Page 1

After riding nearly 1,000 miles of trail over six days and competing against the best off-road motorcycle riders in the world, the U.S. World Trophy Team earned its place on the podium, finishing third at the 86th International Six Days Enduro in Kotka-Hamina, Finland. Led by the E2 class-winning effort of Kurt Caselli, the team overcame adverse weather conditions, extremely challenging trail sections and special tests, mechanical gremlins, and the toughest off-road competition in the world in one of the toughest Six Days in recent history. The World Trophy Team also included Destry Abbott, Russell Bobbitt, Jimmy Jarrett, Nathan Kanney and Colton Udall. The U.S. Junior Team finished fourth, missing the ISDE podium by one position. This year’s Junior Team included Ian Blythe, Cody Schafer, Andrew DeLong and Cory Buttrick. Efforts were hampered by a mechanical failure that put Buttrick on the sidelines at the end of Day Five. A Day One injury to U.S. Women’s World Cup rider Nicole Bradford, a mechanical failure by Mandi Mastin, and Kerrie Swartz houring out kept the women’s team out of contention for a return trip to the podium. The top-finishing U.S. three-rider club team was the team, made up of Greg Gillian, Brent Martell and Max Gerston. The team finished 16th. All five of the U.S. club teams finished 22nd or better out of the 63 teams that started the event. Another notable accomplishment among club riders was Jeff Fredette’s 31st ISDE finish, extending the 53-year-old’s perfect record. The American Motorcyclist Association congratulates and thanks all the AMA members who contributed as competitors or support crew at the 2011 ISDE.

Photos by Steve Berkner

TROPHY TEAMS World Trophy Team

Junior Trophy Team

(Bruce Wakeley, manager)

(Dennis Buttrick, manager)

40 Colton Udall SILVER 41 Destry Abbott GOLD 42 Russell Bobbitt GOLD 43 Jimmy Jarrett GOLD 44 Kurt Caselli GOLD 45 Nathan Kanney GOLD

46 Ian Blythe BRONZE 47 Cory Buttrick DNF 48 Andrew DeLong SILVER 49 Cody Schafer SILVER

Women’s Trophy Team (Dave Chamberlain, manager) 302 Nicole Bradford DNF 402 Amanda Mastin DNF 502 Kerrie Swartz DNF


Missouri Mudders


(Steve Berkner, manager)

(Jay Hall, manager)

(Laura Claypoole, manager)

335 Greg Gillian BRONZE 435 Max Gerston SILVER 535 Brent Martell BRONZE

357 JD Friebel FINISH WITH NO MEDAL 457 Ben Smith BRONZE 557 Caleb Wohletz SILVER

348 Dennis Decker FINISH WITH

Tony Agonis Memorial Team

Carter Engineering

(Bob Agonis, manager)

(Tom Carter, manager)


312 Fred Hoess GOLD 412 Robert Heinzerling BRONZE 512 Glenn Scherer BRONZE

362 Chase Bishop BRONZE 462 Bryan Petty BRONZE 562 Michael Sanders BRONZE

Brian Hasslen


448 Jeff Fredette BRONZE 548 Jarrko (Jake) Vainio BRONZE

AMA Team USA Sponsored by:

13515 Yarmouth Drive, Pickerington, Ohio 43147

AMA U.S. National Team - ISDE 2011  

Photos by Steve Berkner

AMA U.S. National Team - ISDE 2011  

Photos by Steve Berkner