Page 3

CONTENTS

Editor Graham Parker 07956 231078 gparker@55north.com

Editor’s letter

Editorial Assistant Iain Hoey 0141 222 5385 ihoey@55north.com Sales Manager Trudy Whiston 01293 416090 twhiston@55north.com Events Sales Manager Graham Harvey 01474 247032 gharvey@55north.com Senior Designer Richard Chaudhry 0141 222 5300 rchaudhry@55north.com Designer Lisa Deakin 0141 222 5388 ldeakin@55north.com Managing Director Antony Begley 0141 222 5380 abegley@55north.com Editorial Board Carl Foreman, Moorgarth; Byron Lewis, Mall Solutions Europe; Andrew McCall, The ROI Team; Howard Morgan, RealService; John Prestwich, James Taylor, Workman; David Tudor-Morgan, British Land No part of this publication may be reproduced without the written permission of the publishers. JLD Media is operated by 55 North Ltd under licence from Stephens & George Magazines Ltd. The Publishers accept no responsibility for any statements made in signed contributions or in those reproduced from other sources, nor for claims made in any advertisements. Shopping Centre is available on subscription. UK & Ireland £96; Overseas £150. Shopping Centre is published monthly. ISSN 0964-1793 | Printed by Stephens & George Ltd Shopping Centre, 55 North Ltd, 19 Waterloo Street, Glasgow, G2 6AY www.shopping-centre.co.uk

All rights reserved © 55 North Ltd 2017

3

The issue of Uniform Business Rates has suddenly rocketed up the political agenda with pressure mounting on the chancellor to make concessions. The problem is, with only weeks to go until the new bills land on retailers’ door-

mats, it’s really too late. The manifest unfairness of the system has been evident for years, and it’s been exacerbated by successive governments’ penny-pinching refusal to hold regular revaluations. Now, with the Daily Mail baying for blood and Tory MPs in the home counties getting restive, the government might be stung into action. But any concession to support small businesses in the South East will be too little and too late. The issue of local government

funding needs to be taken out of the hands of politicians. Of course businesses must contribute to the cost of providing local services, but a system that leaves the government collecting more in rates than the landlord does in rent cannot be right. It’s time for an independent look at alternatives. How about a US-style local sales tax? Graham Parker Editor Shopping Centre

CONTENTS NEWS & ANALYSIS 05 06 07 08 12 14 16

Standard Life launches Lincoln scheme Oxford opening date confirmed Leisure extension for Kingsgate Land Securities embraces customer analysis Westquay Watermark opens in Southampton Washington goes solar AEW starts Basingstoke revamp

19 22 24 36

Ireland – Growth in the Irish retail market is slowing Security – The Mall Blackburn has overhauled its CCTV Parking – Car parks are becoming more welcoming SCMC – Looking ahead to the Shopping Centre Management Conference in Brighton

Page 06

FEATURES

Page 14

REGULARS 44 46 46

Data – Retail facts & figures People – Mall Luton raises £60,000 Moves – all the latest job moves

Join our Shopping Centre Linkedin group Follow us on Twitter @scnewsfeed

FULL TO THE BRIM OF GREAT IDEAS FOR YOUR ALL CAR PARKING NEEDS

Parking Management Solutions

SC March.indd 3

+44 (0) 370 0427215 sales@g24.co.uk www.g24.co.uk www.storeguard.co.uk

01/03/2017 09:03:53

Shopping Centre Magazine March 2017  
Read more
Read more
Similar to
Popular now
Just for you