 2015

23


Staff and faculty return to campus for Spring 2015 Pre-Session activities.

Dr. Holly Ayers previews the Higher Learning Commission accreditation process.

Dr. Martie Shull addresses faculty on the Jonesboro campus prior to the Spring semester.

A Tribute to the Music of Stax Records entertained a packed house at ASUN’s Black History Month music event.

Betsy Walker, Tina Fuentes, Dr. Martie Shull and Kimberly Long conduct a Phi Theta Kappa membership drive.

Historical display at the Hodges Library.

Kimberly Long lectures on “Colorism: Shades of Women of Color” as part of ASUN’s Lunch-N-Learn series.

24

January • February 2015


ASUN staff and faculty volunteer at the Delta Visual Arts Show.

Dr. Eric Martin, ASUN Higher Learning Commission liaison, leads a discussion concerning HLC reaffirmation.

Robert Summers address Newport Rotary Club, highlighting ASUN’s Applied Science programs.

Marked Tree staff members wear red in support of American Heart Association.

Jeff Bookout leads a fundraising auction at the Marked Tree Rotary Banquet.

Staff members from Arkansas Guided Pathways meet with ASUN faculty and staff.

February 2015

Students and staff members traveled to Little Rock to visit Central High School and Mosaic Templars Cultural Center.

25


A group of ASUN faculty, staff and administrators attended the Higher Learning Commission Convention in Chicago.

ASUN Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey accepted the Friends of Tourism award on behalf of ASUN students, staff and faculty from Frank Plegge at the Newport Chamber of Commerce Banquet.

Robert Summers, President of the Newport Chamber of Commerce, emceed the annual banquet.

Practical Nursing students excel at Arkansas Licensed Practical Nursing Association competition.

ASUN Culinary Techniques I students hosted Jonesboro Young Professionals Network.

26

Jeff Bookout was recognized at the Marked Tree Chamber of Commerce banquet for outstanding service to the Chamber.

March 2015


ASU-Newport’s Ken Beach, Charlie Appleby, Dr. Martie Shull and Robert Summers are pictured with Diamond Level sponsors at the 2015 Weldathon.

Energy Control Technology Electric Wiring high school contest winners are pictured with ASUN’s Dr. Ashley Buchman, Mark Constant, David Lynn and Vicki Frans.

Computer Networking Technology high school contest winners are pictured with Robert Summers, Daniel Adamson, Dr. Martie Shull, Rob Burgess and Bryan Hudson of the Northeast Arkansas Career and Technical Center.

Automotive Skills Competition high school contest winners are pictured with Michael Nowlin and Robert Summers.

Dr. Duane Doyle assists with Girl Scout Merit Badge Day Camp.

Collision Repair and Refinishing Competition high school winners with David Milam and Robert Summers

March 2015

27


Executive Cabinet participates in strategic budgeting process.

Students from Irina Reynolds’ First-Year Experience course visit backstage with the cast of the Rip Van Winkle puppet show.

Harrison Runyon of Farmer’s Electric demonstrates the dangers of high voltage to ASUN’s HVLT class.

Melissa Chance, Misty Stroud, Stephanie Turner, Jack Osier and Seth Thompson represent ASUN in the Newport High School Gifted and Talented Quiz Bowl. The Northeast Arkansas Electric Cooperative team captured top honors at the third annual HVLT Rodeo. Graduates of the 2014-15 High Voltage Lineman program

Chris Doyle and Van Provence staff the ASUN booth at the Business Expo in Jonesboro.

28

April 2015


Craft ing a Cult ure of Safet y by Jeff Bookout

Vice Chancellor for Strategic Initiatives This past year ASU-Newport began the initiative to craft a culture of safety. Creating a new culture can only happen when leadership becomes committed to change the environment; allocating resources to bring our campuses up to date with regard to knowledge based training, facilities and response capabilities. This commitment supports the opportunities to strengthen our prevention, detection and response capabilities for each campus. A safety culture often reflects the attitudes, beliefs, perceptions and values that employees share in relation to safety in the workplace, in other words, “the way we do things around here.” Creating a safety culture takes the efforts of every member of the campus communities. It takes everyone working together to create an environment where people are knowledgeable of safety practices to the point where it becomes an intrinsic component of their workday life, so much so, that it blends into their personal existence as well. If you have established a safety plan in your classroom, office or work area and possibly even established a disaster plan for your home, or created a disaster kit for your car, then an impact has been made. Crafting this culture of safety for ASU-Newport will remain an ongoing process of integrating the emergency response phases of Planning, Prevention, Response and Recovery into campus environments. Preparing campuses to respond to an emergency will take careful planning, training and practice to reach the desired result of ASUN being equipped to react in the event something does happen on campus or in one of our communities. Changing the culture means developing awareness of safety and response procedures and then applying those to the individual work areas. To build a robust program literally means to “train like you will fight the battle.” That entails building programs from the ground up. Identifying priorities such as incident prioritization which addresses which incidents are more likely to affect our campuses and then building knowledgeable teams with skill sets that can work together to accomplish the tasks at hand. Taking that lead, ASU-Newport redesigned our ASUN Emergency Guide and Emergency Quick Reference information to better reflect incidents that might threaten our campuses. We conducted CPR, Automated External Defibrillator (AED), fire prevention awareness and emergency response training events to start developing skill sets and to get participants in the mind-set of being prepared. Emergency response teams were established on each campus and faculty and staff were familiarized with procedures by conducting fire drills at each location. This year we will implement a Campus Emergency Response Team (CERT) program to build better structure, knowledge and organization as to how emergency teams should work together. This program will assist in planning and conducting exercises to expand functionality and give participants a better understanding about preparing for an emergency in the workplace, community and home. Utilizing CERT we have already established state and community level partnerships that support implementation on each campus. To improve student safety on our campuses such initiatives as added signage, campus cross walks and fire safety measures have been added with the end goals of enhanced student, faculty and staff safety. In an effort to enhance communications to each campus, ASUN is utilizing School Messenger as the communications platform to notify individuals by email, text message or voicemail of situations where there may be a change with a campus conducting classes or doing business for a particular day. A Department of Safety Portal page was established to assist with providing information about safety awareness campaigns and to provide members of our communities with resources about Campus Police and emergency procedures information. Throughout the year information about training events, presentations and emergency updates will be posted to this page. A campus wide paging system was installed on all three campuses to assist in communicating information in the event of an emergency. The system is integrated into our existing phone system and will allow and encourage emergency communication. Crafting a campus culture of safety involves many things such as communications, coordination, and training. It means everyone is invested and involved so that we can continue to make ASUN a safe place for educational opportunity. Systems cannot operate independently; but operating as a team, across departmental lines and campus boundaries makes anything possible. We owe safety to our students, faculty, staff and communities as the ultimate responsibility for their faith in ASUNewport to be a safe and secure learning environment.

29


Rob Burgess spoke to panelists at the ASUN Career Panel and Networking event on the Marked Tree campus.

Adam Adair, Dr. Sandra Massey and Charles Walker honor William Allen at a retirement reception celebrating seven years of service.

ASUN students and advisors attended the Phi Beta Lambda conference.

Nursing and Allied Health Advisory Board meeting

Dr. Becky Timmons with the Higher Learning Commission conducted meetings with staff and faculty on the Jonesboro campus as part of the HLC multi-site visit.

Four ASUN students won gold medals at the Arkansas SkillsUSA competition in Hot Springs. (from left) Seth Smithee of Paragould won in Electrical Construction Wiring, Aaron Redmond in Information Technology Services, Kaitlyn Lard in Cosmetology and John Angelo in Internetworking.

30

April 2015


The Rhodes Show wrapped up the 201415 Concert-Lecture Series performances.

Legends of Soul was the final performance in the 2014-15 Patron Series.

Spring Fling was celebrated on all three campuses.

Motivational speaker Paul Vitale addressed students at the Completers Luncheon on the Newport campus.

Annalisa Daughety visited the ASUN Library and shared a presentation concerning her book, “Love Finds You In Charm, Ohio.�

New inductees into the Beta Nu Gamma chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society

April 2015

A Student Leadership Symposium was held on the Newport campus.

31


How Do You Know?

by Dr. Holly Ayers

Director of Institutional Effectiveness We start asking this question as toddlers and continue to ask it through our entire lifetime. In my role as the Director of Institutional Effectiveness at Arkansas State University-Newport I ensure that we, as a higher education institution answer two very important questions: 1. Are we providing accessible, affordable, quality educational that transforms the lives of our students, enriches the communities and strengthens the regional economy? At ASUN we answer this question through researching our current progress and finding ways to be more effective and efficient. Maintaining correct, meaningful and sustainable data allows us to monitor our progress toward our goals. It also allows us to answer the question “How do you know?” in order to communicate why we do the things we do to students, communities, legislators, and other stakeholders. In higher education we refer to this process of questioning, researching, planning, acting, assessing, and improving as Institutional Research. IR ensures that we are doing the right things for the right reasons and getting the right results. When we find that we aren’t, IR provides a platform for us to research best practices and implement improvements. 2. Are we ensuring a quality education that meets or exceeds the needs of our employers and four-year transfer institutions? Essentially this question gives us a clear understanding of what a degree, certification, or education opportunity from ASUN is worth. Accreditation ensures the value of our courses, programs, and degrees. It ensures that our students can receive the financial aid needed to pursue an education and that professional boards and licensing agencies can trust the education we are providing to our students. ASUN’s regional accrediting board, the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) monitors our institutional practices continuously to ensure we are in compliance with federal policy, but also to confirm that we have a plan to sustain the quality educational programs and services we currently offer. So why do I love my job as the Director of Institutional Effectiveness? The answer is difficult to narrow down to just a few short sentences. Most importantly my job entails working with students, staff, faculty, administrators and stakeholders to make ASUN the best higher education institution it can be. Every day presents an opportunity to be better, brighter, and bolder in the world of institutional effectiveness. I get to ask the hard questions, and figure out how to answer them. I count myself blessed every day to work with a team of staff and faculty that are so engaged in improving the lives of our students and the economic condition of our communities. Accreditation and Institutional Research support the improvement of every function of the college by ensuring we work together to accomplish ASUN’s mission. As a higher education professional, first generation college student who depended on federal financial aid, the single parent of two school aged children, and an active member of my community these are the questions I want to be able to answer. Why do I love my job? I think a more appropriate question is “Why wouldn’t I love my job?”

32


A student celebrates her accomplishment with a message to her parents.

A packed house celebrated graduation on the Newport campus.

May 2015

Dr. Martie Shull, Dr. Holly Ayers, Dr. Duane Doyle, Joe Campbell, Irina Reynolds and Dr. Misty Stroud

Graduates on the Newport campus join the recessional following Commencement.

Two graduates are all smiles after receiving their diplomas.

ASU System President ASUN Chancellor Dr. Charles Welch Dr. Sandra Massey

Dr. Ashley Buchman, Irina Reynolds, Dr. Holly Ayers, Charles Walker and Candace Gross

ASU Board Chair Charles Luter

Deans Ike Wheeler and Joe Campbell

SGA President William Borie

Faculty President Dr. Duane Doyle

33


Faculty, staff and students enjoy a post-commencement celebration.

Jayne Black receives Faculty Emeritus status.

Faculty/Staff Celebration commemorating the enrollment milestone of 2500 students.

ASU-Newport Jonesboro and Marked Tree graduates celebrate 2015 commencement.

Approximately 25 students received their GED at a graduation ceremony on the Newport campus.

34

Patty DeFord receives Faculty Emeritus status.

Jonesboro and Marked Tree students backstage await commencement ceremony.

May • June 2015


Advancing ASUN

by Ike Wheeler

Dean for Institutional Advancement For many years, I have declared emphatically that I have enjoyed the most amazing professional journey possible. One that has allowed me to collaborate with respected colleagues, challenged my mind to expanded ideas and opened never imagined horizons. My career has been rich with experiences and brought cherished friends that have made my life’s journey imminently more enjoyable. For any that would listen, and some that really didn’t want to, I have extolled the virtues of my two plus decades with ASUNewport. I have been inordinately blessed that leadership throughout our institution would tolerate a true southern eccentric who absolutely enjoyed students, engaged in lively banter and believed passionately in the mission and future of our college. Sometimes, I have the tendency to be nostalgic and reminisce about times gone by and the various experiences and/or paths that have led to the present. The historian in me always realizes that to understand where one lands, he or she has to revisit the past and attempt to glean various lessons that may be learned. It truly doesn’t seem possible that twenty four fall semesters could have transpired and in such quick secession. It has been the most fun ever! As the years have passed, my initial adjunct faculty post turned to full-time faculty then Lead Instructor. Educational duties were supplanted by administrative responsibilities, which were also rewarding, just in a different way. My involvements were certainly diversified! Where else could an individual assist with curricular development, meet educational leaders throughout the state and nation, and haul ferns and arrange flowers to boot? Our institution grew, and I was blessed to grow with it. White River Technical College evolved to ASU Beebe/Newport then ASU-Newport and my opportunities evolved as well. I enjoyed posts that spanned the gamut from Lead Instructor, to Division Chair and finally an exciting stint as interim Vice Chancellor for Academics. Then all of a sudden, as life has the propensity to do, an opportunity presented itself that was too exciting to pass up. In November, 2013, when Dr. Sandra Massey, our new Chancellor, offered me the unique prospect to tackle something professionally different I must admit that at first I felt a bit of trepidation. However, this was quickly replaced with a sense of excitement! This academic was in the mood for something different and the opportunity to craft a new area for our institution was just the thing I needed. In all honesty, there comes a point in any individual’s career where the idea of helping to create something entirely different becomes not only exhilarating but unique and thrilling. Hence the arena of Institutional Advancement….. Institutional Advancement, at ASU-Newport, comprises several components I feel truly passionate about. It is my great privileged to work with Van Provence, ASUN Director of Public Information and Community Relations in telling our story and sharing the unique vision that completes our campuses on a daily basis. Through such endeavors as social media, Facebook, the Month N Review, as well as numerous press releases, our goal is to ensure that individuals throughout our service areas are made aware of the significant happenings throughout our campus communities. Through the Office of the Chancellor, and her amazing assistant Laura King, I truly love involvement in the event arena that comprise the “special days” throughout our institution. These are great passions of mine. Whether it is a celebration of accomplishment such as graduation, an occasion or recognition, holiday gathering or legislative event, one goal I have always fostered is for our visitors and guests to realize they have been to ASU-Newport and carry with them the sense of family and hospitality that remain our trademarks. The far ranging legacy of fundraising and alumni relations that Dr. Sandra Massey and I share will lay the foundation through designated gifts, annual giving and estate planning that will endure long after our career days have ceased. As we make inroads throughout this arena, we will be paving the future for students to not only enhance their lives, but the existences of their families as well as the economic foundations of their communities. Each of these facets completes my career life. In my wildest dreams I would never have imagined a profession that could have provided me a greater sense of enjoyment. For me, every day at Arkansas State University-Newport is the best one yet!

35


Joe Campbell, Dr. Sandra Massey and Dr. Martie Shull honor Jayne Black at a retirement reception celebrating 28 years of service.

Chris Nelson and Jack Osier completed the New Vision Newport leadership initiative.

Dr. Sandra Massey and Charles Walker honor Wanda Price at a retirement reception celebrating 11 years of service.

Dr. Ashley Buchman and Dr. Sandra Massey honor Charlene Mears at a retirement reception celebrating 28 years of service.

Created at the beginning of Dr. Massey’s tenure as Chancellor, Transformation Awards are given bi-annually to honor creativity, initiative and innovation throughout the institution. The 2014-2015 award recipients include: (front row, from left) Traci Burgess, Melissa Chance, Sherri Smith, Betsy Walker and Brenda Cox. (back row, from left) Joe Campbell, Stephen Raviscioni, Dr. Allen Mooneyhan, Bobby Joe Forrester, Robert Summers, Charles Walker and Jack Osier. Not pictured is Nancy Weaver.

36

May • June 2015


New Student Orientation steers students toward paths of curricular success.

Clay Fulton speaks to incoming High Voltage Lineman Technology students and parents at HVLT Orientation.

Todd Carr, ASUN EMT and Practical Nursing Instructor (far left), and Sherri Smith, ASUN Director of Nursing and Allied Health (far right) looked on as Troy Emerson, owner of Emerson Ambulance Service, presented the title to a donated ambulance to ASUN Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey. Dr. Allen Mooneyhan demonstrates the campus connection capabilities provided by the RUS-DLT grant as he teleconferences with officials at Harrisburg High School. Newport campus Capping and Pinning ceremony

June 2015

ASUN staff and faculty volunteered at the PortFest Horseshoe and Baggo Tournament sponsored by ASU-Newport.

37


Christie Williams, Christidon Pyles, Ave Crite, Melanie Prunty, Tandra Neal, Megan McAlister, Al-Fredia Hampton and Anne Dorris were among the first class of graduates from the ASUN Hospitality Services program who were honored at a June banquet.

ASUN Chancellor Dr. Sandra Massey presents a scholarship check to Caleb Reinhart of Manila at the KAIT Region 8 Scholarship Salute.

ASUN hosts Academy of College Excellence Cohort to promote leadership and college preparation.

New crosswalk lights were installed to enhance safety at the Victory Boulevard crossing on the Newport campus.

Leadership, representing various facets of the ASUN campus community, enjoyed retreat time in June as they addressed topics and involved themselves in institution-wide strategic planning.

38

June 2015


Newport 7648 Victory Boulevard Newport, Arkansas 72112

Jonesboro 5504 Krueger Drive Jonesboro, Arkansas 72401

Marked Tree 33500 Hwy. 63 East Marked Tree, Arkansas 72365

www.asun.edu 800.976.1676


ASU-Newport

provides an accessible, affordable, quality education that

transforms the lives

of our students,

enriches our

communities

and

strengthens

the regional economy.

OUR MISSION

ASUN Year In Review  

The amazing stories of what happened at ASU-Newport in 2014 - 2015.

Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you