Page 1

Review 2016-2017

Antilles School


ANTILLES SCHOOL ANTILLES SCHOOL

Hello & Welcome

O

n behalf of everyone at Antilles, thank you for your interest in and support of our School. Last year was an exciting experience for me — my first year as Antilles’ seventh Head of School. Our accomplishments and achievements this year were made possible by the dedication of our faculty and staff, the diligence of our students, and by our donors and volunteers. Your contributions directly enhance the experiences that define our students’ daily lives. Whether you support the arts, athletics, or academics, the campus or our scholarships, your gifts are shared by each and every student at Antilles.

our faculty professional development program, and realize significant energy savings while reducing our carbon footprint. All that and more, including a national championship winning sailing team!

In meeting alumni on island and around the mainland, I know that those experiences create memories and interests that last a lifetime. Your investment in Antilles is one that pays dividends for generations, thank you.

The opportunity to serve Antilles and the School community as your Head of School is equally exciting and rewarding. Thank you for sharing in our vision and mission with your continued support.

With your generous partnership this past year, Antilles was able to make meaningful progress in enhancing our mathematics program throughout the Lower School, join a global collaborative network of more than 100 independent schools to strengthen

Liz Morrison Head of School

2


REVIEW 2017 REVIEW 2017

A Message from the

President of the Board of Trustees

S

ince becoming President of the Board, many people ask why I’ve chosen to volunteer so much of my time to serve the school, and there is an easy answer: I love Antilles. Its commitment to community, diversity, and academic excellence is evidenced every day in so many ways. From our outstanding early childhood programs through our innovative elementary and middle school curriculum to the opportunities afforded our high-schoolers, Antilles ensures that students of all ages Angelina Daswani, P’20, P’22 & P’24 strengthen talents and discover passions. Trustee, with husband Vivek Daswani, and sons (from left) Krishna ‘24, Azad Celebrating the Class of 2017 graduation ‘20 and in June was a highlight of my year; not only were 100% of these young women and men accepted into colleges, but their career aspirations were impressive and exciting. Introducing new Head of School Liz Morrison to our community, and our island, was another high point. The Board was certain that her impressive credentials as an educator and administrator in independent schools would provide visionary leadership, and we’ve been so energized to see Antilles from her fresh perspective. We are proud too that she has been so ably supported by our senior administrative team – and a special note of thanks to our wonderful faculty as well, for not just educating our children every day but inspiring them. Finally, heartfelt thanks on behalf of the entire Board of Trustees to everyone who made financial contributions this past year. Your generosity is absolutely essential to making the Antilles experience such a transformational one. Warm regards, Angelina Daswani 3


ANTILLES SCHOOL MAGAZINE

Our Community This truly demonstrates our stakeholders’ willingness to invest, along with the level of pride we all have in the school.

A

ntilles has a very special place in the Virgin Islands community. Three of our closest friends attended the School forty years ago, and the education they received was pivotal in creating transformational opportunities for them – and that is still very much the case today. In our son Liam’s graduating class of 2009, there are lawyers, doctors, engineers, teachers, artists, and entrepreneurs. In our daughter Maggie’s graduating class of 2021, there are already authors, actors, award-winning athletes, and aspiring politicians – and they have just started high school!

product and it was great this past school year when so many stepped up to the plate over the course of several campaigns. And one of our major constituency groups – faculty and administrators – led the pack in gifting at a greater percentage than ever before.

Large gifts, small gifts, $1 or $1,000 — we saw all of this come in over the past few months as so many of you committed to the idea that any gift, no matter the size, makes a difference. I can’t wait to continue moving forward this next year as we all work together to keep investing in the future of Antilles and its next generation of

As a local business owner and a member of the school’s Board of Trustees, I am truly grateful for the opportunity to advance Antilles and contribute to the building of this unique culture for future generations, much like those before me did for my son and daughter.

One of my roles is as an advocate within and outside our school community is increasing Annual Fund contributions and helping everyone better understand how critical financial gifts are to sustaining our program. Like other independent schools, we need stakeholders to invest in our

Claire Starkey P’09 & P’21 Trustee

4


REVIEW 2017 MAGAZINE

A Year in Numbers

211k

Total donations given to Antilles’ Annual Fund in Fiscal 2017

3:1

Ratio of alumni donors in Fiscal 2017 to the number of alumni donors in Fiscal 2016

100%

Percentage of alumni that matter to Antilles School

632

Total number of donors to contribute to the annual fund in Fiscal 2017

New donors in Fiscal 2017 — individuals, foundations, and corporations who made their first gift to Antilles between July 1, 2016 and June 30, 2017

1M+

Tution assistance awarded to students by Antilles School during Fiscal 2017

Savings in electrical consumption from switching 2,348 bulbs to LED lighting with thanks to the donors who supported “Give Green to Go Green.”

47

279

40%

Leadership donors — those giving $1,500 and more — in Fiscal 2017

5


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

When is Cheryl’s Birthday? Albert and Bernard just became friends with Cheryl, and they want to know when her birthday is. Cheryl gives them a list of 10 possible dates:

May 15

May 16

May 19

June 17

June 18

July 14

July 16

August 14

August 15

August 17

Cheryl then tells Albert and Bernard separately the month and the day of her birthday respectively. Albert: I don’t know when Cheryl’s birthday is, but I know that Bernard doesn't know also. Bernard: At first I didn’t know when Cheryl’s birthday is, but I know now. Albert: Then I also know when Cheryl’s birthday is. When is Cheryl’s birthday?

T

his question from a Singapore high school math exam went viral in 2015, even managing to secure its own Wikipedia page, and (thankfully) helpful articles in newspapers around the globe illustrating the solution.

Students there have found success through discovering real-world applications of math through hands-on activities, pictorial representations, and finally numbers. Specifically, students focus on mastery of the material with progressive and supporting strategies. Because the initial language of math shifts from numerical to pictorial representations, visual and audible learners are often inspired by early and rewarding accomplishments.

While Singapore routinely ranks at or near the top of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) international mathematics rankings, this wasn’t always the case. (For comparison, the US ranked 41st in 2016, well below the OECD average.) Singapore has made innovations to its approach to teaching math over the past 30 years resulting in a dramatic and sustained increase in their students’ ability and understanding.

Based on Singapore’s proven methods, the Math in Focus program provides mathematics curricula from ELC through eighth grade. Preparations to implement the Math in Focus program began in 2015 with donor-funded professional development for faculty, and the program began in grades one through five in 2016. Striving to see our students excel, Antilles

Visualization is a defining feature of Singapore’s mathematics pedagogy. 6


REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW

Michelle Riggle, Math Specialist expanded Math in Focus into the sixth grade this academic year and will continue into the seventh grade in 2018-2019.

the classroom,” notes Shannon Harris, Antilles’ Chief Academic Officer. “As parents we might be tempted to show our children an easy shortcut or faster solution, and yet we need to remember that they will learn best through processing each question.”

“I am inspired observing our students as they work in groups, alone, or with me at the Smartboard eagerly reading, analyzing, and attacking these problems," says Michelle Riggle, Antilles’ Math Specialist. "I believe this program will quickly enhance our students’ understanding of math concepts.”

Math in Focus at Antilles is an exciting curriculum innovation and opportunity for our faculty and students. Thank you to all who participated in and made possible the professional development preparations for this program.

Recognizing that parents play a crucial role in their children’s education, Antilles hosted information sessions to assist families with this transition. “We recognized that changing the way we communicate mathematics in the classroom was also an opportunity to communicate outside

Still curious about Cheryl's birthday? Visit this page for a great explanation and guided solution (Khan Academy: https:// goo.gl/IKB5in).

7


ANTILLES ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL

Class of 2017 Awards

Alejandra “Coco” Saracena ‘17

Joshua Farrell '17

The Scholarship Plaque is awarded each year to a senior in recognition of attaining the highest academic achievement for the senior year. Selection is determined by calculating each senior’s cumulative grade point average for the current year; the student with the single highest GPA receives the traditional Scholarship Plaque. The 2017 recipient is Alejandra “Coco” Saracena ’17, who is attending Columbia University.

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award pays tribute to the legacy of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Each year, the Hebrew Congregation of St. Thomas invites local high schools to honor one senior. The student chosen for this award demonstrates a commitment to social action in the spirit of Dr. King through projects and activities that benefit the community at large. The 2017 recipient is Joshua Farrell ’17, who is attending New York University.

8


REVIEW 2017 REVIEW 2017

The Albert Keep Award was established by the school to honor the memory of former Head of School, Albert Keep. This award is given by the faculty to recognize a special trait within or unique a contribution given by a student to Antilles School or the greater community. The 2017 recipient is Berisford “BJ” Lynch ’17, who is attending Loyola University of New Orleans.

The Faculty Honor Plaque is the highest traditional honor bestowed Award by the faculty upon an Antilles senior. This honor is given in recognition of a student’s overall high school accomplishments, in and out of the classroom, on campus, and in the community. The 2017 recipient is Divina Mohanani ’17, who is attending Northeastern University.

Berisford "BJ" Lynch '17

Divina Mohanani '17

9


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

Tsamara Roberts '17

Michael Caracciolo '17

The University Bound Program of the University of the Virgin Islands invites local high schools to honor one senior who has demonstrated academic excellence, displayed leadership qualities, excelled at a talent such as athletics or the arts, and been actively involved in the community. The 2017 recipient is Tsamara Roberts ’17, who is attending Seton Hill University.

The Joan Amerling Service Award was established to recognize the value of meaningful service to others. The recipient of this award models excellent citizenship, promotes responsible leadership, practices successful personal management, demonstrates ethical behavior, creates original ideas and solutions, and functions effectively as a team member. The 2017 recipient is Michael Caracciolo ’17, who is attending the University of the Virgin Islands.

10


REVIEW 2017 REVIEW 2017

The honor of Senior Class Valedictorian is given to the student with the highest grade point average. Congratulations to Roshni Lalwani '17. Roshni takes pride in caring for others and, according to her teachers, is a true representation of honor, genuineness, wisdom and grace. Roshni is a Biology major at the University of Miami.

The student with the second highest grade point average each year is distinguished as the Senior Class Salutatorian. Congratulations to Pooja Chainani '17. Pooja is known for her generous spirit and passion for community service. She volunteered working with children throughout the community. Pooja is continuing her studies at Boston University.

Rohsni Lalwaini '17

Pooja Chainani '17

11


ANTILLES ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL

National Champions Congratulations to the Antilles Sailing Team

T

he Antilles School Sailing Team won the Interscholastic Sailing Association’s (ISSA) Baker Trophy as National Champions in Team Racing in May. The 2017 event was held at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA. The Baker Trophy, established in 1990, is awarded to the top team racing school among the seven districts across the USA. Antilles’ 2017 Sailing Team and National Champions are Teddy Nicolosi ’19, Ryan Hunter ’17, Robert Hunter ’18, Caroline Teare ’17 (Captain), Hannah Williams ’19, Sam Morrell ’17, and Chris Sharpless ’19. The team was coached by Edgar Diminich. 12


REVIEW REVIEW2017 2017

Helping the team the past two seasons was Tyler Rice ’10. Tyler’s experience with Antilles in the classroom and on the water led him to continue sailing at Brown University. As a coach he has served as a great inspiration to Antilles’ student athletes. “As a child, I was extremely fortunate to learn how to sail at Antilles, and excel in the sport of competitive sailing,” says Tyler. “It allowed me to travel internationally, make life-long friends, and eventually be recruited by a top-level university. As a young adult, this background on the water continues to open countless opportunities.” Those opportunities continue to unfold for the Antilles Sailing Team and for Tyler. Continuing to share his passion and inspire others, Tyler will be leading an initiative to bring youth throughout the Caribbean to sailing. Thank you Tyler and good luck!

Charlie Knape, Sailing Coach

Charlie watched our sailing team win the National Championship this spring and couldn't wait to be part of the program. Along with taking over as sailing coach in September 2017, Charlie is teaching Middle and Upper School math and biology. Charlie came to Antilles from Norfolk, Virginia, where he taught math and science for the past seven years. A science major from Dartmouth College, Charlie is no stranger to the Virgin Islands. Charlie was born in the Virgin Islands and traveled the world on a sailboat with his parents for 10 years.

13


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

The Power of Antilles Dr. Halima Taha ‘79 and the Class of 2017 share a common bond

A

shy teenager when she first enrolled in 1975, two years at Antilles lit ita fire in Halima Taha ‘79 that inspired her commencement address to the Class of 2017. Halima, who has built a career in the fine arts as a widely respected artist, appraiser, educator, and author, never graduated from Antilles,or any other high school, but was invited in 2017 to recieve an honorary diploma from the institution she said, "saved her from mediocrity"–Antilles School. Halima graduated from Sarah Lawrence College, but always had a special place in her heart for Antilles.

“My two years here — my classmates and

Antilles’ faculty — left an indelible mark on my psyche – and my devotion to the School has never faltered.” “My life has now come full circle,” Halima told the Class of 2017 as she spoke to them at their graduation. “Antilles taught me I could be anything I wanted to be. It’s brought me back to be with you and to the one place where I could be around classmates who made me feel safe and cared about me.” Inthe days leading up to graduation, Halima got to know the individuals in the Class of 2017 personally, gaining an appreciation 14


REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW

The Class of 2017 for and understanding of their Antilles experience and aspirations. Meeting with Antilles’ newest alumni over breakfast on the day of graduation, Halima wanted to share her story with them with the vision of providing each a runway — a path that would propel them to their next adventures and also offer the comfort of returning home.

Halima recognizes Antilles offered her an environment in which found her exuberant personality and where she thrived academically. Here, her passion for writing grew and most importantly she found the confidence to explore turning her talent into a career. In sharing her Antilles’ experience both as a student and as an alumna with the Class of 2017, Halimaoffered them both encouragement and a challenge. “My classmates encouraged me to flourish and develop at my own pace and because of that, I was able to navigate with clarity, purpose and confidence at Antilles and beyond. That’s exactly what I see in all of you, and my wish now is that you continue to love one another and pass along that message, of love and connection, to those behind you.”

Halima learned early on the value of education -- both in and out of the classroom. Growing up in New York City in the sixties and early seventies allowed her to dive into opportunities and experiences that would continue to influence her life. Moving to St. Thomas and Antilles in 1975 she found a connection and community that she still calls home. “I was shy,” Halima remembers of her arrival at Antilles. “And by the time I left, I was on teams, I was doing activities and during junior year, I, yes I, even had a date for prom.”

Congratulations to Halima and the Class of 2017 and best wishes from all of the Antilles community. 15


ANTILLESSCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

Going Green How many people does it take to change 2,438 light bulbs?

T

hanks to the hundreds of donors and

Antilles’ commitment to sustainability led to

friends who participated in the “Give

the installation of filtered water fountains,

Green to Go Green” campaign at

which replace the heavy plastic jugs around

the Gala and Auction, Antilles has replaced

campus. These fountains allow students to re-

thousands of light bulbs and light fixtures to

fill reusable bottles throughout the day. Antilles

upgrade to LED lighting throughout the School.

also hosts community forums providing a

This will translate into approximately a 40%

podium for speakers advocating for everything

reduction in electricity consumption, reducing

from coral reef preservation to better waste

our expenses significantly year after year.

management.

“We have quickly realized a return on our

While these are impressive strides towards

investment in the solar panels on the Mark C.

protecting our environment and eco-system,

Marin Center,” observes Amy Gurlea, Antilles’

Antilles is looking to doing more in the future.

Director of Facilities. “Replacing all of the bulbs

“We will have opportunities to do more and

on campus will give us an immediate 40%

what I think is most exciting is that these will

savings on our electricity bill. That’s incredible

be experiential opportunities for our students. I

– and those numbers will only increase as we

hope to see a program that includes hydroponic

continue to push forward.”

gardening, aquaponic farming, and recycling,” muses Amy.

16


REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW

The Green Team was etablished six years ago by Heather Blum as a fifth grade activity that has grown to include class to class collaborations. At the time, Green Team’s efforts focused on aluminum can recycling, on campus and community clean-ups (specifically Emile Griffith, Frydenhoj and Alvin McBean ballparks), recycling education with the third graders, and Earth Day initiatives. Today the program has evolved to include Middle and Upper School students, with the help of Heather Scholes (Lower School Coordinator) and Adam Quandt (Middle and High School Coordinator). The recycling program has also expanded, and the team now does daily composting and beautification initiatives that run throughout the island.

17


ANTILLES ANTILLESSCHOOL SCHOOL

2017 Financials

Annual Fund Giving History (in $1,000s)

18


REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW

Founders’ Circle and Trustees The Founders’ Circle celebrates the generosity and support of those within our community who invest in our students and the future of the School with annual donations of $5,000 or greater. These individuals share our belief in and vision for enhancing the programs and experiences Antilles’ students enjoy and value. Thanks to the partnership and passion of these donors much of what defines the student experience is made possible. Mary Lou Mallette Lynn and Andrew Park Cecilia and Averad Penn Perpetual Motion Management Beverly and Allie Petrus Prior Family Foundation Claire Starkey and Tom Klotzbach Theodore Tunick & Company Julia and Celso Vargas Lana Vento Charitable Trust Gail and Eric Walker Su-Layne Walker Marcella Sertich and Cory Watkins The West Indian Company Limited Jeanne Brennan Wiebracht and Matttias Wiebracht Toni and Kevin Williams Juanita Young and John Phillips

13D Research, LLC Alpine Securities USVI, LLC Anonymous Baker Magras & Associates, Inc. Bellows International & West Indies Company Bolongo Bay Beach Resort Gillian Hamilton and Keith Coulston Angelina and Vivek Daswani Discover Fund Management, LLLP Katarina and Richard Doumeng ’74 Alexandra and Leigh Goldman Guardian Insurance Corporation Lois Hassell-Habtes and Yegin Habtes International Capital & Management Company JH Capital V.I. Sarah and Elliott Loewenstein Erika Kellerhals Joann and Berisford Lynch

On behalf of all at Antilles, please accept our warmest appreciation. 19


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

Thank you Alumni Donors Class of 1966

Class of 1978

Jenifer Smith '66 and Tom Bolt Darby Carstarphen '66

John Schramm '78

Class of 1967

Class of 1979

Ann-Marie Sharp '67

Tom Queally '79

Richard Spenceley '78

Class of 1982

Class of 1968

Charlotte Perrell '82 and Scott Perrell

Steven Horwitz ‘68

Class of 1983

Class of 1969

Lyn & Richard Berry '83 Kerstin McConnell '83 and William McConnell '85

Carol Zoltowski and Alfred Gilbert '69 Marcia Horwitz '69 Donna Miles '69

Class of 1985

Kerstin McConnell '83 and William McConnell '85

Class of 1970 Carol Malo and Stephen Malo ’70

Class of 1986 Margaret Avery and Morgan Avery '86

Class of 1972 Nancy LeVine '72

Class of 1988 Shawn Hahnfeld '88 and Nils Hahnfeld Heenu Mohanani and Monesh Mohanani '88

Class of 1974 Katarina Doumeng and Richard Doumeng '74

Class of 1989

Class of 1975

Julie Lonski and Mark Lonski '89 Tara Miles and Erik Miles '89

Anastasia Fontenot '75

20


REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW

Class of 1991 Tina Brunt and Shane Brunt '91 Dhitika Mirpuri and Manoj Mirpuri '91 Vandana Mohanani and Rajesh Mohanani '91

Abigail O'Connell '95 Shanda Chiumento Overmyer '95 and Nicholas Overmyer Del A. Reese '95

Class of 1996 Class of 1992 Mariya Brueva and Mario Austin '92 Yuko Hosie and James Hosie '92 Nadya Laborde '92

Class of 1994 Christian Harris '94 Lisa Komives '94 and Eric Gaspard

Class of 1995 Chelsea Highholt '95

Kimbra Danet '96 and Dean Danet Robert Upson and Elisabeth Anderson '96

Class of 1997 Leigh Crandall '97 Cindy and Michael Asfour '97

Class of 1998 Michael Malo '98 Tsajai Nelthropp '98 and Paul Nelthropp Meaghan Richardson '98 and Cyril Richardson

21


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

Class of 2007

Class of 1999

Giresh Mirpuri '07 Kabir Motiani '07 Thomas Wiebracht '07

Sennai Habtes '99 Prashanti Naik and Amar Naik '99 Kelly O'Brien Uszenski '99 and Ryan Uszenski

Class of 2011 John Carpenter '11

Class of 2000 Ananta Pancham '01 and James Gardner '00 Heather Kral and Gene Kral '00 Su-Layne Walker '00

Class of 2012

Class of 2001

Class of 2016

Bryan Fredericks '01 Eleanor A. Hoffman '01 Diane Kissell '01 Ananta Pancham '01 and James Gardner '00

Nia N. Gumbs '16 The Class of 2016

Briana Adams '12

Class of 2002 Chantel Hoheb '02 and Vernon Araujo '02 Nicole Mynhier '02 and Argy Resano

Class of 2003 Crystal Dawn Buckley '03 Frank and Krystle LaPlace '03

Class of 2004 Adrien Austin '04

Class of 2005 Divya Lulla '05 Sophia Newbold '05 and Adam Vitarello

Class of 2006 Katie Day '06

22


REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW

Parent Donors Raymond Anderson Verna Araujo Jean and Shep Barrows Barbara Birt Jane Carpenter Gail and Michael de Haas Cecile and John de Jongh Maria Elliff and Carlos DiBlasi Paul and Colleen Doumeng Katarina Doumeng and Richard Doumeng ‘74 Robin Fredey Lois Hassell-Habtes and Yegin Habtes Sarah and Don Hancock Billie and Gregory Hodges Diane Holmberg Cecile and John de Jongh Kathy Joseph

23

We apologize for any omissions and errors, which may inadvertently have occurred.

Parents of Alumni


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

Ava and Kelly Kendall Claire Starkey and Tom Klotzbach Kevin Lewis Kerstin McConnell ‘83 and William McConnell ‘83 Leslie and Udo Penther Beverly and Allie Petrus Juanita Young and John Phillips Eleanor and Kevin Qualls Esther Reifer Marjorie Rawls Roberts Harshita and Deepak Sharma Ann-Marie Sharp ‘67 Thames-Anne and Randy Shaw Chris M. Teare Verian and Stewart Tuttle David Tyler Aparna Ved and Manoj Ved Margo Lynch and Bryan Walden Polly Watts Carol and Richard Wax Jeanne Brennan and Matthias Wiebracht Victoria Jones and Michael Williams

Diane Holmberg Jennifer Planeta and Richard Hunter Kathy Joseph Joann and Berisford Lynch Kerstin McConnell '83 and William McConnell '83 Chris M. Teare Eleanor and Kevin Qualls Adam Quandt

Class of 2018 Parents Heather Newton-Blum and Kevin Blum Tracy and Kirk Callwood Gail and Michael de Haas Corrie and Kevin Habib Jennifer Planeta and Richard Hunter Amy and Stephen James Ava and Kelly Kendall Kari and Neil Kraemer Ann Boshow and John Kirkland Chivon Sasso and Frederico Perez Ann Marie Derrickson and John Scott Khalaf and Kholoud Suid Sunita and Ramoo Totwani Toni and Kevin Williams

Class of 2017 Parents Barbara Birt Tracy and Kirk Callwood Shanda and Vernon Caracciolo

24


Class of 2019 Parents Judy and Robert Brady Lecia Francis and Bernard Brice Tracy and Ian Byrne Antoinette and Todd Hecht Lucy Peng and Michael Huang Kevin Lewis Jessica Liegeard Amrita and Deepkumar Meherchandani Vandana Mohanani and Rajesh Mohanani '91 Heenu Mohanani and Monesh Mohanani '88 Julie and Peter Najawicz Deborah Peters Michelle and John Riggle Loretta and Joseph Sibilly Sonya Swan Vicki and Dave Whitter Keely and Brad Wojtylak

Class of 2020 Parents Alisha and Satish Alwani Laurie and Thomas Blake Savita and Manish Chhabria

Suzan and Amer Daas Angelina and Vivek Daswani Keya Chongasing-Garner and Curtis Garner Shawn Hahnfeld '88 and Nils Hahnfeld Wendy and Brad Jennings Karin and John Kalb Kia and Kelly Moore Charlotte Perrell '82 and Scott Perrell Rachel and Paul Prewitt Nisha and Sanjay Rupani Ann Marie Derrickson and John Scott Harshita and Deepak Sharma Charlotte Wardell and Mark van den Driessche Toni and Kevin Williams

Class of 2021 Parents Janelle Zachman and Jose Belcher Heather Newton-Blum and Kevin Blum Linda Warrell and Alex Bruney Karen Christensen Maria Elliff and Carlos DiBlasi Bezuayeu Alemu and Andrew Gever Finia and Michael Gooding Corrie and Kevin Habib

25

We apologize for any omissions and errors, which may inadvertently have occurred.

REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

Amy and Stephen James Kari and Neil Kraemer Kerstin McConnell '83 and William McConnell '83 Dhitika Mirpuri and Manoj Mirpuri '91 Christine and Eric Oram Rachel and Paul Prewitt Khalaf and Kholoud Suid Sonya Swan Bela and Jitendra Ved Aparna and Manoj Ved Vicki and Dave Whitter

Class of 2022 Parents Nisha Aubain Olga and Gerald Balboa Julie Eaton-Bryan and Quinton Marc Bryan Shanda and Vernon Caracciolo Kimbra Danet '96 and Dean Danet Angelina and Vivek Daswani Denise and Nikolay Hotze Kia and Kelly Moore Aparna and Kanaiya Nagpal Prashanti Naik and Amar Naik '99 Cecilia and Averad Penn Rebecca and Carlos Rodriguez

Class of 2023 Parents Alisha and Satish Alwani Sloan Smith-Bared and Luis Bared Jr. Janelle Zachman and Jose Belcher Leslie and Tony Benware Wendy and Brad Jennings Karin and John Kalb Pramila and Amit Khemani Julie and Matthew Lasota Margaret and Pretlow Majette Vandana Mohanani and Rajesh Mohanani '91 Kelley Olive Raquel and Alkin Paul Keishlynn Swan Sunita and Ramoo Totwani Elodia Weekly Melanie Weyland

Amy Yuan and Allen Yu Sherin and Nejeh Yusuf

Class of 2024 Parents Olga and Gerald Balboa Heather Newton-Blum and Kevin Blum Shanda and Vernon Caracciolo Sofia Spinola and Jose Carvalho Savita and Manish Chhabria Karen Coffelt and Tony Coffelt '90 Angelina and Vivek Daswani Marlo Derksen Debbie and Ruel Hazell Erole Hobdy Yuko Hosie and James Hosie '92 Nataliya and Daniel Leinenbach Sarah and Elliot Loewenstein Nate McGowan Tara Miles and Erik Miles '89 Diya and Navin Mirchandani Julie and Peter Najawicz Christine and Eric Oram Jen and Christopher Papataros Cecilia and Averad Penn Nisha and Sanjay Rupani Brenda and Ephraim Sydney Charlotte Wardell and Mark van den Driessche Julia and Celso Vargas Bela and Jitendra Ved Marcella Sertich and Cory Watkins

Class of 2025 Parents Sloan Smith-Bared and Luis Bared Jr. Linda Warrell and Alex Bruney Christine Diamond and Joel Alferness Tammy and John Amaro Jamie and Shawn Aubain Leslie and Tony Benware Tina Brunt and Shane Brunt '91 Jeffrey Centers Keya Chongasing-Garner and Curtis Garner Tina and John Clarke

26


REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW

Shawn Hahnfeld '88 and Nils Hahnfeld Zenzile and Aaron Hodge Denise and Nikolay Hotze Hollis Jenkins and Timothy Krygsveld Julie Lonski and Mark Lonski '89 Kia and Kelly Moore Prashanti Naik and Amar Naik '99 Kelley Olive Maria Ortiz Shannon Harris and Jean-Pierre Oriol Kristin and Andrew Radcliffe Marni Walters-Richards and Robert Richards Kiese Sam Adam Thill Jane Thill Toni and Kevin Williams Keely and Brad Wojtylak Lauren and Tim Wright Sherin and Nejeh Yusuf

Class of 2026 Parents Christine Diamond and Joel Alferness Cindy and Michael Asfour Kirsten Brunn Matseliso Monamane and David Christensen Marlo Derksen Ocia and Brent Gumbs Antoinette and Todd Hecht Daniela and Jeff Kauffman Dhitika and Manoj Mirpuri '91 Cate and David Morris Tsajai Nelthropp '98 and Paul Nelthropp Marie Thomas Griffith and Sal Griffith, Sr. Jyoti and Jairaj Totwani Keshema and Denny Webbe

Class of 2027 Parents Jeanette and Elijah Acuna Brianne Beatty Nicole and Christopher Bennett

Suzan and Amer Daas Wila Fils and Neamah Fils Evette Mullgrav and Tristian Hannah Rhonda Hughes Karin and John Kalb Heather Kral and Gene Kral '00 Sarah and Elliot Loewenstein Rajendra Kumarlal and Neeta Rajendra Makhijani Kia and Kelly Moore Faridah Mumin Anabela and Chris Pescatore Beverly and Allie Petrus Corinne Petty and Nelson Petty Jr. Fatima and Needal Rahman Lorraine and Brandon Richardson Amy Yuan and Allen Yu Emily and Howard Zimmerman

Class of 2028 Parents Christine Diamond and Joel Alferness Jamie and Shawn Aubain Christy and Todd Beaty Julie Eaton-Bryan and Quinton Marc Bryan Ryan Cabarrao Shanda and Vernon Caracciolo Cathy and Jeffrey Chase Lavina and Rajesh Chatlani Matseliso Monamane and David Christensen Tina and John Clarke Kimbra Danet '96 and Dean Danet Nikki and Cobia Fagan, Sr. Marie Thomas Griffith and Sal Griffith, Sr. Ocia and Brent Gumbs Anique and Ishmel Harrigan Lucy Peng and Michael Huang Pramila and Amit Khemani Ann Boshow and John Kirkland Catherine and Joel Kling Andrea and Brad Lightfoot Kirsty and Ryan Llewellyn Claudelle Mathurin Eileen and Jeffrey McNally Katheryn and Glen Melbourne Cate and David Morris Tsajai Nelthropp '98 and Paul Nelthropp

27

We apologize for any omissions and errors, which may inadvertently have occurred.

Colleen Clendinen Maria Elliff and Carlos DiBlasi Bezuayeu Alemu and Andrew Gever


ANTILLES SCHOOL SCHOOL ANTILLES

Nicole and Dion Parson Anabela and Chris Pescatore Shannon Harris and Jean-Pierre Oriol Bethany and Jeffrey Silverman Jessica and Philip Spillane Marcella Sertich and Cory Watkins Emily and Howard Zimmerman

Laurie McPearce Meaghan Richardson '98 and Cyril Richardson Miranda Newcomer and Daniel Sima Marcella Sertich and Cory Watkins Sherin and Nejeh Yusuf

Class of 2029 Parents

Jeanette and Elijah Acuna Patria Alexander Cindy and Michael Asfour '97 Olga and Gerald Balboa Brianne Beatty Pam and Andrew Engle Shannon McCarthy and Jeffrey Euwema Meeta and Dhiren Kaycee Ann Boshow and John Kirkland Diya and Navin Mirchandani Hina and Amit Mirpuri Lane and Kristopher Sammy

Class of 2030 Parents

Cindy and Michael Asfour Christy and Todd Beaty Lidia Cristina Canizares Melina and Christopher Forvour Ananta Pancham '01 and James Gardner '00 Kasia and Adam Israel Martha and Andrew Johnson Jennifer and Michael Johnson Sheila McMurry and Joshua Jno-Pierre Sophia Delrosario and Steve Kalpee

28


Josean and Glenfield Jarvis Martha and Andrew Johnson Daniela and Jeff Kauffman Heather Kral and Gene Kral '00 Katheryn and Glen Melbourne Meaghan Richardson '98 and Cyril Richardson Genevieve Ryan-Pedram and Hooman Pedram Sharde McCleverty and Je'Von Petty Lane and Kristopher Sammy Heather and Greer Scholes Bethany and Jeffrey Silverman Lynique Burnett-Smalls and Gianni Smalls Eva and Bruce Taylor

Bethany and Jeffrey Silverman Jessica and Philip Spillane Robert Upson and Elisabeth Anderson '96 Kelly O'Brien Uszenski '99 and Ryan Uszenski Sherin and Nejeh Yusuf

Class of 2031 Parents Olga and Gerald Balboa Lori and Chris Brewer Pam and Andrew Engle Melina and Christopher Forvour Bianca Harris Kasia and Adam Israel Sheila McMurry and Joshua Jno-Pierre Melina and Eliezer Paiewonsky Ananta Pancham '01 and James Gardner '00 Pilar Sterling Keishlynn Swan

Class of 2033 Parents Mariya Brueva and Mario Austin '92 Keya Chongasing-Garner and Curtis Garner Finia and Michael Gooding Katherine and Omar Haneef Lisa Komives '94 and Eric Gaspard Kelly O'Brien Uszenski '99 and Ryan Uszenski

Class of 2032 Parents Neelam and Shailesh Buxani Shanda Chiumento Overmyer '95 and Nicholas Overmyer

29

We apologize for any omissions and errors, which may inadvertently have occurred.

REVIEW2017 2017 REVIEW


ANTILLES SCHOOL

ANTILLES SCHOOL Office of Advancement

7280 Frenchman’s Bay 16-1

St. Thomas, VI 00802

www.antilles.vi

Antilles School Review 2017  

Highlights from the Fiscal 2017 year (July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017) at Antilles School (St. Thomas, VI)

Antilles School Review 2017  

Highlights from the Fiscal 2017 year (July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2017) at Antilles School (St. Thomas, VI)

Advertisement