Issuu on Google+

Hispanic / Native American Indian Caucus 2013 Board of Directors Eva Carrillo Dong President Sunnyside USD ecdong1@yahoo.com Jesus Rubalcava Hispanic Vice President Gila Bend USD jebusrubal@yahoo.com Sylvia Hendricks Native American Vice President Baboquivari USD shendricks@tocc.cc.az.u Linda Yazzie Secretary Holbrook USD yazzie.linda2006@yahoo.com Robert Cassa Treasurer San Carlos USD robert.cassa@ihs.gov Katrina Talkalai Immediate Past President San Carlos USD kttalgo@scatui.net Elizabeth Sanchez Director, Region I Alhambra ESD lizsanchez@alhambraesd.org Sara Mae Williams Director, Region II Baboquivari USD smaewilliams@iobusd40.org VACANT, Director Region III Luis Marquez Director, Region IV Gadsden ESD lmarquez@cityofsanluis.org Yolanda Ewing Director, Region V Superior USD ybewing@gmail.com Dr. Jeffery Crandall Director, Region VI Tombstone USD jcrandall@tombstone.k12.az.us

Making a difference in the lives of Hispanic and Native American Indian students

Purpose ■ To promote quality education for all students, focusing on the needs of Hispanic & Native American Indian students. ■ To promote positive relationships among Hispanic & Native American Indian school boards, members of their communities, political leaders and the ASBA. ■ To promote legislation to improve educational opportunities for Hispanic, Native American Indian and other minorities in public schools. ■ To promote positive representation of Hispanic & Native American Indian board members in ASBA.

Membership There are several ways to become active with the caucus: ■ Regular Membership is open to any elected or appointed member of a public board of education in Arizona that is an active member of ASBA. The annual membership fee for an individual board members is $25. Full boards may join for $100/year. ■ Associate Memberships are open to district-level staff from ASBA member districts ($25/year). ■ Friends of the Caucus Memberships are open to other individuals interested in supporting the work of the caucus ($25/year). ■ Honorary Membership is conferred and discretionary. Join online at www.azsba.org/hnaic-membership-form

About ASBA We promote elected local governance of public education and continuous improvement of student success by providing leadership and assistance to public school governing boards. ASBA may act as a facilitator of activities of the caucus, which shall compliment the state association and shall not duplicate ASBA efforts on behalf of all local governing boards. o: 602.254.1100 | 2100 N. Central Ave., Suite 200, Phoenix, AZ 85004


2013-14_HNAIC_Overview