Page 1

The Association of Clinical Pathologists

ACP news

Autumn 2012

Engaging with politicians From the sublime to the amphibious ACP National Scientific Meeting An apple a day...


Association of Clinical Pathologists Officers

Calendar of Forthcoming Meetings DIARY DATES FOR 2012/13

President Dr M J Galloway President-elect Professor T Reynolds Vice-Presidents Dr S Smellie Dr E Benbow Chairman of Council Dr W J Fuggle Secretary Dr M Wood Treasurer Dr A Oriolowo ACP news Editor Dr Julian Burton Assistant Editors Dr E Carling Dr S Enn Low Dr A Pugh Dr A Freeman Postgraduate Education Secretary Dr M K Heatley

Date 2012 & Organisation

Title

Venue

Contact Details

Wednesday 5 to Friday 7 September

26th ACP Management Course

Hardwick Hall Hotel, Sedgefield

01273 775700 admin@pathologists.org.uk www.pathologists.org.uk

Thursday 14 February 2013

Hot Topics/Current Issues Management Day

Institute of Physics 01273 775700 76 Portland Place info@pathologists.org.uk London www.pathologists.org.uk

Thursday 6th & Friday 7th June 2013

ACP Annual Scientific Meeting

RIBA 66 Portland Place London

01273 775700 info@pathologists.org.uk www.pathologists.org.uk

The ACP accepts no liability for errors or omissions in this calendar of meetings. Readers are reminded that advertised meetings may be cancelled. Those intending to attend are obliged to check the details on booking with the organiser in every instance. There will be a £25 administration fee per issue for entries in this table.

Management Course Organisers Dr G Spickett Dr H Bourne Secretariat The Association of Clinical Pathologists 189 Dyke Road Hove, East Sussex, BN3 1TL Tel: 01273 775700 Fax: 01273 773303 email: info@pathologists.org.uk http://www.pathologists.org.uk Administrator Mrs R Eustace

Dr Ed Carling is Assistant Editor of ACP news and Consultant Histopathologist at James Cook University Hospital

Dr Su Enn Low is Assistant Editor of ACP news and Consultant Histopathologist at Pennine Acute Trust

(Correspondence should be addressed to: The Editor, Association of Clinical Pathologists, 189 Dyke Road, Hove, East Sussex, BN3 1TL Email: JulianBurton@doctors.org.uk ) © acpnews 2012 all rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced in any way whatsoever without the permission of the Association of Clinical Pathologists. Charity registration number: 209455

Dr Abigail Pugh is Trainees Editor of ACP news and ST4 in Histopathology at Birmingham Children’s Hospital


ACP news Autumn 2012 Contents P4 P5

Invitation to contributors Editorial

LEAD ARTICLES P7 Coroners’ post mortems and the National Hospital Service – Dr Sidney C Dyke P10 Political engagement: how far can we go? – Dr Eric Watts ARTICLES P15 A Zambian interlude: leadership, management and kalamari – Dr Simon Knowles P20 The edible fauna of Cambodia, and other things: from the sublime to the amphibious – Dr Ian Chandler P24 A history of leprosy – Mr Michael Phipps BURSARY AND AWARD REPORTS P28 ACP Career Development Award: Rhode Island Hospital, USA – Dr Anna Piskorski P30 ACP Incentive Prize for Junior Doctors 2012: Are we learning enough pathology in medical school to prepare us for our postgraduate training and membership exams? – Dr Emma Marsdin P32 ACP Incentive Prize for Junior Doctors 2012: Bowel Cancer Screening Programme: an audit of histology reporting at University Hospital of North Staffordshire – Dr Alyn German MEETINGS REPORTS P34 Hot topics/current issues management day: the Liaison and Branch Officers’ meeting, February 2010 (a trainee’s perspective) – Dr Zena Slim P37 The ACP National Scientific Meeting, The Royal Institute of British Architects, London 28-29 June 2012 – Drs Abbie Pugh, Eamonn Trainor, Bill Simpson and Eric Watts P42 31st Annual meeting of the British Association of Ophthalmic Pathologists – Dr Caroline Graham P45 Trainee fringe session at the 58th Scientific and Standardisation Committee (SSC) meeting of the International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis (ISTH) Liverpool, 26 June 2012 – Dr Gill Lowe P47 Problems in tumour pathology – Dr Su Enn Low

p10 Taking a stand

p21 One of these is about to meet its maker

TRAINEES’ ZONE P48 Leisure time in Oxford with the BDIAP – Dr Monika Beauchamp P50 Meet the Trainee Members Group BOOK REVIEW P51 Another book review by and for readers THE COLUMNISTS P52 An apple a day… – Professor Kevin Kerr P53 Food of our time – Dr Mike Harris

p39 Phossy Jaw

CURETTINGS P55 More of the weird and wonderful spotted by readers

ACP news - Autumn 2012

3


Cover Story In agrante delicto. This image of a Reed-Sternberg cell progressing through a rather convoluted mitosis comes to us from Dr Paul Bishop.

Invitation to Contributors In addition to the constant flow of material from ACP Council, ACP committees and ACP branches, ACP news needs new material from you, the members of the ACP. Pathology news items (1200-1500 words): Any items related to the ACP or the College, pathologists in general, or medical and management matters that may have an impact on pathologists. Articles (1500-2000 words): These can be papers, reviews, essays, commentaries, critiques or polemics. Submitted articles are always very welcome, as well as suggestions for articles and/or details of people whom the editor may approach.

Trainees: Trainees are especially encouraged to submit material in any and all of the above categories. These will normally be placed in the trainees’ section. Appointments committees in particular value publications in ACP news. Editorial Policy: The editor would particularly encourage overseas contributors, material from trainees, material from non-histopathologists, commentary on current affairs in pathology, occasional columnists, innovations in pathology, humorous writing on pathology-related topics, and anything downright cantankerous.

Columns (600 words): Regular and irregular columnists exercise their thoughts. Please feel free to rant.

Format: The ACP news style guide is now available on line via the ACP website in PDF format at: http://www. pathologists.org.uk/allpagestuff/publications_frameset2.htm. The publication is a magazine, not an academic journal, and long lists of references are generally considered unnecessary. Where given, references should be in the Vancouver style and should be kept to a maximum of around six per article, unless absolutely necessary. Alternatively, authors may prefer to give a recommended reading list, or a list of relevant internet links. The editor prefers these as they take up less space.

Pathological creative writing: All literary forms, including short stories, serials, surrealism and even poetry.

All suggestions are welcome; however, the editor’s decision is final.

Appreciations (1000-1500 words): We prefer appreciations on retirement, rather than obituaries. Please discuss these with the editor before submission.

ACP news is published quarterly. Regular publication dates are:

Reports (1000 words): These may be personal views and reports on interesting meetings, travel or anything else of interest to the readership. Travel reports are specifically for holders of ACP travel fellowships; however, other reports from abroad are welcomed.

Photo-journalism: Favoured subjects include pathologists doing something interesting, or College and ACP officers doing anything at all. Interesting or artistic photographs are welcomed. Cartoons: Suggestions are welcomed. Curettings: Jokes and humorous titbits are always needed. Debate: Letters to the editor are welcomed, but may be shortened for publication, or even converted into articles. Please try to refrain from writing unless you are prepared to be published. All criticisms of organisations or named individuals will entitle the parties to a right of reply. Please bear in mind the UK libel laws!

4

Issue SPRING SUMMER AUTUMN WINTER

Publication month February May August November

Copy date 5 December 5 March 5 June 5 September

Copy is best submitted by email, or on disc if the file size is large, in any version of Microsoft Word, although it should be possible to accommodate other formats. Submissions on paper by snail mail will also be accepted. Illustrations should be sent as JPEG digital images or hard copy prints. Please do not embed images in your text. Send them as separate files. Please send email submissions direct to the editor at julianburton@doctors.org.uk

ACP news - Autumn 2012


Editorial Dateline: July 31st 2012. The Olympics have started, and my, wasn’t the opening ceremony good?! I was impressed, even though I have no interest at all in sport or in watching any of the rest of it. The games have been blessed with a few days of glorious weather, though our climate seems to have decided that summer is now well and truly over and it has started to rain again. Hmmm. Looking back over my last few editorials I see that I have that typical British obsession with the weather. I must stop that! ACP members have clearly been busy over the summer, evidenced by the plethora of copy that flooded into my inbox over the past couple of months. Hopefully now there will be time for us all to relax, enjoy the Olympics (if you are so inclined) or take a nice holiday. With luck I will be in the Algarve when you receive this issue, enjoying some wonderful seafood and the occasional glass of port. National Pathology Year continues and accounts of your experiences are of course welcome. I have begun preparations for my own event, an evening lecture titled “Dicing with death: 5500 years of human dissection and the autopsy”. I’m cheating a little as I have already given this lecture to the Royal Society of Medicine but they seemed to like it, so if it is good enough for them it should satisfy medical students in Sheffield. A new member of the editorial team I am very pleased to report that the editorial team of the ACP news has now reached its full complement. Dr Alex Freeman, a Consultant Histopathologist at the University College London Hospital joins the team as the Book Reviews editor. I hope that you will help him to continue the success of the Book Reviews section. Good news for trainees Without doubt, trainees are the future of our profession. As we slowly slide towards our dotage there needs to be young blood coming along behind us. Trainees are also the lifeblood of our Association, and will guarantee its future. The ACP has a lot to offer trainees beyond being part of a vibrant organisation. As well as this wonderful publication, membership includes the Journal of Clinical Pathology, along with access to a host of educational events and the annual National Scientific Meeting, bursaries to support education, training and research, and prizes for Journalism in Pathology. Come January 2013 all of this is set to be even better, as the membership fee for trainees will fall from £54 to just £25. I hope that you will spread the word and encourage your trainees to join us. (They’ll also have a

Dr Julian Burton is Senior Teaching Fellow at the University of Sheffield and a Coronial Pathologist at the Medico-Legal Centre Email: julianburton@doctors.org.uk

reduced membership fee for that all-important first year as a consultant.) In this issue As ever, the ACP news is packed to the drawstrings with interesting articles. We begin this issue with another leader article by our founder, Dr Sydney Dyke, on Coroners’ post mortem examinations. Although he was writing about coronial autopsies in the 1930s and 1940s it is remarkable how little has changed, and his thoughts then remain of interest and relevance today. Our other leader article comes from Dr Eric Watts. In the light of recent events surrounding the Health and Social Care Act, and perhaps also in light of current events around the NHS Pension Scheme, Dr Watts considers the important but thorny issue of engaging with politicians. How can we do it, and how can it be done successfully? In describing his own experiences, Dr Watts’ article makes essential reading. The wonderful British climate tends to make our thoughts turn to sunnier climes over the Summer, and in part this is reflected by two of the articles in this issue. Dr Simon Knowles reports on his experiences of teaching management and leadership skills to pathology trainees in Zambia as part of a Masters of Medicine degree that will allow them to work as independent heads of service. Medical practice is rather different in Zambia compared to the UK, but if you’re considering a busman’s holiday, this is the article for you! Dr Ian Chandler, the ACP’s

ACP news - Autumn 2012

5


Editorial answer to Bill Bryson, has been off on his adventures again and recounts his travels and culinary experiences in Cambodia. (All of which makes my trip to the Algarve seem rather lame.) For those of you with an interest in medical history, Mr Michael Phipps considers the history of leprosy. Thoughts on the nature of this disease have evolved over time and Mr Phipps takes us on a fascinating journey. Elsewhere in this issue Is that all we have to offer you this time? Of course not. Dr Zena Slim reports on the Liaison and Branch Officers’ meeting and Drs Abigail Pugh, Eamonn Trainor, Bill Simpson and Eric Watts report back on this year’s National Scientific Meeting, which was held at the Royal Institute of British Architects. (I went for the Forensic Pathology session and it was superb. If you missed it you missed out.) We also have reports on the 31st Annual Meeting of the British Association of Ophthalmic Pathologists, the Trainee fringe session at the 58th Scientific and Standardisation Committee meeting of the International

Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis, and a meeting at the Christie Hospital in Manchester. As I said, people have been busy! A good number of these articles have been written by trainees, which I think is superb. I am always eager to encourage trainees to put fingers to keyboard. The Trainee Zone, under the guidance of its new Assistant Editor, continues to go from strength to strength, and hopefully will be of interest not only to trainees but also to more seasoned members. On top of all that we have a number of bursary and award reports, which will give an idea perhaps of how the ACP can support you; the columnists have been beavering away (we only feed them fish heads and stale bread, allowing them out once a month if they have written something): and there is the usual motley collection of curettings to brighten your day. Enjoy! As I sign off my mind turns already to the Winter issue and the currently empty table of contents. I’m hoping you’ll feel inspired to send me some copy!

“Erratum”: a repeated error? The Autumn 2011 issue of ACP news included an article by Dr Alison Finall titled “Ten top tips for floorless undergraduate tutorial teaching”. This excellent article was awarded the ACP’s Second Prize for Journalism in Pathology, as noted in the Summer issue this year. A reader has spotted this and raised these interesting questions: “Do you suspend them from the ceiling, in the hope that fear of falling improves the learning process? Should I seek to have the floor removed from all teaching areas?” In fact, the term “floorless” was deliberately chosen by the author and approved by the editor as a pun for what followed in the article.

www.pathologists.org.uk ISSN No. 0260-065X

6

ACP news - Autumn 2012


If you would like to view the full version of the ACP news please login to your account. If you are not a member you can join by contacting the Association’s central office or email info@pathologists.org.uk

Acp autumn 2012 preview  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you