Issuu on Google+

How good is YOUR lens?

The definitive guide to SLR photography

07

Findoutwiththisissue’sfree lens-testcard–seepage55

Future Publishing, 30 Monmouth Street, Bath BA1 2BW Editorial +44 (0)1225 442244 • www.digitalcameraworld.com Subscriptions and Customer Services 0844 848 2852

Your team

Geoff Harris Editor

geoff.harris@futurenet.com

Paul Grogan Deputy editor paul.grogan@futurenet.com

Chris Rutter Technique editor chris.rutter@futurenet.com

Sophie Spicer Operations editor sophie.spicer@futurenet.com

Simon Middleweek Art editor simon.middleweek@futurenet.com

Rachel Long Deputy art editor rachel.long@futurenet.com

Jeff MeyerOnline editor jeff.meyer@futurenet.com

Samantha CliffeCommunity editor samantha.cliffe@futurenet.com Editorial contributors

Ben Brain, George Cairns, David Clark, Charlie Coles, Amy Davies, Jeremy Ford, Mark Hamblin, Marcus Hawkins, Richard Hood, Ali Jennings, Adam Lee, Tom Mackie, Andrew Morgan, James Paterson, Alun Pughe, Steven Raynes, Matthew Richards

Photographic contributors (where not credited inside) Future Photo Studio

Angela Nicholson Head of testing angela.nicholson@futurenet.com Paul Newman Senior editor paul.newman@futurenet.com Steve Gotobed Group art editor steve.gotobed@futurenet.com

Advertising

Claire Coleman-Straw Sales director clare.coleman-straw@futurenet.com Penny Stokes Senior ad manager penny.stokes@futurenet.com Sasha Dodimead Ad manager sasha.dodimead@futurenet.com Emily Smith Senior sales executive 020 7042 4254 emily.smith@futurenet.com Advertisement typesetting J Jays Ltd

Circulation and marketing

Lyndsey Mayhew Marketing manager lyndsey.mayhew@futurenet.com Janine Graham Trade marketing executive janine.graham@futurenet.com

Print and production

WIN A HOLIDAY! TURN TO PAGE 138 NOW

112

Olympus OM-D E-M5 Will the digital version of this beloved film camera become a modern classic?

International licensing

Regina Erak Licensing and syndication director

Senior management

Matthew Pierce Group publisher matthew.pierce@futurenet.com Stuart Anderton Group publishing director

Subscriptions & back issues

If you have a query regarding a subscription or back issue, or would like to place an order, please contact our customer services team: Telephone: +44 (0)844 848 2852 Email: future@myfavouritemagazines.co.uk Printed in the UK by William Gibbons and Midway Colour Print on behalf of Future. Distributed in the UK by Seymour Distribution Ltd, 2 East Poultry Avenue, London EC1A 9PT. Tel: 020 7429 4000 A member of the Audit Bureau of Circulations

42,880

118

Jan - Dec 2011

Photoshop CS6 Beta We check out the pre-release version of the new photo-editing monolith

Future produces carefully targeted magazines, websites and events for people with a passion. Our portfolio includes more than 180 magazines, websites and events and we export or license our publications to 90 countries around the world.

120

Field Tested The latest accessories and essential camera kit reviewed and rated

Future plc is a public company quoted on the London Stock Exchange (symbol: FUTR). www.futureplc.com

123

Mini-test We reveal the finest apps for the creative digital photographer

Chief Executive Mark Wood Non-executive Chairman Peter Allen Group Finance Director Graham Harding Tel +44 (0)207 042 4000 (London) Tel +44 (0)1225 442 244 (Bath)

All information contained in this magazine is for informational purposes only and is, to the best of our knowledge, correct at the time of going to press. Future Publishing Limited cannot accept any responsibility for errors or inaccuracies that occur. Readers are advised to contact manufacturers and retailers direct with regard to pricing. All submissions to Digital Camera magazine are made on the basis of a licence to publish the submission in Digital Camera magazine, its licensed editions worldwide and photography-related websites. Any material submitted is sent at the owner’s risk and, although every care is taken, neither Future Publishing Limited nor its agents shall be liable for loss or damage. © Future Publishing Limited 2012. All rights reserved. No part of this magazine may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the publisher. We encourage you to recycle this magazine, either through your usual household recyclable waste collection service or at a recycling site.

124

Group Test Discover the best ultra-wide angle lenses in our far-reaching group test

136

Vivienne Turner Production co-ordinator vivienne.turner@futurenet.com Mark Constance Production manager mark.constance@futurenet.com Rob Fletcher Repro technician rob.fletcher@futurenet.com Deborah Javier Repro technician Deborah.Javier@futurenet.com

We are committed to only using magazine paper which is derived from well managed, certified forestry and chlorine- free manufacture. Future Publishing and its paper suppliers have been independently certified in accordance with the rules of the FSC (Forest Stewardship Council).

SLR Buyers’ Guide The best camera buys at a glance * Exclusive VIP content forexistingsubscribers


Digital Camera June 2012