Issuu on Google+

 In Farm Bureau ArFB scholarship recipients The Arkansas Farm Bureau Scholarship Foundation Committee met recently to determine the 10 recipients of the $2,125 Farm Bureau Foundation scholarship for the 2014-15 school year. Scholarship recipients are Arkansas residents, members of a Farm Bureau family and enrolled as juniors or seniors in a state-accredited university. They also must be in pursuit of an agriculture-related degree. The scholarship recipients are Randy Burnett of Greenbrier, an animal science/ pre-veterinary medicine major at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville; Justin Carroll of Moro, an agricultural systems technology management major at UA; Allison Gurley of Piggott, a plant and soil science major at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro; Andrew Haggard of Griffithville, a mechanical engineering major with an emphasis in agriculture at UA; Misty Mahan of Sheridan, an animal science major at ASU; Lyndsie McGhee of Quitman, an animal science major at ASU- Randy Veach of Manila gave his President’s Address to a packed house at the 66th Annual Officers and Leaders Conference in Springdale July 21. The theme of this year’s conference was “Engage.” “We must all move from knowledge of the issues to action on the issues,” said Veach. “We are a difference maker today, and we will continue to be a difference maker when we engage and work together.” The insert in this issue features conference highlights. Beebe; Elizabeth Moseley of Traskwood, a poultry science major at UA; Patrick Patterson of Piggott, an agricultural business major at UA; Lindsey Rucker of Pearcy, an ag business major with an emphasis in animal science at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville; and Blake Willems of Little Rock, a landscape design and turf management major with an agriculture business minor at UA. “Arkansas Farm Bureau has always been an advocate for higher education,” said ArFB President Randy Veach. “The future of Arkansas agriculture is dependent on As a result of his success in row crop farming, Andy Gill of McGehee has been selected as the 2014 Arkansas winner of the Swisher Sweets/Sunbelt Expo Southeastern Farmer of the Year award. Gill joins nine other winners from the Southeast as finalists for the award. The overall winner will be announced Oct. 14 at the Sunbelt Ag Expo farm show in Moultrie, Ga. KEITH SUTTON photo the young adults who are pursuing agricultural careers. Supporting them remains a priority for this organization.” Arkansas Farm Bureau and county Farm Bureau organizations have awarded more than $1 million to assist more than 2,000 youths pay for a portion of their college expenses. In addition to the foundation scholarship, the organization annually awards the Romeo E. Short scholarship to 10 Bumpers College of Agricultural, Food and Life Sciences students at UA and the Marvin Vines Memorial scholarship to a broadcast journalism student at ASU. KEITH SUTTON photo A Publication of Arkansas Farm Bureau Federation July 25, 2014 • Vol. 17, No. 14

Farm Bureau Press - July 25, 2014

More from this publisher