{' '} {' '}
Limited time offer
SAVE % on your upgrade.

Page 4

Quarter 2, 2011

The magazine of the Association of Strategic Alliance Professionals

AN ASAP MEDIA PUBLICATION www.ASAPmedia.org www.strategic-alliances.org EDITORIAL TEAM Art Canter, Executive Publisher 781-562-1630 ext. 201 acanter@strategic-alliances.org John W. DeWitt, Publisher 646-232-6620 jdewitt@ASAPmedia.org Jon Lavietes, Editorial Director 415-572-4408 jlavietes@ASAPmedia.org Michael Burke, Editor-in-Chief 413-345-1624 mburke@ASAPmedia.org Greg Caulton, Creative Director 413-461-7096 gcaulton@ASAPmedia.org ASAP STAFF Art Canter, President and CEO 781-562-1630 ext. 201 acanter@strategic-alliances.org Pam Goodell, Director of Operations 781-562-1630 ext. 202 pgoodell@strategic-alliances.org Lori Gold, Manager of Member Services 781-562-1630 ext. 203 lgold@strategic-alliances.org Michele Shannon, Program Event Coordinator 781-562-1630 ext. 204 mshannon@strategic-alliances.org Brendan Ward, Administrative Support 781-562-1630 ext. 200 bward@strategic-alliances.org Diane Lemkin Accounting Manager 781-562-1630 Ext 206 dianel@strategic-alliances.org ASAP BOARD & MARKETING COMMITTEE CHAIRS Russ Buchanan, CA-AM ASAP Chairman of the Board Vice President, Worldwide Alliances Xerox Corp. Jan Twombly, CSAP Chairman, ASAP Marketing Committee Member, ASAP Executive Committee President, The Rhythm of Business, Inc. © Copyright 2011 Association of Strategic Alliance Professionals. All Rights Reserved.

4

in this issue 8

n COVER STORY

Getting Alliances Right from the Start

Building a Solid Foundation for Alliance Success Pays Dividends Later By Michael Burke

What distinguishes successful alliances from those that fail? Putting effective processes, plans, and people in place from the outset. Good planning, coordinated communications, and realistic, fact-finding dialogue between alliance partners can pave the way for a smoother alliance path.

13

n ALLIANCE IN PRACTICE

Coping with the Aftermath of Those “Sweet” Licensing Deals

Wise Use of Flexibility Can Close the Deal—But Licensing Professionals Must Involve Alliance Managers to Manage the Risks | By Jan Twombly and Jeff Shuman

The aggressive pursuit of new sources of innovation and growth through alliances and other forms of collaboration has magnified competition for deals in industry after industry.

20

n SUCCESS STORIES

Alliance Excellence Awards Honor Most Compelling Alliances of 2010

Honorees Bring Creativity and Innovation to Get Results from Alliance Management | By Jon Lavietes

IBM’s SmartCamps Connect Start-ups with Vital Resources; HP Finds RIPE Improvement in Measurement of Its Alliances; IBM and SAP Revitalize Longstanding Partnership; Ipsen and Inspiration Create Hemophilia Drug Franchise

25

n ASAP CHAPTER AWARDS

Recognizing Individual Chapters’ Contributions to Increasing Membership and Raising Awareness of Our Profession

Profile for ASAP

Strategic Alliance Magazine  

The magazine of the Association of Strategic Alliance Professionals

Strategic Alliance Magazine  

The magazine of the Association of Strategic Alliance Professionals

Advertisement