Issuu on Google+

Specializing in the Prevention, Recognition, Treatment and Rehab of Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Injuries.

928 Valley View Drive • Suite 7 • (712) 256-1800 • www.flexpt.net

Mike Uhrlaub, PT

Mike “Sal” Salerno, PT

FOOTBALL PREVIEW Intrigue surrounds season Area athletes displaying skills on collegiate gridiron

2F Sunday, August 19, 2012

The Daily Nonpareil

By the time you opened this preview section, the football season was already under way. That should come as no surprise with the way sports seasons overlap one another anymore. Heartland Christian, beginning its first full varsity campaign, actually kicked off the football season Friday by playing host to Ankeny Christian in the opening game of our 2012 schedule. I got a jumpstart on our coverage by taking in Iowa Western’s Thursday scrimmage with Hutchinson in Baldwin City, Kan. I’m sure many of you caught scrimmages as well last week. Thursday, the season begins in earnest. And I can’t think of a better way to start what is bound to be an interesting fall than with the first game on the new turf at Titan Stadium. Former City Players of the Year Alex Reed (2011) of Lewis Central and Jake Waters (2009) of Iowa Western thankfully agreed to show off the playing surface on our cover in Erin Duerr’s photo. Both of their teams seem primed for big seasons. The Titans return 19 starters from last fall’s competitive team while the Reivers are more talented than ever entering their fourth year.

L.C.’s Thursday opener with Abraham Lincoln will be the first between the two city schools in more than a decade. It begins a three-week stretch of intracity battles. St. Albert plays host to the Titans in Week Two while A.L. and Thomas Jefferson square off the following Friday. Changes on each city team’s schedule will make for some new matchups this fall. The Class 4-A schools will have our attention later this season as they enter divisional play for the first time. Late-season trips to West Des Moines Valley and Southeast Polk won’t be easy. L.C. faces a schedule that includes seven playoff teams of a year ago. St. Albert’s district features four new teams, including Panorama, which had an unbeaten regular season in 2011. Heartland Christian could be competitive with some of the teams on its schedule. I’m worried, however, that the Eagles will have trouble staying healthy with their small numbers. A trip to Glidden in Week One isn’t what any EightMan team wants, let alone one in its first season. Finally, a pair of other southwest Iowa teams that have my interest prior to this season are Logan-Magnolia and Glenwood. The Panthers, who moved down to Class A, no longer have to deal with St. Albert. And the Rams should be rejuvenated under new coach Cory Faust. Obviously, there are plenty of other intriguing storylines in the area for the upcoming season, and you can read about many of them in the following pages. As always, we hope you enjoy the previews. I’m sure we’ll see you prior to a kickoff soon.

Changes abound this fall It’s the high school football equivalent of journeying to your local discount store and purchasing a fresh notebook. Or joyfully wiping clean that dry erase board. It happens every two years in Iowa, and it always gives the next two high school football seasons a distinctly fresh feel. This time is no different, as the Iowa High School Athletic Association has made numerous changes to its football structure. Taking the most recent enrollment figures into account, the IHSAA not only has reshuffled its football districts for the next two years, it essentially has reshaped every class. Change abounds, so lets break down the most significant ones and how they’ll affect the southwest Iowa landscape this season: ■ One of the biggest changes the IHSAA made was to replenish Class A, which was losing schools to EightMan but not gaining many from larger classes. Thus, it has reduced Class 3-A, 2-A and 1-A by eight schools, from 64 to 56. That’s resulted in Class A gaining 13 schools, from 50 to 63. It also finds Eight-Man with 68 schools, up nine from last season. With 32 schools still qualifying for the playoffs in all six classes, the postseason will now include 68.1 percent of 4A schools, 57.1 percent of those in 3-A, 2-A and 1-A, 50.8 percent of Class A schools, and 47.1 percent of Eight-Man schools. That’s far too many, but a battle to be waged on another day. ■ Eight schools in The Daily Nonpareil’s southwest Iowa coverage area have changed classes. Six of the eight dropped a class: Red Oak from 3-A to 2-A; Missouri Valley from 2-A to 1-A; and Griswold, Underwood,

Audubon and Logan-Magnolia from 1-A to A. Two moved up a class, Clarinda Academy from 1-A to 2-A and East Mills from Eight-Man to Class A. Also, in 2010, West Harrison played in Class A. Last year, its players competed in the Missouri Valley program. For at least the next two years, the Hawkeyes will be back on their own and an Eight-Man program. And southwest Iowa’s newest program is Heartland Christian, the Council Bluffsbased Eight-Man school which will compete in District 7. ■ Class 4-A also has undergone significant change in the central and western part of the state. The members of the Central Iowa Metropolitan League and Missouri River Conference no longer will compete for league titles. Instead, those 23 schools (24 when Ankeny Centennial officially joins the fold in 2013) have been separated into four divisions. They are: Division 1: Thomas Jefferson, Des Moines Lincoln, Indianola, Sioux City East, Urbandale, West Des Moines Valley Division 2: Ames, Ankeny, Des Moines North, Fort Dodge, Johnston, Sioux City North. Division 3: Ankeny Centennial, Des Moines Hoover, West Des Moines Dowling, Marshalltown, Mason City, Ottumwa. Division 4: Abraham Lincoln, Des Moines East, Des Moines Roosevelt, Sioux City West, Southeast Polk, Waukee. Four schools in each division will qualify for the postseason, and only the five divisional games (four in Division 3 this year) will be judged for playoff positioning. The eastern half of the state will continue to vie for conference titles, with all of its games counting toward the playoffs for at least the next two years. ■ Another rule change will affect Eight-Man football only. In that class, the 35-point rule will take effect and the continuous clock will run any time one team gets ahead by at least 35 after the first quarter. In all other classes, the continuous clock still goes into

Show your

School Spirit this season!

• Sports Clothing & Accessories • Sports Novelties • Licensed Products 712-322-8833 • Custom Made T-shirts Located in the Mall of the Bluffs, Council Bluffs, IA

effect in the second half. Speaking of the continuous clock, it’s a good time to take one more look back at the 2011 season. Fremont-Mills was southwest Iowa’s lone champion, and it triumphed in emphatic fashion, pasting Murray 81-0 in the Eight-Man title game. There’s been plenty made about the final score, but the fact remains that F-M made no attempt to run the score up in that game. Looking back at the final stats, I’m reminded that the Knights had the ball for all of 11 minutes, 16 seconds in the 48-minute game, including just 3:35 in the second half. F-M ran only 30 plays in the game, two of them passes. It led 61-0 at the half, and two of its three second-half scores came on interception returns for scores. Under this year’s rule change, the running clock would have started with 11:45 left in the second quarter instead of at halftime. That likely would have reduced the score by multiple touchdowns. There’s your season overview regarding this year’s changes. Enjoy the previews on the area schools in this section. It’s a long way to the UNIDome, but the journey has begun. Good luck to all.

The kid obviously had talent. But the interview was brutal. That was my take on a Nebraska true freshman running back in September 2007, when I was a writer for the student newspaper. He had put together a couple impressive late plays in the Cornhuskers’ season opener against Nevada. But afterward, the youngster made it clear he was equally fearless of short, one-sentence answers to reporters. Clearly, I thought, this guy is a work in progress. The man was Roy Helu Jr., who went on to enjoy a productive career in Lincoln and is now among the feature backs for the Washington Redskins. Not only did he work himself into an elite rusher, but also a public speaker. He has spent plenty of time since as a voice of the Fellowship of Christian Athletes. His interviews – now thoughtful and confident – are barely recognizable from that day five years ago. That story illustrates one of my favorite parts of sportswriting – watching people grow up. Though still relatively young in the business, I have witnessed dozens of athletes who have gone through the work, the games and the interviews and come away more mature individuals. In the context of this football preview, it seems appropriate to remember which local talents are currently going through that process at the college level. Members of southwest Iowa are participating on gridirons all over the region, but for the sake of space I’ll limit it primarily to the big three schools in Iowa. We’ve had the privilege of following these athletes in our area at some point. Seeing them take that next step – both on and off a college football field – should be just as fun. „ The University of Iowa holds five players with SWI connections, including two who sit at the top of the fall depth chart. Dominic Alvis, a junior from Logan-Magnolia, is No. 1 at defen-

sive end, while Brandon Scherff, a sophomore out of Denison-Schleswig, is in line to start at offensive tackle. A pair of Iowa Western alumni is also in Iowa City. Junior running back Andre Dawson, a backup at IWCC last year, is vying for playing time in an incredibly depleted Hawkeye running corps. Sophomore Eric Simmons, the Reivers’ starting center last year, seems likely to redshirt this season, according to reports. Last year’s state Eight-Man player of the year, Fremont-Mills graduate Nate Meier, has been working out at running back this fall, with fullback and linebacker also considered options. „ At Iowa State, former Abraham Lincoln standout Jamison Lalk may get a chance to showcase his abilities. The redshirt freshman enters fall camp second at right offensive tackle. Three others reside on the defensive side of the ball. Junior defensive back Drake Ferch may earn time on special teams after serving as a two-year starter at safety for Iowa Western. Reiver teammate Cory Morrissey, a sophomore defensive end, is third on the ISU depth chart on the right side. Creston graduate Collin Bevins, a true freshman, is listed as a defensive lineman after spending years dominating on Friday nights. „ Northern Iowa also boasts a quartet of locals. Abraham Lincoln grad Austin Ebertowski leads the way and is primed to contribute at running back after redshirting last year. From IWCC, junior DB Jalen Barnes is likely to start at right cornerback and junior wideout Wes Smith could be a playmaker on punt and kickoff returns. Evan Williams, a sophomore running back, is also on the team. The Panthers open their season Sept. 1 at Wisconsin and tangle with Iowa on the road Sept. 15. „ South Dakota State, less than a four-hour drive north from Council Bluffs on Interstate 29, is now home to a couple former St. Albert mainstays. Andrew Brown transferred in from Iowa Western and will be a factor as a defensive back. Sophomore Jake Gentile could join his former teammate in the secondary after mainly playing on special teams a season ago. Both will see some familiar faces when the Jackrabbits travel to Northern Iowa on Oct. 20.

ANNUAL CB SCHOOLS ALUMNI TAILGATE Before the TJ vs. AL Football Game

SEPT. 7 • 5 TO 7 P.M. at CB Stadium (next to Wilson Middle School)  School Bands to Perform!  Raffles for Signed Helmets

& Jerseys from each Team!  Refreshments! Come out & enjoy the game. This is the only time these teams will meet this year!

300 W. Broadway, Ste 212 • 712-322-8800

“ YOU CALL - WE HAUL!”

Making Life. 501 Pioneer Avenue 712-482-6457 Oakland, IA 51560 Fax: 712-482-3009

How can we make you smile?

CALL 681-2078

D’ANGELO TAX & ACCOUNTING SERVICE “GO BULLDOGS!”

Rural Sanitation Services, Inc.

36498 Lombardy Rd., Oakland, IA 51560 402-250-4521 Roadside Serving Southwest IA Rural, Commercial, Garbage Pickup and Residential Garbage needs. $12/mo.

All sizes of dumpsters available. Disposal by week, month or as needed.

Let’s Go,

BULLDOGS !

“We Treat You Right” OAKLAND All Your Soft Serve Favorites – Plus Delicious Food!

100 Linden Street • Oakland 482-6454 Fax 482-3418

3099 Southh Highwayy • 482-6816

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

Same Name & Quality Service Since 1881

NonpareilOnline.com

TeleBank 482-6611 Online Banking ~ CSBOAK.com

Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

Oakland, IA • Nebraska City, NE • Omaha, NE Member FDIC

ST. ALBERT

The Daily Nonpareil

Sunday, August 19, 2012 3F

AN EARLY START Falcons hope midnight practice was beginning of next big run

St. Albert senior Cole Herr

TONY BOONE TONY.BOONE@NONPAREILONLINE.COM

St. Albert got the jump on everyone this football season. With the idea of wanting to be the first team to practice and the last team to play, the Falcons held a midnight practice – with commemorative T-shirts – on Aug. 6, the first day allowed. “It’s something we’ve thought about for the last couple of years,� St. Albert coach Kevin Culjat said. “Mainly, you just try to look for things every year that you can do a little bit differently than the year before. We always try to change things up.� The Falcons enter the season with a revamped district and plenty of new faces in their starting lineup. Sixteen starters, including seven who went on to play collegiate footCuljat ball, are gone from last year’s Class 1-A runner-up – the 15th consecutive playoff team from St. Albert. “Obviously, we’ve lost a lot,� Culjat said. “But we’ve got a lot of kids that have played a lot. We just have to turn those kids into starters.� Cole Herr and Tucker Culjat, who combined to rush for more than 1,700 yards and 23 touchdowns, are among the six starters who return. Culjat will share time at quarterback with Jon

Hawk

Lewis

St. Albert Coach: Kevin Culjat, 4th year (39-2) 2011 Record: 13-1 (Lost 25-15 to Saint Ansgar in 1A championship) Returning Starters: Seniors: Jimmy Hawk, Cole Herr, Jake Lewis. Juniors: Justin Butcher, Tucker Culjat, Eric Johnson. Other Key Players: Seniors: Nate Dunning, Isaac Finn, Wesley Rieck, Brendan Stephany, Trae Tietsort. Juniors: Jake Avey, Jacob Bendgen, Trey Bowman, Joe Eickholt, John McGinn. Sophomore: Jon Meyerring. The Word: Replacing 16 starters seems to be an easier task for St. Albert than continuing to dominate a district that includes four new teams. The unknown may test the Falcons, but it shouldn’t keep them from a 16th straight postseason berth. How Tucker Culjat and Jon Meyerring will be used at quarterback will be interesting to watch. St. Albert Schedule Aug. 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Griswold, 7 p.m. Aug. 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Lewis Central, 7 p.m. Sept. 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Panorama, 7 p.m. Sept. 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At West Central Valley, 7 p.m. Sept. 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Tri-Center, 7 p.m. Sept. 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Treynor, 7 p.m. Oct. 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Red Oak, 7 p.m. Oct. 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Nodaway Valley, 7 p.m. Oct. 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Missouri Valley, 7 p.m.

ST. ALBERT/See Page 10F

FALL IS HERE!!!

Sign up today for fall aeration, power raking, & overseeding services

Southwest Foot & Ankle Center

Call 712-322-2130

Andrew Stanislav, DPM, FACFAS* Jeffrey Kiley, DPM, FACFAS*

for more information!

1-800-334-5516 Council Bluffs • 712-322-5800 Harlan • 800-334-5516 Shenandoah • 712-246-5866

www.Facebook.com/WesternIowa.SportsWriters

www Facebook com/WesternIowa SportsWriters

No Referral Necessary *Board Certified in Foot Surgery

GO FALCONS!

Architecturall Specialtyy Products forr Generall Contractors

We Support

St. Albert Football!

Let’ss go Falcons!

Qualityy Service,, Productss & Prices Steve & JoAnn Epperson

1159 Pierce Street • Council Bluffs, IA 51503

(712) 322-0308

Now with 2 convenient locations near downtown Omaha in Carter Lake and in Council Bluffs

PROUD MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL BLUFFS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

PROUD MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL BLUFFS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

825 W. Broadway • 712-328-2424 • www. kellyscarpet.com

Jennie Edmundson Hospital

Sports Injury Clinic S Saturday Mornings Aug. 18-Oct. 20, 8:00-9:30 AM

All Ages Welcome

/PBQQPJOUNFOUOFFEFEt   Clinic located at NebOrtho (Suite 200, on the campus of Jennie Edmundson Hospital)

*Necessary X-rays, supplies and follow-up visits will be charged accordingly

LEWIS CENTRAL

4F Sunday, August 19, 2012

The Daily Nonpareil

GREAT EXPECTATIONS With nearly everyone back, Lewis Central sets lofty goals for upcoming season TONY BOONE TONY.BOONE@NONPAREILONLINE.COM

Lewis Central will grab attention this season with its new turf. The Titans would rather have it for what they do on it. With 19 starters returning, L.C.’s players have high expectations for the season. “We want to be a Dome team this year,” senior Luke Harrison said. It’s a lofty goal, especially for a program that has one playoff win in its history. That happened two years ago in Jim Duggan’s first season at L.C. The veteran coach, who has won two state titles, said his players still have a lot to prove if they want to be among Class 3-A’s best. “I think the verdict’s still out on them. I still honestly believe they’re going to have to earn it,” Duggan said. “We return a solid Duggan nucleus of players, a lot of starters and a lot of experience, but our schedule is brutal.” The Titans will play seven teams that advanced to the playoffs last year during their nine-game regular season, starting with Thursday’s home opener against 4-A qualifier Abraham Lincoln. A matchup with 1-A runner-up St. Albert follows that, then a trip to 4-A Indianola. “There’s going to be a lot of hype for those first two or three games,” senior Derek Jenkins said. “Once we get the jitters out, I think this year’s going to be great.” L.C. also has 3-A semifinalists ADM and Harlan in its district this year, along with postseason qualifiers Atlantic, Perry and Creston. The Titans just missed the playoffs by finishing fifth in their district last season. They lost five games in 2011 by a combined total of 18 points. Reigning City Player of the Year Alex Reed said his team learned from those tough defeats. “It made us realize that we were close, but that close doesn’t count,” the senior

Lewis Central senior Alex Reed

Maher~Livingston Funeral & Cremation Services

(712) 328-1144

712-388-4495

Highway 92, C.B. 712-366-2581 www.leachcamper.com

712-328-1823

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

Pyles Photography Sundee & Trisha “The e Picture Chicks” Capturing School & Sports Memories 11 Westlake Village Council Bluffs, Iowa 51501 712-256-4911 or 402-680-1234 pyles@pic.omhcoxmail.com

Jenkins

Lewis Central Coach: Jim Duggan, 3rd year (105-27, 12 years) 2011 Record: 3-5 Returning Starters: Seniors: Ausin Leer, James Muschenheim, Zach Renshaw, Nate Pettepier, Luke Harrison, Mark Savage, Alex Reed, Alex Martin, Dylan Miller, Sam Duggan, Derek Jenkins, Nick Sulentic. Juniors: Mason Brinkman, Ethan Ruby. Other Key Players: Senior: Ryan Nightser. Junior: Toby Korner. Freshman: Caleb Shudak. The Word: Expectations are high as the Titans return 19 starters from a team that was in every game last year. L.C. just missed the playoffs in 2011 after losing five games by a combined 18 points. It will have to find a way to win the close games this year against a schedule that includes seven postseason qualifiers from 2011. Lewis Central Schedule Aug. 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Abraham Lincoln, 7:30 p.m Aug. 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At St. Albert, 7 p.m. Sept. 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Indianola, 7:30 p.m Sept. 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Atlantic, 7:30 p.m Sept. 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At ADM, 7:30 p.m Sept. 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Perry, 7:30 p.m Oct. 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Harlan, 7:30 p.m Oct. 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Glenwood, 7:30 p.m Oct. 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Creston, 7:30 p.m

said. “We realized how much more work we had to put in over the summer and how much more attention we needed to pay to detail. We realize that this is our last shot. We have to give it all we have.” Reed, who had more than 2,100 yards of total offense as a junior, will play tailback and some receiver this season after beginning last year at quarterback. Senior Sam Duggan, a part-time starter in 2011, and sophomore Austin Simmons are expected to split time under center this fall. Ten starters return on offense and nine on L.C./See Page 11F

Sports Clothing, Accessories, Licensed Products We Do Custom Orders!

712-322-8833 Located in the Mall of the Bluffs Council Bluffs, Iowa

PEOPLES

Our hometown service for our customers separates us from the rest! 127 Pearl St. Council Bluffs, IA

Harrison

HARDWARE

Let’s Go,

2917 W. Broadway Council Bluffs, IA 51501

(712) 323-6822

lus P A TITANS !

PRINTING (712) 322-0922

Campbell

37 South Main Council Bluffs, IA 51503

INSURANCE

Agency, Inc.

Kicking things off with ... Zach Renshaw Renshaw, a senior, found success last year in two sports. He posted 54 tackles, including 16 for losses, for the Lewis Central defense in football before wrestling his way to a runnerup finish at the Class 3-A state tournament at 220 pounds with a 51-4 record. Football or wrestling. Which sport were you more concentrated on last year? It could go either way. Sometimes in wrestling you have those sluggish days, and you just want to play football. Then you’re playing football and you get those repetition days where you’re thinking about wrestling. It’s off and on. Which one are you better at? Well, I don’t know. I guess wrestling because I got so high up there. Football is a team sport, so it’s hard to say I’m not good at football when we can’t just go to the Dome.

All Types of Insurance

712-328-3975

103 North Ave., Council Bluffs, IA

(402) 391-1800

www.allergyasthmaimm.com

How good can the Lewis Central defense be? We only lost one or two defenders, but we’re bringing in some kids that can fill the spots. Defense, this year, is going

to be our key. What have you done to get prepared for the season? All summer, I’ve just been working out, doing everything possible to get better. I’ve been doing all the little drills, put the extra time in there. Expectations seem to be high for this season. Is this the year L.C. makes a run? This is the year. This is the one. You have two city games to start things off. Which one is bigger? I don’t know. There’s a lot of hype for both of them. But I’m thinking St. Albert. There’s more rivalry with them. Of those and your district games, is there one you’re looking most forward to? ADM. I think they’re one of the top teams in our district. If we can just shut them out, we can make a statement. What’s it going to take to get the Titans over the top? Hard work and leadership. That’s pretty much what I’m pushing on. If everyone’s working hard and no one’s slacking, everyone’s going to be ready to go.

www.Facebook.com/WesternIowa.SportsWriters

THOMAS JEFFERSON

The Daily Nonpareil

Sunday, August 19, 2012

5F

Addition by Division Jackets land tough opponents in new format TONY BOONE TONY.BOONE@NONPAREILONLINE.COM

The new format for Class 4-A football may not be kind to Thomas Jefferson. The Yellow Jackets landed in the only division that contained three teams that won conference titles in 2011. And one is defending state champion West Des Moines Valley. That being said, T.J.’s schedule may allow it to build momentum before divisional play. “As unforgiving as the division schedule was, I like our matchups early on,” Jacket coach Mark Puev said. “There are a few winnable games in that first half. Let’s see what happens.” Three of T.J.’s four nondivisional opponents – Des Moines North, Glenwood and Des Moines Hoover – won Puev only one game last year. And the Jackets played Abraham Lincoln close once. “That’s what we’ve been saying this whole time,” said senior quarterback Dominic Wilson, a three-year starter. “They are winnable games, but they’re not guaranteed wins.” Nothing will be taken for granted, Wilson said, recalling T.J.’s stunning homecoming loss to Des Moines Roosevelt last year. “That’s some of our motivation this year, to make sure those games don’t get away from us,” he said. “Don’t let up on any team. Let’s be honest, no team has ever let up on us.” Wilson, who racked up 1,501 yards of total offense last season, said this year has “a different feel” about it, calling it “a new T.J.” Puev is counting on his senior class, which includes seven returning starters, to take the reins. It has been contributing on the field in all three of his seasons in Council Bluffs. “This is a group that has been together,” he said. “Now, they’re getting thrust into the leadership. The accountability is going to them. It’s got to become their team.” Senior lineman Nolan Neaman believes that’s already happened.

Thomas Jefferson senior Dominic Wilson

Neaman

Speight

Thomas Jefferson Coach: Mark Puev, 3rd year (3-14) 2011 Record: 2-6 Returning Starters: Seniors: Jake Hobbs, Nolan Neaman, Caleb Skou, Michael Speight, Brett Sprinkle, Mike White, Dominic Wilson. Junior: Jakahi Gregory. Other Key Players: Senior: Basky Heldart. Juniors: Trevor Ceder, Jake Meyer. Sophomores: Jason Wallace, Jamin Walters. The Word: With a senior class that has gained experience through trial by fire, T.J. has high hopes in Puev’s third year. A favorable early schedule may allow the Yellow Jackets to gain momentum for a tough slate in Class 4-A’s Divison 1. Dominic Wilson, the most experienced quarterback in the city, leads a group of seniors that is hoping to change the fortunes of T.J. Thomas Jefferson Schedule Aug. 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Des Moines North, 7:30 p.m. Aug. 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Glenwood, 7:30 p.m. Sept. 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Abraham Lincoln, 7:30 p.m. Sept. 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Des Moines Hoover, 7 p.m. Sept. 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Sioux City East, 7:30 p.m. Sept. 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Des Moines Lincoln, 7 p.m. Oct. 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Indianola, 7:30 p.m. Oct. 12 . . . . . . . . . . . .At West Des Moines Valley, 7 p.m. Oct. 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Urbandale, 7:30 p.m.

“We’ve kind of set a tempo of working hard every day,” he said. “We don’t let people slack off. We get on them. “I think our players finally got it and have become more committed. The atmosphere around here is starting to change.” Neaman and Brett Sprinkle are returners T.J./See Page 11F

Kicking things off with ... Michael White think we can pull one or two out and make the playoffs.

the Sioux City schools? No, not really.

Are you going to miss playing all

lus P A PRINTING

What game are you looking for-

ward to the most? That’s a tough one. I’m probably looking forward to A.L. the most. Crosstown rivals.

Our hometown service for our customers separates us from the rest! 127 Pearl St. Council Bluffs, IA

(402) 391-1800

www.allergyasthmaimm.com

712-328-1823

(712) 322-0922

Highway 92, C.B. 712-366-2581 www.leachcamper.com

37 South Main Council Bluffs, IA 51503

White, a senior, is one of eight returning starters for the Yellow Jackets. A two-way player, he was T.J.’s secondleading rusher with 445 yards last year and was fourth on the team with 42 total tackles. How do you feel heading into your senior season? I feel pretty good. I feel pretty confident about the season. We’ve got to start the first four games pretty good. I’m pretty excited.

What do you remember about the ups and downs of last year? All the close ones that we should’ve pulled through and didn’t. We’re working really hard to get this one through. With Wilson and you returning, how good can this backfield be? We could be great. It all starts up front though. Do you have any thoughts on entering divisional play this year? I kind of like the conference a little better. Our division’s pretty tough. But I

PEOPLES

Supporting all area teams!

HARDWARE

Our family is proud to serve your family in its time of need.

(712) 328-1144

121 S. 7th St., Co. Bluffs, IA 51501

SPORTS

YOUR COMMUNITY FOOTBALL HEADQUARTERS!

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com

2917 W. Broadway Council Bluffs, IA 51501

Let’s Go,

JACKETS !

Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

10% OFF Your Entire Purchase* *Some restrictions apply Excludes Lettermen Jackets Expires 10/31/12

305 E. Broadway • Council Bluffs 712-328-7424 PROUD MEMBER OF THE COUNCIL BLUFFS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

What are your goals for the season? I hope we win at least four games, five games hopefully. My goal for myself is I want to reach 1,000 yards rushing.

(712) 323-6822

Campbell

INSURANCE

Agency, Inc.

All Types of Insurance

712-328-3975

103 North Ave., Council Bluffs, IA

We take most insurance & discount cards.

Sports Clothing, Accessories, Licensed Products We Do Custom Orders!

2201 W. Broadway, Council Bluffs, IA

712-388-4495

325-8676 www.MedicapCB.com 712-322-8833 Located in the Mall of the Bluffs Council Bluffs, Iowa

ABRAHAM LINCOLN

6F Sunday, August 19, 2012

The Daily Nonpareil

The Next Step Lynx set goal of getting first playoff win in school history TONY BOONE TONY.BOONE@NONPAREILONLINE.COM

Colpitts

Reddish

Abraham Lincoln Coach: Justin Kammrad, 5th year (25-15) 2011 Record: 5-5 (Lost 55-10 to Marshalltown in 4-A first round) Returning Starters: Seniors: Sean O’Brien, Jeff Reddish. Juniors: Alex Barret, Jakson Cole, Brandon Colpitts, Dylan Garner, Dallas Muschall, Jared Thompson, Jake Whalen. Other Key Players: Seniors: Jerome Christiansen, Chase Herbst, Robert Jungferman, Devon Owens. Junior: Joe Carbis. Sophomores: Payton Hiffernan, David Lewis. The Word: The Lynx bring back nine starters, but are lacking a proven big-play running back for the first time in years. Returning quarterback Jared Thompson will become the focal point of Abraham Lincoln’s offense, and his play may determine whether or not the Lynx advance to the postseason for the fifth straight year. Abraham Lincoln Schedule Aug. 23 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Lewis Central, 7:30 p.m. Aug. 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Harlan, 7:30 p.m. Sept. 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Thomas Jefferson, 7:30 p.m. Sept. 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Sioux City North, 7:30 p.m. Sept. 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Sioux City West, 7:30 p.m. Sept. 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Des Moines East, 7:30 p.m. Oct. 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Des Moines Roosevelt, 7 p.m. Oct. 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Waukee, 7:30 p.m. Oct. 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Southeast Polk, 7 p.m.

Abraham Lincoln has gone to the playoffs in each of Justin Kammrad’s four seasons as coach. Now, the Lynx are looking to take the next step. Senior lineman Jeff Reddish said A.L.’s players are looking to make school history this fall. “I think we’re all just focused on getting a playoff win,” he said. “No team ever before us has gotten one.” The Lynx are 0-6 all-time in the postseason. In order to have a chance to change that and make good on their goal, they’ll have to navigate through Class 4-A’s new divisional format. A.L. has four games prior to divisional play. It faces Lewis Central, Harlan, Thomas Jefferson and Sioux City North in what Kammrad thinks we’ll be a crucial stretch of the season. “We wanted to really find out where we stood, and where our Kammrad guys stood, in those first four weeks,” he said. “Our first three games of the year are very emotional games for us as well. Those are the games that the kids really get excited about ... in any sport.” Every game the Lynx play away from C.B. Stadium, including Thursday’s opener at L.C., will be played on turf. Quarterback Jared Thompson said he’s been looking forward to facing the Titans.

Abraham Lincoln junior Jared Thompson

A.L./See Page 10F

Kicking things off with ... Dallas Muschall Muschall earned All-City and secondteam all-conference honors as a sophomore offensive lineman last year. He was also in on 32 tackles for the Lynx defense. How’d you spend your summer? Basically, I just spent my summer fishing with my friends and lifting in the morning. I caught a couple of big fish – a couple of big carp, some gar and catfish. What’s your preparation for the season been like? I just get everyone ready and get their heads straight for the season.You know, not much goofing

Proud Sponsor of Southwest Iowa Football!

Heating & Air Conditioning

(712) 323-6822

We Service All Makes & Models.

Campbell

3406 2nd Avenue

Are you going to miss playing Sioux City East? Yes and no. I only really played them for one year, but I’d like to get back at them. Is it a good or bad thing that all of your games not at C.B. Stadium are on turf?

PEOPLES 2917 W. Broadway Council Bluffs, IA 51501

“Our customers are some of the coolest people in Council Bluffs”

Do you have any thoughts on the new schedule you will be playing? At first, I was kind of shaky about it. But I’m growing to like it. It’ll be something new, and I like new things.

Sports Clothing, Accessories, Licensed Products We Do Custom Orders!

HARDWARE

323-5305 • 323-5303

around. Just really getting pumped for the season.

INSURANCE

Agency, Inc.

All Types of Insurance

Are you going to be playing on both sides of the ball this year? I think that’s how it’s going to happen. But there’s still time before the season. We’ll find out. A.L. has gone to the playoffs four straight years. Is there any reason this won’t be No. 5? I think that we have a good shot to go there. But I can’t really say that we’re absolutely going. We’ve just got to see how it plays out.

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

712-322-8833

NonpareilOnline.com

Located in the Mall of the Bluffs Council Bluffs, Iowa

Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

Let’s Go,

LYNX !

712-328-3975 It’s Hard to stop a Trane.

I don’t really care if it’s turf or grass. I kind of like turf sometimes, but I like our stadium too. It’s got its benefits.

103 North Ave., Council Bluffs, IA

Maher~Livingston Funeral & Cremation Services

(712) 328-1144

Highway 92, C.B. 712-366-2581 www.leachcamper.com

MEMBER

BBB of the Heartland

www.councilbluffsheatingandair.com

Ourr Team... Serving Hundredss of Athletes Everyy Year:

Pyles Photography Sundee & Trisha “The e Picture Chicks” Capturing School & Sports Memories 11 Westlake Village Council Bluffs, Iowa 51501 712-256-4911 or 402-680-1234 pyles@pic.omhcoxmail.com

PRINTING (712) 322-0922

37 South Main Council Bluffs, IA 51503

Daniel J. Larose, M.D. Thomas M. Atleberry, M.D. Roy Abraham, M.D.

Saturdays 8:30am - 10:00am Aug. 18, 2012 thru March 23, 2013

Michael (Sal) Salerno, MA, PT Mike Uhrlaub, MPT Nick Mouw, DPT

Closedd Holidayss & Holidayy Weekends *Initiall evaluationn iss FREE.. Chargess willl apply forr x-rays,, suppliess & follow-upp visits

FREE Sports T-Shirt on Your First Visit!

One Edmundson Place #500

Council Bluffs, IA

712-323-5333 millerortho.com/sports

A Plus

(402) 391-1800

www.allergyasthmaimm.com

712-388-4495 Our hometown service for our customers separates us from the rest! 127 Pearl St. Council Bluffs, IA

712-328-1823

IOWA WESTERN

The Daily Nonpareil

Sunday, August 19, 2012

7F

Chasing a title Loaded Reivers open season with No. 8 national ranking TONY BOONE TONY.BOONE@NONPAREILONLINE.COM

Kicking things off with ... Aaron Wimberly Wimberly made an immediate impact in his first season at Iowa Western, racking up 1,515 all-purpose yards and 14 total touchdowns while making the NJCAA All-American honorable mention list. The sophomore tailback from Snellville, Ga., already has NCAA Division I scholarship offers from Iowa State, Troy and UNC Charlotte with more certainly to come. How did you impress the coaches to win the running back job in camp last year? Camp had a lot of intensity. I had to compete because we had a lot of people here – about 16 running backs. When I got my chance, I just showed up. How do you follow up an AllAmerican season? It was a great season last year. We’re looking forward to bigger things this year. Basically, I’ll be helping the team out to maybe reach my goal. Why do you seem to thrive in this uptempo offense? I’ve been playing this offense since I was in high school. I fit right into it. Have you set any personal goals for this season? This season, I’ve got some goals. I want to score two touchdowns and have 150 (rushing) yards a game or more. Basically, I want to help this team win and shoot for the national championship.

NJCAA Preseason Poll 1. East Mississippi . . . . . . . . . . .12-0 2. Butler . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .11-1 3. Arizona Western . . . . . . . . . . .11-1 4. Mississippi Gulf Coast . . . . . .10-2 5. Blinn . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .9-2 6. Hinds . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .7-3 7. Trinity Valley . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8-3 8. Iowa Western . . . . . . . . . . . . . .9-2 9. Snow . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .9-3 10. Hutchinson . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .9-3 11. Northwest Mississippi . . . . . .6-3 12. Navarro . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .10-2 13. Eastern Arizona . . . . . . . . . . .8-3 14. Dean . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8-1 15. New Mexico Military . . . . . . . .9-3 16. Tyler . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .7-4 17. Coffeyville . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .6-4 18. Iowa Central . . . . . . . . . . . . . .6-4 19. Rochester . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .11-1 20. Nassau . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .8-2

What do you think of the new schedule? The new schedule is tougher. Some people think we don’t play some hard teams, but we’ve got some good teams on there this year. Any of the trips you’re looking forward to the most? We’ve got to take it one game at a time, but I’m really looking forward to the Trinity Valley game and then Georgia Military.

With a talented roster and beefed-up schedule, Iowa Western is set for a run at the title. The Reivers, coming off consecutive 9-2 campaigns, open their fourth season of football ranked No. 8 in the NJCAA preseason poll and with legitimate national championship aspirations. Forced to find new opponents after three Midwest Football Conference teams dropped football during the offseason, IWCC coach Scott Strohmeier came up with an aggressive schedule that features three long road trips in the first three weeks. Two of those contests are against ranked teams, which will help Iowa Western build national credibility. The Reivers face No. 15 New Mexico Military at the Mile High Shootout in Pueblo, Colo., on Sept. 1 before travelling to No. 7 Trinity Valley, Texas, the followStrohmeier ing week. Strohmeier said at this point, IWCC is ready for that kind of challenge. “Well, I feel it’s time. We’ve made big strides in the short time we’ve been here,” he said. “I think, from a standpoint of taking the next step, if you really think you can contend, the only way is to see where you are early in the season.” All of the pieces seem to be in place for the Reivers. Quarterback Jake Waters is back to run an offense that includes honorable mention All-American Aaron Wimberly at running back, three returning starters on the offensive line and a receiving corps that features Andrew Stone and University of New Mexico transfers Deon Long and Martize Barr.

Have you given much thought about what happens after this year? I basically want to take my talent to another school. It doesn’t matter on the location, but I’ve got some schools talking to me right now.

Iowa Western sophomore Jake Waters

IWCC/See Page 10F

Iowa Western

Date:

Opponent:

Aug. 25

2012 Football Site:

Time:

APU Cole College

Denver, Colo.

1:00 CST

Sep. 1

Mile High Shootout, vs. New Mexico Military

Pueblo, Colo.

2:00 CST

Sep. 8

Trinity Valley CC

Athens, Texas

3:00

SEP. 15

COLLEGE OF DUPAGE

HOME

1:00

SEP. 29

GEORGIA MILITARY COLLEGE

HOME

1:00

OCT. 6

ARKANSAS BAPTIST COLLEGE

HOME

11:00

Oct.13

ND State College of Science

Wahpeton, ND

1:00

OCT. 20*

IOWA CENTRAL CC

HOME

2:30

Oct. 27

Ellsworth CC

Iowa Falls, Iowa

2:30

Nov. 3

MFC Playoffs

TBA

TBA

Nov. 10

MFC Championship

TBA

TBA

Dec. 2

NJCAA Bowl Game

TBA

TBA

*Homecoming game. Home games in BOLD CAPS played at Lewis Central High School field.

Come cheer on your hometown team! goreivers.com

All games broadcast on 89.7 The River & www.goreivers.com. Watch highlights and more on CBTV17 Bluffs Sports Zone

HEARTLAND CHRISTIAN/ISD

8F Sunday, August 19, 2012

The Daily Nonpareil

THIS TIME, IT’S FOR REAL Eagles face full varsity slate EVAN BLAND EVAN.BLAND@NONPAREILONLINE.COM

Kicking things off with ... Steven Horan Horan, a 5-foot-10, 160-pound sophomore quarterback, is in his first season with the Eagles after transferring from Omaha North. Heartland Christian compiled 87 total passing yards in three varsity games last fall. What’s everyone’s feeling about a full varsity season? We’re excited. I think we’re going to do pretty well. We’re been competing, and everyone’s had a good attitude. I like it a lot better than big schools. What will be your role as quarterback for this team? I think we’re going to have a pretty good run game, but with our passing game, we’ll have a pretty good variety of both. I guess it’s not too hard handing off the ball to someone else. What is your favorite part of playing QB? You’re the head guy.You have to be in charge in the huddle and a captain and leader for the rest of the team. Head coach Shawn Struck is 21 years old. What’s it like playing for someone that age? I think it’s better. He just got out of college, so he knows what it’s like. He hasn’t

been out for that long, so he understands and isn’t way older than us.We have a good relationship, the team and him. What professional QB do you model your game after? Peyton Manning, because he’s amazing. I like the Cowboys, but they have Tony Romo. Manning is just so smooth, barely ever gets sacked and is an amazing thrower. He’s the best quarterback in the NFL. What will make Heartland Christian more competitive this year? We have more people so we can have more subs and everyone’s not playing the whole time. And we got a lot stronger. It’s going to be a completely different team. Everyone has a right mindset and they’re serious showing up. Who is your funniest teammate? Probably Christian Marshall or Zach Nichols. They just jack around all the time. It’s nothing bad; they’re just funny with the jokes. What should people know about Heartland? We’re ready to compete. We’re not the same team. This is a good atmosphere, and people should look into it. It’s fun here and a lot better than big schools because everyone knows each other and we’re all friends.

Heartland Christian is ready for some football. The payoff has finally arrived for the Eagles, who are completing a three-year transition from juniorvarsity fill-ins to state-sanctioned competitors this fall. For the first time in program history, their schedule is composed entirely of other varsity Eight-Man foes. “It pumps us all up to know we’re stepping into that,” Heartland senior Zach Nichols said. “Everybody is just crazy excited for it.” The new frontier figures to be as dauntStruck ing as it is thrilling. The Eagles got a taste last year by playing three quality varsity foes – and losing by a combined score of 189-30. Heartland finished 1-8, playing out the rest of its slate against JV teams and schools ineligible for the playoffs. Plenty of lessons came from that bumpy ride, coach Shawn Struck said. Players were hit – literally – with the harsh reality of how big, strong and fast other varsity squads are. “It definitely made us all realize how much work we had to do,” Struck said. Much has changed since then, beginning with Struck’s larger role. After spending two years running the defense as an assistant, he took over the head job following the resignation of the only football coach the school had ever known, Dave Coberly. Volunteer assistant Justin Steinmetz now guides the defense while Struck calls the offense. Players are more experienced as well. Senior Christian Marshall (fullback/linebacker) and Nichols (running back/safety) will carry much of the offensive load. Last year’s quarterback, sophomore Gabe Claar, moves to wide receiver along with Thomas Jefferson junior transfer Devin Kopera.

Heartland Christian senior Zach Nichols

HC/See Page11F

Experience will be key as Bobcats open season EVAN BLAND EVAN.BLAND@NONPAREILONLINE.COM

Iowa School for the Deaf is about to find out how much a little more experience is worth. Familiarity is once again an ally of the Bobcats after two straight years of trotting out mostly new football starters. Five seniors headline an ISD group that boasted none last season, and nine return overall with extensive playing time under their belts. “We’ll see if we can do a little better this year,” Iowa Deaf coach Mark Murray said. “It’s nice having seniors, it really is. It’s just a matter of putting it

together and staying healthy.” The Bobcats hope to have the pieces to improve upon last fall’s 4-4 record. John Isaacson figures to be a focal point on both sides of the ball, having collected a team-best 97 stops as a defensive tackle a season ago. The senior and first-team All-American as named by Deaf Digest will also man the fullback spot in his third year of organized football. Offensively, junior D.J. Meyer is back at quarterback after taking over the position during the 2011 campaign. The Iowa City native and dual threat QB will have a pair of receiv-

ing weapons in senior tight end Brendan Booth and junior Elias Perez. Joining the rushing attack in a committee approach at I-back are senior DeMarcus Thomas and junior Curtis Dobias. Two-way linemen Jacob Bradley and Vince Fox round out the senior class. Sophomore Brandon Dunlap, at 230 pounds, will also be back in the trenches. Murray said he expects 14 to 17 boys to work with when ISD opens its season Aug. 27 on the road against Fremont-Mills’ junior-varsity squad. With players not on campus to begin

the month, the Bobcats have exactly two weeks – only going Monday through Thursday both times – to get into game shape. At least the Bobcats will finally have a mental head start. “Once they’ve been in the system for four years, it’s pretty easy for them,” Murray said. “They know what to expect.” Iowa Deaf’s most experienced players have witnessed every part of the winning spectrum. They were reserves on the school’s 2009 national championship team, and part of a 1-7 finish the next year. They posted a

Let’s Go,

Campbell

Let’s Go,

INSURANCE

Agency, Inc.

All Types of Insurance

Highway 92, C.B. 712-366-2581 www.leachcamper.com

712-328-3975

103 North Ave., Council Bluffs, IA

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

712-388-4495

A Plus

PRINTING (712) 322-0922

37 South Main Council Bluffs, IA 51503

Maher~Livingston Funeral & Cremation Services

(712) 328-1144

E A G L E S

.500 mark last fall. The Bobcats’ latest eight-game schedule calls for three home contests – all against their toughest opponents by far. ISD plays in Council Bluffs on three consecutive Saturdays beginning Sept. 22 against fellow deaf schools from Minnesota, Wisconsin and Oklahoma. The trio combined to beat their Iowa counterpart 195-6 last year. Another perk of the schedule, Murray said, is starting and ending on a big-time varsity field. His group

2917 W. Broadway Council Bluffs, IA 51501

(712) 323-6822

Maher~Livingston Funeral & Cremation Services

(712) 328-1144

712-388-4495

Sports Clothing, Accessories, Licensed Products We Do Custom Orders!

712-322-8833 Located in the Mall of the Bluffs Council Bluffs, Iowa

Highway 92, C.B. 712-366-2581 www.leachcamper.com

A Plus

PRINTING (712) 322-0922

(402) 391-1800

www.allergyasthmaimm.com

37 South Main Council Bluffs, IA 51503

Our hometown service for our customers separates us from the rest! 127 Pearl St. Council Bluffs, IA

712-328-1823

PEOPLES HARDWARE

PEOPLES HARDWARE

ISD/See Page 11F

2917 W. Broadway Council Bluffs, IA 51501

B O B C A T S

(712) 323-6822 Our hometown service for our customers separates us from the rest! 127 Pearl St. Council Bluffs, IA

712-328-1823 Sports Clothing, Accessories, Licensed Products We Do Custom Orders!

712-322-8833 Located in the Mall of the Bluffs Council Bluffs, Iowa

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

Campbell

INSURANCE

Agency, Inc.

All Types of Insurance

(402) 391-1800

www.allergyasthmaimm.com

712-328-3975

103 North Ave., Council Bluffs, IA

FOOTBALL PREVIEW

The Daily Nonpareil

Sunday, August 19, 2012

9F

Area teams eagerly anticipating openers A-H-S-T Coach: Davis Pattee, 1st year Class, district: Class A, District 8 2011 record: 4-6 (lost to Earlham 40-23 in first round of Class A playoffs) Key returners: Seniors: Tyler Robinson, WR; Jake Larson, RB; Jake Olesen, LB. Junior: Kyle Bauerkemper, QB. Sophomores: Steven Jacobsen, K; Christian Danker, DB. The Word: A-H-S-T will be under new leadership this fall in first-year head coach Davis Pattee and will also be a different squad, adding players from the Walnut program that disbanded after last year. For the last three seasons, Pattee was an assistant under Cory Faust, who left to take the head job at Glenwood. The Vikings return five players with starting experience as well as six others who logged significant time. Senior Tyler Robinson was a receiver last season but will transition to quarterback this fall. Junior Kyle Bauerkemper and senior Jake Larson will see time in the backfield as well. Sophomore kicker Steven Jacobsen and defensive back Christian Danker also return. Seniors Jake Olesen and Dillon Kelley along with juniors Austin Fink, Drew Young and Nate Bauer all saw minutes last season, and Pattee mentioned Walnut athlete Chris Guthrie as Robinson someone who will play as well in 2012. “We don’t have a ton of experience, but this group is competitive, fast and hungry,” Pattee said. “We have a large freshman class and more numbers than we ever have, though.” Pattee mentioned winning the turnover battle and a ball-control offense as keys for his team this fall, with all of the run-heavy offenses they face. “We cannot allow big plays on defense, either,” Pattee said. “Taking care of the ball will be important because we are not in position to overlook anyone.” Pattee pointed to Logan-Magnolia and Underwood as the top teams in Class A, District 8 on paper. “We just want to put our best effort out there,” Pattee said. “We would like to make the playoffs, but we want to be proud of our effort at the end of the season.”

BOYER VALLEY Coach: Jay Petersen, 11th season Class, district: Eight-Man, District 7 2011 record: 6-4 (lost to East Mills 65-22 in first round of Eight-Man playoffs) Key returners: Seniors: Tyler Hoffmann, TE/LB; Michael Hanigan, QB/DB. Juniors: Chase Bonsall, RB/DB; Nathan Rudd RB/LB; Nick Klein, RB/LB; Scott Garrett, OL/DL; Pat Garrett, OL/DL. Sophomores: Reed Block, WR/DB; Cody Thoreson, RB/LB; Calvin Wood, RB/LB; Jason Hoffmann, OL/DL. The Word: Boyer Valley has 11 returning letterwinners, but with only three returning starters on offense and two on defense, the Bulldogs will have to rebuild this year. Returning to lead the offense, however, is senior quarterback Michael Hanigan, who rushed for 1,327 yards and passed for more than 500 last year. Senior tight end Tyler Hoffmann is also hoping to increase his production, and junior lineman Pat Garrett looks to anchor the offensive line. Returning defensive starters are junior linebacker Nathan Rudd and Hanigan at defensive back. The other returning letterwinners looking to make a bigger impact this year are juniors Scott Garrett, Nick Klein and Chase Bonsall, along with sophomores Reed Block, Cody Thoreson, Calvin Wood and Jason Hoffmann. The offensive line will not be as big as it was last year, but it should be quicker. “Our team will be searching for our offensive identity with a smaller and faster offensive Hanigan line,’’ coach Jay Petersen said. Petersen is planning to use a lot of different kids on defense. “The competition for each spot will help with our overall depth, and we will have to use that to our advantage,” Petersen said. The Bulldogs are hoping for good things by season’s end. “Our team looks to fight for a playoff spot in District 7 of the Eight-Man class,” Petersen added.

GLENWOOD Coach: Cory Faust, 1st year Class, district: Class 3-A, District 1 2011 record: 1-8 Key returners: Seniors: Kyle Kawecki, TE/DB; Derek Jones, TE/DE; JJ Hahn, OL/DL. Junior: Corey Bertini, DB/QB. The Word: After leading A-H-S-T to seven playoff appearances in nine years, Cory Faust will begin a new chapter in his coaching career as the head coach at Glenwood in 2012. Faust was 68-26 with the Vikings, and takes over a Glenwood team that finished 1-8 last season but returns 15 players with starting experience. Senior Kyle Kawecki and junior Corey Bertini both finished with alldistrict honors at defensive back last fall and return along with senior Derek Jones, one of the state’s best hurdlers who will play tight end and defensive end. Senior 6foot-5, 300-pound offensive lineman JJ Hahn is receiving interest from

Iowa State and is a big part of an experienced unit in the trenches. “We have athletes that have had success in other sports and want to be successful in football,” Faust Bertini said. “Changing the culture and experience is going to be important because they have not had a ton of success in football.” Faust said changing the way his team practices is a good place to start. “We need to treat practice like games,” Faust said. “We can compete with anyone if we come prepared.” Class 3-A, District 1 will be extremely tough, Faust said. ADM and Harlan both return talent from state semifinal teams, and Creston won the district last season. “Lewis Central lost a bunch of close game and returns talent as well,” Faust said. “We can have a shot at anyone; we just have to get better and play as a team.”

LOGAN-MAGNOLIA Coach: Matt Straight, 12th season Class, district: Class A, District 8 2011 record: 10-2 (lost to St. Albert 35-7 in Class 1-A quarterfinals) Key returners: Seniors: Paul Hutson, RB/LB; Caden McDonald, RB/S, Logan Melby, OL/DL. The Word: In his 12th season at Logan-Magnolia, Matt Straight is looking for a playoff run in a new class after a 10-2 season last year in 1-A. “The district will be unfamiliar as we move to a new class (Class A, District 8) with new teams,” Straight said. “Underwood and Griswold come with us, but with many teams we haven’t played before, it will be a new experience.” Straight will be looking for leadership from his senior class, led by running back/linebacker Paul Hutson and running back/safety Caden McDonald. Logan Melby will anchor the offensive and defensive lines and Straight is also looking for good things from sophomore fullback/linebacker Brady Charbonneau. Senior Nick Knudsen, junior Brett Greenwood and sophomore Colton Fisher are competing to replace Nate Fender at quarterback. Straight said he likes the experience he Hutson has in the backfield and on the offensive line. He expects that to help the new starters’ adjustments. For the first time in many years, St. Albert will not play Logan-Magnolia. The Panthers’ last four losses have been to St. Albert. “We finished 10-2 the last two seasons, with St. Albert being the only thorn in our side,” Straight said. “With them out of the picture, we have more confidence and know we can accomplish quite a bit as a squad.”

MISSOURI VALLEY Coach: Ryan Victor, 3rd season 2011 record: 2-8 Class, district: Class 1-A, District 8 Key returners: Seniors: Michael West, WR; Scott Voss, OL/LB; Ryan Gochenour, WR/S; Sam Schmitz, WR/CB; Lucas Goff, TE/DL; Zach Chapin, RB/CB. Juniors: Steven Humphrey, QB/LB; Justin Chapin, OL/DL. The Word: Missouri Valley is excited for the start of the 2012 season and hopes to compete at a higher level. Last year, the Big Reds fielded a combined program with West Harrison, but will stand on their own this year. “We want to be an extremely competitive team this year,’’ coach Ryan Victor said. “We have a big senior class and great leadership. Our team is very physical and these kids have a great work ethic.’’ Junior Steven Humphrey will take over quarterback duties after finishing with 62 tackles on defense last year. Last year’s quarterback, senior Michael West, will move to wide receiver West after passing for over 700 yards last season. “Because of his athleticism, we want to get the ball in his hands as much as possible,” Victor said. The Big Reds offense will be runoriented but will have some inexperience on the offensive line. The defense will convert to a 4-3 from last year’s 3-4. Victor expects St. Albert to be strong again, but notes that Treynor and Tri-Center also will be tough. “We would like to put our name in there also,” Victor said. “We expect to be one of the most physical teams in the district and will be fundamentally sound. Our main focus is to be the best we can be.”

forward to improving last year’s 1-8 mark, and is looking to get some high intensity and effort from his team. “The kids have been responding well to our intensity,” Williams said. “They are showing a good attitude at practice and a willingness to learn.” Williams is implementing a more traditional style of offense, running more I-formation. He plans to use the same defensive system that was used when he was an assistant under Burke Swenson. Williams is looking for big things from senior tackle Ricky Williams, who is receiving recruiting interest from Iowa, Iowa State and Wisconsin. Senior Clay Harris and junior Williams Travis Henningsen will be competing for the starting quarterback and running back positions. Three juniors – Michael Beertacini, Conner Ranken and Malachi Dillon – lead a deep receiving corps. Justin Williams feels Class A, District 8 will be pretty competitive. “There are a couple powerhouses towards the top, Logan-Magnolia and Griswold, but the final two playoff spots will be up for grabs,” Williams said. “Underwood will field a quality squad, but there are some unknowns with teams getting new coaches and losing some players from last year’s teams.”

TREYNOR Coach: Steve Owens, 19th year Class, district: Class 1-A, District 8 2011 record: 6-4 (lost to Des Moines Christian 38-7 in first round of Class 1-A playoffs) Key returners: Seniors: Ryan Hempel, QB; Avery Umphreys, DB; Alex Hahn, OL/DL. Juniors: Dane Livengood, RB; Michael Fisher, LB. Sophomore: Trey Robinson, WR. The Word: Treynor lost a talented senior class but still returns a collection of players that saw significant time last season. A key to the Cardinals’ success may come down to who wins the threeway battle for the quarterback position. Junior Dane Livengood, sophomore Trey Robinson and Livengood senior Ryan Hempel are in the hunt for that spot, but coach Steve Owens said whoever does not start under center will play at another skill position. “We have some very good skill players,” Owens said. “Our team chemistry is a big positive at this point as well.” Senior Avery Umphreys, senior Alex Hahn and junior Michael Fisher all return with starting experience. Senior Andy Hahn, junior Michael Wesley and junior Kreighton Elwood all are expected to play quite a bit as well. “We don’t have a ton of size or experience,” Owens said. “We just have to play well as a team and master the fundamentals of our offense and defense.”

TRI-CENTER Coach: John Tiarks, 2nd season Class, district: Class 1-A, District 8 2011 record: 6-4 (lost to Panorama 60-13 in first round of Class 1-A playoffs) Key returners: Seniors: Britton Barrier, QB/S; Doug Hoke, WB/CB; Loren Williams, RB/DL; CJ Peters, TE/DL; Trevor Lyons, OT; Casey Ortman, OG; Jacob Wohlers, C. Juniors: Ben Wellman, FB/LB; Collin Alfers, OT; Ty Jarrett, LB. The Word: Fresh off its first playoff appearance since 1997, Tri-Center will be looking to carry that momentum into this season. “We want to get back to the playoffs this year and do some damage,” coach John Tiarks said. “We want to be the first team in school history to win a playoff game.” The Trojans return their top two rushers in senior Doug Hoke and junior Ben Wellman. Hoke racked up 838 yards last year, averaging 12.7 yards per carry, and also Barrier was the team’s leading receiver. Wellman added 634 rushing yards and led the defense with 90 tackles. Senior Britton Barrier, who rushed for 531 yards, returns to pilot the offense.

Tiarks does not plan major changes, and said the team will rely mostly on its running game, but will mix in some pass plays. “We are not starting from scratch this year,” Tiarks said. “Continuity and familiarity from last year will be one of our strengths, along with our team speed. “We will have a little different defensive look this year and will fix the little things’’ Tiarks feels St. Albert will be the team to beat in the district, but knows all the games with be tough. “St. Albert sets the standard and we want to get there,” Tiarks added.

UNDERWOOD Coach: Loren Lintner, 4th season Class, district: Class A, District 8 2011 record: 4-5 Key returners: Seniors: Jake Slobodnik, TE; Trevor Hough, FB/LB; Ryan Spiegel, DE; Austin Asbra, RB; Calvin Davis, C; Brady Johnson, CB. Juniors: Preston Jager, S; Cade Bracker, OT. The Word: Underwood will drop from Class 1-A to Class A this year and is looking to find success, but will have to replace a large group of graduated seniors, including leading rusher Mason Tenningkeit and quarterback Drake Fanslau. Tenningkeit ran for 671 yards a year ago and Fanslau threw for more than 600. Senior running back Austin Asbra rushed for more than 500 yards last season and should provide some offensive punch for the Eagles on the ground. Senior Brady Johnson and junior Colton Asbra Bristow are vying

for the quarterback position. Senior Ryan Spiegel led the team with 308 receiving yards last year and is back to try to improve on that. “We have good kids that play tough ball,” coach Loren Lintner said. “Team unity and a positive attitude will be some of our strengths this year. We want to put the kids in a position to win.” Lintner does not plan on implementing too many changes. “We will be running out of the I-formation and utilize the people in front of us,’’ Lintner said. The Underwood coach expects his team’s speed to be better this year. “We want to be very competitive in the district and take care of Underwood football,” Lintner said. “We are not wellseasoned, but we will play fast, be physical and try to finish.” Lintner cited Logan-Magnolia, Griswold and A-H-S-T as district contenders. “Everybody wants to go to the playoffs,” Lintner added. “We will take it one game at a time and hopefully come together and play as a team.”

WEST HARRISON Coach: Craig Birdsall, 4th year Class, district: Eight-Man, District 7 2011 record: 2-8 (combined with Missouri Valley last season) Key returners: Seniors: Jeff Brown,LB; Bobby Prucha, LB; Lyle Nichols, DB; Jake Moore, OL. Juniors: Tyler Birdsall, WR; Jake Roden, RB. The Word: One year after combining with Missouri Valley to form a Class 2-A program, West Harrison will go back on its own in 2012, playing the Eight-Man game. Coach Craig Birdsall, who led the program two years ago when it was last

AREA/See Page 12F

Let’s Go,EAGLES ! Visit US today for all your financial needs!

Goodd luckk thiss year,

Call us today! 712-566-2244

From m alll yourr fans s att the

EAGLES!

U.M.B.A.. Hall

Adria, Emily, Kat, Hilaree

300 0 2nd d Ave.. Underwood,, IA A 51576

Forr Information/Reservations:

usbank.com

712-566-2222

Member FDIC

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

treynor ag supply, inc. 31001 Hwy. 92

487-3366

www.TreynorHealthAndFitness.com 104 West Main Street, Treynor

712-487-3005

“YOU CALL - WE HAUL!”

Rural Sanitation Services, Inc.

Today. Tomorrow. Together.

36498 Lombardy Rd., Oakland, IA 51560 402-250-4521 Roadside Serving Southwest IA Rural, Commercial, Garbage Pickup and Residential Garbage needs. $12/mo.

Treynor • (712) 487-3000 Macedonia • (712) 486-2424 HyVee Mall of the Bluffs (712) 323-2000 Member FDIC

Steve Chambers, Rick Saar, Jeri Schnepel

Midwest Insurance Associates, LLC Agri-Land Insurance Agency

712-487-3533 Treynor, Council Bluffs, Walnut and Clarinda

Let’s Go,

CARDS !

All sizes of dumpsters available. Disposal by week, month or as needed.

We take most insurance & discount cards.

2201 W. Broadway, Council Bluffs, IA

325-8676

www.MedicapCB.com

SPORTS

RIVERSIDE Coach: Justin Williams, 1st season Class, district: Class A, District 8 2011 record: 1-8 Key returners: Seniors: Ricky Williams, OT; Clay Harris, RB. Juniors: Travis Henningsen, QB; Michael Beertacini, WR; Conner Ranken, WR; Malachi Dillon, WR. The Word: In his first season as head coach, Justin Williams is looking

With the turnover in District 8 of Class 1-A, the Cardinals will have some new teams to face. “St. Albert, Tri-Center and Panorama all return solid teams,” Owens said. “We just need to improve from week to week and we’ll have a good chance to finish in the top four in our district.”

31616 Highway 92 Treynor, Iowa

712-487-3223 712-487-3982

FAX

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

FOOTBALL PREVIEW

10F Sunday, August 19, 2012

The Daily Nonpareil

IWCC to be tested with early battles

Lynx set for Thursday’s first game A.L./From Page 6F

IWCC/From Page 7F All-American linebacker Terrell Porter, who transferred from Grand Rapids, joins a defense that brings back starters Jordan Heiderman, Courtland Thomas and Devon Nash up front and Rashad Dunnigan in the secondary. “I think we’re as talented as we’ve ever been across the board,” Strohmeier said. “There are positions that we’re thin, and there are some positions where we have some unknowns. But with the talent level, I think we’re there.” Iowa Western is the preseason favorite in the MFC, which now features only five teams. As in the past, the winner and league runner-up will be invited to the Graphic Edge Bowl in Cedar Falls. The Reivers open the season, however, with their sights set a little bit higher. How the nonconference games play out will go a long way in determining their postseason fate. “Our goal is the national championship game,” Waters said. “To get to that, we’ve got to beat the best. We’re all excited for the challenge and glad Coach took the opportunity to play them.”

Kicking things off with ... Tucker Culjat Culjat was one out away from competing at the UNIDome, Wells Fargo Arena, Drake Stadium and Principal Park in his sophomore year. He had a team-high 868 rushing yards as the Falcons reached the Class 1-A title game last season.

Your brother, JD, said he used to trash talk to you to get you going. Whose job is that now? I don’t know who that is. He used to trash talk about basketball or baseball, saying, “This kid is going to do something,” or this or that. I don’t know. I have a lot of kids in my grade that show me some love. Hopefully, they’ll step up to it.

What are you most looking forward to heading into your junior season? What I’m most looking forward to is the seniors this year. I’ve grown up with them, and I’ve always had them by my side.

What do you think your best sport is? I don’t know. I’d guess I’d have to say it’s a tie between football and basketball. I grew up playing select basketball, and my dad has always taught me the right way to play my positions in football.

Of all that you did last year athletically, what was the most fun? The most fun was probably playing in the Dome. It was kind of a family thing with me, my brother and my dad all on the same team, trying to work to the same goal.

Are you going to miss playing Logan-Magnolia this year? Yeah, a little bit. It’s kind of a rivalry, and I’m going to miss playing them.You always get fired up for that game. What game are you most anticipating? This year, I’m looking forward to three games – Panorama, Tri-Center and Treynor. They’re some of the top schools in our district.

How long did it take to get over the championship game? I still haven’t gotten over it yet. It’s still there.

Stone

Porter

Iowa Western Coach: Scott Strohmeier, 4th year (23-8 at IWCC) 2011 Record: 9-2 (Won Graphic Edge Bowl) Returning Starters: Dallas Hinkhouse, Mike Smithburg, Cody Donnelly, Jake Waters, Aaron Wimberly, Andrew Stone, Jordan Heiderman, Courtland Thomas, Devon Nash, Rashad Dunnigan. Other Key Players: Deon Long, Don Jackson, Terrell Porter, Champ Lewis. The Word: The Reivers have been ranked among the nation’s elite for the past two seasons, and they’ll now get to prove their worth on the field. A strong nonconference schedule, which includes three long road trips to begin the season, gives IWCC the opportunity to boost its national credibility. The talent is there for this to be a special season. IWCC Schedule Aug. 25 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At APU Cole (Colo.), 2 p.m. Sept. 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .vs. New Mexico Military, 3 p.m. Sept. 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Trinity Valley (Texas), 3 p.m. Sept. 15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .DuPage (Ill.), 1 p.m. Sept. 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Georgia Military, 1 p.m. Oct. 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Arkansas Baptist, 1 p.m. Oct. 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At North Dakota SCS, 1 p.m. Oct. 20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Iowa Central, 2:30 p.m. Oct. 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Ellsworth, 2:30 p.m. Nov. 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .MFC Playoffs Nov. 10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .MFC Championship

The returning starter will be the focal point of A.L.’s offense, unlike Kammrad’s previous teams that have featured speedy tailbacks. The trio of Dylan Garner, Payton Hiffernan and Josh Ryan, who are expected to share time in the backfield, combined for only 12 varsity carries last year. Thompson struggled at times as a sophomore, hitting on only 36 percent of his passes and averaging only 12.9 yards per completion. But Kammrad said he’s shown improvement heading into the fall. “He understands a lot more of what we’re doing,” the coach said. “The hope is that the game has slowed down for him. He spent the whole offseason, this whole summer, getting a lot better than what he was. That’s key for us. “How he performs every Friday night is going to determine how well we do.” Thompson will play behind a line that returns three of its five starters. The Lynx also have two of their top four tacklers – Jake Whalen and Garner – back on defense. Safety Brandon Colpitts also returns. And he believes the fact that the nucleus of A.L.’s team has been together for a long time will pay off with a fifth straight trip to the postseason. “Truthfully, we’re a very confident team,” he said. “We’re not rebuilding, we’re reloading from last year. Honestly, I think we’ll probably be better than last year, just because we’re so comfortable with each other.”

St. Albert motivated to face new opponents in district play ST. ALBERT/From Page 3F Meyerring, who will also play at wide receiver on offense for the Falcons. “They’ll spend equal time on the field,” Kevin Culjat said. “We just don’t know what positions they’ll play.” Herr, a linebacker, was second on the team with 97 total tackles while safety Jimmy Hawk racked up 80. Both seniors are back on defense,

along with classmate Jake Lewis and junior Eric Johnson. “We’re going to hang our hats on defense,” Herr said. “Last year in the playoffs, that was our biggest thing. It’s going to start there this year. You’ve got to have a strong defense.” After dominating its district in recent years, St. Albert is headed into the unknown with the changes in its schedule. Gone are rivals Logan-Mag-

nolia, Underwood and Griswold, which have moved down to Class A. Panorama, West Central Valley, Nodaway Valley and Missouri Valley have been added to the district. “We don’t know a lot about the other teams,” Hawk said. “We’re going to have to focus. It’s more of a variety, and kind of fun, going into games that you don’t know a whole lot about.” Lewis said the Falcons are going to

need to stay focused if they want to make another deep run in the playoffs. After last year’s loss to Saint Ansgar, he knows that won’t be any problem. “We’re definitely going to be motivated,” he said. “We know what it’s like to almost be there. It’s definitely going to motivate us.” The Falcons, who open with nondistrict games with Griswold and 3-A

HAWKEYE / NEBRASKA SIDING, W & DOOR,, INC. WINDOW

Office: 328-5008 Cell: 250-9099

Since

1990 Mary Morrow (Jim 2007) Dan Koch 402-630-0852 Jeff Henderson 402-740-2008 G

535 W. Broadway Council Bluffs, IA 51503 PH: 712-325-0445 www.heartlandproperties.com

www.allergyasthmaimm.com

1530 Avenue N Council Bluffs, IA 51501 NE (402) 344-2376 IA (712) 323-5126 www.hawkeyenebraska.com hnsiding@yahoo.com

Our family is proud to serve your family in its time of need.

Let’s Go, FALCONS !

G

G

(402) 391-1800

(712) 328-1144

121 S. 7th St., Co. Bluffs, IA 51501

We take most insurance & discount cards.

2201 W. Broadway, Council Bluffs, IA

325-8676

NAT-36260-1

2917 W. Broadway Council Bluffs, IA 51501

(712) 323-6822

Highway 92, C.B. 712-366-2581 www.leachcamper.com

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

Sports Clothing, Accessories, Licensed Products We Do Custom Orders!

712-322-8833

ELECTRIC, INC. 5675 McPherson Avenue Council Bluffs, IA 51503

INSURANCE

Agency, Inc.

All Types of Insurance

712-328-3975

712-328-1823

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

37 South Main Council Bluffs, IA 51503

Campbell

127 Pearl St. Council Bluffs, IA

!

(712) 322-0922

712-322-4590

Our hometown service for our customers separates us from the rest!

FANS

PRINTING

ABC

www.MedicapCB.com

SPORTS

A Plus

Located in the Mall of the Bluffs Council Bluffs, Iowa

PEOPLES HARDWARE

Lewis Central, will again be among the favorites in 1-A. Coach Culjat said St. Albert will have to ready its younger players for starting roles and avoid injuries during the regular season if it hopes to make another trip to the UNI-Dome in November. “That’s the key – to get to the playoffs and be healthy when you get there,” he said.

103 North Ave., Council Bluffs, IA

The 17th Annual

St. Albert Alumni & Friends

GOLF TOURNAMENT Sunday, September 30th at 1:00pm at Council Bluffs Country Club

T.J. PATTERMANN ATTORNEY

AT

LAW

35 Main Place, Ste. 300 Co. Bluffs, IA 51502

(712) 328-1833 Fax: 712-328-8320 tjpattermann@smithpeterson.com

It will be a 4 person scramble. Hole & Program Sponsorships are available for only $100.

Architectural Specialty Products for General Contractors

STEVE & JOANN EPPERSON

(712) 322-0308

1159 E. Pierce St., Co. Bluffs, IA 51503

This is truly one of the best golf values around. A new driver, wedge and putter as well as many other great items will be raffled. A dozen Pro V1 golf balls will be awarded for each of our flag prize winners and cash will be given for our flight winners. Free yellow roses will also be available to take home to that special someone!

If you're interested in playing or being a sponsor, please call Charlie Narmi at 402-399-6316 or email him at charles.narmi@cox.net Grab some friends and come on out and take a swing at knocking off our defending champs: The Father Mike Berner Group ~ Class of 1978

712-388-4495

FOOTBALL PREVIEW

The Daily Nonpareil

Saturday, Aug. 18 Twin Cedars at Essex Thursday, Aug. 23 Abraham Lincoln at Lewis Central Friday, Aug. 24 Des Moines North at Thomas Jefferson St. Albert at Griswold Heartland Christian at Glidden-Ralston Clarinda at Atlantic Riverside at Audubon EHK-Exira at Boyer Valley Ar-We-Va at Coon Rapids-Bayard Chariton at Creston Shenandoah at East Mills Lenox at Essex Corning at Fremont-Mills Denison-Schleswig at Harlan OA-BCIG at IKM-Manning Carroll at Carroll Kuemper Logan-Magnolia at Missouri Valley Glenwood at Red Oak Nishnabotna at Sidney Villisca at Stanton A-H-S-T at Tri-Center Treynor at Underwood West Harrison at Woodbine Friday, Aug. 31 Lewis Central at St. Albert Harlan at Abraham Lincoln Thomas Jefferson at Glenwood Coon Rapids-Bayard at Heartland Christian Audubon at A-H-S-T River Valley at Ar-We-Va Nishnabotna at CAM Atlantic at Carroll West Harrison at Charter Oak-Ute Creston at Clarinda East Mills at Clarinda Academy Essex at Corning Carroll Kuemper at Denison-Schleswig Woodbine at EHK-Exira Boyer Valley at Glidden-Ralston Stanton at Lenox IKM-Manning at Logan-Magnolia Griswold at Nodaway Valley Shenandoah at Riverside Red Oak at Treynor Underwood at Tri-Center Sidney at Villisca Missouri Valley at West Monona Fremont-Mills at Whiting Friday, Sept. 7 Abraham Lincoln at Thomas Jefferson Panorama at St. Albert Lewis Central at Indianola Heartland Christian at Essex Westwood at A-H-S-T Charter Oak-Ute at Ar-We-Va Creston at Atlantic Madrid at Audubon Coon Rapids-Bayard at Boyer Valley Fremont-Mills at CAM Carroll at Denison-Schleswig Riverside at East Mills ADM at Glenwood Perry at Harlan Tri-Center at IKM-Manning Clarinda Academy at Carroll Kuemper Nodaway Valley at Missouri Valley Clarinda at Mount Ayr Villisca at Nishnabotna OA-BCIG at Red Oak Greene County at Shenandoah Lenox at Sidney Corning at Stanton Griswold at Underwood Treynor at West Central Valley EHK-Exira at West Harrison

Logan-Magnolia at West Monona Glidden-Ralston at Woodbine Friday, Sept. 14 Atlantic at Lewis Central St. Albert at West Central Valley Thomas Jefferson at Des Moines Hoover Sioux City North at Abraham Lincoln Ar-We-Va at Heartland Christian Harlan at Carroll Clarinda at Clarinda Academy Woodbine at Coon Rapids-Bayard Sidney at Corning ADM at Creston Charter Oak-Ute at EHK-Exira Essex at Fremont-Mills West Harrison at Glidden-Ralston Red Oak at Greene County A-H-S-T at Griswold Nishnabotna at Lenox Riverside at Logan-Magnolia IKM-Manning at Manson Northwest Webster Missouri Valley at Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto Shenandoah at OA-BCIG Glenwood at Perry Carroll Kuemper at South Central Calhoun Boyer Valley at Stanton Denison-Schleswig at Storm Lake Tri-Center at Treynor West Monona at Underwood CAM at Villisca East Mills at Westwood Audubon at Woodward-Granger Thursday, Sept. 20 Abraham Lincoln at Sioux City West Friday, Sept. 21 St. Albert at Tri-Center Sioux City East at Thomas Jefferson Lewis Central at ADM Heartland Christian at Charter Oak-Ute West Monona at A-H-S-T Audubon at Bedford Ar-We-Va at Boyer Valley OA-BCIG at Clarinda Atlantic at Denison-Schleswig Logan-Magnolia at East Mills CAM at Essex Stanton at Fremont-Mills Westwood at Griswold Glenwood at Harlan Sioux Central at IKM-Manning Greene County at Carroll Kuemper Panorama at Missouri Valley Corning at Nishnabotna Creston at Perry Clarinda Academy at Red Oak Underwood at Riverside Treynor at Shenandoah Lenox at Villisca Coon Rapids-Bayard at West Harrison Sidney at Woodbine Friday, Sept. 28 Des Moines East at Abraham Lincoln Thomas Jefferson at Des Moines Lincoln Treynor at St. Albert Perry at Lewis Central Heartland Christian at Boyer Valley Woodbine at Ar-We-Va ADM at Atlantic Guthrie Center at Audubon Red Oak at Clarinda Villisca at Corning Harlan at Creston Le Mars at Denison-Schleswig Sergeant Bluff-Luton at Glenwood Charter Oak-Ute at Glidden-Ralston Westwood at Logan-Magnolia Tri-Center at Nodaway Valley Clarinda Academy at OA-BCIG A-H-S-T at Riverside Carroll Kuemper at Shenandoah Fremont-Mills at Sidney IKM-Manning at Ft. Dodge St. Edmond

Veterans will lead Bobcats ISD/From Page 8F wraps up against Lewis Central’s reserve team at the Titans’ newly renovated facility just a short walk across Wabash Ave. If nothing else, players’ knowledge of their system will allow the Bobcats to open up the playbook more on both sides of the ball. They hope it helps offset the loss of standout running back and middle linebacker Okola Esbeck, whose eligibility expired. Ideally, that extra experience will also translate into a winning season on the gridiron. “I just think we’ll be that much more experienced,” Murray said. “You have five seniors out of the starting eight; if they play like seniors, we should be okay.”

Essex at Stanton East Mills at Underwood Missouri Valley at West Central Valley Nishnabotna at West Harrison Griswold at West Monona Friday, Oct. 5 Lewis Central at Harlan St. Albert at Red Oak Indianola at Thomas Jefferson Abraham Lincoln at Des Moines Roosevelt Heartland Christian at Woodbine East Mills at A-H-S-T West Harrison at Ar-We-Va Stanton at CAM Boyer Valley at Charter Oak-Ute Shenandoah at Clarinda Academy Villisca at EHK-Exira Sidney at Essex Nishnabotna at Fremont-Mills Creston at Glenwood Clarinda at Greene County Riverside at Griswold IKM-Manning at Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto Tri-Center at Missouri Valley Carroll Kuemper at OA-BCIG Atlantic at Perry Denison-Schleswig at Spencer Nodaway Valley at Treynor Logan-Magnolia at Underwood Audubon at Woodward Academy

HC/From Page 8F Heartland’s other transfer will be its new quarterback and a captain. Sophomore Steven Horan comes on after playing at the freshman level for Omaha North last season. Three more seniors will also figure in prominently in two-way linemen Cody Colter, Nic Bazer and Chase Porter. Sophomore Seth Owens (linebacker) is another notable on the roster, which numbers 14. The Eagles had 12-15 players out last year. “I can’t really explain why their attitudes have changed, but my five seniors are all great leaders,” Struck said. “It helps with the talent we’ve added, but the attitude is different. We’re excited to play football and see what we can do.” The Eagles played their first-ever home varsity game in their season opener Friday against Ankeny Christian at Iowa School for the Deaf. Their three remaining home contests will also be at 3:45 p.m. at ISD because the field does not have lights. District 7 play begins for the Eagles on Aug. 24 at Glidden-Ralston, which went 9-2 last year. Fellow district members went 35-34 overall. Nichols marvels at the whirlwind that was the last 12 months. It seems so recent that Heartland employed a run-heavy offense against JV clubs. Now the team is installing a more balanced system and will play varsity foes Coon Rapids-Bayard, Ar-We-Va and Exira-EHK in front of its own fans. Not coincidentally, the Eagles are getting support from the school and community like never before. “The attitude has changed so much on this team, it’s ridiculous,” Nichols said. “Last year nobody would show up, nobody really cared. This year everybody’s always excited and ready to be here with everything.” The work began with crowded weightlifting sessions in the offseason, and a competitive showing at a summer camp at Waldorf College. Players also worked concessions at the College World Series and U.S. Olympic Swim Trials in Omaha to raise money for better uniforms and equipment.

Friday, Oct. 12 Waukee at Abraham Lincoln Glenwood at Lewis Central Nodaway Valley at St. Albert Thomas Jefferson at WDM Valley Heartland Christian at West Harrison Harlan at Atlantic Woodbine at Boyer Valley Coon Rapids-Bayard at Charter Oak-Ute Greene County at Clarinda Academy Sioux City Heelan at Denison-Schleswig Griswold at East Mills Ar-We-Va at EHK-Exira Pocahontas Area at IKM-Manning Red Oak at Carroll Kuemper A-H-S-T at Logan-Magnolia Audubon at Martensdale-St. Marys Essex at Nishnabotna Clarinda at Shenandoah Sidney at Stanton Missouri Valley at Treynor Panorama at Tri-Center Fremont-Mills at Villisca Riverside at West Monona Underwood at Westwood Creston at Winterset Friday, Oct. 19 Urbandale at Thomas Jefferson Lewis Central at Creston St. Albert at Missouri Valley Abraham Lincoln at Southeast Polk EHK-Exira at Heartland Christian Underwood at A-H-S-T Glidden-Ralston at Ar-We-Va Glenwood at Atlantic Earlham at Audubon Carroll Kuemper at Clarinda Villisca at Essex Logan-Magnolia at Griswold ADM at Harlan Ridge View at IKM-Manning Fremont-Mills at Lenox Stanton at Nishnabotna Clarinda Academy at Nodaway Valley Treynor at Panorama Shenandoah at Red Oak Westwood at Riverside Denison-Schleswig at Sergeant Bluff-Luton CAM at Sidney Tri-Center at West Central Valley Boyer Valley at West Harrison East Mills at West Monona Charter Oak-Ute at Woodbine

Claar

along a line that features enough depth this season that starters may not have to play both ways, which has also made practices competitive. “We’ve never really had that before,” Neaman said. “Our first-string offensive line was going against the sophomore team. It helps the offensive line prepare for the varsity level and the defensive line prepare for the varsity level. We’re getting better both ways.”

Heartland Christian

Heartland Christian Schedule Aug. 17 . . . . . . . .Ankeny Christian Academy, 3:45 p.m. Aug. 24 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Glidden-Ralston, 7 p.m. Aug. 31 . . . . . . . . . . . . .Coon Rapids-Bayard, 3:45 p.m. Sept. 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Essex, 7 p.m. Sept. 14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Ar-We-Va, 3:45 p.m. Sept. 21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Charter Oak-Ute, 7 p.m. Sept. 28 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Boyer Valley, 7 p.m. Oct. 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Woodbine, 7 p.m. Oct. 12 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At West Harrison, 7 p.m. Oct. 19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Exira-EHK, 3:45 p.m.

Anything to help as Heartland Christian begins a new era of football. “We’re trying to do all the little things right and then we’ll see what happens,” Struck said. “We play to win, but our goal is to have fun and see what we can do this first season and see how good we can be.”

Let’s Go, RAMS !

Iowa School for the Deaf Coach: Mark Murray 2011 Record: 4-4 Key Players: Seniors: Brendan Booth, TE/LB; DeMarcus Thomas, RB/S; Jacob Bradley, OG/DE; Vince Fox, C; John Isaacson, FB/DT. Juniors: D.J. Meyer, QB/LB; Curtis Dobias, RB; Elias Perez, TE/K/C. Sophomore: Brandon Dunlap, OG/DL. The Word: Seven starters return for the Bobcats this fall after two straight years of heavy roster turnover. Despite losing offensive spark Okola Esbeck, junior quarterback D.J. Meyer has plenty of weapons to choose from and an experienced front line to keep him upright. Just how many wins come from the extra experience remains to be seen, but any improvement on last season’s .500 mark would be a welcome start.

Glenwood Glenwood State Bank State Bank Your Grandfather’s Bank.

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

Iowa Deaf Schedule Aug. 27 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Fremont-Mills JV, 6 p.m. Sept. 8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Arkansas Deaf, 1:45 p.m. Sept. 13 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Kansas Deaf, 5 p.m. Sept. 22 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Minnesota Deaf, 1:45 p.m. Sept. 29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Wisconsin Deaf, 1:45 p.m. Oct. 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .Oklahoma Deaf (HC), 1:45 p.m. Oct. 11 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .At Missouri Deaf, 11 a.m. Oct. 18 . . . . . . . . . . . .At Lewis Central reserves, 6 p.m.

T.J. also has talent at the skill positions. In addition to Wilson, running back Michael White returns, as do receivers Mike Speight and Jakahi Gregory. But Puev believes it’ll be up to the Jacket defense to carry the team during the nondivisional portion of the schedule. Wilson, who also led T.J. with 89 tackles – 40 more than the next highest total on the team – last season, said it is up to the players to be ready. “This is the last shot,” he said. “We’ve got one more.”

Lewis Central sets high goals for 2012 L.C./From Page 4F defense for L.C., hence the lofty goals. “We want something to shoot for,” Jenkins said. “We don’t want to just make it to the playoffs. We want to make it all the way to the Dome.”

Marshall

Coach: Shawn Struck, 1st year 2011 Record: 1-8 (0-3 against varsity teams) Returning Starters: Seniors: Nic Bazer, RT/DT; Cody Colter, C/DE; Christian Marshall, FB/LB; Zach Nichols, RB/S; Chase Porter, LG/DL. Sophomores: Gabe Claar, TE/S; Seth Owens, LB. Other Key Players: Junior: Devin Kopera, WR/LB. Sophomore: Steven Horan QB/LB. The Word: A full varsity season has finally arrived for Heartland Christian. The small Eight-Man team faces a big task within a tough District 7, but enters the fall with renewed enthusiasm after a frustrating season last year. Sophomore transfer Steven Horan will take over at quarterback and direct a balanced offense with more experienced players than the Eagles have had in recent memory. Still, victories will likely come at a premium in their true varsity debut.

Father’s Bank. YourYour grandfather’s Bank. Your Bank. Your Father’s Bank.

Your Bank.

527-3157

527-3157

FDIC Insured 32 N. Walnut Glenwood, Iowa

NonpareilOnline.com

Offices in

Mineola & Pacific Junction FDIC Insured Offices in Mineola & Pacific Junction

www.glenwoodstatebank.com

Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

www.glenwoodstatebank.com

T.J. seniors ready for their ‘last shot’ T.J./From Page 5F

11F

HC’s Eagles ready to take flight for first time

SWI WEEKLY SCHEDULE Friday, Aug. 17 Ankeny Christian at Heartland Christian Clarke at Clarinda Academy

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Coach Duggan said how the Titans start the season may indicate how things are going to go. “If you don’t have a little confidence or you don’t have a little swagger, sometimes that can hurt you,” he said. “We’ve got to find some success early and hang our hat on that.”

NIEMANN

REAL ESTATE

Let’s Go,

131 N. Elm, Avoca

VIKINGS !

343-6316

Home - Auto - Commercial - Farm - Crop - Life “Protecting Your Future”

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

Nelson’s Mini Mart

Shell Gas & Complete Convenience

STORE INCLUDES DELI 904 N. Walnut, Avoca 712-343-2550

Dave Robinson

LANDMARK INSURANCE AGENCY Shelby County State Bank

544-2628

FOOTBALL PREVIEW

12F Sunday, August 19, 2012

Area squads set for fall season AREA/From Page 9F on its own, said the transition from the 11-man game to 8-man will be the key to his team’s season. “We need to learn and play that way at game speed for the first time,” Birdsall said. “We are not real big, but we have a lot of team speed at our skill positions, which will help us.” Junior Tyler Birdsall was the leading receiver for Missouri Valley last year but will take over at quarterback for the Hawkeyes. Junior Jake Roden was the leading rusher for Roden the Big Reds and returns this fall to play for West Harrison. The Hawkeyes also return five others with starting experience: seniors Jeff Brown, Bobby Prucha, Lyle Nichols, Colton Loomis and Jake Moore. Birdsall also mentioned freshmen Trenton Haldstrom, Dalton Pospisal and Gavin Armstrong, along with sophomores Seth Milikan and Dustin Peasley and junior Adrial King. Birdsall said he looks to Exira/EH-K

and Glidden-Ralston to be the toughest teams in District 7. “I feel like we can be in the hunt with Boyer Valley and Woodbine after that,” Birdsall said. “We haven’t had a winning season in a long time and I feel like we have the potential to get one and make the playoffs by finishing in the top four in our district.”

WOODBINE Coach: Jason Strong, 7th year Class, district: Eight-Man, District 7 2011 record: 3-7 (lost to FremontMills 62-22 in first round of Eight-Man playoffs) Key Returners: Seniors: Sam Powers, QB; Kyle Kuhlman, RB/LB; Matt Monahan, OL/LB; Josh Metusik, WR/LB; Mason Mentink, TE/LB; Darin Peterson, OL/DL; Jameson Delaney, WR. The Word: Woodbine has had some success over the last four years, and would like to continue to build off that success in 2012. “We’ve made the playoffs three out of the last four years,” coach Jason Strong said. “We haven’t gotten past the first round, but we have quite a bit of experience and are looking to build on that and make a run.” The Tigers will be led by a deep senior class, including Sam Powers at

quarterback and Kyle Kuhlman at running back and linebacker. Strong wants to focus more on the option on offense and has put in a new 3-4 base defense. He feels his team’s experience will help with the transition. He is also hoping that having senior leadership will help keep the team mentally focused throughout the season, since that has been an issue in year’s past. Powers Strong is looking for some younger kids to step up and fill in the backup roles to add some depth to the roster. The Woodbine coach likes his team’s chances to be competitive in District Seven of the Eight-Man class. The Tigers will be tested early with Glidden-Ralston and Exira/Elk Horn-Kimballton in the first half of the season. “If we can stay healthy this year,” Strong said, “we can accomplish quite a bit as a team and make some noise in the playoffs.” — By Matt Gubbels, DeAnn Fritsch and Spencer Fritsch

Let’s Go, PANTHERS! LH

Loftus Heating, Inc.

SPORTS You can view exclusive local sports photos at

Your Satisfaction is Our Guarantee!

Logan, Iowa (712) 644-3260

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

MINDEN MEATT MARKET

Hodgess Smokehousee Catering • CATERING • RETAIL/CUSTOM PROCESSING • SIDES • QUARTERS • DEER PROCESSING CHECKK OUTT OURR AWARDD WINNINGG MEATS: Dried Beef Jerky - Smoked Turkey - Center Cut Pork Loins Ham - Ring Bolonga - Cottage and Canadian Bacon - Bacon Jefff Hodgess 712-483-2836 6

!

FANS

Heating A/C IAQ Comm. Refrigeration

Let’s Go,TROJANS !

2012 PLAYOFF SCHEDULE First Round – All Classes Wednesday, Oct. 24 7 p.m. kickoff Second Round – All Classes Monday, Oct. 29 7 p.m. kickoff Quarterfinals – All Classes Friday, Nov. 2 7 p.m. kickoff Semifinals (UNI-Dome) Thursday, Nov. 8 Eight-Man – 9:06 a.m. Eight-Man – 12:06 p.m. Class 3-A – 5:36 p.m. Class 3-A – 8:21 p.m. Friday, Nov. 9 Class A – 10:06 a.m. Class A – 1:06 p.m. Class 4-A – 4:06 p.m. Class 4-A – 7:06 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 10 Class 1-A – 10:06 a.m. Class 1-A – 1:06 p.m. Class 2-A – 4:06 p.m. Class 2-A – 7:06 p.m. Championships (UNI-Dome) Thursday, Nov. 15 Eight-Man – 10:06 a.m. Class A – 1:36 p.m. Class 3-A – 7:06 p.m. Friday, Nov. 16 Class 1-A – 11:06 a.m. Class 2-A – 2:06 p.m. Class 4-A – 7:06 p.m.

The Daily Nonpareil

Boxx 25,, Minden,, Iowa 1-800-272-3529

SPORTS

!

FANS

You can view exclusive local sports photos at

NonpareilOnline.com Buy framed photos or put your photo on a mousepad, t-shirt, mug and much more!

FARMERS & MERCHANTSS STATE BANKK FDIC • Minden • Neola 2nd & Bdwy. 300 Front St.

483-2611

485-2245

We’re Experts in These Parts For serious athletes to weekend warriors, GIKK Ortho Specialists can provide care for any sports injury from simple sprains and strains to the most complex injuries. Our team of sub-specialized physicians has the training and expertise to get athletes back to the activities they love quickly and safely.

Caring for what moves you.

Foot & Ankle | Hand & Wrist | Hip & Knee | Shoulder & Elbow | Sports Medicine

Walk-in Sports Injury Clinic – Lakeside Office Monday to Friday: 8 am - 5 pm | Friday Night FREE Clinic (Aug-Oct): 9 – 11 pm

Sports Coordinator: 402-253-7709 | www.GIKKsports.com


2012 Football Preview