__MAIN_TEXT__

Page 4

a&s Asia, published by Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd., is a bimonthly professional publication for channel players in the regional electronic security industry. It caters to importers, distributors, OEM/ODM searchers, system integrators and other product purchasers to get updates on product sources and

secutech Awards Speak Volumes About Asian Manufacturing Excellence

developments in CCTV, Digital Surveillance, Access Control, Biometrics, Intrusion Alarm, Intercom/Video Doorphone, Home Automation and other fields relevant to electronic security.

ISSN 1997-6267 中華郵政北台字第1571號 執照登記為雜誌交寄 Parson Lee Joseph Lee John Shi

Publisher & Managing Director General Manager General Manager

Editorial

aking a look at the finalists in this year’s secutech Awards, it was discovered that manufacturers across the globe were pretty much concerned with the same things. From 4K, H.265, and fisheye products to HD-over-coaxial, which was launched by Asian manufacturers to begin with, we get the sense that Asian manufacturing is catching up at rapid speed. Testing results of 4K products showed that high resolution was the key advantage featured on frontend cameras. Of course, improvements need to be made on transmission and storage. There were quite a few UHD IP camera participants this year, and we have identified several features that they share in common, including 8M resolution, intelligence, edge storage plus management software, and automatic adjustment of resolution. It looks like everyone is now shifting their focus to high-end IP cameras to increase profitability.

We’ve also tested several NVRs, which have progressed noticeably in terms of compatibility, ease of use, and functionality, allowing users to truly “plug and play.” Asian manufacturing over the past two years have really strengthened their software development capability. Unsurprisingly, there were many HD-over-coaxial products. Price varied according to the type of image sensor used, which ultimately played a role on quality. If you only look at the price, you will definitely be disappointed. Meanwhile, transmission distance did not live up to what was promised by the manufacturers. You really have to test the product out before buying it. The grade and quality of the coaxial cable should also be taken into consideration. Overall, Asian manufacturers have caught up with the new technologies. In the areas of software development and products’ ease of use, they have made much progress, too.

General Press Jill Lai Alf Chang Eifeh Strom William Pao Lisa Hsu Prasanth Aby Thomas Weiting Chen

Editor in Chief Senior Consultant Senior Editor Reporter Reporter Reporter Coordinator

as-pr@newera.messefrankfurt.com jill.lai@newera.messefrankfurt.com alf.chang@newera.messefrankfurt.com eifeh.strom@newera.messefrankfurt.com william.pao@newera.messefrankfurt.com lisa.hsu@newera.messefrankfurt.com prasanth.aby@newera.messefrankfurt.com weiting.chen@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Executive Designer Designer Designer

gaven.lee@newera.messefrankfurt.com mao.chang@newera.messefrankfurt.com arthur.wu@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Art Design

Gaven Lee Mao Chang Arthur Wu

Circulation & Subscription

Michelle Shih

Coordinator

michelle.shih@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Corporate Management

Collins Yuan Thomas Pin Chihung Lee

Group Manager Account Manager IT Manager

collins.yuan@newera.messefrankfurt.com thomas.pin@newera.messefrankfurt.com chihung.lee@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Assistant Manager

jerry.wu@newera.messefrankfurt.com

Trade Fair Manager Manager Project Manager

peggy.wu@newera.messefrankfurt.com echo.lin@newera.messefrankfurt.com eva.tsai@newera.messefrankfurt.com

asmag.com

Jerry Wu Secutech

Peggy Wu Echo Lin Eva Tsai

International Advertising [Headquarters]

Juihui Lin Kay Yang Audrey Fang

Manager Operation Officer Coordinator

juihui.lin@newera.messefrankfurt.com kay.yang@newera.messefrankfurt.com audrey.fang@newera.messefrankfurt.com

[Branches & Representatives]

Bobbie Ferraro Carolina Pattuelli Tenzile Cavus Evris Consolos Muris Hadzic Manish Gandhi Iris Lai Y. C. Suh Takashi Komori Nguyen Thu Ha

USA/Canada Europe (Italy) Europe (Turkey) Europe (U.K.) Southeast Europe India China Korea Japan Vietnam

bobbie@globetrottermedia.com produzione@ethosmedia.it tenzile.cavus@asturkiye.com evris@kemainternational.com management@asadria.com manish@abcindia.biz iris.lai@newera.messefrankfurt.com ycsuh517@naver.com komori@asj-corp.jp project1@vietfair.vn

Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd. Taiwan Branch: 2F, No. 8, Lane 360, Sec. 1, Nei-Hu Rd.,Taipei 114, Taiwan Phone/886 2 2659 9080 Fax/886 2 2659 9069 Website/www.mfnewera.com Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd., a company formed by Messe Frankfurt (HK) Ltd. and former A&S Group in 2009, is an integrated media service provider in the security industry. Our service covers magazines, Web sites, events and trade shows. The portfolio of a&s magazines includes a&s International, a&s Asia (above published in English), a&s China, a&s Installer, a&s Solution, and a&s Taiwan (above published in Chinese). a&s Turkiye, a&s Adria, a&s Italy, a&s India, a&s Japan and a&s Vietnam are licensed editions.

MAY 2015 ● www.asmag.com

As for H.265, it indeed was able to compress files by 50 percent. With smaller file sizes, high-resolution products are expected to find more applications and market acceptance.

For changes of address or subscription problems, contact us at mfne-circulation@newera.messefrankfurt.com Copyright© 2015 Messe Frankfurt New Era Business Media Ltd. All rights reserved. No part of this magazine may be republished, reprinted or redistributed in any forms, including electronic, without written consent from the publisher.

The a&s Editorial Team as-pr@newera.messefrankfurt.com

18

John Shi

Advertisers are responsible for their own advertisement content. The publisher is not liable for any legal, image, patent or trademark disputes from advertisements or among advertisers. Legal consultant: Julia S.H. Yu, Attorney at Law, First Law & IP Offices

a&s ASIA #112 MAY 2015 Trial  

AUSTRALIA PREPARES FOR THE NEXT WAVE OF GROWTH

a&s ASIA #112 MAY 2015 Trial  

AUSTRALIA PREPARES FOR THE NEXT WAVE OF GROWTH

Profile for asmag
Advertisement