Page 1

IPL 2018: Kolkata Knight Riders hand Daredevils crushing 71-run defeat Delhi Daredevils miserable show continues at Eden Gardens as they lost the 7th match in Kolkata against Kolkata Knight Riders.

Chasing 201, Delhi Daredevils led by Gautam Gambhir failed miserably and were all out for mere 129 in 14.2 overs in match 13 of IPL 2018. Kolkata Knight Riders won by 71 runs. No Delhi Daredevils batsman could take the pressure of the huge total and face the menacing bowling of Kolkata Knight Riders let by spin trio of Sunil Narine, Kuldeep Yadav, and Piyush Chawla. Rishab Pant and Glenn Maxwell tried hard to challenge the KKR bowling but their efforts could not do much as both got out of the short ball while trying to hit Yadav out of the park. This is the second win for Kolkata Knight Riders in four matches. Dinesh Karthik-led KKR had lost the previous two matches against Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad. Delhi Daredevils' wickets kept tumbling at regular intervals and DD never looked to chase the mammoth target. Sunil Narine and Kuldeep Yadav took three wickets each for KKR. This win over Delhi Daredevils moved Kolkata Knight Riders to the second spot in Vivo IPL points table with 4 points. Delhi Daredevils were in deep trouble as they lost three wickets in three overs. Opener Jason Roy was dismissed in the first over. He was followed by Shreyas Iyer in the second over. Captain Gautam Gambhir was played on in the third over. DD was 38-3. Earlier, powered by Nitish Rana and Andre Russell, Kolkata Knight Riders posted a huge score of 200 in their 20 overs in the match against Delhi Daredevils. While a few wickets did fell quickly, Nitish Rana made sure that the scoring rate did not fall. He did not stop playing shots and kept the scoreboard ticking. Russell played a fantastic cameo of 41 from 12 balls. He smashed Chris Lynn and Mohd Shami all over the park. Delhi Daredevils will now need 201 runs to win. Delhi Daredevils innings analysis after end of innings

Chasing a mammoth target of 201 set by Kolkata Knight Riders, Jason Roy and Gautam Gambhir and Jason Roy came to open the innings for Delhi Daredevils. Piyush Chawla came to bowl the first over of the innings and gave only 3 runs in his first 4 balls before getting the wicket of dangerous Jason Roy stumped by Dinesh Karthik as Roy fallen over while playing the full legside ball. Andre Russell came to bowl the 2nd over of the innings and gave 9 runs before taking the wicket of Shreyas Iyer (4 runs off 3 balls) who came after the dismissal of Jason Roy. Delhi Daredevils was in a deep trouble as they lost Two wickets in two overs. After the end of 2overs DD was 15 for 2 with Gambhir and Rishabh Pant on the crease. Shivam Mavi came to bowl the 3rd over of the innings and took his first IPL wicket as he bowled Gautam Gambhir. Mavi gave away 9 runs. Gautam Gambhir scored 8 runs in 7 balls. Russell came to bowl the 4th over and gave away 14 runs as Maxwell, who came after Gambhir’s wicket, and Pant tried all type of high-risk shots to collect these runs. After the end of the 4th over DD was 38 for 3 as they needed 163 runs 16 overs with a required run-rate of 10.18. Mavi came to bowl the 5th over and looked in good shape as he bowled perfect line and length and only gave away a boundary given Pant and Maxwell on the crease. Brilliant bowling from a youngster as he bowled a very good bouncer to end the over. Sunil Narine came to ball the last over of powerplay Pant scored back to back boundaries of Narine over. Pant and Maxwell scored 10 runs of Narine’s first over. Pant sensibly played Narine as he took single after hitting two boundaries. Kolkata Knight Riders Playing XI: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik(w/c), Andre Russell, Shubman Gill, Shivam Mavi, Tom Curran, Piyush Chawla, Kuldeep Yadav Kolkata Knight Riders innings analysis Put in to bat first after Delhi Daredevils' captain Gautam Gambhir won the toss, Chris Lynn and Sunil Narine came to bat open the batting for Kolkata Knight Riders. Trent Boult opened the bowling for Delhi Daredevils and bowl the first maiden over of IPL 2018. He didn’t allow Lynn to score run as he keeps on trying to pierce the off-side field but failed to do so. Chris Morris came to bowl the second over of the innings and Narine took a single off the first ball. Lynn who played the maiden over in the previous over opened his account with a six over mid-on. Morris put the things tight after the six and gave only 7 runs. Boult came to bowl his second over and took Narine’s wicket as a bouncer, Pant lobs it up, slip completes the catch and DD got rid of the dangerous Narine cheaply. Robin Uthappa came to crease after the loss of first over. Lynn ends the 3rd over with a four in point region. After the end of 3 over KKR 12 for 1. Shahbaz Nadeem came to bowl the 4th over of the innings and gave 7 runs as Lynn hit the third ball of the over for 4 in the cover region. At the end of 4th over KKR was 19 for the loss of 1 over. The desert of runs for KKR in the 3rd over of the Trent Boult as Uthappa and Lynn hit 3 fours straight down the ground to collect 13 runs of the innings 5th over. Nadeem came to bowl the last over of the powerplay. Uthappa dispatched the 2nd ball of the over for a six over mid-wicket before collecting 12 runs off the last 4 balls. Uthappa scored 18 runs in the 2nd over of Nadeem and end the powerplay on a high for KKR. At the end of the powerplay, KKR was 50 for 1 with Lynn (23 runs off 18 balls) and Uthappa (26 runs off 14 balls).

Click here for IPL 2018

Ipl 2018 kolkata knight riders hand daredevils crushing 71 run defeat  
Ipl 2018 kolkata knight riders hand daredevils crushing 71 run defeat