Page 54

2013 National Council Meeting Report 90th Anniversary plans, financial future of ALD are major topics for this year’s National Council The 2013 meeting of the National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta convened in San Francisco in June this year to discuss the future of the Society, establish policy, review finances, and discuss new ways to help each ALD Chapter thrive. The first order of business was to install four new Council members: • • • •

Karen Amrhein, California University of Pennsylvania Michele Gross, University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh Catlin Daley, University of Wisconsin Eau Claire Amber Gombash, Bowling Green State University

Each member of the Council presented a short annual report, followed by a report from Dr. Earwood, ALD’s Executive Director. Among the highlights were: •

There has been an increase to 75% of all Chapters using My Honor Society.

Since 1999, ALD has installed 78 new chapters.

Plans for the 2013 National Leadership Workshop in San Diego were discussed.

Plans for a fundraiser for the 90th anniversary as well as the anniversary celebration in Chicago were explained. The purpose of the fundraising campaign is to increase the number and value of ALD scholarships and fellowships.

The value of the Perpetual Fund is nearing $4 million.

Plans for Dr. Earwood’s retirement and the hiring of a new executive director were outlined.

ALD will initiate its millionth member sometime in the spring.

Marcella Gemeli, Arizona State University; Kevin Dougherty, UCLA; Susan Huffman, Purdue University, and Matthew Chetnik, Salem State University were names as 2013 Executive Director’s Advisors of the Year.

In subsequent discussions, the Council voted to provide financial aid for newly chartered or newly reactivated chapters to attend the National Leadership Workshop in their first year. The Council also voted to increase the number of Stemler Study Aboard Scholarships from 15 to 20. It was noted that in the fiscal Year of 2013, ALD installed new Chapters at Lyon

College in Arkansas and at IUPUC in Indiana. Chapters were re-installed at Salem State University, the University of New Orleans, and Northern Arizona University. Lisa Ruch, Indiana University/Purdue University of Indianapolis, was re-elected to serve at the Vice President for Chapter Relationships and Expansion.

Above right: The 2013 Alpha Lambda Delta National Council. Above: New Council members (l-r) Karen Amrhein, Michelle Gross, Caitlin Daley, and Amber Gombash are sworn into office.

Alpha Lambda Delta

The annual meeting concluded with a banquet and the readings of resolutions honoring departing Council members Sue Oole, Dillon Etter, and Kelci Teut. Among the guests attending were former ALD President Dr. James Stemler and former member-at-large Brittany Sheppe-Wells.

54 The Flame

Flame 2014  

The Flame is Alpha Lambda Delta's annual magazine. It highlights the individual and chapter accomplishments of the previous year. Founded in...