Page 38

MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT

LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES?

PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS?

Must use majority of the state's farm products to manufacture and sell spirits produced on premises SELF-DISTRIBUTION? No — must go through wholesaler, except may sell spirits to domestic winery if spirits produced from products provided to domestic distiller by the winery TASTING ROOM:

Yes — only free samples FEES FOR TOURS No BOTTLE SALES ON SITE Yes LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES? Can sell/deliver in or out of the state; if in the state, no more than 9 liters or less per month per person for personal use; out of state sales are limited to 25,000 gallons in a calendar year TASTINGS ON SITE?

MINIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT

N/A

ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION AT DISTILLERY? No

ALLOWED TO HOLD OTHER LICENSES? Yes, proper

A3a 3-TIER OR CONTROL 3-Tier

PROMOTION:

FEE

BOTTLE SALES AT FAIRS/ FARMERS MARKETS? Yes OFF-SITE TASTING EVENTS ALLOWED?

Yes, tax commissioner may issue special events permit for not more than twenty events per calendar year OFF-SITE BOTTLE SALE? Yes with permit above OFF-SITE DRINK SALE? Yes with permit above ON-PREMISE FESTIVAL Yes, but only on contiguous property under common ownership, allowing free samples or its spirits and to sell spirits by glass or in closed containers OFF-PREMISE FESTIVAL Yes with special events permit SPECIAL EVENTS Yes with special events permit FOR PROFIT EVENTS Yes with special events permit OTHER: ALLOWED TO HOLD EVENTS ON SITE? Yes

ALLOWED TO HOLD OTHER LICENSES?

Yes, can also obtain retailer license allowing on premises sale of alcohol at restaurant owned by licensee and can own or operate a winery % GRAIN FROM STATE "Majority" of products from North Dakota agriculture SEPARATE LAWS FOR BRANDY? No

OHIO 1 A3 3-TIER OR CONTROL 3-Tier LICENSE CLASSES

PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION:

$3,906 30 Days

$2 - $400 based on gallon production AVG TIME TO OBTAIN 30 Days MINIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT

PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS? No

State

SELF-DISTRIBUTION?

Controlled Dist. TASTING ROOM:

1/4 Ounce Pours/Product Up to 1 full ounce per visit BOTTLE SALES ON SITE Yes — but 6% of sale goes to State LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES? 2 bottles per person TASTINGS ON SITE?

ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION AT DISTILLERY? Yes if produce

TASTINGS ON SITE?

38 

ALLOWED TO HOLD EVENTS ON SITE? No

ALLOWED TO HOLD OTHER LICENSES?

ALLOWED TO HOLD OTHER LICENSES? No % GRAIN FROM STATE

N/A

SEPARATE LAWS FOR BRANDY?

No

Oklahoma liquor laws will be substantially overhauled effective 10-1-2018, which expands the abilities of Distillers. GOALS

OFF-SITE TASTING EVENTS ALLOWED? Yes, Need Permit

No OFF-SITE DRINK SALE? No OFF-SITE BOTTLE SALE? OTHER: ALLOWED TO HOLD EVENTS ON SITE? Yes ALLOWED TO HOLD OTHER LICENSES? Yes, proper

demising wall between permit premises needed

One

3-Tier

$3,125 per fiscal year 30 Days

AVG TIME TO OBTAIN

PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS?

Must have IAA to produce liquor above 80 proof SELF-DISTRIBUTION? NO — but, with special permit (TTB DSP permit). Only for producers more than 100 miles from OLCC's distribution warehouse and product cannot be one that is already in stock at warehouse. Yes- 0.5 fl oz per sample, max 2.5 fl oz FEES FOR TOURS Option — can charge for flights BOTTLE SALES ON SITE With approval from OLCC; pay 30-40% in tax off gross sales amounts for bottle sales; need to be DSP retail outlet LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES? No TASTINGS ON SITE?

# DISTILLERIES IN STATE

FEE

90-120 days MINIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT No MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT No

TASTING ROOM:

OKLAHOMA

3-TIER OR CONTROL

$100 Annually

AVG TIME TO OBTAIN

BOTTLE SALES AT FAIRS/ FARMERS MARKETS? No

PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION:

No

BOTTLE SALES AT FAIRS/FARMERS

No MARKETS? *Yes, with Special No Events Distillery permit, $25 fee per license day. ON-PREMISE FESTIVAL No OFF-SITE TASTING EVENTS OFF-PREMISE FESTIVAL Annual ALLOWED? See above* special events license to sell beverages, quarterly special OFF-SITE BOTTLE SALE? See above* events license, annual public OFF-SITE DRINK SALE? See above* event license for up to 6 events, ON-PREMISE FESTIVAL See above* one-time public events license OFF-PREMISE FESTIVAL See above* SPECIAL EVENTS Annual special events license to sell SPECIAL EVENTS See above* beverages, quarterly special FOR PROFIT EVENTS See above* events license, annual public event license for up to 6 events, OTHER: one-time public events license ALLOWED TO HOLD EVENTS ON SITE? Yes, max 8 per calendar FOR PROFIT EVENTS Yes year (also can be limited by OTHER: specific city zoning laws)

FEE

LICENSE CLASSES

TASTING ROOM:

be held at any state liquor store, or by permit

PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION:

TASTINGS AT OFF-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes

Distiller License State

TASTINGS AT OFF-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Tastings can

OREGON

PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS? No SELF-DISTRIBUTION?

BOTTLE SALES AT FAIRS/ FARMERS MARKETS? No

under the allowed limit per year and must have a kitchen LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES? N/A LICENSE CLASSES Need FREE SOUVENIRS As long as a distillery license to the gift does not exceed manufacture; Full on-premises the price of the alcoholic sales license is optional beverage purchased by personal consumer 3-TIER OR CONTROL Control - Oregon Liquor PROMOTION: Control Commission TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE regulate liquor stores LOCATIONS? Yes

registered distillery

Controlled Dist.

No

MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT 10,000 PG

No MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT No MINIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT

TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes

OFF-SITE DRINK SALE?

LICENSE CLASSES

TASTINGS AT OFF-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes

TASTINGS AT OFF-PREMISE LOCATIONS? No

OFF-SITE BOTTLE SALE?

OHIO 2

TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes

ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION AT

DISTILLERY? Yes— 0.5 fl oz per sample, max 2.5 fl oz LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES?

OFF-SITE TASTING EVENTS ALLOWED? No

demising wall between permit premises needed

PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION:

AVG TIME TO OBTAIN

PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS? No

ALLOWED TO HOLD EVENTS ON SITE? No

No

No No

May sell your distilled spirits LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES? N/A SELF-DISTRIBUTION? No by individual glass or drink at your distillery and up to 5 PROMOTION: TASTING ROOM: other locations if you obtain full TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE TASTINGS ON SITE? No on-premises sales license; also LOCATIONS? Yes FEES FOR TOURS No can sell other manufacturer's TASTINGS AT OFF-PREMISE distilled spirits by the glass BOTTLE SALES ON SITE No LOCATIONS? Yes or drink for consumption at LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES? No your business w/ this license BOTTLE SALES AT FAIRS/ ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION FARMERS MARKETS? No SWAG (T-SHIRTS, GLASSES, ETC.)? Yes AT DISTILLERY? No OFF-SITE TASTING EVENTS FREE SOUVENIRS Yes LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES? N/A ALLOWED? Yes, Need Permit LIMITS ON SOUVENIRS No PROMOTION: OFF-SITE BOTTLE SALE? No TAXES ON SOUVENIRS No TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE OFF-SITE DRINK SALE? No PROMOTION: LOCATIONS? No

SWAG (T-SHIRTS, GLASSES, ETC.)? Yes

FEE

MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT

OTHER:

ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION AT DISTILLERY? Yes LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES?

No

BOTTLE SALES ON SITE

No (25,000 cap applies to total production)

Anyone serving distilled spirits off premise must have valid Oregon serving permit, Industrial Alcohol Authority % GRAIN FROM STATE No

PENNSYLVANIA # DISTILLERIES IN STATE

16 pending

LICENSE CLASSES

license; Limited Distillery License

82,

Distillery

3-TIER OR CONTROL

Control

PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION: FEE Distillery license if $5,400.00; limited distillery license $1,500 MINIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT No MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT No max for Distillery

licensees — Limited Distillery — no more than 100,000 gallons of liquor per year

PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS? No. No

taxes, only on sales

production

SELF-DISTRIBUTION? Yes — limited distilleries can sell to individual consumers, retail licensees and PLCB TASTING ROOM:

Yes FEES FOR TOURS Yes BOTTLE SALES ON SITE Yes LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES? No TASTINGS ON SITE?

ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION AT

DISTILLERY? Yes, cocktails and tastings. Wine and Beer LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES?

Can even sell products from other breweries, distilleries, limited distilleries and limited wineries for onpremise consumption (up to 50% of total sales)

SWAG (T-SHIRTS, GLASSES, ETC.)? Yes

Yes

FREE SOUVENIRS

SWAG (T-SHIRTS, GLASSES, ETC.)? Yes

No TAXES ON SOUVENIRS State tax applicable for transactions

PROMOTION:

PROMOTION:

ON-PREMISE FESTIVAL

TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes

OFF-PREMISE FESTIVAL

LIMITS ON SOUVENIRS

TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes

MARKETS? Yes w/ permit. Up to 5 satellite locations

Yes Yes as long as event promoter gets a temporary large event license & distiller is responsible for purchase & dispensing of all alcohol SPECIAL EVENTS See above FOR PROFIT EVENTS Yes — and can share in the profits

OFF-SITE TASTING EVENTS ALLOWED?

OTHER:

TASTINGS AT OFF-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes — can

operate up to 5 additional PLCB approved locations

BOTTLE SALES AT FAIRS/FARMERS

Yes, with satellite permit OFF-SITE BOTTLE SALE? Yes — limited distilleries OFF-SITE DRINK SALE? Yes — limited distilleries ON-PREMISE FESTIVAL Yes

ALLOWED TO HOLD OTHER LICENSES? Yes

SOUTH CAROLINA # DISTILLERIES IN STATE 34 Licensees

OFF-PREMISE FESTIVAL

Yes with permit

SPECIAL EVENTS

Yes with permit Yes

LICENSE CLASSES Manufacturer License; Microdistillery License 3-TIER OR CONTROL 3-Tier

FOR PROFIT EVENTS

PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION:

OTHER:

FEE Biennial fee of $50,000; Microdistillery biennial fee — $5,000

with permit

ALLOWED TO HOLD EVENTS ON SITE? Yes ALLOWED TO HOLD OTHER LICENSES?

Yes— Restaurant Liquor license, shipping license % GRAIN FROM STATE None

SEPARATE LAWS FOR BRANDY?

No

Credit card sales for on premise accounts at location of account GOALS

RHODE ISLAND LICENSE CLASSES

Manufacturer's license; Craft Distillery license 3-TIER OR CONTROL 3-Tier PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION: FEE Annual fee of $3,000 for distillery producing more than 50,000 gallons per year and $500 for distillery producing 50,000 gallons or less per year; For the first 500 gallons: $100. For the next 5,000 gallons: 6 cents per gallon, For the next 10,000 gallons: 4.5 cents per gallon, For the next 50,000 gallons: 3 cents per gallon, For the next 100,000 gallons: 1.5 cents per gallon, For each gallon over 165,500: 0.75 cents per gallon (NOTE: biennial license fee to operate as craft distillery is $1,500 MINIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT No MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT No PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS?

No — but see fee schedule to see different limits SELF-DISTRIBUTION? No TASTING ROOM:

Yes — limited to 375ml per visitor per day in conjunction w/ tour and/or tasting (get spirits tasting license) BOTTLE SALES ON SITE Yes LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES? *No more than 750ml of spirits per visitor per day; craft distilleries can sell one case (12-750mL bottles) per day to each customer for off site consumption TASTINGS ON SITE?

ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION AT

DISTILLERY? Yes — limited to 4.5 oz of distilled spirits per visitor per day, or combo of not greater than three drinks (1.5 oz each) of spirits LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES? See above*

MINIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT

No

MAXIMUM PRODUCTION AMOUNT

Not for manufacturer; microdistillery can only produce 125,000 cases per year

PRODUCTION RELATED LIMITATIONS? No SELF-DISTRIBUTION?

No

TASTING ROOM:

Yes—max of 3 oz per person per day in tasting room for free or for a charge can be straight or in a cocktail; must be accompanied by a tour FEES FOR TOURS Up to the distillery BOTTLE SALES ON SITE Yes LIMITS ON BOTTLE SALES? Up to three 750ml bottles or 225 liters in other bottle sizes per customer per day can be purchased by customer at distillery, but must be marked equal or higher in price than retail stores. Must be stamped "not for resale." TASTINGS ON SITE?

ON-PREMISE CONSUMPTION AT DISTILLERY? Not of the bottles

purchased at distillery

LIMITS FOR ON-PREMISE SALES?

Limited to product manufactured at licensed premises

SWAG (T-SHIRTS, GLASSES, ETC.)? Yes, may sell items

promoting brand at location where liquor produced in a room separate from the locations of the tastings FREE SOUVENIRS Yes LIMITS ON SOUVENIRS No TAXES ON SOUVENIRS

State excise tax PROMOTION:

TASTINGS AT ON-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes TASTINGS AT OFF-PREMISE LOCATIONS? Yes, at

licensed events

BOTTLE SALES AT FAIRS/ FARMERS MARKETS? No OFF-SITE TASTING EVENTS ALLOWED?

Yes, at licensed events OFF-SITE BOTTLE SALE? No OFF-SITE DRINK SALE? Yes, at licensed events ON-PREMISE FESTIVAL In tasting room or parking lot but tasting rules still apply OFF-PREMISE FESTIVAL No,

WWW.ARTISANSPIRITMAG.COM

Artisan Spirit: Winter 2017  

The magazine for craft distillers and their fans.

Artisan Spirit: Winter 2017  

The magazine for craft distillers and their fans.