Page 1

Welcome!


Thinking of iPads?


Andy Hutt andy@learningpotential.co.uk


How to use iPads?

How to manage them?

What should I do next?

Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/43335486@N00/5669315092 Ben Heine


By the end of this workshop, you will have a good understanding of how you could use iPads effectively in your school; how to manage the devices, how to use them for learning and teaching and what your next steps might be.


Getting Started Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/41821900@N05/7567284164 mezzotint_de


1

•  Turning the iPad on and off •  Home button & iPad Dock •  Volume buttons and mute button •  Viewing in Portrait and Landscape •  Multi-tasking bar •  Multi-touch gestures •  Zooming in and out •  Safari web browser •  Keyboard and split keyboard


iPadTask Practice using iPad with Safari "  

Gestures

"  

Zooming

"  

Keyboard & split keyboard

"  

Volume

"  

On/off


2

•  Safari •  •  •  •  •  •  • 

add to bookmarks add to reading lists add to home screen open a new page reader, zoom in and out copy and paste.


iPadTask Practice using iPad with Safari "  

Add to homescreen

"  

Add to reading list

"  

Add to bookmarks

"  

Open a new page.


3

•  Camera - still and videos •  Front facing camera •  Camera Roll for Photos viewing photos and videos •  Photo sharing •  Taking a screen shot.


iPadTask Practice using iPad with Camera "  

Take a few photos

"  

Take a short video

"  

Find them in Camera Roll

"  

Crop a photo using zoom and screenshot.


4

•  Adjusting brightness •  General Settings •  Accessibility Options e.g. Talking Text •  Customising the home screen: Wallpaper to personalise each iPad.


Apps?


Apps? •  Thousands & thousands of ‘em! •  Creative apps •  Instructional apps •  Test & Trial •  Organise by re-arranging apps and using folders


iPad Apps •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  •  • 

Safari Notes Photos Photo Booth Mail Facetime iMessage Newstand iBooks Music Siri


iPadTask "  

"  

In pairs, use photo booth to take photos with the different styles. Then find them in your Camera Roll


Good intro for primary pupils… "  

Pupils take five photos under "  

Friendship

"  

Creativity

"  

Perspective (big and small)

"

Colour

"  

Free choice


Today’s Apps - 1 •  Book Creator for iPad (£2.99)https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/bookcreator-for-ipad/id442378070?mt=8

•  Puppet Pals HD (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puppet-pals-hd/id342076546?mt=8

•  Morfo 3D Face Booth (£0.69)https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/morfo-3dface-booth/id440560166?mt=8

•  iMovie (£2.99) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/imovie/id377298193?mt=8


iPad Tasks "  

"  

"  

Create a Puppet Pals video Create a Morfo talking video Make an iBook with BookCreator using at least one of the videos above


Today’s Apps - 2 •  Popplet Lite (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/popplet-lite/id364738549?mt=8

•  iMovie (£2.99) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/imovie/id377298193?mt=8


iPad Tasks • 

"  

Use Popplet Lite to plan a short movie

Using iMovie – make that movie!


Today’s Apps - 3 •  ScreenChomp (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/screenchomp/id442415881?mt=8

•  Nearpod (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/nearpod-teacher/id523540409?ls=1&mt=8

•  Teacher Clicker – Socrative (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/teacher-clicker-socrative/id477620120?mt=8

•  Student Clicker – Socrative (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/student-clicker-socrative/id477618130?mt=8

•  ShowMe (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/showme-interactive-whiteboard/id445066279?mt=8


iPad Tasks Explore these tools for teaching: •  •  •  •  • 

ScreenChomp Nearpod ShowMe Socrative – Teacher Socrative – Student


Today’s Apps - 4 •  Kindle (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/kindle-read-books-ebooks-magazines/id302584613?mt=8

•  WordWeb Dictionary (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/wordweb-dictionary/id309627313?mt=8

•  Visual Poetry – Word Collage (£0.69) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/visual-poetry-word-collage/id364299857?mt=8

•  Dragon Dictation (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/dragon-dictation/id341446764?mt=8


Today’s Apps - 5 •  Google Drive (Free) https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/google-drive/id507874739?mt=8


More ideas & links http://www.slideshare.net/aahut/thinking-ofipads-glic-march-2013#btnNext


Teaching ideas? Photo Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/13990678@N05/5501916352 by Morphicx


Management


Management


Management


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JK7y_ZE6H4k

Management


Meraki

http://www.meraki.com


http://www.meraki.com


Foldr

http://minnow.it/


airwatch

http://www.air-watch.com/


Lightspeed

http://www.lightspeedsystems.com/


Issues? Photo credit http://www.flickr.com/photos/24247147@N03/5153836863 by t0m_ka


Next Steps?


Andy Hutt andy@learningpotential.co.uk http://tinyurl.com/andyhutt

Profile for Andrew Hutt

Thinking of iPads  

An introduction to iPads in education

Thinking of iPads  

An introduction to iPads in education

Profile for ahutt
Advertisement