Page 40


regional news

west Central illinois insitute of technology Dean and Professor Donna V. Robertson FAIA, is the recipient of the John and Jeanne Rowe Endowed Chair for the IIT College of Architecture. John Rowe, chairman, president, and CEO of Exelon Corporation, and chair of the IIT Board of Trustees, and Lew Collens, past president of IIT, spoke at Robertson’s induction ceremony, held April 16, 2007. Also speaking was Blair Kamin, Pulitzer Prize-winning architecture critic of the Chicago Tribune, who presented the lecture “Extreme Architecture: Disaster, Spectacle, and Signs of Hope for the Post 9-11 World.” A forward-thinking attitude combined with her recognition of IIT’s Miesian heritage culminated in the selection of Robertson as first holder of the chair. “We are honoring Donna’s leadership of the College of Architecture, and celebrating her commitment in bridging the gap between IIT’s Miesian tradition and contemporary architectural ideas,” said Rowe, who, along with his wife, Jeanne, established the chair.


Associate Professor Robert Krawczyk gave a talk in June to a regional workshop for math and art teachers titled “Digitally Integrating Mathematics and Art” at Western Washington University in Bellingham, Washington. This summer he also had his artwork in Mark di Suvero’s “Peace Tower,” at the Chicago Cultural Center, which included photos by Richard Bellamy and other contemporary artists, activists and journalists. Assistant Professor Tom Brock and his student, Grahm Balkany, were awarded Second Place in the 2006-07 ACSA/PCA Concrete Thinking for a Sustainable World International Student Design Competition—Structure Category. The award for “Green Concrete” consisted of $800 to the faculty member and $1,700 for the student. The winning design will be displayed at the ACSA Annual Meeting in Houston, Texas, in March 2008, and at the AIA national convention in Boston, May 2008, and will be published in the Competition Summary Book. Studio Associate Professor Martin Felsen’s UrbanLab winning display of the City of the

Future for The History Channel® will be on display at Chicago’s Museum of Science and Industry from June 8 to Oct. 7.

menting and photographing the destruction and rebuilding of religious and cultural monuments.

Assistant Professor Catherine Wetzel and Studio Associate Professor Richard Nelson, along with graduate students John Castro, Katie Hart, Bridget O’Connell, Tyler Waldorf, Andrew Widman, and Camille Yu designed and created a globe for the “Cool Globes: Hot Ideas for a Cooler Planet” project, which featured more than 120 five-foot globes designed to increase awareness about global climate change. Organized by the city of Chicago, the Chicago Park District, the Field Museum, and Exelon Corporation, with each globe underwritten by an individual, organizational or corporate sponsor, the globes are located primarily on the Field Museum Campus, with a few at Navy Pier and other locations in Chicago. The IIT globe consisted of an ocean surface with color-changing, temperature-sensitive paint and continents listing the variety of possible “green” professions, as well as a rewriting of the preamble to the U.S. Constitution as the earth’s equator, the globe is entitled “Oath of Office.”

kent state university

Adjunct Associate Professor Barbara Geiger recently appeared in Rockford, Illinois, to talk about the benefits of wind energy versus coalpowered energy. Her talk was covered by three Rockford TV stations. IIT College of Architecture’s Amanda Hallberg, B. Arch. ’07, won the 2007 Skidmore, Owings & Merrill (SOM) Foundation’s prestigious SOM Prize, a $50,000 research and travel fellowship. The SOM Prize is one of the most generous awards offered to architecture and design students. A native of Lewiston, Idaho, Hallberg was chosen from a pool of 91 applicants nationally. The competition is open to graduating undergraduate and graduate students from accredited U.S. schools of architecture, design and urban design. Applicants were judged on the quality of their design portfolios and their research proposals and travel itineraries. This grand prize enables Hallberg to complete indepth research, collaborate with other designers, and pursue independent study outside the realm of established patterns. She will travel extensively in Bosnia and Herzegovina docu-

On May 1, 2007, the College of Architecture & Environmental Design (CAED), announced the appointment of Associate Professor Christopher Diehl as the new Director of the Cleveland Urban Design Collaborative (CUDC). Diehl will lead the CUDC in its evolving role as a vital forum for architecture and design in the NE Ohio region. As Director of Design for URS Cleveland, Diehl has been responsible for several award winning Projects including Tri-C’s Corporate College East, Simmons Hall at University of Akron and the historic renovation of the Idea Center at Playhouse Square, Cleveland. Diehl has taught architecture at the Pennsylvania State University, Ohio State University and Miami University. Professor Elwin Robison is working on the restoration of the facade on the FirstMerit Building (historically known as the First National Bank Tower). The national register nomination he wrote for the building has cleared the state preservation office and is on to the national review level. Prof. Robison is also working on the restoration of the limestone and terra cotta decorative cornice on the Pond Laboratory Building (1917) located on the Pennsylvania State University campus. His book manuscript on the history of the Salt Lake City Tabernacle was accepted and is slated for publication in 2008. Associate Professor Adil Sharag-Eldin (with graduate student Mariju Wille) submitted an article in May to Seniors Housing & Care Journal entitled “A Proposal to Develop a Guideline for Indoor Lighting in Independent Senior Living Facilities”. He is currently working on an article about the behavioral changes in elderly population to adapt with current energy standards. The article is intended for distribution in the Building and Environment Journal published by Elsevier. Prof. Sharag-Eldin will chair the 32nd National Passive Solar Conference to be held in Cleve-

ACSA News September 2007  
ACSA News September 2007  

ACSA News, published monthly during the academic year (September through May), serves the essential function of exchanging timely informatio...