Page 33

Sacramento pediatrician elected CMA president

Sacramento physician Paul R. Phinney, M.D., was installed as the 145th president of the California Medical Association (CMA) during the organization’s annual House of Delegates held in Sacramento October 13-15. Dr. Phinney is a pediatrician at Kaiser Permanente and has been a member of CMA since 1988. He has served in a number of leadership roles, including president-elect, chair of the CMA Board of Trustees and previously served on the CMA Council on Legislation and on the CMA Political Action Committee (CALPAC) Board of Directors. Addressing the group of nearly 1,000 physicians, residents, medical students and others on Sunday, Dr. Phinney challenged his colleagues to lead change rather than succumb to the “default future.” “We owe it to the public and to our profession to be leaders in health care reform – to create a better future that we help invent,” he said to the crowd. “We live in turbulent and uncertain times that very likely will produce the most rapid change in the delivery of health care that the nation has seen in decades, and I look forward to tackling those challenges head on in my term as president,” concluded Dr. Phinney. Speaking to his goals for the next year, Dr. Phinney acknowledged the next generation of students entering

medicine. “Mentorship deserves our attention, and will be an area of my focus over the next year. A healthy future requires up-front investment,” he said. Dr. Phinney’s complete address to the delegates can be watched on CMA’s YouTube channel, com/cmaphysicians. Also serving on CMA’s 2012-2013 Executive Committee are: • Immediate Past President James T. Hay, M.D., a San Diego family physician • President-Elect Richard E. Thorp, M.D., an internal medicine physician in Paradise • Speaker of the House Luther F. Cobb, M.D., a surgeon in Humboldt County • Vice Speaker of the House Theodore M. Mazer, M.D., a San Diego ear, nose and throat specialist • Chair of the Board of Trustees, Steven E. Larson, M.D., an internist infectious diseases consultant in Riverside County • Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees, David H. Aizuss, M.D., a Los Angeles ophthalmologist


Profile for SCCMA/MCMS

2012 November/December  

2012 November/December  

Profile for 18621