Page 4

EDITOR'S NOTE

a&s International, published by Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd., is a monthly professional publication for channel players in the worldwide electronic security industry since 1997. It updates importers, distributors, OEM/ODM searchers, system integrators and other product purchasers on product sources and identifies developments in CCTV, Digital Surveillance, Access Control, Biometrics, Intrusion Alarm, Intercom/Video Doorphone, Home

Market Consolidation Followed by Companies’ Reengineering 2014 has finally come to the end. When we contemplated several buzzwords, which may well describe the current global security market, we found that they are no longer “IP” or “phenomenal growth.” What is usually tied in our conversation with suppliers, distributors, and even resellers is how they have transformed to become solution providers or value-added resellers. The trend has become even more obvious and widespread compared to the past few years.

Automation and other fields relevant to electronic security.

ISSN 1997-6267 中華郵政北台字第1571號 執照登記為雜誌交寄 Parson Lee Joseph Lee John Shi

Publisher & Managing Director General Manager General Manager

Editorial

General Press Jill Lai Alf Chang Eifeh Strom Steve Chin William Pao Lisa Hsu Weiting Chen

Editor in Chief Senior Consultant Senior Editor Reporter Reporter Reporter Coordinator

as-pr@newera.messefrankfurt.com jill.lai@newera.messefrankfurt.com alf.chang@newera.messefrankfurt.com eifeh.strom@newera.messefrankfurt.com steve.chin@newera.messefrankfurt.com william.pao@newera.messefrankfurt.com lisa.hsu@newera.messefrankfurt.com weiting.chen@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Executive Designer Designer Designer

gaven.lee@newera.messefrankfurt.com mao.chang@newera.messefrankfurt.com arthur.wu@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Art Design

Gaven Lee Mao Chang Arthur Wu

Circulation & Subscription

Michelle Shih

Coordinator

michelle.shih@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Corporate Management

The security industry is still more focused on the demand from project markets. However, with professional products becoming standardized and commoditized, more specialized “solutions,” not merely devices, are used and higher technical knowledge is needed in order to meet the demand for various projects. In the meantime, companies, in order to win projects, need to stand out with their product portfolios and extra values they can provide via integrated systems and extra services. This is why the global market is consolidating and companies are transforming into another higher level. Several cases can be seen in the Western security market; for example, TKH acquired Aasset Security International in 2012, which was followed by this year’s Canon Europe acquiring Milestone, and Anixter acquiring Tri-Ed. When we traveled to Asia, we also saw a reshuffle in Asian channels due to the global trend, which kicked out the companies who are not able to catch up. This issue, we especially highlighted after the reshuffling on the manufacturer’s side how the role of a distributor/reseller has also changed around the globe. The involvement in vertical markets and networks with partners is also key for companies to grow. The development of 4K video security systems and connected home systems (from a&s SMAhome), featured in this issue, will also influence the whole security industry to move on to another new level! We can foresee a brand new landscape for the security industry in a longer future, with the help of the latest technologies and solutions tailored for vertical end users.

Collins Yuan Thomas Pin Chihung Lee

Group Manager Account Manager IT Manager

collins.yuan@newera.messefrankfurt.com thomas.pin@newera.messefrankfurt.com chihung.lee@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Assistant Manager

jerry.wu@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Trade Fair Manager Manager Project Manager

peggy.wu@newera.messefrankfurt.com echo.lin@newera.messefrankfurt.com eva.tsai@newera.messefrankfurt.com

asmag.com

Jerry Wu Secutech

Peggy Wu Echo Lin Eva Tsai

International Advertising [Headquarters]

Juihui Lin Kay Yang Audrey Fang Wayne Ho

Manager Operation Officer Coordinator Sales Officer

juihui.lin@newera.messefrankfurt.com kay.yang@newera.messefrankfurt.com audrey.fang@newera.messefrankfurt.com wayne.ho@newera.messefrankfurt.com

[Branches & Representatives]

Bobbie Ferraro Carolina Pattuelli Tenzile Cavus Evris Consolos Muris Hadzic Manish Gandhi Iris Lai Y. C. Suh Takashi Komori Nguyen Thu Ha

USA/Canada Europe (Italy) Europe (Turkey) Europe (U.K.) Southeast Europe India China Korea Japan Vietnam

bobbie@globetrottermedia.com produzione@ethosmedia.it tenzile.cavus@asturkiye.com evris@kemainternational.com management@asadria.com manish@abcindia.biz iris.lai@newera.messefrankfurt.com ycsuh517@naver.com komori@asj-corp.jp project1@vietfair.vn

Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd. Taiwan Branch: 2F, No. 8, Lane 360, Sec. 1, Nei-Hu Rd.,Taipei 114, Taiwan Phone/886 2 2659 9080 Fax/886 2 2659 9069 Website/www.mfnewera.com Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd., a company formed by Messe Frankfurt (HK) Ltd. and former A&S Group in 2009, is an integrated media service provider in the security industry. Our service covers magazines, Web sites, events and trade shows. The portfolio of a&s magazines includes a&s International, a&s Asia (above published in English), a&s China, a&s Installer, a&s Solution, and a&s Taiwan (above published in Chinese). a&s Turkiye, a&s Adria, a&s Italy, a&s India, a&s Japan and a&s Vietnam are licensed editions. For changes of address or subscription problems, contact us at mfne-circulation@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Jill Lai

Copyright© 2014 Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd. All rights reserved. No part of this magazine may be republished, reprinted or redistributed in any forms, including electronic, without written consent from the publisher.

jill.lai@newera.messefrankfurt.com Advertisers are responsible for their own advertisement content. The publisher is not liable for any legal, image, patent or trademark disputes from advertisements or among advertisers. Legal consultant: Julia S.H. Yu, Attorney at Law, First Law & IP Offices

18

DEC 2014

a&s International Dec 2014 (Trial version)  

The Leading International Security Magazine for Professional Buyers.

a&s International Dec 2014 (Trial version)  

The Leading International Security Magazine for Professional Buyers.

Profile for asmag
Advertisement