Ardent For Life Holiday 2018

Page 62


A Celebration of the Arts

The Inaugural Iris Awards For the very first time, the Elk Grove Arts Commission honored local artists who have made their mark in this community. The inaugural Iris Awards, named for the late Iris Zimbelman, founder of the Elk Grove Strauss Festival, took place November 2 in the Elk Grove Park Pavilion. The heavy crystal trophy was presented to Visual Artist Gerry Simpson, Performing Artist Gary Mendoza, and Literary Artist Bill McDonald. The trophy was also given to Judy Tafoya as Patron of the Arts and a special Lifetime Achievement Award to Iris and Arnie Zimbelman.

62. - Holiday 2018