Page 1

a i s y a l a m aiesec in t r o p e r w e i v e r 3 r e quart

jul - sep’16


CONTENTS 1.0 Foreword by Member Committee President (MCP) - link 2.0 The AIESEC Way - link 3.0 State of National Association (SONA) Review and Inferences - link 4.0 Strategic Focus Review (Wildly Important Goal): - link 1. Create a bottom up culture 2. Contribute to Youth4GG via iGV 3. Embed LDM into operations 5.0 Business as Usual Review (Basic Operations): - link 1. AIESEC Experiences (Our Products) 1. Engagement with AIESEC - link 1. Youth Speak Forum 2. Local Volunteer 2. Experiential Leadership Development - link 1. Global Volunteer incoming 2. Global Volunteer outgoing 3. Global Talent incoming 4. Global Talent outgoing 2. Back Office (Supporting Departments) - link 1. Finance & Legalities 2. Information Management & Knowledge Management 3. People Management 4. Entity Development 5. Member Committee President 6.0 Focus till January 2017 - link 7.0 MC Team Principles - link


1.0 FOREWORD BY MCP


1.0 FOREWORD BY MCP I’ll start this Quarter 3 Review with appreciation. On behalf of Member Committee (MC) of AIESEC in Malaysia, we would like to appreciate: - more than 1,000 youth in Malaysia for putting trust in our leadership development model; - more than 800 members for delivering Standards & Satisfactions to facilitate youth leadership experiences; - more than 40 entity support team (EST) members for driving national level operations; - National Executive Boards (NEB) for involving in strategic planning and constructive feedback for improvement; - Generation 2015 for building the foundation for us to build on; - Supervisory group members for sharing expertise and resources This year, we are focusing on what matters for youth in Malaysia - the leadership development. We are the generation to make things happen and make “Every youth in Malaysia is actively involved in building a united nation” a reality. We are the generation that create relevance on what we do around what the world needs. We are the generation that is proactive to challenge for a better outcome. We are the generation that is inclusive and make people feel belong to be part of this youth leadership movement. We are humble to present Quarter 3 Report to the national plenary. Hope it triggers some thoughts in you. “What’s our progress?” “What can we do more?”

g n a u k n u h c u a l n h jo


2.0 THE AIESEC WAY


The AIESEC Way is the members‘ guide that explains what is the purpose of our


WHY

HOW

WHAT

The AIESEC Way is explained through the Golden Circle model which provides

REMINDER: The goal of this document is not for members to try and memorise all words or concepts. This document you should only glance through. It will not solve all your problems or answer all of your

1


Second World War by a group of young people from Europe (Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Netherlands, Norway, and Sweden). Our fundamentals were shaped

We place our confidence in youth because they have the passion, dynamism and entrepreneurial spirit that are needed to shape the future. They have the responsibility to improve tomorrow by choosing who they will be today.

Since then, the world has been changing faster than ever before. We believe that

explore and develop their leadership

sphere they would choose.

Our Unique Leadership Development Model

and they must learn to adapt quickly and solve problems. This is why AIESEC strives for Peace & Fulfilment of Humankind´s

AIESEC’s leadership development model seeks to prepare youth to take a stand on what they

Declining Trust in Formal Leaders

In today’s context, ‘Peace’ does not necessarily mean only avoiding war. Peace can symbolize a world that does not have conflicts that arise from cultural, religious, or other aspects of differences in humanity. Peace can also symbolize being in harmony with yourself. AIESEC strives to build a world where people can work towards their own understanding of

Self Aware

Understands and lives personal values Focuses on strengths over weaknesses Explores one’s passions

Believes in their ability to make a difference in the world Interested in the world issues Enjoys taking responsibility for improving the world

understanding the views of others.

Complex and Interconnected World

Empowering Others Develops & empowers other people Engages with others to achieve a bigger purpose

Through “Fulfilment of Humankind’s where people can be the best version of themselves.

Uncertain World

Adapts and shows resilience in the face of challenges Takes risks when needed

This is the leadership that we believe in and develop. 2

3


Cross-Cultural Exchanges

AIESEC provides an opportunity for young people to work or volunteer abroad in non-familiar environments. This allows them to step outside their comfort zone and expand their worldview, while connected world.

Team Experiences

AIESEC members work in teams to create and manage these cross-cultural exchange experiences. This provides an opportunity for our members to live powerful team experiences and develop their own

WHAT WE ENVISION:

Inner and Outer Journey framework AIESEC provides in every experience, enabling young people to learn the most from every that what someone learns from any experience will stay with them forever.

4

5


Our Values

Striving For Excellence to deliver the highest quality performance in everything we do.

Some examples of living this value:

fulfil our commitments and conduct ourselves in a way aligned with what we envision Some examples of living this value: We communicate openly and honestly with all stakeholders.

Global global network that takes ownership to make the world a

We create a dynamic and welcoming environment through the active and AIESEC.

AIESEC does not have a pre-defined or officially accepted

Some examples of living this value:

We celebrate our victories by sharing our achievements.

Independent bodies in its work, sustainability or decision-making. As an them.

Some examples of living this value:

Not-For-Profit

future years. We support each other and we build on what has been done in the past.

resources sustainably to generate more impact rather than making profit for shareholders. Youth-Run AIESEC is completely run by young people - the majority of whom are students and recent graduates.

of others.

Some examples of living this value: We encourage and delegate responsibility to the new members of AIESEC in We empower members to deliver exchange experiences.

Living Diversity

Some examples of living this value: We interact with members from a large range of countries and territories at global conferences and living the cross-cultural exchange experience. experiences.

To shape our culture we keep in mind to: Reinforce our values constantly

Engage and align our stakeholders with our values

Confront contradictory behavior that goes against our values

6


Appendix 1: Our Leadership Development Model and Inner and Outer Journey

Impact

fundamentals, which enable life-long leadership journey of young person.

Individual responsibility Taking individual responsibility with clear goals is a first step in the outer journey of leadership development Challenging role and environment Your role and surrounding environment push you to leave your comfort zone, enabling you to learn.

for everyone.” Self-aware: “I know what I am good at, what’s important to me, and what I am passionate about. I am constantly exploring what I want to achieve in my life.”

different types of stakeholders (boss-customer-colleague, AIESEC-company-NGO, etc.) to challenges. I am flexible and I am always

Reflect on your experience

fall I always stand back up.” Empower others: “I am able to communicate ideas clearly, engage in meaningful

Support system In the outer journey there should be some support system for the inner journey. It can be a mentor, coach, buddy, etc. A support system can be provided by AIESEC or any other external stakeholder. Set personal goals

The Inner and Outer Journey concept grew out of a “new models of leadership” discussion held with the World Economic Forum. Based on research of the best leadership experiences provided by AIESEC, the following elements describe what people go through during their AIESEC experience(s) and what helps them learn and develop the most.

goals for what you want to gain from the experience. Understand your personal values By living the experience and going through inner journey you realize the fundamental things about yourself – your values and how they impact your everyday life. Reinvent yourself Capturing the learning from this experience to use it in the future; Understanding your ‘new self.

8

9


3.0 SONA REPORT


SONA REPORT << LINK >>


Trends 1. Unable to determine real NPS because response rate is low 2. ICX product have positive growth; OGX product have negative growth 3. EP follow-up incl lead nurturing is the main bottleneck for applicants -> accept, accept -> approve consideration is weakest part of our customer flow 4. iGV: negative growth for all stages except realisations (growth in realisation means that people do want to come) → lacking strategy to enable growth in applicants, accept and approve 5. iGT: visa issue affecting accept -> approve conversion, competency of EP and misalignment of expectation in competency makes company expect higher competency than we can provide → applicants -> accept conversion negatively impacted 6. iGT: overall positive growth is from GE 7. oGV: high positive growth in attraction 8. oGV: applicants -> accept, accept -> approve conversion is low 9. oGV: follow up from applicants not supported by lead nurturing strategy (not strategic on MC level, believed by LCs to only be handled by MC) 10. oGT: growth in attraction phase, consideration conversion is low → competency of EP


4.0 STRATEGIC FOCUS (WILDLY IMPORTANT GOALS)


Creating a bottom up culture

EVERY YOUTH IN MALAYSIA IS ACTIVELY INVOLVED IN BUILDING A UNITED NATION


REVIEW SCOREBOARD: Learn from success and failure The team assesses whether their commitments are moving the lead measure and whether the lead measure is moving the lag measure. They discuss about what they’ve learned about that work and what doesn’t and how to adapt. Lag Measure (Q3)

Result

Progress

1 LC Jumping Band (October)

2

100%

100% RR TLs for LDA

286 / 204

71.33%

100% RR TMs for LDA

245 / 559

43.80%

50% TM > average for S.O LDA by October (counting existing members)

23.3
 (Average score) % ??

Kuching and sunway didn’t update the LDA tracker. UMP & UNMC score can’t be counted.

50% of TLs scoring >50% in E.O 31.2 (Average by October 2016 score) % ??

LDA tracker for LCs (TL&TM)

LAG MEASURE


REVIEW SCOREBOARD: Learn from success and failure The team assesses whether their commitments are moving the lead measure and whether the lead measure is moving the lag measure. They discuss about what theyâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve learned about that work and what doesnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t and how to adapt.

LEAD MEASURE


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn?

WHAT IS WORKING? ● Clear Lead Measures (scoreboard) ● Including MC inside the WIG ● LC Coaching Toolkit helps follow up WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Work with LCPs (too many teams to handle) ● Tracking of the coaching strategy (due to changes, being very qualitative, no set routine) ● Lag Measures are not realistic enough (e.g. 100% LDA RR in September before the tool was ready) ● Connection between lag & lead, we can’t know for sure if our leads are moving our lags or not - lead doesn’t have enough content to tell us if achieving it is moving lag

PLAN Q3 ● Coaching Strategies established for every layer. ● Full LDA Education done for every layer. ● LDA Internal Comms Campaign ● SONA Tool Development & Changes ● Implementation of SONA Changes

ACTUAL

Q3 ● DONE ● ● ● ●

NOT DONE NOT DONE DONE DONE


Contribute to youth4gg via igv

EVERY YOUTH IN MALAYSIA IS ACTIVELY INVOLVED IN BUILDING A UNITED NATION


REVIEW SCOREBOARD: Learn from success and failure The team assesses whether their commitments are moving the lead measure and whether the lead measure is moving the lag measure. They discuss about what theyâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve learned about that work and what doesnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t and how to adapt. Horizon

(1st Stage) Changes in Horizon

(2nd Stage) Changes in Horizon

Increase YouthSpeak Survey external respondents by 1300 to 3000 by Dec 31st 2016

Gather 200 Youth Insights external respondents by Dec 31st 2016.

Increase the number of people impacted by National Project (MoI) from 3150 to 4500 by July 31st, 2017 Use 20% of 1500 resources generated in Youth Speak Forum to grow MoI by July 31st, 2017 Increase YouthSpeak Survey external respondents from 1300 to 9000 by Dec 31st, 2016

We realized that our focus is on national project instead of survey. It will used a lot of effort to conduct the survey. Hence, we emphasized more on diversity rather than quantity.

After the SG meeting, survey is not the most relevant platform to gather the insights from youth. Hence, we do engagements with UNDP to get 200 people from 40 participants from 5 regions.

LAG MEASURE


REVIEW SCOREBOARD: Learn from success and failure The team assesses whether their commitments are moving the lead measure and whether the lead measure is moving the lag measure. They discuss about what theyâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve learned about that work and what doesnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t and how to adapt.

LEAD MEASURE


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn?

PLAN

WHAT IS WORKING? ● MC achieving outcomes for completing scoreboard due to ownership when a time is set aside to specifically work on tasks ● The project development timeline is on time. ● ESTs are clear on the outcome and communication channels to make things happen. ● MCVP PD created focus on iGV and delegates the BAU to the ESTs, hence most of the meetings spent on meeting iGV partners. ● Michelle is working and observing how externals conduct focused group, a way forward on how to engage youth. ● We have national Working group and produced national project frameworks WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Commitments set is not moving the lead measures. ● Original lead measures are not so relevant to every week to track the progress. ● Lack of consistent working time to discuss WIG fundamentals especially on lag and leads ● synergy between LCP and MC. ● Not fast enough to address the issues of we are facing with the LC (slow in Call2Action) ● Commitments and ownership from LC level. ● The communication with LC. ● Lack of creating spaces to discuss the roots of progress of achievements

Q3 Horizon 3: ● MoI Development Framework based on current project ● Collect Feedback from the LC that run National Project ● Framework for Enabler’s Assesments ● Sent out survey to Enablers Horizon 2: ● YSF agenda design based on Pbox and Past survey ● Sort out delegate profile and partners profile ● Attraction Strategy/Using existing partners to retain and bring in new partners ● LC launching application bid ● Youth Marketing and Campaign launches for YSF Horizon 1: ● Awareness on Youth4GG ● Market research on non-universities youth profiles ● Youthspeak Survey Execution Countdown ● Send out survey to youth organisations ● Viral youtube

ACTUAL Q3 Horizon 3: ● [Done] MoI Development Framework - iGV working group after talking some of the partners. -delayed ● [Done] Framework for Enabler’s assessments- due to the lack of response and slow in call2action of ESTs. -delayed ● [Done]- LCs are not responding. -not so effective ● [Done] Collecting Feedback from LC that run National Project Horizon 2: ● [Done] YSF Agenda designed ● [Done] Delegate and partners profile sort out ● [Done] Launching of application bid -delayed ● [Done] Youth Marketing and Campaign for YSF. -not done ● Horizon 1: ● [Done] Awareness on Youth4GG (Took quite a while to launch things off the ground) ● [Not Done] YouthSpeak Survey Execution not relevant ● [Not DONE] Send out Survey to youth Organisations -not relevant


embed ldm into operations

EVERY YOUTH IN MALAYSIA IS ACTIVELY INVOLVED IN BUILDING A UNITED NATION


REVIEW SCOREBOARD: Learn from success and failure The team assesses whether their commitments are moving the lead measure and whether the lead measure is moving the lag measure. They discuss about what they’ve learned about that work and what doesn’t and how to adapt. Stage 1

Stage 2

Achieve 70% of promoters promoting for the right reason by March 31st, 2017 Achieve 50% of ≥ High LDA developed through AIESEC among total respondent by March 31st, 2017 Achieve 100% Customer Flow Implementation by 30 June 2017

Realised that in order to implement LDM into our Operation, 100% Customer Flow Implementation is no longer an alternative for us, is a must.

LAG MEASURE


REVIEW SCOREBOARD: Learn from success and failure The team assesses whether their commitments are moving the lead measure and whether the lead measure is moving the lag measure. They discuss about what theyâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve learned about that work and what doesnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t and how to adapt.

LEAD MEASURE


REVIEW SCOREBOARD: Learn from success and failure The team assesses whether their commitments are moving the lead measure and whether the lead measure is moving the lag measure. They discuss about what theyâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;ve learned about that work and what doesnâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t and how to adapt.

LEAD MEASURE


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn? WHAT IS WORKING? ● Consistency from MC on LDM Boleh ● Members are more aware on value of LDA and deliver to EPs ● Included education of LDA and customer flow in conference cycle and member development cycle ● Reallocate WIG members based on the relevance of the role in the WIG WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Not all LC Coaches follow up on the customer flow ● Low response from the members for LDM Boleh ● WIG Member’s commitment is not reflecting on lead measure ● lead measure is not moving the LAG measure due to no clear lead measure ● Lack of communication between LCP and WIG member during Q3 ● No clear scoreboard to show whether we are winning or losing.

PLAN

Q3 ● ● ●

Achieve 189 EP NPS response rate by Sept 30th 2016 Achieve 25% of promoters promoting for the right reason by Sept 30th 2016 Achieve 200 of EP LDA response by 30th Sept 2016

ACTUAL

Q3 ● Achieve 110 EP NPS response by 30th Sept 2016 ● Achieve 83% of Promoters for IGV ● Achieve 100% of Promoters for IGT ● Achieve 87 EP LDA response


5.0 BUSINESS AS USUAL (BASIC OPERATIONS)


5.1 AIESEC EXPERIENCE UPDATE


AIESECâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s

Leadership Development Model


3 parts of AIESEC’s LDM 1

The Leadership Qualities

Describes the Leadership We Develop. It consist of 4 qualities and 12 defining elements.

2

The Inner & Outer Journey

3

Standards and Satisfactions

It’s a framework that AIESEC provides in every experience, enabling young people to learn the most from every experience.

Key activities that need to be executed in order to make Inner & Outer Journey happen in the best way possible.

So how does AIESEC’s Leadership Development Model connects with the AIESEC Way? By end of each AIESEC experience, we want to see these leadership qualities developed as the outcome. This is described as the HOW in AIESEC Way.

A customer will go through an inner and our journey in an AIESEC experience. This is the described as part of the WHAT in AIESEC Way.

This is what an AIESECer delivers on a daily basis. It is the required actions need from AIESEC in order to facilitate an Inner & Outer Journey for our customers.


By delivering SnS, AIESEC facilitate an Inner & Outer Journey that develops the Leadership Qualities of our customers. deliver

facilitate

develop


1

The Leadership Qualities WORLD CITIZEN: “I am aware of what is going on in the world and enjoy taking an active role in contributing towards making it a better place for everyone.” SELF AWARE: “I know what I am good at, what’s important to me, and what I am passionate about. I am constantly exploring what I want to achieve in my life.” EMPOWERING OTHERS: “I am able to communicate ideas clearly, engage in meaningful conversations with others, and co-create spaces of collaboration that empower people to take action.” SOLUTION ORIENTED: “I come up with solutions to challenges. I am flexible and I am always ready to take the necessary risks .Every time I fall I always stand back up.”


The Defining Elements Each Leadership Quality consists of 3 defining elements as shown below.

World Citizen

Believes in their ability to make a difference in the world

Interested in world issues

Enjoy taking responsibility for improving the world

Self Aware

Understand and lives personal values

Focusing on strengths over weakness

Explore oneâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s passions

Solution Oriented

Adapts and shows resilience in the face of challenges

Transmits positivity to move forward throughout uncertainty

Takes risks when its needed

Empowering Others

Communicates effectively in diverse environments

Develops & empower other people

Engage with others to achieve a bigger purpose


2

Inner and Out Journey

VS.

Standards & Satisfactions

3

The inner journey is a personal journey of a customer. Standards & Satisfactions, namely SnS, describes the activities of an AIESECer carries out on a daily basis. These SnS are delivered by AIESECers so that a customer can go through a fulfilling Outer Journey.

In order for an Inner Journey to happen, the Outer Journey has to be facilitated by AIESECers.


SnS IN Outer Journey Individual Responsibility & Goals is facilitated by Standard number 8. Challenging Role & Environments and Interaction with Multiple Stakeholders are facilitated by ensuring Standards number 4, 5, 6 and 7. Support System is facilitated by Standards number 1, 2, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 and 16.


What happened with LEAD ? As we know, inside the 16 S&S, Standard 15 and 16 are defined as Leadership Development Spaces delivered by the host and home, respectively.

15. The Opportunity has to state what leadership development spaces and opportunities are offered by AIESEC before, during and after the internship. The delivered spaces have to correspond with the Opportunity. As a minimum standard host entity must offer one Incoming Preparation Seminar/Meeting (or leadership development of EP and follow up on his/her personal goals set before traveling) once the EP arrives to the host entity, and before the internship starts.

16. The EP has been provided with information in written format on what leadership development spaces and opportunities are offered by the home entity before, during and after the internship. The delivered spaces have to correspond with the information provided. As a minimum standard home entity must offer one Outgoing Preparation Seminar/Meeting (including space for personal goal setting) before EP leaves for internship, and one Re-integration Seminar/ Meeting at the end of the internship (when EP comes back).


With that in mind, what is LEAD and where does it come in?

What we aim to do is to use LEAD to facilitate leadership development in the experiences we deliver.

What does LEAD include?

LEAD CONTENT

The facilitation of the LEAD content to our customers are called the LEAD facilitation.

LEAD

How we do that specifically is through these Leadership Development Spaces, which are essentially LEAD.

Based on the leadership qualities & defining elements, we prepare content that can facilitate our customers to go through an inner journey.

ENVIRONMENT

Individual Discovery & Reflection

Team Experience

LEAD

FACILITATION

In order to deliver the LEAD content, LEAD environment needs to be created. There are 6 different environments we generally come across.

One to One

Conference & Seminars

Learning Circles

Virtual Spaces


How does LDM affect my ELD operations? In each of the ELD products, we need to ensure that 100% of the 16 Standards are executed. Since the customer flow describes how we interact with our customers, we can easily draw conclusion between the standards and how they are being executed in the customer flow.

Attraction While posting the opportunities, host entity need to ensure Standards 2, 4, 5, 6,10 and 11.

Consideration

Value Delivery

Brand Advocacy

All 16 Standards should be 100% executed in the value delivery phase both by host and home entity.

In reintegration, home entity should also provide Standard 16, to conclude a conscious leadership experience is developed and documented for advocating our brand of leadership development

By the end of the experience, we should evaluate if all 16 Standards are properly executed.


How does LDM affect my EwA operations?

Recap AIESEC Experience Booklet

The purpose of this phase is for a young person to get a z peak into the value proposition (Leadership Development) AIESEC should deliver for him/her.

EwA Product Check Box ✓ One or More Leadership Quality ✓ Inner & Outer Journey ✓ Clear Call To Action ✓ Showcase More Opportunities

In the Operations level that means AIESEC needs to facilitate the Outer Journey in the EwA product by: • • • •

Ensuring young person has individual responsibilities and goals Creating challenging role and environment Ensuring Interaction with multiple stakeholders Provide support system

Additionally during the Product AIESEC has to have: • •

A Clear Call to Action And Showcase more opportunities


How does LDM affect membership? 


Team Standards: 
 Team Standards are the key activities we expect all Team Leaders to follow inside their teams to ensure all of our membership is going through Inner & Outer Journey.


Appendix 1 100%

Standards & Satisfactions 1. The EP can legally enter and stay in the country/territory and perform the activities stated in the Opportunity. AIESEC has provided in written format all the information required to arrange for any documents, visa or work permits that may be required. 2. The EP is picked up by a representative of AIESEC. The Host entity will state in the Opportunity where the EP will be picked up/options on where will the EP be picked up. Before realization the Host entity has provided written information to the EP on any domestic transportation required to arrive at this point of pickup. 3. The Host entity has offered in written format information on how to depart from the country two weeks before the end of the internship.

4. The Job Description executed by the EP has to correspond with the Job Description of the Opportunity. 5. The internship lasts from a minimum of 6 weeks to a maximum of 78 weeks from the first day to the last day of the internship. 6. The activities related executing the Job Description are a minimum of 35 hours/week for GIP and 25 hours/week for GCDP 7. A representative of AIESEC accompanies the EP to the place/organization of work on the first day of the internship. 8. The host entity has provided EP or ensured EP knows individual responsibility and goals in a written format latest one week after the start of the internship, and the EP acknowledges to have received, understood and accepted it.


Appendix 1 100%

Standards & Satisfactions 9. The home entity ensures that the EP has a valid insurance policy to cover basic medical costs for the duration of the exchange. 10. The accommodation standard, conditions and costs during the internship correspond to the information provided on the Opportunity. AIESEC arranges this accommodation for the EP. 11. The Opportunity specifies if any financial or non-financial compensation would be provided during the internship and the actual conditions correspond with it.

12. The home entity has provided minimum information to the EP about AIESEC purpose, inner and outer journey and role of exchange in it, in a written format. 13. The home entity has provided the AIESEC standards and the XPP in written format to the EP who acknowledges in a written format to have received, understood and accepted them. 14. The home entity has provided with basic information regarding the country/territory of their internship in a written format including as a minimum information on culture, political situation, safety, living standards, home and host contacts (phone number and email) 15. The Opportunity has to state what leadership development spaces and opportunities are offered by AIESEC before, during and after the internship. The delivered spaces have to correspond with the Opportunity. As a minimum standard host entity must offer one Incoming Preparation Seminar/Meeting (or leadership development of EP and follow up on his/her personal goals set before traveling) once the EP arrives to the host entity, and before the internship starts. 16. The EP has been provided with information in written format on what leadership development spaces and opportunities are offered by the home entity before, during and after the internship. The delivered spaces have to correspond with the information provided. As a minimum standard home entity must offer one Outgoing Preparation Seminar/Meeting (including space for personal goal setting) before EP leaves for internship, and one Re-integration Seminar/Meeting at the end of the internship (when EP comes back).


Appendix 2

LEAD Environment

Individual Discovery & Reflection

This is where you find the opportunity to build your own big-picture understanding in order to draw conclusions about yourself. People do this through exploration, interaction, journaling, personal development plan, goal setting and dialogue.

Team Experience

Teams are the basis of all individuals experiences in AIESEC since they join the organisation. Teams show us how to put in practice the principle of learning by doing. Our teams need to be the place where we create space for innovation and activity based on our individual interest.

One to One

Our lives are spent in understanding ourselves and the coaching session or mentorship is very important in this process. The key to the process is to remove the individual from his/her comfort zone enough to help them gain objectivity over themselves but not to scare the individual off.

Conference & Seminars

Conference is an excellent platform especially when combined with hosted spaces, individual reflection and one-to-one activities.

Learning Circles

Learning circles are local learning communities formed by local and international AIESECers who share a common interest in gaining experience, knowledge and networks in a common sector or topic. Learning circles can have different focuses and participants with different level of knowledge. People may be part of more than one and attendance is based in interest. This process can be facilitated by a more experienced member and mixing different tools as books, magazines, movies, etc.

Virtual Spaces

Our virtual spaces also play the key role of tying together the entire learning environment. Elements in virtual spaces are communities (information and resource sharing), forums (virtual discussion and perspective sharing), blogs (personal reflection and experience sharing) and building & keeping networks, or other opportunities and information available on the world wide web.


ENGAGEMENT'WITH'AIESEC In this phase we spark an interest in people to develop themselves by contributing to a better world.


Engagement with%AIESEC What%does%it%mean?% The$ purpose$ of$ this$ phase$ is$ for$ a$ young& person& to& get& a& sneak& peak& into%the%value%proposi/on%% ( ie$ Lea d ers h ip$ Devel o pm ent)$ AIESEC& could& deliver& for& him/ herself.( As( an( organiza"on% it% requires' us' to' take' a' part' of' our' leadership* development* model* and* deliver'it'in'this'phase.'' EwA"Product"Check"Box" ✓ Inner%&%Outer%Journey% ✓ One$or$More$LDM$Quali/es$ ✓ Clear&Call&To&Ac+on& ✓ Showcase)More)Opportuni2es

How$do$I$know$I’m$delivering$an$EwA"Product?" Spark&an&Interest: The$product$facilitates$inner$&$outer$journey$ that$sparks$an$interest$in$a$young$person$to$develop$themselves$ further' and' care' for' a' be.er' world.' The' external' environment' created' by' the' product' sparks' a' want' for' internal' change' in' a' young&person& Develop' Themselves:! The! product! inten.onally! begins! to! develop'one'or'more'of'the'leadership'development'quali3es'we' want% to% see% in% young% people% i.e.% Self2Awareness,% Solu6on% Orienta(on,+Empowering+Others+and+World+Ci(zenship++++ Contribu)ng+to+a+Be/er+World:! !The!product!transmits!a!clear! call$ to$ ac'on$ and$ introduces$ opportuni'es$ that$ a$young$ person$ can$take$in$order$to$start$their$contribu0on$to$a$be1er$world.$It$ can$be$a$another$product$in$the$EWA$phase,$ELD$phase$or$with$ another(likeminded(partner(organiza1on( It# is# not# important# in# which# order# the# products# are# experienced.#!# A" person" can" take" as" many" as" they" feel" is" important" for" their" leadership*development.*


FORUM


EwA$Product YouthSpeak+Forum How$does$a$person$start$developing$themselves?$ By#engaging#in#conversa.on#with#his/her#fellow#a5endees,#a#young#person#begins#to# iden%fy(poten%al(solu%ons(for(the(issues(being(discussed(while(empowering(others(to( do# the# same.# Thus,# YouthSpeak# Forum# touches# two# of# AIESEC’# Leadership# Development*Quali/es:*Solu/on*Orienta/on*and*Empowering*Others.*! How$can$they$contribute$to$a$be0er$world$through$this$product?$ At#the#end#of#the#forum,#an#a/endee#is#given#a#clear#call#to#ac6on#to#start#ac6ng#upon# the$issues$discussed$at$the$project$through$the$crea0on$of$a$project$or$par0cipa0ng$in$ a" project" tacking" similar" issues." As" " support,! at! the! end! of! the! forum,! he/she! can! choose&one&of&the&opportuni.es&(AIESEC&ELD&products&or&partner&products)&that&he/ she$ considers$ to$ be$ the$ most$ suitable$ to$ start$ their$ contribu1on$ towards$ a$ be3er$ world.' What%can%a%young%person%gain%through%this%product?% •Connec&on'with'like.minded'people'who'care'for'the'issues'discussed'at'the'forum! •Iden%fica%on*of*how*he/she*can*contribute*via*crea%on*and*par%cipa%on*in*projects** •Understands)the)importance)of)conver2ng)inspira2on)and)collabora2on)into)ac2on)) Please&refer&to&Blue&Book&for&more&informa1on&about&branding.!


EwA$Product YouthSpeak+Forum YouthSpeak+Forum+powered+by+AIESEC+is+a+forum+run+by+youth+for+ youth.' !It!is!a!forum!where!inspira1on!and!collabora1on!convert!into! ac#on.'Both'young'and'senior'leaders'are'brought'together'to'form'a' diverse' cross*sector' and' mul1*genera1onal' space' for' inspiring' conversa)ons*around*pressing*global,*na)onal*and*local*issues.*It*is*an* a"rac%ve( and( engaging( approach( to( making( AIESEC( relevant( to( any( young& person& and& a& way& to& get& involved& with& no& barriers& and& low& commitment.)! How$do$we$spark$interest$through$this$product?$ The$ agenda$ for$ the$ forum$ creates$ a$ environment$ for$ intellectual$ s"mula"on) and) inspira"on) for) any) a0endee.) It) triggers) thought) towards(important(issues(and(encourages(the(a2endee(to(par3cipate( in# the# conversa-ons# and# collaborate# with# other# a2endees# to# create# ac#onable)outcomes.

21


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn?

PLAN

Q3 ● National YSF bidding complete ● 3000 External respondents for YSS WHAT IS WORKING? ● Commitment of marketing ESTs WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Lack of YSF coordinator ● Lack of consistency in follow up with marketing ESTs

ACTUAL

Q3 ● No LC bid for national YSF ● Not implementing YSS


LOCAL

Volunteer


EwA$Product Local&Volunteer What%is%Local%Volunteer%?%% Local& Volunteer& is& an& EwA& product& which& gives& a& â&#x20AC;&#x153;sneak& peakâ&#x20AC;?& into& what% a% Global% Volunteer% experience% looks% like.% It% allows% locals% to% volunteer)on)a)project)or)in)an)NGO)addressing)one)of)the)SDGs)for) 6"8$ weeks,$ alongside$ Global$ Volunteer$ par8cipants.$ The$ aim$ is$ to$ empower' young' people' to' develop' LDM' characteris8cs' by' volunteering+ together+ with+ the+ par0cipants+ of+ Global+ Volunteer+ product.) How$do$we$spark$interest$through$this$product?$$ We#provide#an#opportunity#for#young#people#to#begin#developing#the# global& mindset& by& volunteering& to& address& the& SDGs& alongside& par$cipant)of)Global)Volunteer)product)and)to)acquire)leadership)and) so#$ skills$ while$ crea.ng$ direct$ posi.ve$ impact$ in$ their$ local$ communi'es.+


EwA$Product Local&Volunteer How$does$a$person$start$developing$themselves?$$ By#volunteering#on#a#project#or#in#an#NGO#to#address#the#SDGs,#young#people#work#in#a#global#and#diverse#team,# a"new"and"challenging"environment."They"develop"so6"skills,"leadership"quali;es"and"cri;cal"thinking"through"a" prac%cal'learning'experience.! How$can$they$contribute$to$a$be0er$world$through$this$product?$ A"er%6'8%weeks%volunteering%experience%on%a%project%or%in%an%NGO%to%address%the%SDGs,%young%people%begin%to% see#how#they#can#impact#their#local#communi2es#every#day.#The#aim#is#for#them#to#wish#to#con2nue#impac2ng# the$society$by$joining$one$of$our$ELD$products,$partnering$organiza9ons$or$by$contribu9ng$to$a$be:er$world$with$ the$skills$and$learning$acquired$through$their$Local$Volunteer$experience.$$ What%can%a%young%person%gain%through%this%product?%% •Gain%leadership%quali/es%and%so1%skills%by%volunteering%on%a%project%or%in%an%NGO%for%6>8%weeks% •Awareness(and(knowledge(about(the(SDGs(and(importance(of(posi:ve(impact(on(the(society( •Team%experience%in%a%global%and%diverse%team% •Connect'with'likeminded'young'people' •The$chance$to$impact$their$local$community$and$contribute$to$the$SDGs$ Please&refer&to&Blue&Book&for&more&informa1on&about&branding.!


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn?

PLAN

Q3 ● Have LCs interested in running LV during Winter Peak WHAT IS WORKING? ● Personal talks with LCs interested in LV WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Not having EST to coordinate LV ● LCs unsure on EwA or LV PIC

ACTUAL

Q3 ● 2 LCs showed interest in running LV during Winter Peak


EXPERIENTIAL*LEADERSHIP* DEVELOPMENT* This phase enables young people to develop their leadership through learning from practical experiences in challenging environments.


Experien(al

Leadership Development

What%does%it%mean?%% The$ purpose$ of$ this$ phase$ is$ for$ a$ young& person& to& go& through& an& inner& and$ outer$ journey$ as$ they$ develop$ their& leadership& quali.es& of& Self& Awareness,) Solu.on/Orienta(on,+ Empowering+ Others+ and+ Global+ Ci#zenship* while* taking* advantage* of* the$ prac)cal$ experiences$ $ AIESEC$ offers& in& challenging& cross.cultural& environment.** ELD$Product$Check$Box$ ✓Delivery(of(LDM( ✓Interna'onal*cross-cultural*&*social* environment) ✓Access%to%a%global%network% ✓Opportunity*to*make*societal*impact* ✓Personal)and)Professional)development

How$do$I$know$I’m$delivering$an$ELD$Product?! Develop' their' Leadership:' The$ product$ facilitates$ an$ inner$ &$ outer& journey& and& meets& the& standards& and& sa/sfac/on& for& our& customers) in) this) phase) as) outlined) in) the) latest) Exchange) Program' Policies.' The' EP' uses' LEAD' as' a' catalyst' towards' developing* the* leadership* quali2es* outlined* in* our* leadership* development*model.*The*customer*has*the*opportunity*to**make* posi%ve(societal(impact.! Learning(from(Prac.cal(Experiences:!The!product!allows!an!EP! to# learn# and# apply# personal# and# professional# skills,# knowledge,# a"tudes(and(value(in(the(work(he/she(is(doing,(while(providing( them% the% opportunity% to% also% contribute% to% their% personal% and% professional+goals.+An!EP!also!has!access!to!a!global!network.! Challenging) Environment:! The! product! is! delivered! in! a! cross2 cultural' and' social' environment' with' the' aim' of' developing' intercultural* competencies.* The* EP* develops* awareness* and* knowledge) of) social) issues) of) the) en2ty) in) which) the) products) are$being!delivered!while!learning!different!prac1ces!of!the!work! place.' It#is#not#important#in#which#order#the#products#are#experienced.#


Who$can$be$an Exchange)Par,cipant?

An#EP#must#be#between#the#ages#of#18#and#30#and#demonstrate# the$following:! A. Understanding+ of+ the+ purpose+ of+ the+ Exchange+ Product+ the+ applicant(is(applying(for;( B. Language' proficiency' in' English' and/or' any' other' language' necessary(for(an(exchange;( C. Capability)of)living)and)working)in)a)foreign)culture;) D. Academic( and/or( working( qualifica4ons( and( skills( suitable( to( his/her'desired'type'of'exchange;' E. Understanding+ of+ his/her+ role+ as+ an+ ambassador+ of+ his/her+ Sending'En)ty.

29

An#EP#may:! A. Take%up%a%maximum%period%of%36%months%of%Exchange%Product% in# total.# These# 36# months# can# be# allocated# whenever# and# in# whichever( order,( so( long( as( they( follow( the( minimum( and( maximum& dura)on& of& AIESEC& exchanges& as& outlined& in& the& “Dura&on)Sec&on”)of)each)ELD)in)this) )document,)and)respect) all#XPP;" B. Apply$ for$ an$ Exchange$ with$ any$ country$ or$ territory$ in$ which$ he/she%has%lived%for%a%minimum%period%of%six%(6)%weeks;% C. Have%an%Exchange%in%any%en.ty%with%the%excep.on%of%en..es% in# which# they# have# lived# for# more# than# two# (2)# years# the# last# ten$ (10)$ years.$ The$ star0ng$ date$ of$ the$ last$ ten$ (10)$ years$ should'be'considered'from'the'date'that'the'EP'applies'to'the' Exchange)selec,on)process.)CEED/MC/AI)experiences)may)be) excluded'from'this'two1year'period.! An# individual# does# not# have# the# right# to# apply# for# the#AIESEC# Exchange)Product:) A. If# he/she# does# not# have# the# capacity# to# enter# into# legal# agreements) in) his/her) Sending) En0ty,) cannot) legally) travel) abroad& independently& with& or& without& parent/legal& guardians& formal' authoriza-on' and' without' requiring' the' Hos-ng' En-ty' to#have#legal#power#of#a.orney#over#the#individual;# B. If#he/she#previously#violated#the#XPP.!


Who$can$be$an Opportunity*Taker in#ELD#Phase? To#qualify#as#a#OP#Taker#a#company/organiza8on#must:# A. Be# legally# registered# company/organiza4on# in# the# territory# of#opera(ons# B. Support'AIESECâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s'values' C. Aim$ to$ create$ or$ support$ direct$ posi/ve$ impact$ in$ communi'es*through*their*ac'vi'es,*ini'a'ves,*or*projects.* Can$be$from$public,$private,$or$social$sector,$or$a$project.$ D. Aim$to$enhance$their$organiza/on$through$involving$an$EP,$ improving) their) processes) or) growing) their) organiza2onal) performance.+ E. Be# able# to# provide# an# adequate# working# environment# to# ensure& the& EP& is& not& being& discriminated& by& race,& color,& gender,' sexual' orienta0on,' creed,' and' religion,' na0onal,' ethnic' and' social' origin,' age,' their' life' put' at' risk' or'where' they%would&be&harassed.& An# organiza*on# does# not# have# the# right# to# apply# for# the# AIESEC&Exchange&Product&:! A. If#it#cannot#meet#the#XPP#due#to#any#reasons;# B. It# has# been# recognized# by# an# authorita3ve# AIESEC# en3ty# and/or'the'ICB'as'having'previously'broken'the'XPP


GROWTH BY QUARTER


GROWTH BY OPERATIONS PEAK


GROWTH BY WINTER PEAK


How$do$we$run$this$product?$ We# partner# with# academic# ins0tu0ons,# civil# society# organiza0ons,# private# sector' and' the' government' to' provide' young' people' global' volunteer' experiences) on) projects) contribu/ng) to) the) SDGs,) through) which) they) can) develop'themselves'while'impac0ng'local'communi0es'and'organiza0ons.!

Global&Volunteer& is& an& opportunity& for& a"young" person" to" develop" leadership" quali&es) of) self) awareness,) solu&on) orienta(on,* empowering* others* and* world& ci)zenship& while& by& living& a& cross%cultural* volunteer* experience.* In* the$product$a$young$person$volunteers$ abroad& on& social& impact& projects& that& c o n t r i b u t e* t o* t h e* S u s t a i n a b l e* Development*Goals.* Dura%on:"6$12"weeks!approx.! Acronym:"GV

What%can%an%organiza-on%gain%from%this%product?! Global&Volunteer&host&and&partner&organiza4ons:& • Aim$ to$ create$ or$ support$ direct$ posi/ve$ impact$ in$ communi/es$ through$ their&ac)vi)es,&ini)a)ves,&or&projects& • Together," we" co'create" opportuni/es" for" young" people" to" develop" leadership*among*themselves*while*providing*direct*posi3ve*impact.* • CSR$solu)ons$ • Global&Perspec-ve&on&local&issues& What%can%a%young%person%gain%through%this%product?% With%this%product%a%young%person:% ▪Experiences+ a+ cross.cultural+ living+ and+ working+ experience+ in+ a+ social+ development*environment* ▪Delivery)of)AIESEC’)s)Leadership)Development)Model) ▪Has%the%opportunity%to%create%posi1ve%societal%impact%% ▪Develops) so*+skills) which) influence) personal) and) professional) development* Global& Volunteer& Product& offers& different& types& of& volunteer& experiences& and& projects)with)different)methodologies.)Par6cipants)may)work)in)an)organiza6on,) school&and&other&ins.tu.ons&or&take&part&in&a&project,&as&long&as&their&experience& contributes+ to+ their+ personal+ development+ and+ posi3ve+ impact+ on+ society+ through'contribu,on'to'the'SDGs.'


INCOMING


INCOMING

SCOREBOARD (Aug 2016 - Jan 2017): ● Include data: comparison with last term progress (goal vs. actual) ● Include highlights: Most performing entities Entities in alert

SCOREBOARD - Enabler + PD for iGV: ● Include data: # Leads # Meetings # MoU Sent # Sales Won Enabler NPS?

10 mins

1st August - 31st January

Sep Goal #Leads

-

Oct Act

Goal

Act

-

-

-

#Meetings

2

l

1

#MoU

-

8

3

#Sales Won

-

-

0


for detailed LC analysis <link>


PRODUCTIVITY

5 mins

INCOMING

LEARNINGS

Source : SONA report 1st July-30th Sept 2016

what did we learnt?

FACT: ● Q3; the most productive (summer break, trend) WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● No data for structure (front office vs back office) ● No synergy meeting with product peeps related ● LCVP PMs are not aware for this, including me as MCVP PM SUGGESTIONS ● Clear structure in each product (have discussion with MCVP Product related) ● Clear LnD implementation in each product (Capacity building support in terms of knowledge and skills building) ● Set clear productivity and clarity on it in each iGV entities’s focus product. ● Have analysis on productivity based on customer flow.


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn?

WHAT IS WORKING? ● Project based work, setting time and objectives for functional summit ensures it happen quickly. ● During functional summit, having the space for the LC to discuss and define themselves the priority enablers. ● Ownership and Proactiveness from EST National and Local Project Team towards IGV - completing work according to timeline ● Synergy between PD, Enablers and Youth Experience team (have clear role and responsibility) ) WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● [Enablers] PD and B2B didn’t set basic goals and backwards planning for amount of enablers needed based on project requirements. ● Not enough focus on creating ownership over national enabler’s value proposition and other task during FS, which creates lack of follow up after FS. ● No monthly breakdown goal from LC and MC for Q3 (LC dont see the importance of backward planning) ● Synergy clarity doesn’t extend to how MC works with local level

PLAN

Q3 ● Formation of IGV Product Team ● Working group & Functional Summit for IGV Product Team ● Value Proposition Creation for Enabler ● Politeknik IGV Expansion

ACTUAL

Q3 ● EST for IGV Product Team ● Enabler Functional Summit ● Politeknik IGV Team


Outgoing


â&#x2014;?

OUTGOING

SCOREBOARD (Aug 2016 - Jan 2017): Include data: comparison with last term progress (goal vs. actual) Include highlights: Most performing entities Entities in alert

(Aug 2016 - Jan 2017)

Applicants Accepted Approved Realized Completed

Goal 1326 733 506 372 782

oGV Achieve d 1516 248 144 90 74 70 68 94 48 273 442

GAP 1078 643 438 324 509

5 mins


for detailed LC analysis <link>


PRODUCTIVITY

SCOREBOARD (Aug 2016 - Jan 2017): Include data: comparison with last term progress (goal vs. actual) Include highlights: Most performing entities Entities in alert

5 mins

OUTGOING

LEARNINGS

Source : SONA report 1st July-30th Sept 2016

what did we learnt?

FACT: ● Q3; the highest number of members WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● No data for structure (front office vs back office) ● No synergy meeting with product peeps related ● LCVP PMs are not aware for this, including me as MCVP PM SUGGESTIONS ● Clear structure in each product (have discussion with MCVP Product related) ● Clear LnD implementation in each product (Capacity building support in terms of knowledge and skills building) ● Set clear productivity and clarity on it in each iGV entities’s focus product. ● Have analysis on productivity based on customer flow.


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn? WHAT IS WORKING? ● Functional Summit (CF-based structure for OGX-MKT delivered, and implemented at local level) ● Content Marketing from National team ● Constant communication MCVP with LCVPs - know about the specific problems happening at local level WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Slow progress in Email Marketing for Lead Nurturing ● Still some LC has external form - not implementing CF ● Didn’t have Social Media Marketing from LC ● YXP EST missing deadlines because don’t have the capacity to complete EST and LC role and MCVP not pushing for deadlines

PLAN

July

Aug

Sep Total

Applicants

157

94

315 566

Accepted

88

66

88

Approved

55

42

298

32

Completed 136

255

Realized

July

Aug

ACTUAL

Sep

Total

35

22.29%

64

68.09%

87

27.62%

242

16

18.18%

16

24.24%

40

45.45%

72

29.75%

55

152

21

38.18%

10

23.81%

29

52.73%

60

39.47%

75

405

158 53.02%

25

78.13%

14

18.67%

197 48.64%

16.18% 173

67.84%

85

50.00%

280 49.91%

170 561

Local and National Buyer Persona Functional Summit National and Local MKT Plan Lead Nurturing flow & EYP

22

186 32.86%

Local and National Buyer Persona Functional Summit (National MKT Message and National Content Map)


How$do$we$run$this$product?$ We# partner# with# academic# ins0tu0ons,# civil# society# organiza0ons,# private( sector( and( the( government( to( provide( to( young( people( professional+ internship+ experience,+ through+ which+ a+ young+ person+ contributes+to+the+goals+of+the+organiza2on,+completes+a+job+descrip2on+ requiring( special( exper/se( or( skills,( and( receives( supervision( and( evalua&on)on)his)or)her)professional)development.!

Global% Talent% is% an% opportunity% for% a% young& person& to& develop& leadership& quali&es) of) self) awareness,) solu&on) orienta(on,* empowering* others* and* world& ci)zenship& while& by& living& a& cross%cultural* professional* experience.* In# the# product# a# young# person# works# abroad&to&advance&their&goals.& Dura%on:"6$78"weeks Acronym:"GT

What%can%an%organiza-on%gain%from%this%product?! Global&Talent&host&and&partner&organiza3ons:! •Support'AIESEC’s'values' •Enhance'their'organiza.on'through'involving'young'global'top'talent,' improving)processes)or)growing)organiza0onal)goals.)) •Co#create) opportuni.es) for) young) people) to) work,) learn,) develop) their&leadership&and&contribute&to&the&organiza3on's&goals.! What%can%a%young%person%gain%through%this%product?% With%this%product%a%young%person:% ▪Experiences+ a+ cross.cultural+ living+ and+ working+ experience+ in+ a+ professional+environment+ ▪Delivery)of)AIESEC’s)Leadership)Development)Model) ▪Develops) so*+skills) and) hard) skills) which) influence) personal) and) professional+development+ GT#par'cipants#can#have#different#types#of#internship#experiences#as#long# as# their# role# and# supervision# clearly# contribute# to# their# professional# development.+


INCOMING


â&#x2014;?

INCOMING

SCOREBOARD (Aug 2016 - Jan 2017): Include data: comparison with last term progress (goal vs. actual) Include highlights: Most performing entities Entities in alert

5 mins

Most Performing Entities Sunway UNMC TU

Aug 1st, 2016 - Jan 31st, 2017 Goal

Achieved

1516

GAP

Opportunities Opened

209

9

10

200

Applicants

262

842

1496

-580

Accepted Approved

105 84

17 20

37 37

88 64

Realized

67

15

25

52

Completed

33

19

21

14

Entities in Alert UKM UTP Johor Bahru


for detailed LC analysis <link>


PRODUCTIVITY

SCOREBOARD (Aug 2016 - Jan 2017): Include data: comparison with last term progress (goal vs. actual) Include highlights: Most performing entities Entities in alert

5 mins

INCOMING

LEARNINGS

Source : SONA report 1st July-30th Sept 2016

what did we learn?

WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● No data for structure (front office vs back office) ● No synergy meeting with product peeps related ● LCVP PMs are not aware for this, including me as MCVP PM SUGGESTIONS ● Clear structure in each product (have discussion with MCVP Product related) ● Clear LnD implementation in each product (Capacity building support in terms of knowledge and skills building) ● Set clear productivity and clarity on it in each iGV entities’ focus product. ● Have analysis on productivity based on customer flow.


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn?

WHAT IS WORKING? ● iGT Functional Summit, have clear call to action to embed LDM into operation for Enablers & Youth. Initiative guidelines created (not yet launched to LCs) ● Visa Education & Partnership with XpatMobi - visa process defined, clear timeline, and what documents ● GE fast-processing delivery from Sunway - can be a GCP for other LCs WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● EST’s not working due to current LC role, lack of capacity & time ● Website utilization & attraction strategy to get more applicants who are suitable with the OP Taker’s requirement

PLAN

Q3 ● Opportunities Opened : 60 ● Approved : 72 ● Realized : 65

ACTUAL

Q3 ● Opportunities Opened : 24 (40%) ● Approved : 20 (27.8%) ● Realized : 15 (23%)


outgoing


â&#x2014;?

OUTGOING

Applicants Accepted Approved Realized Completed

Goal 0 0 62 51 0

SCOREBOARD (Aug 2016 - Jan 2017): Include data: comparison with last term progress (goal vs. actual) Include highlights: Most performing entities Entities in alert

oGT Achieved 1516 65 41 4 6 3 5 9 1 11 4

GAP -65 -4 59 42 -11

5 mins


for detailed LC analysis <link>


PRODUCTIVITY

SCOREBOARD (Aug 2016 - Jan 2017): Include data: comparison with last term progress (goal vs. actual) Include highlights: Most performing entities Entities in alert

5 mins

OUTGOING

LEARNINGS Source : SONA report 1st July-30Sth Sept 2016

what did we learnt?

WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● No data for structure (front office vs back office) ● No synergy meeting with product peeps related ● LCVP PMs are not aware for this, including me as MCVP PM SUGGESTIONS ● Clear structure in each product (have discussion with MCVP Product related) ● Clear LnD implementation in each product (Capacity building support in terms of knowledge and skills building) ● Set clear productivity and clarity on it in each iGV entities’s focus product. ● Have analysis on productivity based on customer flow. BURNING QUESTION How PA score can support/align to increase the productivity? Does our JD purposeful and challenging enough (LC)?


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learnt?

PLAN

ACTUAL G

WHAT IS WORKING? ● Functional Summit (define Value Proposition) WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Clear strategic plan for oGT ● Market Research plan not defined and implemented (from first 2 month of Michelle having no progress and in Sep didn’t have EST on time) ● Unclear timeline and focus

Q3 - Market Research - Value Proposition - Functional Summit

Applicants Accepted Approved Realized Completed

58 47

A Applicants

66

Accepted

5

Q3 Approved - Value Proposition Realized defined in Functional Summit Completed

3 10 12


How$do$we$run$this$product?$ We# partner# with# startups# to# provide# young& people& an& entrepreneurial& internship)experience,)through)which)a)young)person)contributes)to)the) goals& of& the& start& up,& work& with& mul3ple& job& descrip3ons& usually& in& diverse' fields,' and' receives' mentorship' and' evalua4on' on' his' or' her' entrepreneurial*development.*

Global& Entrepreneur& is& an& opportunity& for$ a$ young$ person$ to$ develop$ leadership* quali-es* of* self* awareness,* solu%on' orienta%on,' empowering' others' and' world' ci/zenship' while' l i v i n g& a& c ro s s , c u l t u r a l& s t a r t u p& experience.) In) the) product,) a) young) person'works'abroad'in'a'startup'with' entrepreneurs( ( to( advance( their( goals! and$grow. Dura%on:"6$12"weeks!approx. Acronym:"GE

What%can%an%organiza-on%gain%from%this%product?! Global&Entrepreneur&host&and&partner&organiza4ons:! •Support'AIESEC’s'values' •Enhance' their' startup' through' involving' fresh,' young' global' talent,' that$brings$new$ideas$and$solu1ons$for$growth! •Co#create) opportuni.es) for) young) people) to) work,) learn,) develop) their& leadership& and& entrepreneurial& skills& and& contribute& to& the& organiza(on's+goals! What%can%a%young%person%gain%through%this%product?% With%this%product%a%young%person:% ▪Experiences+ a+ cross.cultural+ living+ and+ working+ experience+ in+ a+ startup'environment'' ▪Delivery)of)AIESEC’s)Leadership)Development)Model) ▪Develops) so*+skills) and) hard) skills) ) which) influence) personal) and) professional+development+ GE#par'cipants#can#have#different#types#of#startup#experiences#as#long#as# their&roles&and&mentorship&provided&clearly&contribute&to&their&development& of#working#in#startups#or#becoming#an#entrepreneur#themselves.!


n o . a . n e r e iďŹ&#x20AC; (D t c Produ *

34 31

*

*

*By compendium, these remain according to XPP. This graph is simply for product positioning.


5.2 THE BACK OFFICE HERO


5 mins

FINANCE & LEGAL UPDATES


Q3 Video Summary

https://youtu.be/mqIPZGEFhbs

5 mins


Q3 Goal vs Actual

Click HERE for more information


Q3 Revenue and Cost Breakdown

Click HERE for more information


Q3 General Finance Status

Click HERE for more information

5 mins


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learnt? WHAT IS WORKING? ● MC and LC Finance tracker ● Podio as reimbursement platform ● Fixed budget and Investment budget ● Cash flow projection ● CIMB Bank as primary bank account ● EST to support conference budget ● Bottom up culture in national finance team (LCVPs) ● Implementation of Customer Flow (pay on approved) in most LC (except CU) WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● MC finance milestone (not clear) ● Monthly/Quarterly Profit and Loss statement ● Strategic support for exchange products ● Strategic support for organization development ● Touchpoints with AI ● Organisation legalities

PLAN

ACTUAL Q3 ●

Q3 ● ● ● ●

Investment budget Cash flow projection Finance functional summit LCVP coaching/consultations

● ● ●

investment budget (Jul-Dec 2016) is drafted and is supported by product contribution Cash flow is projected according to timelines (revenue and expenditures). Projection is less accurate for JanJul 2017 (since investment items is not yet defined) Finance functional summit successfully bring national LCVP together for winter peak preparation Only 3 LCVPs approached for consultations. Consultations includes functional perspective on LC finance management decision making, structural change and customer flow implementations


5 mins

BUSINESS PARTNERS UPDATE


SCOREBOARD (July 2016 - Aug 2017): â&#x2014;? Include data: # Leads # Meetings # MoU Sent # Sales Won % Fixed Cost Covered - PD Goal vs. Actual

Jul Goal #Leads #Meetings #MoU #Sales Won

5 mins

Aug Act.

-

Goal

Sep

Act

4

Act

Goal

Act

15

4

3

1

50k

0

10

-

Goal

Oct

-

11

1 30k

0k

After sales or contract signed, it will take roughly 45-90 days for us to receive the cash. Hence, most of the cash will be received at the end of year of beginning of the year for sales of Sep/Oct


Current National Partners Partners

Service Delivery (Our Agreements)

Service Delivery Status Whatâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s the current state?

Nippon Paint

-

Campus Ambassador Interview (Wen Jia)

Maybank

-

Insights of students for Maybank Brand Ambassador (Govi)

Talent Corp

-

Invoice for workshop issued Delivery- Intern Buddy for MyASEAN interns

&samhoud

-

Communicate with them on conferences

Prospect List for National Partners Product

Youth Engagement â&#x20AC;¨ (National Conferences)

YSF

Types

Company/NGO

Current Stage

Notes

Financial Support

Strategic Alliances

Maxis

3- Follow Up

Learning Specialist with AIESEC

Targeting RM30,000

Unilever

4- Contract

Piktochart

3-Follow up

Macrokiosk

0- Lead

Shell

1- Email

1 - Call

Tedx Youth

3-Follow up

2 - Meeting

Microsoft

1- Call

MaGIC

0-Lead

Digi-X

3- Proposal sent

RM30,000 0-5

Targeting RM20,000

0 - Lead

3 - Follow up 4 - Contract 5 - Partner


Prospect List for Exchange Products Product

iGV

oGV

Types

Company/NGO

Current Stage

Learning Partner

TeachforMalaysia

4-MoU Sent

Learning Partner

MCII

4- MoU Sent

Getting Feedback for Project Framework

Financial Grant/ Strategic Alliances

IM4U

3- Follow Up

Getting referrals on SwCorp

NGOhub

2- Meeting

Getting referrals for COP

Strategic Partners (Local Volunteer)

U-Report

4- Contract

Follow Up on contract and Promotion of U-Report

Strategic Partner

Amar & Travel

2- 2 times

Financial & VD

Flexiroam

2-Meeting

Strategic Partner

E-Visa Asia Tago Sdn Bhd

iGT

Entrepreneur Asia Luxe Nomad

Notes

FInancial Support

RM2,000 per project

Incentives based

0-Lead 2- Meeting

0-5 0 - Lead

1-Email 2-Meeting

1 - Call 2 - Meeting 3 - Follow up 4 - Contract 5 - Partner


10 mins

PEOPLE MANAGEMENT


Source : SONA report Q3 1516 & 1617

10 mins No

Area

Q3 1516

Q3 1617

1

Total Members

638

845

2

National Productivity

0.32

0.81

3

Retention Rate

93.4%

84%

4

Development Circle (Objectives different)

Natcon : July 2015 F summit : August 2015 IC : August 2015 NEB : July & Sept 2015 LC Visit : Sept 2016 RIC/ LLDS : Sept - Oct 2015 (LLDS CU, Kuching, UTP, UNMC)

SNC : July 2016 F summit : August - Sept 2016 IC : August 2016 NEB : July & Sept 2016 LC Visit : August - Sept 2016 RLC : Oct 2016

(LLDS UNMC, Kuching & CU donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t have LLDS)


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn? WHAT IS WORKING? ● Development circle (Q3) for AIESEC in Malaysia. Experiential based learning. ● Introduce the PA (not yet implemented) & LDA (put as the health indicators on SONA) - validates that EO and SO focus is on the right track ● New selection approach for Winter MRD 2016 and Talent Acquisition team for type of recruitments process - utilised by some LCs (EST working on evaluation report) ● Learning partner engagement (&samhoud) session delivery at RLC, resource available for EP Manager and member LEAD WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Not clear KPI for PM to drive learning and operation on each products. ● No synergy meeting with another MCVPs for each month development circle for members → MEC not supporting operational timeline ● Optimization synergy between OS and MCP ● Utilization on local development cycle (no tracking) → knowledge gaps between national and local level, and functional knowledge gap ● EST for South RLC Agenda Manager training and capacity not adequate to fulfil the role ● Misalignment of expectations and delivery of learning partner for content in RLC

PLAN Q3 ● MoU with 1 learning partner ● Functional Summit (Focus on Talent Acquisitions and development circle) ● Summer National Conference 2016 ● 1 Trainer of trainer camp ● EP Buddy LnD framework ● Get EST on board for PM

ACTUAL Q3 ● MoU with 1 learning partner (&samhoud) ● Functional Summit (Focus on Talent Acquisitions and development circle) ● Summer National Conference 2016 ● Didn’t have the people to run the TtT camp ● Get EST on board for PM

Performance Matrix for PM

FOCUS Q4

LAG Measures : % Monthly Retention rate # Monthly Productivity # PA score Monthly # NPS (National Monthly Happiness Survey - People Analytic)

October : RLC, MRD and probation review and report,Synergy plan for OS&PM based on banding & tier (structure, productivity, LnD, etc), November : East Malaysia LnD, talent GV capacity building (EP Buddy LEAD/ LEAD intro), team standard downscale to LCs

LEAD Measures: # of training given (nationally) # survey sent for NPS % Response rate for NPS # Team standards implementation checklist

December : Transition checklist for LnD and structure (synergy with OS and MCP) January : WNC-1st elect touch point, Review and replan with samhoud for delivery on gen 2016, PM Talent review and report.


5 mins

Knowledge Management/ Information Management


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn? WHAT IS WORKING? ● Business Process Model - allowed IM to understand the flow between the departments and platforms ● Cooperations (Germany, Mexico) - sharing codes with these entities WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Guidelines - created, not used ● Knowing the info from BPM and not being strategic to implement it ● No Transition received for Comms - delayed learning curve, learning things later ● Not showing IM progress in MC meetings → lack of prioritisation and teammates, not being aware of priorities, would ask IM to do other things ● Comm KPIs and plan are not established → unable to evaluate and know next steps from activities ● Lack of synergy w OS+PM → no strategy related to organistional clture and internal comms ● Focusing only on tools and not on comms

PLAN

Q3 ● ● ● ● ●

NPS Campaign SONA tool LDA tool Track tools (WIGs) BPM for understanding better operations

ACTUAL

Q3 ● ● ● ● ●

DONE DONE (OS) NOT DONE DONE DONE


20 mins

ENTITY DEVELOPMENT SPACE


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learn? WHAT IS WORKING? ● Most BaU inside BUC WIG enables me to be focused. ● EST Management, specially for things that can’t be my focus. (Expansions, SUs, Politekniks) ● Involvement of NEB in working with OD Model & SONA WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● Synergy with PM & MCP - no aligned systems and strategy regaqrding areas like internal comms ● Confusion between my role as OS & Bottom Up Culture - no clarity between the role of the department for different levels of the organisation ● How performance is being driven from coaching strategy - don’t know how the personal development of LCPs leads to performance ● Tracking of Coaching Strategy

PLAN

ACTUAL

Q3 ● Evolution of OD Model & SONA Strategy. (creating the flow) ● LCP Development Cycle Establishment ● Coaching Strategy Established & Implemented at MC Level ● R&R Strategy developed aligned to Org. Culture we want to drive (not sure if OS should be in charge of implementation) ● Membership Criteria is renewed, aligned to organisational changes

Q3 ● ● ● ● ●

DONE NOT DONE DONE NOT DONE NOT DONE


20 mins

MCP


QUARTERLY OUTCOME

LEARNINGS what did we learnt?

WHAT IS WORKING? ● Transition & Planning: Data (from predecessor) + Context (customer interview, all layer) = Insights ● Invite experienced coach (Kevin) for team formation ● NEB in Pre-SNC and planning with LCP in SNC ● Fortnightly one-to-one with MC Team → for MCP to understand the state of each department ● Involvement in Strategic Partnership Meeting and Networking Events → warm contacts ● Feedback and solution culture in things we do (i.e. Team Meeting) → helping us to solve our problems rather than waiting ● MC Team Routine (WIG Meeting, Check-In, Check Out, Team Meeting, Fortnightly One-to-one) is happening ● Involvement and intervention in WIG Meetings as MCP → more clarity in scoreboard and accountability flow WHAT IS NOT WORKING? ● MC planning duration too short, didn’t accommodate for strategic and BaU planning ● WIG lead measure adjustment and execution; not fast enough ● Report progress and meeting without proper KPI/MoS a.k.a. scoreboard ● Only personal coaching in one-to-one → don’t know about performance ● Non-Data driven decision making ● **Expecting synergy without system/structure in place (e.g. MCP-PD, MCP-PM-OS-IM/KM, MCP-FL) ● Involvement of LCP in EST level of work, taking up their capacity to be LCP

PLAN

Q3 ● Team Formation ● Complete MC Team Principles ● MC Team Routine fixed and become part of us

ACTUAL Q3 ● Team understanding on communication preferences and stress behaviours ● Common understanding on team principles (without proper checkpoint) ● MC Team Routine Fixed (with room for improvement on more concrete reporting)


6.0 FOCUS TILL JAN 2017


NOVEMBER 2016 - JANUARY 2017 FOCUS << LINK >>


7.0 MC Team Principle


We are a team that takes personal well being to be priority and believes leadership is presence. We create a safe environment that is stress-, feedback- and conflict-allowing 1. Be mindful and accountable to the teamâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;s learning and development a. Observing b. Asking c. Timely communication 2. Seek first to understand then to be understood

We embody the BOLEH spirit in everything we do. 1. Use AM2017 and AIESEC Way to guide our decision-making

We are willing to forgive, unlearn and relearn 1. Acknowledge and actively break assumptions for yourself and others 2. Donâ&#x20AC;&#x2122;t let ego get in the way - ask for emotional and task-related help when needed


THANK YOU. feel free to drop us comments

AIESEC in Malaysia Q3 Review 2016  
AIESEC in Malaysia Q3 Review 2016  
Advertisement