Issuu on Google+

Dandy Lion: The Black Dandy and Street Style

7½ x 10 in. (19 x 25.4 cm) 176 pages 180 black-and-white and four-color images Hardcover ISBN 978-1-59711-389-2 US $35.00 / CAD $47.95 / UK £25.00 May 2017 Limited-edition print available

By Shantrelle P. Lewis

• A thrilling survey of today’s popular black dandy street style, from around the world • Vibrant patterns, electrifying colors, and fanciful poses—a must-have for anyone interested in style and fashion • In the tradition of Fruits and The Sartorialist, an iconic pop culture book for our time

9 781597 113892

Black men appropriating, subverting, and reinventing the dress styles of society elites—described as “high-styled rebels” by author Shantrelle P. Lewis—are influencing the language of contemporary fashion. Dandy Lion presents and celebrates the black dandy movement, and its designers and tailors, in photographs and stories from all over the world. Shantrelle P. Lewis is a U.S.-based curator and researcher specializing in diasporic aesthetics, and the survival and evolution of African retentions. She was a 2014 United Nations Program for People of African Descent Fellow and a 2012–13 Andy Warhol Curatorial Fellow. Exhibition Schedule: Brighton Photo Biennial, UK October 1–31, 2016 Lowe Museum of Art, University of Miami February–May 2017

Rose Callahan [ 14 ]

Spring 2017


Spring 2017 Catalogue