Page 1

RIGHTS GUIDE - Frankfurt 2013 FICTION HADES by Candice Fox HADES opens on a dark night in a junkyard on the outskirts of the city; there, Hades Archer disposes of things other people either donʼt want or cannot face. Old machinery and dead bodies are dismembered with cool precision until two children are delivered for disposal and Hades makes a choice that will transform his life. HADES also introduces Frank Bennett, a detective fighting his own demons, working with a new partner, the beautiful and enigmatic Eden Archer. When a junkie turns up on a dock in the marina, claiming to have been chained to a heavy metal box and cast to the depths of the ocean, the new partners set out to hunt a new breed of serial killer who offers the sick and the dying hope at a murderous cost. Candice Fox has four degrees and, as the daughter of a parole officer, spent her childhood visiting Sydneyʼs correctional facilities. HADES is her first novel. Foxʼs US and Australian publishers have both signed second books in the Bennett Archer series. ANZ – Random House (publication January 2014) North American – Kensington Publishing (Fall 2014) Hebrew – Keter Books (Spring 2015)


CICADA by Moira McKinnon CICADA is both love story and tale of bloody murder, set against the dazzling backdrop of the Kimberley Ranges in Western Australia. After the First World war, the colonists in Australia reached further into land that had previously only been inhabited by the Aboriginal people. A white settler woman and her Aboriginal maid are hunted across the Kimberley. One is running from a murderer and the other is accused of murder. CICADA is something of a Thelma and Louise of the Australian outback. Written in close consultation with the Gidja people of the Halls Creek and Warmun area of the Kimberley, their legends and language are integral to the story. Moira McKinnonʟs stories and essays have won major awards but CICADA is her first novel. A specialist physician involved in chasing germs and their origins around the globe, McKinnon has worked in outback Australia, and, most recently, as Chief Medical Officer in Saskatchewan, Canada. ANZ – Allen & Unwin (publication mid 2014)

2


THE PLACE OF RIVERS by Lucy Treloar This novel is the new Winner of Writing Australiaʼs Unpublished Manuscript Award judged by J.M. Coetzee, Toni Jordan and Aviva Tuffield. It is set in modern-day Cambodia and the seedy but exhilarating world that flourishes when First World money collides with Third World poverty. Treloar started writing it after her familyʼs return from several years in Cambodia during the lead-up to the Khmer Rouge Tribunals, which aimed to hold some of those responsible for war crimes to account. It is into this world that the novelʼs protagonist, Seph Gardam arrives, nine years after her family fled Cambodia during the 1997 civil war. At first it is a homecoming after years in exile, but crucial to Sephʼs feeling of connection with Cambodia is the friendship she develops with a child beggar, Rachany. Among the altruistic and avaricious foreigners drawn to Cambodia for reconstruction, there are a few who are there to prey on the poverty-stricken children. With its vivid evocation of place and sympathetic portrayals of people not always behaving well, THE PLACE OF RIVERS will appeal to readers of Ann Patchett and Barbara Kingsolver. Lucy Treloar was born in Malaysia and attended schools in Australia, England and Sweden. A graduate of the University of Melbourne and RMITʼs Professional Writing and Editing program, Lucy has worked as a writer and editor in both Australia and Cambodia. This is the authorʼs first novel and will be on submission in October 2013.

3


VOICES by Nicole Trope Writing in the tradition of Jodi Picoult and Caroline Overington, Nicole Trope is carving a name for herself in the world of commercial fiction. Tropeʼs latest novel presents yet another moral dilemma for her protagonists. When an obese woman who has always longed for a child finds a newborn baby in a lavatory at her local shopping centre, she feels it has been sent to her for a reason. When a teenage girl collapses in a pool of blood in the family bathroom, her father is in shock and denial by the news that the bleeding was caused by the birth of a child. Is loving and raising a baby nobody else wants a crime? Is not being able to remember the trauma of a lone teenage birth and the subsequent fate of your baby a crime? In Nicole Tropeʼs third novel, she draws her readers into a world in which they cannot help but love the women she puts on the wrong side of the law. Nicole Tropeʼs first novel, THE BOY UNDER THE TABLE, was published in 2012 and her second, THREE HOURS LATE, in 2013. Her fourth novel, CHICK, CHICK, is ready for submission. ANZ – Allen & Unwin (Publication June 2014)

4


LIGHTNING by Felicity Volk Amid the chaos of sweeping bushfires, Persia gives birth alone at home with tragic consequences. So begins a journey through grief that leads her into central Australia, towards a heritage that is both her anchor and her albatross. She travels with Ahmed, a refugee fleeing deportation by immigration authorities. In Persia and Ahmed's world, ancient winds wreak havoc across generations, lightning ignites fires that both destroy and rejuvenate, and water drowns then delivers. LIGHTNING is a tale about the significance of names and of being named, and about the way our Scheherazade stories and their telling keep us alive. Felicity Volk writes with the magical realist genius of the likes of Marquez and Calvino, and yet with a womanʼs voice that goes straight to the heart. The Weekend Australianʼs foremost fiction critic described LIGHTNING as brimming with invention and intelligence. Volk is currently advisor to Australiaʼs Global Ambassador to Girls and Women. ANZ – Picador (publication June 2013)

5


naher-agency-fbf-2013-hot-list  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you