Page 56


8 Event: Big 12 Championship Game, Municipal Auditorium, Kansas City, Mo., 3/15/08

The Big 12 Conference has established a consistent level of national success on the field and in the classroom as it enters its 13th season in 2008-09. Since it began play in 1996-97, the conference can boast 31 NCAA Champions and 385 individual NCAA Championships. The conference is made up of 12 institutions that have shared many traditional rivalries throughout their histories. Member schools include Baylor University, University of Colorado, Iowa State University, University of Kansas, Kansas State University, University of Missouri, University of Nebraska, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, University of Texas, Texas A&M University and Texas Tech University. The institutions created a league that encompasses seven states, over 45 million people and television households in 18 of the top 100 markets within its geographic footprint. In its first 12 years, the conference has distributed more than $1 billion to its 12 member institutions.


A league-record number of teams that received bids to the NCAA Tournament. The Big 12 became the first league in NCAA history to post an 8-0 record in first-round games.

20 56 32

The number of NCAA Tournament appearances by Big 12 teams since 2000, tied for first with the Big East.


The number of NCAA attendance crowns won by the Big 12. The league crossed the million-fan threshold for the second consecutive year in 2008.


The number of appearances by Big 12 schools in the Top 10 of the Associated Press Poll over the last 12 years including A&M’s programbest No. 8 final ranking in 2007-08.

The number of combined NCAA Elite Eight appearances by Big 12 schools including A&M’s in 2008.

The number of times Big 12 players have been named Kodak All-America first-team selections.

2008-2009 Women's Basketball Yearbook  

2008-2009 Women's Basketball Yearbook