Page 1


Making An Impact “ASID advances the profession and communicates the impact of interior design to enhance the human experience.” The ASID vision statement reminds us of our purpose as professionals, and of the reason that many of us got into the design industry to begin with. In the coming year, we will do all that we can to help you realize and fulfill that purpose and commitment. We listened to your suggestions and the ASIDEAS educational series continues to be solid in city and suburbs. Upcoming CEU’S and forums will focus on professional development with topics to help you grow and improve your business such as best practices, technology, social media and NCIDQ prep.

Each year, more and more entries in our Design Excellence Awards showcase projects that embrace ASID’s vision and core values. The ASID Gives Back committee continues to partner with local charities to bring the value and impact of inter design to those working for worthy causes. Increasingly, the future of every segment of our profession will be influenced by government decisions. ASID One Voice is a platform for all of us to be heard by legislators and others in a position to influence how our profession is recognized and perceived. If you’re not yet part of this critical network, please text InteriorDesignerIL to 52886 to support and follow our grassroots fight for Designers’ rights. With so many great plans and programs, we’ll need everyone’s support and involvement. We look forward to seeing you at events, and working on committees, as well as to your participation in ONE VOICE. Together, we have the power to make an impact and design a better future for our entire profession. With appreciation,

Jase Frederick ASID Illinois President, 2016/17


ASID Illinois Board President Jase Frederick, ASID jase@jasefrederickdesign.com President-Elect Cynthia Smith Allied ASID cynthia@ccsinteriordesign.com Director of Communications Patricia Rozonkiewiecz, Allied ASID Pattir@draperyconnection.com Director of Membership Susan Sissman, Allied ASID ssissman@me.com

Congratulations to our incoming 2017-2019 Directors President-Elect John P. Cialone, ASID Director of Communications Sarah Guzak, Allied ASID Director of Professional Development Meahgan Wallace, Allied ASID Director of Finance Ken Walker, Industry Partner of ASID

Director of Finance Mario Guertin, ASID Industry Partner mario@paintpartner.com

Director of Professional Development Ann Marie Del Monico, Allied ASID amdelmonico@hotmail.com Director At Large Merissa Seefried, Allied ASID merissa.seefried@gmail.com Past President Carol Stolt, Allied ASID cstolt@fgmarchitects.com Student Representatives to the Board William Nash Blankenship, Student ASID Emily Phillips, Student ASID StudentRep@il.asid.org ASID Illinois Chapter Administrator Janel Hyland administrator@il.asid.org

ASID ILLINOIS (312) 467-5080 1647 Merchandise Mart Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60654 administrator@il.asid.org / www.asidillinois.com


ASID Illinois Peer Groups Peer Groups offer networking and educational opportunities in Chicago, the suburbs, and throughout Illinois. To participate in a Peer Group in your area, please contact the leader to be added to the email list. All Peer Group events are posted on the ASID IL Calendar of Events. Days and times listed here are subject to change. Committee Chair Linda Navara, Allied ASID lmrdesigns@sbcglobal.net

847-577-2567

Northwest Suburbs/2nd or 4th Wednesday of the Month/Lunch Linda Navara, Allied ASID 847-577-2567 lmrdesigns@sbcglobal.net Western Suburbs/3rd Thurs of the Month/AM Dena Kareotes Arendt, Allied ASID 630.347.3620 dena@insideideasdesign.com Karin Hanke, Allied ASID 630-913-1049 info@karinhanke.com Far West Suburbs/4th Wednesday of the Month/PM Jean Charlton, Allied ASID 630-464-4525 jean.charlton@yahoo.com Christine Courtin, Allied Member ASID 630-430-1211 ccourtin@comcast.net City of Chicago/3rd Wednesday of the Month/Lunch Cynthia C. Smith, Allied ASID 708-856-4277 cynthia@ccsinteriordesign.com Susan Sissman 773-490-7787 ssissman@me.com South Suburbs and Indiana/Meeting Tauji VanPelt, Allied ASID Tauji2@gmail.com Industry Partner Group Chair Sonia Dumont, Industry Partner ASID sonia@ajstoneworks.com

773-738-2164

312-651-6080 773-251-1581


CEU Requirements The current reporting period ends December 31, 2017 ASID members must earn a minimum of 1.0 (10 hours) approved continuing education units (CEU) every two years. The current reporting period is January 1, 2016 through December 31, 2017. ASID bylaws and policies require all practitioner members (Professional, Allied and Associate members) to meet the Society’s continuing education membership requirement. For ASID members who need continuing education for state licensure renewal, all continuing education taken for your licensing renewal can also be applied to the ASID requirement. Check with your state regulatory board or agency for requirements. Members in the following categories are not required to fulfill the continuing education requirement: Professional Inactive, Professional Life Member, Professional Retired, Allied Retired, Industry Partner and Student Member. For more information, please email Education@asid.org or call 202-675-2341.


Annual Meeting & Celebration of Design September 28, 2017


Pat Bailey, ASID National Medalist

Pat Bailey, ASID ASID held its 2016 National Awards Program in Minneapolis where they recognized a new class of Fellows and other award winners. We were thrilled to have long-time Illinois Chapter member, Pat Bailey, recognized as an ASID Medalist. The ASID Medalist Award is granted by the Society to members who have demonstrated outstanding service to ASID, and who have provided significant contributions to the interior design profession.

Pat, who served as Illinois Chapter President in 2012/13, is an award-winning Interior designer with 33 years in the industry. She currently oversees the interior design department at Bancroft Architects and Engineers. Among her specialties is a firsthand understanding of health issues due to indoor air quality. Pat is a member of the Interior Design Board of the State of Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. She has also been an instructor at the College of DuPage. We congratulate Pat for this honor and thank her for her ongoing commitment to ASID.

Interested in Volunteering with ASID Illinois? Learn how to qualify for the ASID Fellow and Medalist Awards Email Info@il.asid.org for more information.


Industry Partners 11 Ravens

Lefroy Brooks

Nanci Figueroa nanci@11ravens.com

Erika Fletcher erika@lefroybrooksusa.com

Bed Bath and Beyond

Masterpiece Framing and Imaging

Dean Gray dean.gray@bedbath.com

Matt Puchalski Matt@mframing.com

Blatt Billiards

Maya Romanoff

Brian Roeder tina@blattbilliards.com

Carl Blando cblando@mayaromanoff.com

Caesarstone

Shore Partners Design and Construction

Mary Cotey Mary.cotey@caesarstoneus.com

Lashawn Brown-Davis livenchicago@gmail.com

California Closets

Sprovieri's Custom Counters

Robin Lamper rlamper@calclosets.com

Janelle Yacko janelle@sprovieris.com

City Escape Garden & Design

Stone Masters

Connie Rivera connie@cityescape.biz

Robert Oraha stonemasters99@gmail.com

Covers Unlimited

Storm Inspired Showroom

Susan Rix susan@coversunlimitedinc.con

Lauren Walsh lauren@storminspired.com

Design Within Reach

Surya

Alicja Aleszczyk aaleszczyk@dwr.com Kyle Hamilton khamilton@dwr.com Ted Givan tgivan@dwr.com

Anne Callahan anne.callahan@surya.com

The Sliding Door Company Ashley Allen aallen@slidingdoorco.com

Feizy Import & Export Michelle Foley Michelletfoley@yahoo.com

Transceramica Lorenzo Dellantonio ldellantonio@transceramica.com

Firebelly Design Dawn Hancock dawn@firebellydesign.com

WallsNeedLove Sarah Mccall sarah@wallsneedlove.com

Florida Tile Laura Franco laura.franco@floridatile.com

Wehrli Furniture Daniel Jones dan@wehrlifurniture.com

Hakwood, Inc. Alain Mannien mannien.a@hakwood.com

Williams-Sonoma, Inc

Humanscale Corporation

Denise Czajkowski Dczajkowski@stores.potterybarn.com

Jessie Feigin jfeigin@humanscale.com

JD Dennison, LLC Jd Dennison jdenn3@gmail.com


Professional, Allied, Associate, and Student Shavahn E Randle, Allied ASID Alixandria Marie Zysk, Allied ASID Rae Duncan, Allied ASID Sarah Coe, Associate ASID Erica Harmon, Associate ASID Robin H. Thomas, Associate ASID Dawn A. Turner, Student ASID Emily Anne Anderson, Student ASID Kimberly Castellanos, Student ASID Christopher Procter, Student ASID Constance J. Imler, Student ASID Daniela Maria Cavazos, Student ASID Cayla Dodaro, Student ASID

Aisha Coats, Student ASID Karla Herdrich, Student ASID Caitlin Elizabeth Worrell, Student ASID Catie Anne Crutchfield, Student ASID Kathleen Mae Haines, Student ASID Tray Ann Kurczaba, Student ASID Courtney Gascoigne, Student ASID Melina Simmons, Student ASID Aija Rozentals, Student ASID Amanda Barkley, Student ASID


Why ASID? Membership in ASID, the design industry’s only association representing all sectors of design offers more than professional credibility. It connects you to a network of peers, thought leaders, and luminaries. Engage in educational and leadership opportunities spanning every design specialty and career stage. Grow in your career and understand the latest innovations in the industry. ASID membership offers the support you need to reach your full potential as a designer. Value ASID advances the profession and communicates the impact of interior design to enhance the human experience. Benefits ASID prepares its members to continually excel in a dynamic and evolving profession competing in a global marketplace. Find My Category An ASID interior designer is trained to enhance quality of life, wherever you live, work, play, or heal. Find the membership category that best fits your qualifications. Resources Access countless member benefits that will help you grow as a professional. Apply Any individual or business of good professional and business reputation who is otherwise qualified under the Policies, and who agrees to comply with all obligations imposed upon Society Members by the Bylaws and Code of Ethics may be admitted to membership in one of the Society’s membership categories. Find the category that best describes you and join the ASID community today!


Photo


ASID Illinois 2016 Chapter Awards Designer of Distinction Joan Kaufman, FASID

Rising Star

Meahgan Wallace, Allied ASID


Congratulations to our 2016 Design Excellence Awards Winners


Industry Partner Award New Product Innovation in Furnishings, Fixtures, Appliances, Technology, Surfaces or Lighting

Sarkis Tatosian, Industry Partner ASID, Vikram Kapoor

Oscar Isberian Rugs

Custom Rug

Original Photo


Furnishings Sharon Exley, Associate ASID

Fun Finders


Lighting Frank Ponterio, ASID

Frank Ponterio Interior Design


Surfaces Deborah Newark, Stefan Scholten, Carol Baijings

Skyline Design


Student Award Project completed as part of Interior Design Curriculum

William Nash Blankenship, Student ASID School of the Art Institute of Chicago


Bath Design First Place Yamini Hingorani, ASID

Yamini Designs, LLC


Bath Design Honorable Mention Kate Wozniak, Allied ASID

Katherine Elizabeth Design


Kitchen Design John Philip Cialone, ASID

Tom Stringer Design Partners


Universal Design Letty Allen, Allied ASID Mature Transitions by Design


Showcase Space Donna Mondi, ASID, Alex Dabrowski, Alyssa Hall

Donna Mondi Interior Design


Outdoor Space Leslie Jones, ASID, Inga Dainius Leslie Jones & Associates, Inc.


Singular Space Donna Mondi, ASID

Donna Mondi Interior Design


Residential Project Small Firm Five Employees or Fewer

First Place Patricia Abbatemarco, ASID

PSA Interiors, LTD


Residential Project Small Firm Five Employees or Fewer

Honorable Mention Tina Dann-Fenwick, Allied ASID

Tina Dann-Fenwick Interiors


Residential Project Under 3,000 SF

Susan Brunstrum, Associate ASID, Beth Kweton, Jennifer Cioni Tarello

Sweet Peas Design


Residential Project Over 3,000 SF

First Place Donna Mondi, ASID, Alex Dabrowski, Alyssa Hall

Donna Mondi Interior Design


Residential Project Over 3,000 SF

Honorable Mention Tom Stringer, Allied ASID

Tom Stringer Design Partners


Healthcare Margi Kaminski, ASID, Katherine Baldwin, Rebecca Straub, Joel Camden

CallisonRTKL


Education Jaime Velez, ASID, Brian Lee, Adam Semel, Inho Rhee, Michelle Newman, Dennis Milam Skidmore Owings & Merrill


Hospitality Aracely Nevarez, Associate ASID, Andrew Becker

Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture


Contract Project Under 3,000 SF

Emily Mackie, ASID, Lauren Hickok

Inspired Interiors


Contract Project Small Firm Five Employees or Fewer

Susan El-Naggar, ASID, Tarik El-Naggar

Healing Environments


Celebration of Design

2016 Sponsors


IMPACT ASID  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you