Page 25

Welcome to Arkansas State University

Since its opening in January 2001, the Fowler Center has quickly become the region’s home for performance and visual arts presentations of the highest caliber, as well as for special civic and community events. Its location is just south of the Convocation Center.

Arkansas State University was established April 1, 1909, as a “public school of agriculture” by Act 100 of the Arkansas General Assembly. It was located at Jonesboro because citizens of the city bid $40,000 to the state and pledged 200 acres of land as a site. After 99 years of growth, ASU-Jonesboro now has an annual budget of some $122.6 million, owns more than 3,000 acres of land in five different counties, has a physical plant valued at almost $200 million, and has an alumni roll exceeding 53,000. ASU’s rapid development over the years has been typical of other major universities in an emerging modern South. From an agricultural high school in 1909, to a junior college in 1918, to a four-year degree-granting institution in 1930, to a university in 1967, ASU has become regionally respected and nationally recognized for its qualities of teaching, research and service. The ASU system includes campuses at Beebe (White County), Mountain Home (Baxter County),

and Newport (Jackson County) where associate degree programs are offered, and at Marked Tree, Searcy and Heber Springs. A new campus is being built for ASU-Heber Springs. An instructional site is located at Paragould. The Jonesboro campus, which occupies 942 acres amid the gentle slopes of Crowley’s Ridge in east Jonesboro, is located between the vast and fertile Mississippi River Valley and the cultural and scenic richness of the Ozark Mountains. More than 10,000 students annually work toward degrees in 141 areas of specialization at the graduate and undergraduate levels. Fifteen undergraduate degrees are offered through the Colleges of Agriculture, Business, Communications, Education, Engineering, Fine Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Nursing and Health Professions, Sciences and Mathematics, and the University College. The Honors College was instituted July 1, 2004, evolving from the Honors Program.

The Arkansas Biosciences Institute opened in 2004. The $20 million facility is dedicated to multi-disciplinary research to fulfill purposes outlined in the Arkansas Tobacco Settlement.



Profile for Arkansas State Athletics

2008-09 Arkansas State Tennis Guide  

2008-09 Arkansas State Tennis Guide