Issuu on Google+

FUTURE SUCCESS OF OUR CHILDREN IS

THE

TOO IMPORTANT TO BE LEFT TO

CHANCE. WITH

JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT

SUCCESS... BY BUILDING KIDS REALIZE

ENTREPRENEURIAL AND

WORK-READINESS SKILLS.

2 March 14, 2011 Junior Achievement

www.herald-review.com

A Message From the President A publication of the Herald & Review 601 E. William St. Decatur, Illinois 62523 217.421.6983 Fax: 217.421.7965 PUBLISHER

Todd Nelson EDITOR

Gary Sawyer SPECIAL PROJECTS EDITOR

Ralf Pansch ADVERTISING DIRECTOR

Joel Fletcher LAYOUT & DESIGN

Kim Halusan The entire contents may not be reproduced in any manner, either in whole or part, without permission of the publisher. Advertisements are not endorsements by the publisher. The publisher is not responsible or liable for errors or omissions in any advertisement beyond the paid price of that advertisement.

To advertise or questions regarding advertising: 217.421.6920 © 2010 by Lee Enterprises, Incorporated Any editorial content or advertising published is the property of Lee Enterprises, Incorporated The Herald & Review is published daily at 601 E. William St. by Lee Publications, Inc., a subsidiary of Lee Enterprises.

Americans have a tradition of stepping up. We thrive on action, energy and enterprise. When someone is in need, we don’t sit back and cross our fingers, hoping that the situation will improve—we create solutions. Right now, it is Jill Applebee our own young people who are in need. Our children’s future in the increasingly competitive 21st-century global workplace is in peril. American high school graduates’ overall preparation for entry-level jobs is

unequivocally deficient, according to 42-percent of employers polled in The Conference Board’s workreadiness survey. The scope of very important skills listed as deficient is shocking; it includes written and oral communication, problemsolving, teamwork, ethics and reading comprehension. Junior Achievement answers our children’s urgent need with a proven model. Through volunteer service with Junior Achievement, we have stepped up and made it possible for students to

participate in Junior Achievement’s relevant, hands-on programs. We are truly grateful. Now, we ask, if you have not had the opportunity to volunteer, you step up in a new role that carries on a positive impact on Junior Achievement program implementation. Junior Achievement serves 13 counties in the East Central Illinois Area. In 2009-2010 we served more than 7,000 students. Won’t you join us as we continue to invest in our future? Sincerely,

Jill Applebee President Junior Achievement of East Central Illinois

PARTICIPATING SCHOOLS CHAMPAIGN COUNTY Barkstall Elementary School Bottenfield Elementary School Carrie Busey Elementary School Central High School Garden Hills Elementary School Lincoln Trail Elementary School Mahomet-Seymour High School Rantoul Township High School Robeson Elementary School Sangamon Elementary School St. Joseph-Ogden High School St. Matthew School Unity High School Urbana High School Westview Elementary School

CHRISTIAN COUNTY Morrisonville High School Taylorville High School South Fork High School

COLES COUNTY Charleston Middle School Mattoon Middle School Riddle Elementary School St. John’s Lutheran

DEWITT COUNTY Deland-Weldon Elementary School Deland-Weldon High School

MACON COUNTY Argenta-Oreana Elementary School Argenta-Oreana High School Baum Elementary School Ben Franklin Accelerated School Brush College Elementary School

Decatur Area Technical Academy Decatur Christian School Dennis Elementary School Durfee Magnet School Eisenhower High School Enterprise Elementary School French Academy Futures Unlimited Garfield Montessori Harris Elementary School Holy Family School Hope Academy Johns Jill Magnet Lutheran School Association MacArthur High School Maroa-Forsyth Grade School Maroa-Forsyth Intermediate School Maroa-Forsyth High School McGaughey Elementary School Meridian Intermediate School Meridian Primary School Meridian High School Mt. Zion Elementary School Mt. Zion High School Mt. Zion Intermediate School Muffley Elementary School Oak Grove Accelerated School Our Lady of Lourdes School Parsons Elementary School Robertson Charter School Sangamon Valley High School South Shores Elementary School St. Patrick School St. Teresa High School Stevenson Accelerated School Warrensburg-Latham Elementary School Warrensburg-Latham High School

MORGAN COUNTY Waverly Elementary School

MOULTRIE COUNTY Lovington High School Okaw Valley High School Sullivan Elementary School Sullivan Middle School

PIATT COUNTY Atwood-Hammond Elementary School Atwood-Hammond High School Bement Elementary School Bement High School Cerro Gordo Elementary School Cerro Gordo High School Lincoln Elementary School White Heath Elementary School

SANGAMON COUNTY Lanphier High School Lutheran High School Riverton High School Rochester High School Southeast High School Springfield High School St. John’s Lutheran School Williamsville High School

SHELBY COUNTY Cowden-Herrick High School Gregory Elementary School Main Street Elementary School Shelbyville High School Stewardson-Strasburg High School Windsor High School

Junior Achievement March 14, 2011 3

www.herald-review.com

Argenta-Oreana High School Audria Creamer

Taylor Hammond

Zach Rambo

Miles Kolby Meador

Dakota Alger

Ethan Johnson

Courtney O’Laughlin

Kelly McNeely

Spicerz

RPE Enterprise

Team 3

Team 4

Audria Creamer I am 18 years old and a senior at Argenta-Oreana High School. I am the daughter of Bob Creamer and Sherri Henderson. I went to the Life Skills Junior Achievement program two years ago. I plan on finishing my general studies at Richland Community College and then to complete my degree in accounting at Millikin University and get my CPA. After I graduate I want to work for a big company like ADM or Caterpillar. I do track and I’m the president of NHS and the vice president of student council and community service club.

Zach Rambo Hi, my name is Zach Rambo. I am a senior at Argenta-Oreana High School. I am very active in school; I play football, basketball, and baseball. I am also on student council and I am my class’s treasurer. Outside of school, I like to play sports competitively with my friends. I also enjoy just hanging out with friends and sleeping a lot like most other high school students. After graduation, I plan on going to Illinois College in Jacksonville. There I will probably play basketball and major in biology. After, I plan on going to medical school.

Dakota Alger I am 18 years old and a senior at Argenta-Oreana High School. As a hobby I build and program my lego robot. In addition, I am a magician. This year at I have been a computer intern at school. As a computer intern, I troubleshoot and repair the computers on the schools network. I am planning on going to Saint Louis University to major as a computer engineer. My goal there is to receive an excellent education to then be able to get a job in the computer engineering field. My parent’s names are Jodi and Dean Alger.

Courtney O’Laughlin I am the daughter of Mark and Taunia O’Laughlin, and I was born in Decatur. I am 17 years old and a senior at ArgentaOreana High School. I am in the student council and also in National Honor Society. This is my second year in cosmetology school, and I plan on finishing the school and getting my license at the end of summer. I then plan on attending Richland in the fall to get a business degree. After building up clients in local salons, I hope to one day open up my own salon.

Taylor Hammond I am 17 years old and currently a senior at Argenta-Oreana High School. I also attend Richland Community College half day. I am the proud daughter of Bob and Susie Hammond. I have an older brother, Trace Hammond, who attends the University of Illinois. I enjoy spending time with friends, family and anyone else who can make me laugh. After I graduate, I plan to attend Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville, where I will study nursing. Eventually, I want to have a degree in nurse anesthesia. I love my life and I am very excited for the future.

Miles Kolby Meador I am a 17-year-old senior at ArgentaOreana High School. Upon graduating, I hope to attend the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign to pursue a fouryear degree. I’m not sure yet what I would like to major in, but I am contemplating film school, acting, public speaking, international business, or becoming a pastor. Whatever I end up doing, I hope to become successful by working hard to overcome whatever challenges may come my way.

Junior Achievement Values • Belief in the boundless potential of young people

• Belief in the power of partnership and collaboration

• Commitment to the principles of market-based economics and entrepreneurship

• Conviction in the educational and motivational impact of relevant, hands-on learning

• Passion for what we do and honesty, integrity, and excellence in how we do it • Respect for the talents, creativity, perspectives, and backgrounds of all individuals

In the U.S., two out of three students either drop out of high school or graduate without the skills needed to succeed in college or in work. -Alliance for Excellent Education

Ethan Johnson I am a senior at Argenta-Oreana High School and live with my dad, Kyle Johnson, in Argenta. I have lived in Argenta for seven years. Before I lived in Argenta, I lived in Monticello with my mom, Celeste Gully. I play football and I do shot put and discus in the spring. I have been accepted to the University of Illinois at UrbanaChampaign to study political science and history. After that, I’m not sure of what I will be doing; I just know that I want to do what I studied in some way.

Kelly McNeely I am the daughter of Rick and Peggy McNeely. I am 18 years old and a senior at Argenta-Oreana High School. I have been on the dance team for three years and am currently the captain of the dance team, currently the yearbook committee, and have been working at McDonald’s for nearly two years. I am planning on moving to Edwardsville and attending Southern Illinois University this coming fall to get a masters degree in speech-language pathology. After that I hope to work in a school with young children or hearing impaired children.

JA Titan® Challenge JA Titan introduces critical economics and management decisions through an interactive simulation and seven required, volunteer-led sessions. JA Titan unites the class around the concepts of teamwork, critical thinking, and strategy development – and provides students with an opportunity to compete against others from around the world. Students learn to clarify personal goals, ethics, and working styles by using decision-making skills from a business-leadership perspective. Then apply concepts to a virtual simulation to understand how key business decisions affect a company’s bottom line.

4 March 14, 2011 Junior Achievement

www.herald-review.com

Decatur Christian School Christian Slifer

Alicia Calhoun

Brittany Harbarger

Olivia Tanzyus

Martin Bayless

Michelle DeBrun

Taylor Scott

Sarah Rasche

A/C Team

L&B Enterprise

M&M Inc.

Tee&Ess

Christian Slifer I’m 18 years old. I play soccer and baseball and am active in Boy Scouts. I am an Eagle Scout. I have won several academic awards in high school for math and science. This is my second year to compete in the Titan Challenge. I enjoy sports and watching games with friends. We constantly argue over which teams are better. I also enjoy watching Mythbusters and Spongebob. I plan to attend Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville.

Brittany Harbarger I am a senior in high school. I am 17 years old. I am part of the DCS varsity cheerleading squad and a member of the DCS soccer team. I will be attending Richland Community College to study art. Then, I plan to move to St. Louis to attend Steven’s Institute of Business and Art to major in interior design.

Martin Bayless My name is Martin Bayless. I am 17 years old. We live in Argenta and I am enrolled at Decatur Christian School. I have gone to Decatur Christian since first grade and I have enjoyed my time here. I hope to one day open a paintball shop somewhere in town but for now I’m taking life one step at a time.

Olivia Tanzyus I am Livia Tanzyus, my parents are Jon and Becky Tanzyus. I am a 17-year-old senior at Decatur Christian School. I am employed at Lagundola and enjoy working. I love driving my car and being independent. I have not yet decided on a career but I am interested in attending college in St. Louis. I am interested in Steven’s Institute of Art and Buisness. I bowl on Saturday’s and have done so since I was a very little girl. My grandpa, Harry Logan, is in the Bowling Hall of Fame. I’m looking forward to graduation and being on my own.

Michelle DeBrun My name is Michelle DeBrun. I reside in Decatur. I am the daughter of Mike and Carol DeBrun and am a 16-year-old junior at Decatur Christian School. I have attended DCS since kindergarten and plan to attend there until I graduate in 2012. I currently play volleyball, basketball, and soccer. I attended Entrepreneurship Class at DCS last year. We officially opened a business called the Blu Brew to serve students/staff at DCS. I am in our school choir, ‘Soul Purpose.’ We lead worship at our Wednesday chapels and also perform at local churches. I am an active member of Resurrection Life Church. My goal in life is to become a pediatrician and I hope to one day have my own practice. I will be attending Richland Community College for two years to earn my associates degree.

Taylor Scott I’m 16 years old and a junior at Decatur Christian School. The college I am planning on attending is Cornell University located in Ithaca, New York for East Asian languages, literature, and linguistics. I aspire to be an English teacher in South Korea or Japan. I also am very interested in art in general. I have won several scholarships already for my art. I want to possibly double major or minor in art. I also plan on joining a program in Cornell that allows me to travel free to my desired country. I plan to teach and to be a student aid with a 3.5 GPA.

Alicia Calhoun I am 17 years old and attend Decatur Christian School. I am the daughter of Tina Calhoun. I enjoy cheerleading and working at the Blu Brew Coffee Shop at school. I work at Taco bell in Mount Zion. After high school, I plan to attend Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville and major in pharmacology.

Sarah Rasche My name is Sarah Rasche and my parents are David and Lisa Rasche. I am 17 years old and a senior at Decatur Christian School. I am in the entrepreneurship class at my school, where we run the Blu Brew. I also participate in cheerleading for the Decatur Christian Warriors. I am not for sure what I am doing in the future but I’m thinking about cosmetology. I was born in Decatur and I grew up here.

Junior Achievement March 14, 2011 5

www.herald-review.com

Eisenhower High School

A Message From the Board Chair The current economic situation is confusing with high unemployment, mortgage foreclosures forcing families from their homes, and our state and federal governments drowning in a sea of debt. Our national debt is at an unprecedented $14 trillion and growing every day. That’s a 14 with twelve zeros behind it. These situations are difficult to comprehend as an adult, much less explaining it in an age-appropriate way to children. America must do a better job of educating students about effective money management, not only so they can avoid the financial pitfalls where so many adults have fallen, but because our school children will someday run our businesses, government, and financial institutions. How can young people obtain the financial fundamentals they so desperately need? Fortunately, there are organizations who are answering the call to educate and prepare the next generation of consumers with basic economic concepts. Junior Achievement is a non-profit organization that partners with business and education to deliver programs providing young people with solid, practical skills to confront the economic and

personal decisions of life. After participating in Junior Achievement programs, students recognize the important connections between education, career, salary and desired lifestyle. Bob Rubin I encourage businesses and individuals to generously support Junior Achievement, which reaches more than nine million k-12 students in the United States annually. During the 2009-2010 school year Junior Achievement of East Central Illinois reached 7,201 children. It is critical for our young people to learn effective money management skills so that American communities, and our economy, remain robust.

Sincerely,

Bob Rubin Archer Daniels Midland Company Junior Achievement of East Central Illinois Board Chair

Work Readiness l Entrepreneurship l Financial Literacy

Let their success be your inspiration! www.firstgiving.com/juniorachievementofeastcentralillinois

Shteria Allen

Shayteria Allen

Shteria Allen I am a senior at Eisenhower High School. My plans after High School are to move to Dallas and start at a two-year college. I want to get my associate’s degree in business management. After that I want to get my bachelor’s degree. My plan is to become a loan officer. My major goal is to graduate from high school and become successful. I believe that success is the key to every door. When you believe it, you can achieve it. Shayteria Allen I was born in Decatur at St. Mary’s Hospital. My parents’ names are Corletha Perry and George Allen. I am 17 years old and a senior at Eisenhower High School. I plan to attend a college in the fall after I move to Dallas. I want to study paralegal studies. I haven’t participated in the past, although I have heard a lot of things about it. I love to have a lot of fun, such as dancing, go carting, going to amusement parks and a lot of other activities. My goal in life is just to be successful.

6 March 14, 2011 Junior Achievement

www.herald-review.com

Lutheran School Association Morganne Criswell

Abby Malcom

Team Moab Morganne Criswell Morganne is 17 years old and a senior and the Lutheran School Association. She is originally from York, Penn. and moved to Illinois when she was 4 years old. She will be attending the University of Illinois in the fall of 2011 on an athletic scholarship and has not yet decided on a major. Morganne enjoys playing volleyball, listening to music, and spending time with her friends and family. She was named Macon County Volleyball Player of the Year three years in a row, selected as an Ameren Scholar Athlete, and was WAND athlete of the month in 2010. She is currently vice president of student government and secretary of National Honor Society. She is a Girl Scout and is working to receive her Gold award. Her goals are to play volleyball in foreign countries, and then proceed to go to the Olympics.

Abby Malcom Abby is 17 years old and a senior at the Lutheran School Association. She will be attending Western Illinois University in the fall of 2011. She was inducted in to National Honor Society during her junior year. Abby has been involved in student government during all four years of high school, drama club for three years, and was voted senior class president. She is interested in art, music, and spending time with her friends and family. Abby’s goal is to receive a PhD in Psychology.

Megan Woods

Emily Carter

Team Dangerous

Heidi Rigg

Lindsey Pierantoni

Team Awesome Possums

Marissa Weybright

Erica Rodes

Team Lee Way

Megan Woods

Heidi Rigg

Marissa Weybright

Megan is a senior at the Lutheran School Association. She takes dual credit courses at Richland Community College. She plans on attending the University of Missouri in the fall and majoring in business finance. In high school she has been involved in many extra curricular activities including volleyball, cheerleading, soccer, WYSE, yearbook, National Honor Society, Youth Leadership Institute, leadership council, scholastic bowl, and student government. Her future goals are to graduate from college, find a good job, and start a family.

Heidi is a junior at the Lutheran School Association. Over the years, Heidi has played many sports. As the years progressed, her sports load lessened and she now focuses on soccer. She plays soccer year round through both school and club teams. Heidi has been active in student government since her freshman year and was president of her freshman class. She participated in WYSE for two years. After graduating from high school she hopes to obtain her cosmetology license and a degree in business.

Marissa is 17 years old and a senior at the Lutheran School Association. She has attended LSA for 13 years. After she graduates she plans on attending Richland Community College for two years and then transfer to a four-year university. She has participated in student government, cheerleading, drama club, and leadership council throughout high school. She has been a Girl Scout since first grade. Marissa loves art and photography and plans on seeking a career that involves both. She hopes to do a lot of traveling in her life.

Emily Carter

Lindsey Pierantoni

Emily is a senior at the Lutheran School Association. She is a varsity cheerleader and volleyball player. Emily is a member of National Honor Society and the WYSE team. She earned a third place medal in sectionals for the WYSE team. She has received first place honors in the regional science fair and has presented her project at the state science fair. She plans on majoring in business marketing in college. Emily’s future plans are to become the head of a Fortune 500 Company.

Erica Rodes

Lindsey is senior at the Lutheran School Association. She has been involved in WYSE, soccer, volleyball, National Honor Society, leadership council, and student government. She was freshman class president and is currently president of student government. Lindsey is active in her church by helping with vacation bible school and teaching Sunday school.

Erica is a senior at the Lutheran School Association. She likes to dance, act, listen to music, watch movies, organize things, and hang out with her friends. She has been active in praise band and drama team for four years. Erica has also been the editor of the yearbook and involved with student government for the past two years. She is a member of National Honor Society. She is a greeter and a member of the altar guild at her church. Erica plans to go to Western Illinois University and major in accounting.

JA Process • Teachers request a JA volunteer to come in their classroom. • JA matches the classroom with a volunteer. • All materials are provided to the volunteer to share with the class. These materials include textbooks, study guides, lesson plans and activities. • Volunteers contact the teacher to schedule their class. • Classes range from five to eight visits lasting approximately 45 minutes, or one class period (this depends on the

grade level). • Community members, business people, parents, and college students serve as JA volunteers. Classes are fun hands-on activities that reinforce skills and knowledge of social studies, reading, writing, and math. • The goal is to bring economic and business theory to life. • All JA classes correspond to the Illinois state standards. • All classes are free to the school.

JA Counties Served Junior Achievement programs are open to all schools, public and private, in Cass, Champaign, Christian, Coles, DeWitt, Douglas, Macon, Menard, Morgan, Moultrie, Piatt, Sangamon and Shelby Counties.

Junior Achievement March 14, 2011 7

www.herald-review.com

MacArthur High School Carlin Menendez

Shaquille Perkins-Bailey

Sekou-Cabanas

Derekah Williams

Taylor Irons

Smart Chicks

Michael Coley

Travis Smith

Team Heat

Florresha Boyd

Brandi Jones

Team Light Skin

Carlin Menendez

Derekah Williams

Michael Coley

Florresha Boyd

I am 18 years old and a senior at MacArthur High School. I’ve competed in at least four business competitions in the last four years. Two major ones would be the IIEE young Entrepreneur Conference in Itasca and Camp CEO at Millikin University. My team won third-place in the Start-Up Business Competition at the IIEE conference. It was an exciting competition. It was exciting to see and meet all of my peers who were young aspiring entrepreneurs also. While I was at Camp CEO, the team I was on first-place and defeated five other teams. I will be graduating in May. After graduation, I will be going to the United States Marine Corps. I have already enlisted, and I am currently conditioning myself for my leave on August 8 to go to boot camp in San Diego, CA. I’d like to be stationed overseas and live with my girlfriend, soon to be fiancé/wife, Elizabeth Ann Erhardt. I plan on winning this competition. I am also pursuing going to college for business while I am enlisted in the Marines.

I am a senior at MacArthur High School. I am 17 years old, and I am the grandchild of Ben and Betty Rohr. I plan to attend Millikin University in the fall for social work, and prelaw. I am a National Merit commended scholar and a National Achievement finalist. I strive for the best in everything that I do. I am an extremely passionate person. Loyalty, honesty and respect are my main virtues in life. I attend New Publican Primitive Baptist Church, and I work at Pizza Hut. I love to read, write, and watch movies. I have a strong support group at MacArthur, including friends, teachers, and administrators that go above and beyond to help me and encourage me. I am currently involved in the Superintendent Youth Advisory Council and I am co-founder of MacArthur’s Peer Mentoring Program. My goal in life is to have a profound positive impact on at least one person’s life. I am a strong believer that no matter what situation that I am faced with, there is always a lesson to be learned.

In the fall I’ll be attending Lincoln Christian University and plan to double major in preaching and worship ministry. I plan to get a master’s degree in social work, at Concordia University Chicago. I have a compassion for people and love to see them prosper and do great works.

I’m 18 years old and a senior at Douglas MacArthur High School. As of now I am unsure of where I plan to attend college but I’m sure that I’m going to college. I am an only child, born to Flora Boyd. I am from Memphis, Tenn. I am a very active person. I serve as vice president of the Student Council, and am also involved with Girl Scouts, peer mentoring, SYAC, announcement clerk (local church), praise dance instructor (local church), teen court juror, truancy court juror, among other activities. My all-time goal is to become a sports psychologist. I love to give advice and I believe sports players are very stressed out and I would enjoy helping them.

Shaquille Perkins-Bailey My name is Shaquille Perkins-Bailey and I am 18 years old. I enjoy wrestling, football, and singing. I love sports and also enjoy writing poetry. I attend Douglas MacArthur High School (home of the Generals). I am looking to finish high school and earning a degree in criminal justice.

Taylor Irons Born in Decatur, I found that I enjoy helping people at an early age. I am 18 years old, the middle child in a family of three and my parents are Michael and Ricelle Irons. I am very active in my community: I have volunteered at my church, the Good Samaritan Inn, Decatur Memorial Hospital, teen court, and other organizations around the community. I plan on pursuing higher education at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville and majoring in nursing. I also plan to one day work at the St. Barnes Children’s Hospital. My main goal in life is to make a difference in world, either by helping the less fortunate, or volunteering my time to organizations that do the same thing.

Travis Smith I am a senior at MacArthur High School. I am going to college after I graduate. I want to major in journalism. I want to analyze and write about sports for my career. Next fall, I will be attending Southern Illinois University at Carbondale.

Brandi Jones I am an 18-year-old senior at MacArthur High School. I was born and raised in Decatur as were my parents James and Janie Jones. I plan to go on to college next year and major in pre-medicine. I am going to study internal medicine and go into the field of sports medicine. My dream job is to one day work with the National Football League.

8 March 14, 2011 Junior Achievement

www.herald-review.com

Meridian High School Allison Marie Mowry

Emily West

Caleb Brown

Evan Collins

Luke Etnier

Evan Comerford

Maxwell Fransen

Morgan Rae Mowry

Team 1

Team 2

Team 3

Team 4

Allison Marie Mowry

Caleb Brown

Luke Etnier

Maxwell Fransen

I am currently a senior at Meridian High School. I am a member of student council and Meridian’s SADD chapter. I work at Southside Country Club as well as Mancino’s. I have also operated my own bakery, Sugy’s Sweet Shop since I was 12 years old. I bake cakes for all occasions, including weddings. I am a captain of the Meridian’s women’s soccer team. I also attend Resurrection Life Church. In my free time I like to run, cook, read, and spend time with my sisters and little brother. After graduation, I plan on attending Richland Community College before entering ROTC for the Air Force.

I currently attend Meridian High School as a senior. I am active in my school by being president of student council and SADD and treasurer of National Honor Society. I enjoy playing varsity sports like basketball, baseball, golf, and bass fishing. My hobbies include playing guitar and flying my RC planes. My future plans are to attend school at Illinois College in the engineering field. I hope to one day become an architect.

I am a senior at Meridian High School. My hobbies consist of sports, xbox, playing in the WWBL (Wild Wood Basketball League), and living at the LaFrence’s house. In my four years I have participated in student council and three sports: golf for four years, soccer for one year, and baseball for four years. I currently have a 3.25 as my GPA and plan on playing college baseball somewhere. If I do not find a place to play at then I will attend Southern Illinois University in Carbondale. I want to major in something math related, possibly a high school math teacher and baseball coach.

I am a junior at Meridian High School. I have and continue to participate in plenty of extracurricular activities. Outside of school I have been involved with scouts for a long time. I was in Cub Scouts and earned the highest rank in that, the Arrow of Light. Following Cub Scouts I moved on to Boy Scouts where I have served in many leadership positions including my current position of senior patrol leader and crew leader on a hiking trek to New Mexico in the Sangre De Cristo mountain range. Last year during the summer I earned the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest rank attainable. I have also been an assistant senior patrol leader with the National Youth Leadership Training, the highest leadership training in scouts. I am also active in my church, delivering sermons at times when my pastor is not present. I have also been the chair of the nominating committee at my church. In school I have consistently been on honor roll and high honor roll. I have also lettered in football and track for two years each.

Emily West I am a senior at Meridian High School. Over the years I have participated in WYSE, FCCLA, drama club, SADD, and student council. I have been in the National Honor Society for two years and am president this year. I have been a class officer for four years and president for two. I have played soccer for four years and will hold the title of captain this year. In my spare time I enjoy reading, sleeping, and hanging out with friends. My future plans are to attend Bradley University and study accounting.

Evan Collins I am 18 years old and a senior at Meridian High School. During my four years at high school I have participated in many sports such as baseball, basketball, football, and golf. I am a member of the National Honor Society. After high school, I plan to attend Southern Illinois University at Carbondale. I am a part-time worker at Papa John’s in Decatur. I will major in television/radio broadcasting. In my free time I like to watch sports and hang out with friends. I love to watch the Cubs and Packers especially. Also in my free time I like to play NBA 2K11. My most visited Web site is Facebook.

Evan Comerford I’m currently a senior at Meridian High School. I plan on attending Southern Illinois at Carbondale in the fall. My hobbies include listening to music, playing sports, playing Tetris and expressing my talents in the WWBL (Wild Wood Basketball League). After school activities include golf, baseball and drama club. At Meridian I am the vice president of the student council and SADD, along with being a member of the National Honor Society.

Morgan Rae Mowry I’m 16 years old, and I’m a junior at Meridian High School. I enjoy painting, drawing, working on cars, and making fused glass in my free time. At school I participate in drama club and run as a distance runner for track. I work as a part time office assistant for a property owner and I also design and sell jewelry for all occasions. I received two $1,000 scholarships from Millikin for building a business plan in 2008 and in 2009, which encouraged me to want to own a business of my own someday. In the future, I plan to own a film production company or an auto body shop

Junior Achievement March 14, 2011 9

www.herald-review.com

Monticello High School Hannah Piester

Emily Smith

Hannah Piester I am currently a junior at Monticello High School. This year I am involved in student council and the business club executive board. In my spare time, I like to make jewelry, bake, and travel. Once I graduate from high school, I hope to go into hospitality management as an event coordinator. Emily Smith I am 16 years old and attend Monticello High School as a junior. I am very involved in extracurricular activities such as Rotary Interact, LifeSavers, FCA, and freshman mentoring. Next year I will be the secretary of Rotary Interact. Also, I run track and cross country. I am very dedicated to running and hope to continue it in college. I don’t know yet what college I want to go to, but I do know that I want to major in some type of medical field. Currently, I am the most interested in physical therapy.

Autumn Winder

Mitchell Miller

Autumn Winder N/A Mitchell Miller Currently I am a junior in high school. I play basketball and I am a member of the Monticello High school executive board. After high school I plan on going to college to get a business degree, and I plan on taking over Gallo-Miller paint and collision repair. My hobbies are basketball and other sports, I also like working with cars. The business field interests me because it gives you a lot of choices of what you to do and how you want to do it. Also it gives you good life experiences and teaches you good life skills in dealing with people on a day to day basis.

Nick Huisinga

Jojo Rhinehart

Nick Huisinga I am an 18-year-old senior that attends Monticello High School. I participate on the varsity golf and baseball teams. I am also involved in Spanish Club, Business Club and Pep Club. I work at the Monticello Pizza Hut as a shift manager/ delivery driver. Jojo Rhinehart This is the first JA program I have participated in, but it’s something I’m very excited about doing. I’m a 16-yearold attending Monticello High School, and I plan to carry my education on to college. I have yet to decide which college I want to attend, or even what I want to be. I love to write, make art, and help people out. I want to be my own boss and make the rules in my business, and I want to make a living off something I love. When I grow up I don’t just want to settle for some job, I want to make a career out of things I love. Although money is important, happiness is even more important to me.

Daly O’Brien

Leon Frickensmith

Daly O’Brien I am a Junior at Monticello High School and I participate in golf and basketball. I am also class president and secretary of the Student Council, and I am involved in the Business Club, Pep Club, and Spanish Club. In my spare time I enjoy playing piano and hanging out with my friends. I plan to major in Music at a four-year university after my graduation in 2012. Leon Frickensmith I was born December 22, 1993. I grew up in Monticello and have lived here for all my life. I have three siblings. One brother and two sisters, I am the eldest. I played soccer in middle-school and get decent grades. In my spare time I like to read, hang out with friends, and learn computer programming. In the future I hope to get a job affiliated with programming as I am skilled and proficient with it.

10 March 14, 2011 Junior Achievement

www.herald-review.com

Mount Zion High School Steven Finney

Kyle Burns

Jennifer Kappenman

Ashley Byers

Max Youngerman

Sloane Lynch

Dylan Graff

Chris Grimestad

Team 1

Team 2

Team 3

Team 4

Steven Finney Stephen Finney is an 18-year-old senior and has participated in two Junior Achievement programs in the past. He plans on attending Kendall College in Chicago next fall. His goals include obtaining a degree in culinary arts and, upon graduation, living in a tropical area while working at a resort or restaurant. Stephen’s interests include outdoor activities like fishing, boating, and four-wheeling.

Jennifer Kappenman Jennifer is a 17-year-old senior at Mount Zion High School. She plans on majoring in Chemistry with the intention of studying pharmacology. She is the president of SADD, AFS, International Club, and 4-H; she is on the State Student Advisory Board for SADD. Jennifer is also a member of the tennis team, National Honor Society, math team, WYSE team, student council, spanish club, and health occupations students of America. In addition to these, she is an Illinois State Scholar and works as a lifeguard during the summer.

Max Youngerman Max is a junior at Mount Zion High School. He is currently on several school clubs and teams such as Spanish Club, math team, Scholastic Bowl, WYSE team, physics club, and the varsity tennis team. He is considering attending the University of Chicago with a focus on chemistry or physics.

Dylan Graff Dylan is a 17-year-old senior at Mount Zion High School. He is active in basketball, football, and track. Dylan is also a member of Swingsations. He plans on going to the University of Illinois or Purdue University and major in chemical engineering. After graduations, Dylan wants to go on to medical school to become an interventional radiologist.

Kyle Burns Kyle Burns is a senior at Mount Zion High School. At last year’s competition, his team came in second place. He plans on attending Rockford College next year where he will major in nursing and play football.

Ashley Byers Ashley Byers is an 18-year-old senior at Mount Zion High School. She is a cocaptain for the tennis team, and the secretary of AFS. She is a member of FBLA, math team, National Honor Society, and is an Illinois State Scholar. During the summer, she works as a Decatur Park District park leader, teaches tennis, and is currently a hostess at Pastabilities Italian Grill. Ashley plans to attend either Illinois State University or North Central College this fall and wants to major in actuarial science.

Sloane Lynch Sloane is a senior at Mount Zion High School. She participates in volleyball and various clubs; Sloane is the president of FBLA and the vice president of French Club. She plans on attending law school after completion of her undergraduate degree. Outside of school, Sloane enjoys being a member of the Riverside Baptist youth group, and Macon County teen court, and spending time with her friends.

Chris Grimestad Chris Grimestad is a senior at Mount Zion High School. He is the captain of the drumline, president of Student Council, and a member of the track team. This fall, he was also the captain of the football team. This summer, Chris will march with the Pioneer Drum Corps and plans on attending Northwestern University to study chemical engineering.

JA Outside the Classroom Careers On Wheels Fourth graders are introduced to 13 different “Careers on Wheels”. The students learn what it takes to have that career. Life Skills High School Students get to live in the “real world”for a day. They are given a career, a salary and a family. Students must write checks for items they would need

(clothing, food, cars insurance, etc.). At the end of the day we see what their balance is. Titan Business Challenge Junior and senior students compete for college scholarships as a team of two. As a team they run a company and must make decisions about marketing, product sells, employs all in a virtual world.

JA Numbers During the 2009-2010 school year over 7,000 students were introduced to economic concepts and workplace skills in kindergarten through the 12th grade in over 400 classrooms.

Junior Achievement March 14, 2011 11

www.herald-review.com

St. Teresa High School Tiffany Couri

Amanda Newton

Katie Landry

Rebecca McCartan

Dylan Hawkins

Eric Hamilton

Andrew Stewart

Alex Teuth

STC

SysCon

TIC

CISC

Tiffany Couri I am a senior at St. Teresa High School. I have played softball for four years, and I am a member of our school’s Serviam club. I work at our family’s restaurant, LaGondola, with many of my friends. After graduation, I plan on attending the University of Illinois.

Katie Landry I am a senior at St. Teresa High School. I have been a member of our volleyball (fourth in the state) and basketball teams for four years. I plan on attending a collegiate school of business after graduation focusing on information systems.

Dylan Hawkins I am a junior at St. Teresa High School. I am on the football team and played baseball my freshman year. I plan to begin my college career while serving in the United States Marine Corps. I plan on going to school and majoring in business at Southern Mississippi University.

Andrew Stewart I am a junior at St. Teresa High School. I was on the Scholastic Bowl team for two years, and I have been on the soccer team my entire high school career. I plan on attending a collegiate school of business after graduation.

Amanda Newton I am a junior at St. Teresa High School. I am a member of my school’s Serviam club which throughout the year performs community service for those in need. I’m undecided about what university I will attend, but I would like to be a teacher.

Rebecca McCartan I am a senior at St. Teresa High School. I have been a cheerleader for all four years and member of the drama club for three. I plan on attending a collegiate school of business after graduation; however, I am still undecided about an exact major.

Eric Hamilton I am a junior at St. Teresa High School. I am on the basketball, baseball and golf teams. I have been a member of the Serviam club my entire high school career. After graduation I plan on going to Marquette University and major in business.

Alex Teuth I am a junior at St. Teresa High School. I have been involved in Serviam for three years here at St. Teresa. I am on the cross country, basketball, and track teams. After I graduate from St. Teresa, I would like attend Northwestern University and pursue a degree in engineering.

12 March 14, 2011 Junior Achievement

www.herald-review.com

Warrensburg-Latham High School Kristi Bodine

Dalton VanFleet

Ryan Albert

Eric Hollinden

Trevor Rigg

Thomas Pelikan

Team 1

Team 2

Team 3

Kristi Bodine My name is Kristi Bodine. I am a 17year-old junior at Warrensburg-Latham High School. My parents are Russ and Melody Bodine. I have one brother, Will Bodine, who is in 8th grade. I enjoy cheerleading and spending time with my friends and family. I plan to attend college in Illinois, but I am not sure where, yet. I hope to pursue a career in business or special education.

Ryan Albert I am a senior at Warrensburg-Latham High School. I am from Decatur, and my parents are Jay and Tracy Albert. I plan on going to Millikin University and getting a degree in accounting. I play basketball, baseball, and golf at my school. My interests are listening to music, hanging with my friends, and watching movies. When I get out of college, I plan on getting a job as an accountant.

Trevor Rigg I am 18 years old and a senior at Warrensburg-Latham High School. I am interested in sports and then outdoors. I have never participated in a Junior Achievement program. I am the son of Matt and Michelle Rigg and plan on attending Southern Illinois University Edwardsville in the fall. I am undecided as to my major, but I plan to leave with a higher education and a plan for a career and successful future.

Dalton VanFleet I am 17 and a senior at WarrensburgLatham High School. I plan on attending Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville to pursue a degree in business administration. I am originally from Decatur and am close with my dad, Danny, and my mom, Jodi. I love sports, especially playing football. I also like hanging out with my friends and working out with my dad.

Eric Hollinden My name is Eric Hollinden. I am a senior at Warrensburg-Latham High School. My parents are Max and Sheila Hollinden. This is my second year to participate in the Titan Challenge. Next year, I plan to attend either Purdue University or the University of Illinois and major in business, accounting, or marketing. After earning a business degree, I may attend medical school. At Warrensburg-Latham, I play baseball and golf. Sports are my main interest, whether playing or watching. My future goals are to finish high school as valedictorian and then begin college and be successful wherever I go.

Thomas Pelikan My name is Tom Pelikan, and I go to Warrensburg-Latham High School. I grew up in Berwyn, Illinois, but I moved to Latham in sixth grade. I am 17 years old, and I plan on joining the National Guard after high school. After that, I hope to go to the United States Military Academy, then to medical school to become a doctor. In my spare time, I like hanging out with my four brothers and with my friends.

JA Facts • The fastest growing age group for bankruptcy is 18-25. • The average score of a high school student on the National Financial Literacy Challenge in 2009 was a 52percent. • Elementary students who participate in JA possess more economic, personal finance and business knowledge than non JA students. • JA middle school students are more likely than students in general to believe they will continue further education after high school (78-percent vs. 61-percent). • High school students understand more about career planning, business and economic concepts after participating in JA programs.

The Competitive Challenge – Keeping America Great “The future U.S. workforce is here–and is woefully ill-prepared for the demands of today’s and tomorrow’s workplace.” This powerful and sobering statement is the opening line of a recent study of more than 400 U. S. employers conducted by The Conference Board, Corporate Voices for Working Families, Partnership for 21st Century Skills, and the Society for Human Resource Management. The study questions the ability of the United States to compete in a global economy based on the lack of academic skills as well as the ability to apply these skills and knowledge in the workplace. The need for America to be the

economic engine in the global marketplace is a loud and clear call to action. Junior Achievement USA, the new

national entity aligned with JA Worldwide®, is positioned to answer that call with a resounding and relevant response that will impact the lives of young Americans. JA currently provides economic education experiences to approximately 4 million elementary, middle, and high school students across our nation each year. JA’s volunteer-driven programs are memorable and measurable. They take education beyond the fundamentals of reading, writing, science, and mathematics. JA programs challenge

students to think about and use the fundamentals in practical, ethical ways by relating them to real life situations and applying them in engaging, handson, experiential learning activities. The outcome, which has been independently evaluated, is a positive impact. The organizational foundation for this impact is the leadership and governance provided by the volunteer board of directors. The role of board members is to provide strategic

Challenge continued

Junior Achievement March 14, 2011 13

www.herald-review.com

JUNIOR ACHIEVEMENT SPONSORS 2010-2011 (as of March 4, 2011)

$10,000-plus

$500 to $999

Anonymous Andreas Foundation Archer Daniels Midland Company

Buffalo Wild Wings Dunn Company

$5,000 to $9,999

Celeste Applegate Larry and Dhenna Altenbaumer Rosenberg Family Margaret Madden William Braun Decatur Earthmover Beck Family CEFCU

Horizon Hobby GE Caterpillar Grainger Champaign Rotary West Junior Welfare Rotary Club of Decatur

$1 to $499

$1,000 to $4,999 Henry M Staley Foundation Papa Johns Pizza Brinkoetter and Associates Decatur Memorial Hospital Golden K Vulcan Materials Eastern Illinois University State Bank of Bement

Thank You!

Challenge continued direction and to secure the resources and expertise needed to ensure success. Junior Achievement USA aspires to have a board composed of successful, experienced business and education leaders who are engaged and excited about positively affecting the lives of young people. They will be passionate advocates for JA’s purpose, providing both personal and organizational leadership and support. JA will relentlessly strive to make participation on the board a meaningful, fulfilling, and prestigious opportunity.

Junior Achievement teaches kids the business of life!

Members will be rewarded by being part of the organization recognized as the partner of choice for businesses, educators, and policy makers seeking to expand and improve workforce development. Board members will be respected and valued for providing experiences that promote the skills, understanding, and perspectives students will need to succeed in a global economy and, most importantly, retain America’s competitive advantage.

Order Papa John’s pizza and feed 16 hungry people for less than $4.50 a person!

Anytime you order pizza – for your family or friends – order Papa John’s pizza to support JA.

AVAILABLE ONLINE ONLY

AVAILABLE ONLINE ONLY

$8 goes to Junior Achievement with purchase of 4 Large 1-Topping Pizzas, 2 orders of Breadsticks and 4 2-Liters of Coca-Cola Products.

6999

$

Go to PapaJohns.com & Enter Promo Code T2094L

$2 goes to Junior Achievement with purchase of 2 Large 1-Topping Pizzas and 4 20oz. Bottles of Coca-Cola Products.

2399

$

Go to PapaJohns.com & Enter Promo Code T209

14 March 14, 2011 Junior Achievement

www.herald-review.com

THANK YOU TO OUR CONSULTANTS Agri-Fab, Inc. Emilie Beagle Jamie Crosier Martha Leonard Jake Wilson

Brinkoetter & Associates

Community Volunteer

Carla Brinkoetter Robin Jackson

Alpha & Omega Couriers, Inc.

Karen Luther Doris Mabry Barb McElroy Hank Norris

Rick Abernathy Debra Adkins Doug Bock Paul Dorsey Charlotte Hanks Tinley Hanks Carol Harding Pam Haycraft Joyce Hendrix Kim (Jennifer) Junghyun Melanie Michael Jane Miller Yvonne Olson Steve Rayner Judy Rice Leslie Sollman Dick Spycher Mary Kay Thompson Libby Trelz Kathie Vanderlaan

Lisa Pierce Amdocs Amanda Ressel

Ameren Tina Cunningham Harvey Neverman Stacey Young

Archer Daniels Midland Susan Bergen Mary Ann Boland Susan Clark Leslie Dingman Emily Dobbins Greg Dodson Tiffany Edwards Craig Fiorito Bernard Garrett Brandon George Deanna Hill Tonya Irwin Erin Jurgens Karissa Kusak Ryan McCoy Susie McGuire Jennifer Preston Janet Ray Michelle Robinson Bob Rubin Rhonda Russell Kathy Shanefeldt Blake Wells Chris Zora

Barbeck Communications

Busey Bank Erin McKee Heidi Ponder Melissa Randles Blake Wallace

Caterpillar, Inc. Erica Armstrong Dan Bozich Jared Busen Dave Calvert Timothy Clementz Michael Crist Allen Dixson Linda Grunden Melinda Hall Kevin Knight Mark Kuhn Ashley Littrell Tony Piraino Joan Schollmeier Amy Snow Max Winemiller Tonya Winter Stacy Wood

Central Illinois Bank Toni Bargman Trish Bright Jaclyn Weybright Lacy Wood

Consolidated Communications, Inc. Cindy Witto

Country Financial Bridget Boleyn Amanda Giles

Country Lace & Wood Creations

Michael Peters

BLDD Architects, Inc. Nita Christopher

Sheila Gillette

Dynegy, Inc. Joseph Lakshmanan

Eastern Illinois University

Girl Scouts of Central Illinois Abby Minick

Jim Coleman Jeanne Dau Kim Ervin

GJ Builders Hardware, Inc.

Edward Jones Investments – Shelbyville

Glenda Williamson Realty

Tad Mayhall

Edward Jones Investments – Mt. Zion

Leah Carroll

Glenda Williamson

Gowin Parc Jason Gowin

Green Mill Village

Ricky Jones

Amanda Day

Andrea Applegate

First Mid-Illinois Bank

Herald & Review

Jody Fifer

Becky Baker Julia Beals Barb Marquis Tim Spitz

First Midwest Bank Laura Wetherell

Dale’s Southlake Pharmacy Lauren Colee

David Wortman

Bart Lockart

Gillette Consultants

Happy Hearts Daycare

Curves for Women

George Park

Darrin Lippolt

Eichenauer Services

City of Decatur Fire Department

Community Banks of Shelby County

Dunn Company

Kyle Bess Jeanne Coyle Sean Kirts Kurt Milburn John Sciaroni Andy Smith Pat Walser

Crossroads Workforce Investment

Clair Kaye

Bob Ridings of Decatur

Nicole Slonaker

General Electric

Cassie Yoder

Paul Mejdrich

City of Mattoon

Decatur Memorial Hospital

Daniel Walker

Ruth Darelius

Charleston Country Cumberland Internet Club

Steve Bingamon Robert Wetzel

Katy Blakey Carol Brown Stacy Burrous

Floorsource Direct

Keith McElyea

Rickie Nihiser

Behnke & Co.

Decatur Earthmover Credit Union

First National Bank of Sullivan Mickey Hrvol

Dawson & Wikoff Funeral Homes Kim Veccia

First State Bank Joel Oschwald Jessica Price

Gary Sawyer

Hickory Point Bank Rebecca Dosien Lora Sloan

HORIZON HOBBY, Inc. Dan Rodawig Melanie Ward Jim Watt

Howell Paving, Inc. Holly Bailey

Junior Achievement March 14, 2011 15

www.herald-review.com

THANK YOU TO OUR CONSULTANTS HSBC/Beneficial – Champaign

Keller Williams Realty

Mose, Yockey, Brown & Kull, LLC

Damian Spencer

Ginger Campbell Kyle Harrison Seyda Holekamp Angie Williams

Kent Kull

Gloria Cliff Michael Zarecki

Kenney’s Ace Hardware

Michelle Zindel

Hydro-Gear

Libby Kenney

HSBC/Beneficial – Decatur

Ryan Buescher Carl Christensen Donald Cook Mark Cordell Tony Feeler Lora Fultz Lori Gray Neil Goodwin Erin Henderson Brad Sinkler Heather Starr Mike Todd Allison Vonderheide Andy White Billy Woolsey

Imboden Creek Health Services Rikki Brady Molly Carpenter Laura Juvinall Rhonda Luther

Industrial Process Equipment Group

Kraft Food Inc. Alison Schoonover Lisa Flowers

Land of Lincoln Credit Union Chris Phillips Lia Sophia Tammy Vanderlaan-Wells

Lyle Campbell & Son Realtors

Dr. Warren Jesek

McGladrey & Pullen

Kevin Kondritz

Brooks Bennett-Miller Brett Martin

Christy Schultz

Junior Achievement of East Central Illinois Jill Applebee Kristy Kitterman Donna Patton

David Hinkle

Performance Development Network

Millikin University Dave Brandon Nick Harrison Jordan Russell

Morgan Asset Management Clark Zedric

Topflight Grain Co-op

Sam’s Club

Amy Brammer

Andrea Applegate

Scott State Bank Tod Jeffers

Shelby Electric Cooperative Marla Eversole

Mark Sturgell

Soy Capital Bank Piatt County Clerk

James Pilson

JJ Swartz Company Jones and Thomas, Inc.

Northeast Community Fund

Stephen Hartman

Cathy Mansur Sheree Norris

Debbie Albin

Sarah Bush Lincoln

Stacy Bradshaw

May, Cocagne, & King, P.C.

Safety Compliance Training Services

Mark Cortez

Marine Bank Champaign

Kevin Hinton

Lisa Koehler Rheem Lock Jennifer Walker

Sylina McClesky Sandy Williams

Pat Rhoades

Maverik Marketing

Tate & Lyle

Steve Caldwell

National City BankChampaign

Lisa Campbell Mary Sue Jones Pat Penhallegon John Sellers

Chris Creath

Jesek and Griffin Dental Care

Moweaqua Seed Co.

SAC Identity Plus

Piatt Co. Farm Bureau Pilson Auto Center Quality Network Solutions Jeff Weaver

Re/Max Properties Brenda Reynolds

Regions Bank Melody Bodine Wendy Campbell Wendy Kernan Mindy Mosley Renae Overlin Dianne Shaw

Richland Community College Terry Robinson Sheryol Threewit

United Parcel Service Kevin Boechenstedt Gary Conn Adam Lauwers Sharilyn Russell

United Way Emily Rabin

University of Illinois Elizabeth Corkery Jeff Weaver Becki Fields

Caleb Jump Stan Parks Anne Snyder Megan Snyder

Univoice Global Communications

StarTek, Inc.

US Bank

Ferdnando Bailey Jan Baughman Karen Lay Anastasia Lingle Sarah Eileen Lones Amy Stuckey Amber Turner

State Farm Insurance Marcy McAnally Rob Lipic

Dane Henry Matt D. Jones

Virtual Impressions, Inc. William Best

WarrensburgLatham Elementary Sandy Fisher

W. Newell & Co. Jan Lawson

State Universities Civil Services Torre Walls

Sullivan Chamber & Economic Development Stepheny McMahon

What’s Cookin’ Bob Kincade

William Street Press Sue Watts

Wood Printing Keith Stanberry

T. D. Crane Service, Inc. Tim Dial

Yellow Book Cindy Boyer

Rural King

Zion Chapel United Methodist Church

Don W. Davis

Sally Hamon

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MACON COUNTY Carla Brinkoetter Brinkoetter and Associates

Dave Calvert Caterpillar

Gloria Davis Decatur Public Schools

Kevin Hinton Maverik Marketing

Ricky Jones Eichenauer Services Inc.

Anastasia Lingle StarTek

Julie Moore Decatur Memorial Hospital

Bob Rubin Archer Daniels Midland

Gary Sawyer Herald & Review

CHAMPAIGN Eric Bussell Kelly Loschen Martin Hood and Freise

Cindy Somers Sherion

The Joy of

Volunteering with

When in April of 2010 Jill Applebee asked me to participate in Junior Achievement and teach a grade school class, I had to think about it. Although I had taught at the college level both at Richland Community College and Millikin University I questioned my ability to hold the interest of younger children as we discussed business. I did agree and was assigned the 5th grade class at St. Patrick and careers in “Our Nation” offers School taught by Mrs. Kathy Litz. fun tools like games but also offers After meeting the opportunity for with Mrs. Litz true teaching. The and seeing her The materials provided classes explored enthusiasm for entrepreneurship the program I careers and also by Junior Achievement and felt that this have a section on could be fun. globalization. The were excellent and gives I was materials surprised at how provided by the volunteer guidelines aware the young Junior people were. On the Achievement first day as I was and tips for dealing with introducing myself I were excellent and gives the said I was retired volunteer and asked if they younger students. guidelines and knew what that tips for dealing meant. One student with younger students. The subject of said that it meant that “you don’t the five section curriculum business work, but still get paid.” That offered

Junior Achievement

STAFF Jill Applebee President

Trisha Erickson Program Manager

Michael Byrd Program Director, Champaign

THANK YOU TO:

me the opportunity to discuss the sources of retirement income and found that they were quite skeptical about the future of social security. Obviously they were listening to what their families were discussing at home. The five sessions were over very quickly and I enjoyed the experience immensely. Mrs. Litz asked if I would return next year and I quickly responded “yes.” I will be teaching the class again this April. I also encourage both the currently employed and retirees to consider participation in the Junior Achievement program, it is enjoyable and rewarding.

Al Luchetti


Junior Achievement 2011