Page 10

portfolio. Other officers during 1213 were Vice President Katie Rusnak, Secretary Emily Fineberg, and Treasurer Christina Errico. Renata introduced Dorothy M. Anderson, Past National President (91-97), who made the formal presentation of the Order of the Torch.

Lisa Ruch (far right) presented the Order of the Torch to Montana State University - Bozeman on September 20.

sor, Erika Swanson, for all of her hard work and dedication and asked them to join her in thanking Steve Swinford for stepping up to be their new advisor. She then encouraged members to strive for the Maintaining the Flame Award in 2014 and presented the Order of the Torch banner to the chapter. Following the presentation, Mandy St. Aubyn, Program Manager for the MSU Office of Activities and Engagement, addressed the members and guests and praised the MSU ALD chapter for setting an example for other organizations on campus and for their dedication to serving others. The group then took some photos and enjoyed refreshments at the end of the celebration.

Dickinson College Carlisle, Pennsylvania October 2, 2013 Presented by Dorothy Anderson The presentation of the Order of the Torch to Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, occurred on October 2, 2013 at the Chapter’s Fall Initiation. As guests entered the Great Room of Stern Hall, a power point of the award

Alpha Lambda Delta

This was the third time Dean Anderson has represented ALD at Dickinson. She served as installing officer on April 9, 1989, when former ALD Council member Dr. Carmen Neuberger was Dean of Educational Services and developed the Chapter. She presented the Chapter’s first Order of the Torch in 2000 when Dr. Joyce Bylander was the Chapter advisor. Dr. Bylander is now the Vice President for Student Development and was present for this ceremony. The Chapter received the Order of the Torch again in 2003.

St. Vincent College

winning portfolio was being played. The D-Tones, an a cappella group performed to start the evening, with current chapter President Madison Alley presiding and introducing the other officers and faculty advisor Dr. Christopher Francese. Current Historian Catherine Broady took many pictures throughout the evening. Twenty members of the Class of 2016 were initiated. Professor Francese spoke about and introduced the Chapter’s two Trow Award recipients, Laura Hart received a $1000 and Caryn Sennet received $6000.

Latrobe, Pennsylvania November 1, 2013 Presented by Karen Amrhein

Dr. Shalom D. Staub, Associate Provost and Freshmen Year Dean and advisor to the Chapter, was introduced and spoke about his belief in the value of an active Alpha Lambda Delta Chapter for both the college and the individual member. It is clear that the college is extremely supportive and proud of the Chapter and its accomplishments. Dean Staub introduced Renata Leo, the 2012-13 President who led the Chapter as it increased its activities and won the Order of the Torch. Renata credits the work of her fellow officers, most especially the webmaster, Matt Brown, and historian Chieuanh Thi Nguyen, in developing the

Prior to the ceremony, ALD officers collected stuffed animals from family members. The stuffed animals were going to be donated to a local foster care organization. The ceremony began with a procession of nearly 45 seniors. Fr. Rene M. Kollar, Dean of the School of Humanities and Fine Arts and Honorary ALD member, opened the ceremony with an invocation and words of encouragement for academic excellence and commitment to service.

Dr. Karen Amrhein, National Council Member-at-Large, presented the Order of the Torch Award to St. Vincent College on Friday, November 1, 2013 at 4:00 p.m. in the Fred Rogers Center, located on the campus. Nearly 160 individuals were in attendance including family members, graduating seniors, ALD officers, ALD Advisors, and dignitaries from St. Vincent College.

Ms. Sarah Ank, 2013-2014 ALD President welcomed the students and guests and introduced Dr. Amrhein. Dr. Amrhein gave her remarks about the

10 The Flame

Flame 2014  

The Flame is Alpha Lambda Delta's annual magazine. It highlights the individual and chapter accomplishments of the previous year. Founded in...