Page 1




Linda Caldwell | President | KSU Alumni Association

Reception University News Distinguished Alumni Awards Dr. Betty L. Siegel Award Closing

Dr. Wesley Wicker | Vice President | University Advancement Bil Lako | Board Member | KSU Alumni Association Dr. Hope Torkornoo | Professor & 2008 Recipient, BLS Award Linda Caldwell | President | KSU Alumni Association

HOMECOMING 2011 | about the Alumni Association Founded in 1978, the KSU Alumni Association is a 501(c)3 organization with the mission of building relationships, creating value and supporting the long-term goals of the University. Led by a Board of 19 alumni, the Association strives to enhance community relationships and build networks that will further the success of its alumni and aid in the development of University outreach, fundraising and programs. The Association recognizes current donors through its Active Alumni initiatives; Active Alumni, because of their annual gifts, receive exclusive benefits and discounts. The Alumni House

HOMECOMING 2011 | WELCOME HOME Welcome to Homecoming 2011! The annual Homecoming celebration is one of Kennesaw State’s longest and strongest traditions. Homecoming festivities serve to strengthen the bond and fondness with which you remember your alma mater while instilling pride and excitement in future generations of Owls alumni. The annual Homecoming week allows us the opportunity to celebrate you, our alumni, for your tremendous success and support. For some of you, the series of events serves as your annual reconnection with the campus and the University. However, many of you join us throughout the year for a variety of activities and events. Regardless of your level of involvement, we are grateful for your interest and support.

Through your Homecoming experience, please take some time to tour the campus, observe our growth and reminisce on your days as a student; you will be pleased with the many additions and enhancements we have made to the campus. Thank you for participating in Homecoming 2011 and for taking part in your University’s continued success. We encourage you to get involved in the myriad of events hosted by the Alumni Association during the year. And, please keep us informed of your successes so that we remain in contact with you and can honor you in future Homecoming events.

HOMECOMING 2011 | BETTY L. SIEGEL AWARD The Betty L. Siegel Award, created in 1992, is named in honor of Dr. Betty L. Siegel, Past President of Kennesaw State University. The annual award recognizes exceptional service to the University and is bestowed upon an outstanding member of the KSU staff or faculty. The individual who receives the award embodies the qualities of leadership, scholarship and service to KSU while displaying a strong commitment to his or her students, colleagues and the surrounding community.

HOMECOMING 2011 | BETTY L. SIEGEL AWARD Miriam Williams Boeri, Ph.D. This year’s recipient of the Betty L. Siegel Award is Dr. Miriam Williams Boeri. Dr. Boeri graduated from KSU in 1996, receiving a Bachelor of Science degree in Communications with high honors. Since then, she has returned to KSU as an associate professor in the Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice and has developed the online sociology degree program. As a researcher, she has received $750,000 in funding for her groundbreaking studies on methamphetamine use in suburban areas. Her contributions extend into the community through her work with local agencies and partnering organizations that help people with addictions. Dr. Boeri is the creator of the Social Recovery Initiative (SRI), a program that incorporates reflection, peer mentor relationships and expanded social networks to assist drug court participants in their recovery.

HOMECOMING 2011 | DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARDS The Distinguished Alumni Award program was established in 1992 to honor Kennesaw State University’s most accomplished graduates on an annual basis. To be considered for the Award, a qualified candidate must be: • a graduate of Kennesaw Junior College, Kennesaw College, Kennesaw State College or Kennesaw State University; • a person who promotes the ideals and mission of Kennesaw State University and whose career legacy adds to the prominence of the University; and • a person who has demonstrated distinguished achievement in his or her chosen field at a local, regional or national level.

HOMECOMING 2011 | DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARDS Charles (Chuck) Ayars Chuck Ayars earned a Master of Social Work degree from the Wellstar College of Health and Human Services in 2011, graduating with highest honors. As a KSU student, he was a leader amongst his cohort, and he personifies the KSU commitment to community and service. Mr. Ayars bravely served in the U.S. Army as part of the 1st Calvary and has received a Bronze Star. Following a roadside blast in November 2004 in which he and fellow soldiers were seriously injured, Chuck Ayars’ heroic actions were recognized with the Purple Heart. While honorably discharged from the Army in 2005, Mr. Ayars continues to serve veterans and their families through his work at the Chattanooga Veterans Outreach Center as a Veterans Administration Clinical Social Worker.

HOMECOMING 2011 | DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARDS Divida Gude, J.D. A 2002 graduate of the Master of Science in Conflict Management (MSCM) program, Judge Divida Gude is distinguished in the legal field and embodies the KSU ideals of mentoring and volunteerism. She serves as magistrate, sitting by designation in the Superior Court of Fulton County since 1993. As an adjunct professor, Judge Gude taught at the John Marshall Law School in the areas of alternative dispute resolution and domestic relations. She is a former board member of the Boys and Girls Clubs of Metro Atlanta and provides pro bono representation of incarcerated mothers in family law cases. Passionate about her profession and her alma mater, Judge Gude mentors KSU students as they apply to law schools and seek employment after graduating from the MSCM program.

HOMECOMING 2011 | DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI AWARDS William (Bill) Murphy Bill Murphy is a 2003 MBA graduate of the Coles College of Business. Currently vice president of operations for Heidelberg USA, Inc., Mr. Murphy exhibits the KSU drive for innovation. He implemented the eFax project, reducing postage costs while improving document retention and accessibility by electronically storing sales contracts and important information. Mr. Murphy also spearheaded the reorganization of order management for the USA, increasing customer satisfaction. Both projects were significant cost-saving measures for Heidelberg. An advocate for philanthropy and community service, Mr. Murphy is a supporter of Must Ministries and Devereux and is a regular Keep Marietta Beautiful volunteer.

Kennesaw State University Alumni Association 1000 Chastain Road, MD #5600 Kennesaw, GA 30144 770-423-6333



KSU Alumni 2011 Homecoming Program  
KSU Alumni 2011 Homecoming Program  

Program for the 2011 KSU Alumni Association's homecoming awards event.