Page 46

School News Student Named DYW of Cobb County

DAR Good Citizen Chapter Chair Beverly Baker; DAR Good Citizen State Chair Vickie Hoffman; Thomas Tucker, and his parents Suzanne and Tom; and Liberty Hill Chapter Regent Patricia Hein.

DAR Announces School Award Winners The Liberty Hill Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) recently presented annual awards to deserving area high school students. The organization honored Mellori Finkel (Brookwood Christian School), Hannah Baines (Cornerstone Preparatory Academy) and Thomas Tucker (North Cobb Christian School) with the schools’ DAR Good Citizen Awards. Tucker is also the chapter and Georgia DAR northwest division scholarship contest winner. The DAR Good Citizens program and scholarship contest rewards the qualities of good citizenship among high school seniors. Each school may honor only one senior class student per year as its DAR Good Citizen. This student is then eligible to enter the DAR Good Citizens Scholarship Contest. The student selected as the school’s DAR Good Citizen must have the following qualities: dependability, service, leadership and patriotism. The Liberty Hill Chapter awarded the DAR Bronze JROTC Medal to Cadet Lt. Courtney Clay (Allatoona High School) and to Cadet Petty Officer Miriam King (North Cobb High School). The Bronze JROTC Medal is given to a junior or senior in a secondary school JROTC program and is chosen by the unit faculty. A National Defense Flag certificate was given to Cadet Petty Officer Duncan Carter at Allatoona High School. The National Defense Flag certificate recognizes a person for proper use, display and presentation of the flag of the United States.

Cornerstone Preparatory Academy junior Adriana Holbrook recently was named the Distinguished Young Woman of Cobb County for the 2020 class during the Atlanta At-Large showcase. Holbrook will participate in the weeklong state program July 14-18, which will culminate with the state final competition July 19-20 at the Marietta Performing Arts Center. The state winner then will compete in the National Finals in Mobile, Alabama, later in the summer. Founded in 1958, Distinguished Young Women is the largest and oldest national scholarship program for high school girls. The participants are evaluated in five categories: scholastics, interview, selfexpression, fitness and talent.

Adriana Holbrook

Frey Elementary Named School of the Month Frey Elementary School was named School of the Month by the Acworth Business Association (ABA) May 2. Each month, the ABA recognizes one of its member schools, highlighting the accomplishments of the students and staff. Frey Principal Jason Cathey accepted the honor at the ABA’s monthly luncheon at the Acworth Community Center. Frey Principal Jason Cathey speaks at the ABA luncheon May 2. 44


Profile for Aroundabout Local Media, Inc.

6-19 AroundAcworth webfinal  

6-19 AroundAcworth webfinal