Issuu on Google+

Recognition 1 2 1 3 4 2 Lower Rio Grande Valley AIA Design Awards The 2013 LRGV-AIA Design Awards were juried during the Texas Architects Annual Convention in early November. Jurors were: Laura Bennett, AIA, instructor of Architectural/ Drafting Technologies at Del Mar College and principal at Lopez Salas Architects; Eurico Francisco, AIA, design leader at OMNIPLAN; and Margaret Sledge, AIA, architect at Lake|Flato Architects. AIA San Antonio Design Awards Honor Award 1 McAllen Public Library Boultinghouse Simpson Gates Architects Merit Awards sustainABLEhouse bcWORKSHOP 2 Thomas Jefferson T-STEM Early College High School presented each year to an unbuilt project, was selected by the chapter’s Design Awards Committee. All recipients were honored at a banquet held on December 7, 2013. The Spark Award, ERO Archtiects Citation Awards La Feria Recreation Center megamorphosis 3 1909 South Parkwood megamorphosis This past November, AIA San Antonio announced the recipients of its 2013 Design Awards. Jurors included Wendy Pautz, AIA, of LMN Architects in Seattle; Josh Shelton, AIA, of el dorado in Kansas City, Mo.; and Rusty Smith, associate chair of the architecture program at Auburn University, in Auburn, Ala. The chapter’s Twenty-Five Year Award was selected by the Chapter’s Historic Resources Committee, chaired by Allison Chamber, Assoc. AIA, of Ford, Powell & Carson, Architects & Planners, and Stuart Johnson, AIA, of the San Antonio River Authority. The Mayor’s Choice award was judged and selected by San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro. Honor Awards Cranbrook Kingswood Girls’ Middle School Spark Award 4 Multi B&B Erick Darbo Diaz, Assoc. AIA Lake|Flato Architects 1 Desert House Lake|Flato Architects Merit Awards Hog Pen Creek Retreat Lake|Flato Architects 2 Mill Springs Ranch Lake|Flato Architects 3/4 2014 Texas Architect 21

Texas Architect March/April 2014: Materials

More from this publisher